June 6, 2010
Comments off

Ryan Dungey.

Round two of the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship commenced from Freestone Raceway in Wortham, Texas, on Saturday with the Flagstar Bank Freestone National. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey captured the 450 Class victory to earn his first career win at the top level of the sport.

After a tough opening round, Dungey returned stronger than ever in Texas and proved he is a title contender in the premier class. After grabbing good starts in each moto, he worked his way into the lead in the early stages and never look back, posting perfect 1-1 moto scores en route to the overall. “It feels good to come back strong and get a win,” said Dungey. “We had a tough weekend at the opening round but we went back and worked hard to get better and were able to get a win. I want to be at the front of the pack and challenge for wins and the championship so it feels good to get that first one out of the way.”

Defending 450 Class champion and first round winner Chad Reed  endured a pair of tough starts aboard his Monster Energy Kawasaki, but showed an impressive resiliency by working his way through the field, finishing second and third to grab the runner-up spot overall. Merge Racing Honda’s Kyle Regal grabbed a career-best third overall (5-3) in front of his hometown fans.

Despite a first turn crash in the final 250 Class moto of the day, Pourcel battled his way to the front portion of the field to finish fifth and in the end, salvaged the overall victory by virtue of a first moto win to take the early-season points lead. “I was surprised to get the overall,” said Pourcel. “I fell in the second moto and just rode as good as I could to get a good finish. It’s good for the championship and I will go to High Point next weekend and try to win again.”

Pourcel led the way to a Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki and international sweep of the podium as Tyla Rattray  tied a career-best second overall and rookie Dean Wilson, of Canada, captured the best career finish of his young career in third.

The Women’s Motocross Championship hosted its second round of the 2010 season as well with opening round winner Jessica Patterson remaining undefeated on the season, sweeping both motos on her way to the win for DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha.

The Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship continues next weekend from Mt. Morris, Pa., for round three and the Rockstar Energy High Point National from High Point Raceway on June 12.

1. Ryan Dungey  
2. Chad Reed  
3. Ben Townley  
4. Thomas Hahn  
5. Josh Grant  

1. Ryan Dungey  
2. Kyle Regal  
3. Chad Reed  
4. Brett Metcalfe  
5. Mike Alessi

1. Ryan Dungey…1-1
2. Chad Reed…2-3
3. Kyle Regal…6-2
4. Brett Metcalfe…7-4
5. Josh Grant…5-10
6. Tommy Hahn…4-12
7. Mike Alessi…12-5
8. Ben Townley…3-16
9. Kyle Chisholm…9-9
10. Michael Byrne…8-11
Other notables: 12. Nick Wey (11-13); 13. Andrew Short (39-6); 16. Davi Millsaps (10-19).

1. Chad Reed…87
2. Ryan Dungey…76
3. Mike Alessi…68
4. Brett Metcalfe…66
5. Josh Grant…60
6. Davi Millsaps…55
7. Ben Townley…54
8. Kyle Regal…51
9. Tommy Hahn…43
10. Andrew Short…37

1. Christophe Pourcel  
2. Eli Tomac  
3. Dean Wilson  
4. Trey Canard  
5. Jake Weimer  

1. Tyla Rattray  
2. Broc Tickle  
3. Dean Wilson  
4. Max Anstie  
5. Christophe Pourcel  

1. Christophe Pourcel…1-5
2. Tyla Rattray…6-1
3. Dean Wilson…3-3
4. Broc Tickle…8-2
5. Trey Canard…4-7
6. Eli Tomac…2-11
7. Wil Hahn…9-6
8. Jake Weimer…5-12
9. Max Anstie…15-4
10. Justin Barcia…10-8
Other notables: 12. Tommy Searle (12-13); 17. Blake Baggett (34-10); 35. Nico Izzi (32-36).

1. Christophe Pourcel…86
2. Eli Tomac…77
3. Dean Wilson…69
4. Trey Canard…68
5. Broc Tickle…61
6. Tyla Rattray…58
7. Jake Weimer…56
8. Justin Barcia…54
9. Wil Hahn…50
10. Max Anstie…40

For tickets and fan and racing information on the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, log on to


Comments are closed.