July 12, 2011
Comments off

Evgeny Bobryshev follows in the footsteps of Guennady Moisseev. Bobryshev is the first Russian to win an GP since Vladimir Kavinov in 1980.

Russian Evgeny Bobryshev, who lives in England, swept both motos of the German 450 GP. With each passing week the big Russian has been improving, scoring podium spots and, in the up-and-down world of 450 GP results, on the verge of winning. Last week in Sweden, Bobryshev was second overall (he also scored podiums at Glen Helen and Portugal). Bobryshev left no doubt in Germany as he went 1-1. Antonio Cairoli (2-2) was second overall, and since he doesn’t care about Bobryshev’s results, only Clement Desalle’s, it was a good day as he gained points on his prime competitor. DeSalle, still nursing his shoulder injury, was third with a 5-3. Desalle, who was leading the championship two weeks ago is now 18 points behind Cairoli. Bobryshev moved to fourth in the standings…72 points back.

Christophe Pourcel, in the Monster jersey (377), is directly behind Rui Goncalves (999) and David Philippaerts (19). Pourcel is replacing the injured Ben Townley on the Pro Ciruit GP team. Photo: Ray Archer.

For those who are interested, Christophe Pourcel used the German 450 GP as a warm-up race, finishing only 15 laps out of a possible 36. Pourcel did not crack the top 30 in either moto.

Ken Roczen (94) is the apple of the German motocross fan’s eyes. Photo: Ray Archer.

Meanwhile, Ken Roczen won again in the 250 class and gained ground on his closest competitor, Jeffrey Herlings, who was fourth. Ken Roczen made it hard work for himself this weekend, a dominant win in race one over his teammate Jeffrey Herlings and Kawasaki rider Tommy Searle was followed up by a first lap crash in moto two while leading. The German found himself down in 11th after the incident and had to claw his way back up to the leading group. Out front Gautier Paulin was in the lead and the others were left to scrap over the podium spots. Second place in moto two went to Tommy Searle, who passed Herlings at the halfway point and managed to pull a gap, that combined with third in race one gave him third overall for the German GP behind Paulin. With just a handful of laps to go Roczen was on the back wheel of Herlings and within touching distance of the overall victory and not to be denied at home Roczen passed Herlings to take third in the race and a deserved overall 250 victory.

Tony Cairoli (right), Evgeny Bobryshev (center) and Clement Desalle (left) on the 450 podium. Photo: Ray Archer.

1. Bobryshev, Evgeny (Hon)…1-1
2. Cairoli, Antonio (KTM)…2-2
3. Desalle, Clement (Suz)…5-3
4. Goncalves, Rui (Hon)…7-4
5. Nagl, Maximilian (KTM)…4-7
6. de Dycker, Ken (Hon)…6-5
7. Barragan, Jonathan (Kaw)…8-6
8. Frossard, Steven (Yam)…3-15
9. Philippaerts, David (Yam)…9-8
10. Ramon, Steve (Suz)…10-9
11. Simpson, Shaun (Hon)…11-12
12. de Reuver, Marc (Yam)…14-10
13. Aranda, Gregory (Kaw)…16-13
14. Anderson, Brad (Hon)…19-11
15. Boog, Xavier (Kaw)…13-17

Jeffrey Herlings (84) holeshots the 250 class in Germany, but he couldn’t hold Ken Roczen (94) at bay. Photo: Ray Archer.

1. Roczen, Ken (KTM)…1-3
2. Paulin, Gautier (Yam)…4-1
3. Searle, Tommy (Kaw)…3-2
4. Herlings, Jeffrey (KTM)…2-4
5. Tonus, Arnaud (Yam)…6-5
6. Osborne, Zachary (Yam)…5-6
7. Nicholls, Jake (KTM)…8-8
8. Teillet, Valentin (Suz)…10-7
9. Butron, Antonio (KTM)…11-9
10. Kullas, Harri (Yam)…13-11
11. Larrieu, Loic (KTM)…14-13
12. Anstie, Max (Kaw)…18-10
13. Aubin, Nicolas (KTM)…7-21
14. Lupino, Alessandro (Hus)…17-12
15. Charlier, Christophe (Yam)…9-32

1. Cairoli, Antonio (KTM)…366
2. Desalle, Clement (Suz)…348
3. Frossard, Steven (Yam)…326
4. Bobryshev, Evgeny (Hon)…294
5. Nagl, Maximilian (KTM)…282
6. Philippaerts, David (Yam)…250
7. Rui Gonalves (Hon)…249
8. Barragan, Jonathan (Kaw)…204
9. Xavier Boog (Kaw)…203
10. Ramon, Steve (Suz)…203

1. Roczen, Ken (KTM)…396
2. Herlings, Jeffrey (KTM)…377
3. Searle, Tommy (Kaw)…328
4. Paulin, Gautier (Yam)…319
5. Osborne, Zachary (Yam)…265
6. Tonus, Arnaud (Yam)…256
7. Anstie, Max (Kaw)…215
8. Kullas, Harri (Yam)…197
9. Aubin, Nicolas (KTM)…192
15. Charlier, Christophe (Yam)…170


Comments are closed.