August 17, 2012
Comments off


Ryan Dungey won the 2012 AMA 450 National Championships with two rounds to go. Photo: Hoppenworld

KTM Factory rider Ryan Dungey made history once again as he went 1-1 at Unadilla Raceway to take the overall victory and the crown as the 2012 Lucas Oil Pro 450 Motocross Champion. Dungey started 5th in the first moto and suffered a crash within the first lap causing him to fall to 11th place. He quickly rebounded and moved back into the top ten on the next lap. He used the remaining laps to pick off riders as he climbed to the top of the pack and eventually put his KTM 450 SX-F into the lead at the two lap board. When the checkered flag flew, Dungey crossed the finish line to take the first moto victory.

Fans lined the fence for the start of moto two in anticipation of watching Dungey make history for KTM as he rode his way to victory in the second moto to claim KTM’s first 450 Motocross Championship. Dungey launched off to a fourth place start and moved into third by the fourth corner. The next lap he leaped into second and moments later he had passed for the lead. Dungey never looked back and went on to lead the remaining laps to claim the overall and his first championship on the KTM brand.

“It has been an amazing year with the Red Bull/KTM Team,” remarked Dungey on the podium. “I am so happy to clinch this championship and so grateful to every member of the Red Bull/KTM Team and my family that have helped me get here today. When I joined the KTM team last October, Roger told me that we would be championship contenders and I believed him. It has come true today.”

KTM Factory team manager Roger DeCoster was elated with Dungey’s victory, stating, “The team and Ryan have worked so hard this season. We have seen him have success in Supercross and then suffer an injury only to come back stronger. This is a great moment for the team, for KTM and for Ryan. We are very proud of him and look forward to running the number one plate at the final two races.”


Marvin Musquin won his first-ever AMA 250 National with a 2-3 day. Photo: Hoppenworld

KTM Factory rider Marvin Musquin claimed his first 250 Motocross class victory at the tenth round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship after earning 2-3 moto results. “I was very nervous on the last lap,” stated Musquin. “I knew if I finished inside the top three I would get the overall and it was a very exciting last lap. I was so happy when I crossed the finish line. I would really like to thank the whole team, especially my mechanic, Frankie, for all of their hard work. It is a great feeling to get the overall on the same weekend Ryan Dungey claimed his championship. We have a lot to celebrate as a team today and I am glad to be a part of it.”


A happy Team KTM celebrates their first-ever AMA 450 National Championship. Photo: Hoppenworld

1. Marvin Musquin…2-3
2. Eli Tomac…6-1
3. Ken Roczen…1-6
4. Justin Barcia…7-2
5. Blake Baggett…3-5
6. Justin Bogle…11-4
7. Wil Hahn…9-8
8. Jason Anderson…5-12
9. Martin Davalos…13-7
10. Jessy Nelson…14-9
11. Blake Wharton…4-33
12. Jake Canada…12-13
13. Malcolm Stewart…10-18
14. Zach Bell…8-31
15. Travis Baker…16-14
16. Cole Thompson…15-15
17. Ryan Sipes…38-10
18. Alex Martin…37-11
19. Dakota Tedder…23-16
20. Jacob Hayes…39-17

1. Ryan Dungey…1-1
2. Broc Tickle…2-4
3. Andrew Short…4-3
4. Davi Millsaps…3-5
5. Josh Grant…5-6
6. Nico Izzi…6-8
7. Tyla Rattray…8-9
8. Phil Nicoletti…7-11
9. Kyle Chisholm…12-7
10. Mike Alessi…39-2
11. Robby Kiniry…10-12
12. Justin Brayton…15-10
13. Vince Friese…11-16
14. Austin Howell…14-14
15. James Stewart…9-35
16. Ben LaMay…16-15
17. Robby Marshall…20-13
18. Kyle Regal…13-21
19. Derek Anderson…22-17
20. Jesse Wentland…19-19

AMA 250 Point Standings
(10 of 12 events)

1. Blake Baggett…436
2. Justin Barcia…412
3. Eli Tomac…408
4. Ken Roczen…385
5. Marvin Musquin…336
6. Wil Hahn…255
7. Blake Wharton…215
8. Jason Anderson…206
9. Jessy Nelson…189
10. Travis Baker…168

AMA 450 Point Standings
(10 of 12 events)

1. Ryan Dungey 480
2. Mike Alessi 367
3. Andrew Short 311
4. Jake Weimer 293
5. Broc Tickle 293
6. Josh Grant 226
7. Justin Brayton 202
8. Kyle Chisholm 182
9. James Stewart 163
10. Davi Millsaps 150


Comments are closed.