June 20, 2010
Comments off

Steve Ramon.

Taking his first win of 2010 and also first on a Yamaha machine, Ken De Dycker dominated the German Grand Prix with two moto wins. Marvin Musquin won in the MX2 class despite a strong Ken Roczen dominated the final heat in front of his home fans.

Clement Desalle took second on the MX1 podium courtesy of two third place finishes while an ill David Philippaerts was third overall. Tony Cairoli retained the red plate as he ended fourth overall ahead of Xavier Boog.

Ken Roczen won heat two in dominant style but took second overall on the podium as he was slowed down in heat one by problems to his goggles. Zach Osborne was third and mounted on his third consecutive podium. Jeremy Van Horebeek and Steven Frossard completed the top five.

David Philippaerts.

450 MX1

Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci’s De Dycker managed to take his first season’s overall victory in Germany, where he won both moto’s after hard fights with his rivals on the day of his 26th birthday. Taking an early lead in heat one, De Dycker pulled away to win with a nine second advantage from Philippaerts. In moto two instead the Belgian had to work his way up to first and was chased by Cairoli until the chequered flag, which he crossed just two tenths of a second before the Italian.

After taking his first season’s pole yesterday, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1’s Desalle struggled in the races and made it to an eventual second overall. The Belgian was leading the opening heat when he crashed and recovered to an eventual third after a three way battle for second with Boog and Philippaerts. In the second heat Desalle was leading again but was passed first by De Dycker then by Cairoli and took another third place.
Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Philippaerts completed the podium despite being ill. The Italian fought hard for second in heat one and completed the day with a fifth place in moto two.

Antonio Cairoli.                                                                                                Ray Archer photo.

Fellow Italian rider Cairoli of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX1 was a bitter fourth overall. Cairoli tangled up with Leok at the start of heat one and was forced to recover from the tail of the group to sixth. In moto two the MX1 Championship leader rode strong to trouble De Dycker in the final laps and take an eventual second place.

Kawasaki Racing’s Boog completed the top five after leading both races. The French was fast in the early stages of both heats ?he even took the holeshot in heat one- but dropped down the bottom of the top five as the races went on.

Home rider Nagl took sixth overall despite riding with a broken left collarbone from the French round.

Guarneri, who was a solid third in yesterday’s qualifying, was ninth overall as he struggled during the GP heats while Honda fellow rider Ferris of Australia ended his maiden GP in 16th place.

A crash caused Pourcel a head concussion and the French will miss the forthcoming two GP’s.

Ken De Dycker won the German GP on his 26th birthday.

1. Ken De Dycker…1-1
2. Clement Desalle…3-3
3. David Philippaerts…2-5
4. Tony Cairoli…6-2
5. Xavier Boog…4-4
6. Max Nagl…5-7
7. Evgeny Bobryshev…8-8
8. Steve Ramon…7-9
9. Davide Guarneri…11-6
10. Tanel Leok…10-12
Other notables: 12. Jimmy Albertson (15-13); 16. Dean Ferris (22-14); 18. Josh Coppins (14-33).

450 POINTS STANDINGS (after 8 of 15 rounds)
1. Tony Cairoli…341
2. Clement Desalle…276
3. David Philippaerts…267
4. Ken De Dycker…251
5. Max Nagl…248
6. Steve Ramon…237
7. Xavier Boog…217
8. Tanel Leok…182
9. Davide Guarneri…165
10. Evgeny Bobryshev…149

Zach Osborne (338), Steven Frossard (183), Ken Roczen (94) and Shaun Simpson (11).   Ray Archer photo.

250 MX2

It was again Musquin who topped the podium at the end of the German Grand Prix, which marked victory number seven of 2010 for the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX2 rider from France. Musquin took victory in the first moto after moving past team mate Herlings but could not overtake second moto leader Roczen, ending first ahead of Musquin.

Second overall was last year’s German GP winner Roczen. The Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2 teenager struggled with his goggles in the first heat, riding with no eyes protection and dropping down from third to fifth. In the final moto instead Roczen took a dominant victory to secure the overall podium and reinforce his second place in the series behind Musquin.

Bike-it Cosworth Yamaha UK’s Osborne was third overall as he took his third consecutive podium since his home GP in USA. Osborne struggled in the opening heat and took a fourth place with just two laps to go. He performed better in the final moto, ending third and securing the overall podium.

Kawasaki CLS’ racers completed the top five but it was a bitter result for the squad having Frossard in fourth and Van Horebeek in fifth. After taking second and third in moto one with Van Horebeek and Frossard respectively, both crashed in moto two and had to work hard to get back into the top ten.

Tonus was sixth ahead of Charlier and Simpson, with the latter taking the holeshot in moto two. Paulin and Vongsana completed the top ten.

Herlings stopped for technical issues in heat one and was eighth in moto two for a final 13th.

Herlings (111) and Simpson (11).                                                          Ray Archer photo.

1. Marvin Musquin…1-2
2. Ken Roczen…5-1
3. Zach Osborne…4-3
4. Steven Frossard…3-4
5. Jeremy van Horebeek…2-7
6. Arnaud Tonus…6-7
7. Christophe Charlier…12-6
8. Shaun Simpson…9-9
9. Gautier Paulin…7-11
10. Khousith Vonsana…11-12
Other notables: 11. Harri Kullas (14-13). Jeffrey Herlings (38-8); 16. Michael Leib (34-10).

250 POINTS STANDINGS (after 8 of 15 rounds)
1. Marvin Musquin…365
2. Ken Roczen…288
3. Steven Frossard…268
4. Jeffrey Herlings…241
5. Zach Osborne…233
6. Shaun Simpson…225
7. Arnaud Tonus…214
8. Jeremy van Horebeek…209
9. Joel Roelants…183
10. Jake Nicholls…158


Comments are closed.