Jeffrey Herlings MXGP of Latvia_ Round 07_ FIM World Motocross Championship_Jeffrey Herlings put on a great performance here in Latvia.

Jeffrey Herlings dominated the competition in the MXGP class here in Kegums, Latvia for the seventh round of the 2018 MXGP World Championship. He went swept the day with back-to-back wins. Teammate Tony Cairoli went 2-2 behind him for second and it was Husky’s Gautier Paulin who rounded up the podium.


  1. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM)–1-1
  2. Tony Cairoli (KTM)–2-2
  3. Gautier Paulin (Hus)–4-3
  4. Clement Desalle (Kaw)–5-5
  5. Tim Gajser (Hon)–9-4
  6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (Yam)–6-7
  7. Glenn Coldenhoff (KTM)–8-6
  8. Max Anstie (Hus)–7-9
  9. Julien Lieber (Kaw)–11-10
  10. Jeremy Seewer (Yam)–14-8
  11. Romain Febvre (Yam)–3-30
  12. Jose Butron (KTM)–13-12
  13. Max Nagl (TM)–12-13
  14. Arminas Jasikonis (Hon)–10-16
  15. Alessandro Lupino (Kaw)–16-11
  16. Kevin Strijbos (KTM)–18-14
  17. Tanel Leok (Hus)–20-15
  18. Petar Petrov (Hon)–19-17
  19. Evgeny Bobryshev (Suz)–15-27
  20. Maxime Desprey (Kaw)–17-21
  21. Ander Valentin (Hus)–24-18
  22. Ivo Monticelli (Yam)–21-19
  23. Harri Kullas (Hus)–22-20
  24. Fillip Bengtsson (Yam)–23-22
  25. Matiss Karro (Kaw)–26-23
  26. Erki Kahro (KTM)–27-24
  27. Volodymyr Tarasov (KTM)–28-25
  28. Klemen Gercar (Hus)–31-26
  29. Benoit Paturel (KTM)– 25-28
  30. Nathan Renkens (Hon)–29-29
  31. Michael Doherty (Hus)–30-DNS
  32. Tomasz Wysocki (KTM)–32-DNS


  1. Jeffrey Herlings–336
  2. Tony Cairoli–307
  3. Clement Desalle–244
  4. Romain Febvre–223
  5. Gautier Paulin–218
  6. Glenn Coldenhoff–180
  7. Jeremy Van Horebeek–179
  8. Tim Gajser–177
  9. Jeremy Seewer–155
  10. Julien Lieber–134


Tony Cairoli MXGP of Latvia_ Round 07_ FIM World Motocross Championship_Veteran Tony Cairoli couldn’t keep his teammate Jeffrey Herlings at bay. He still managed to finish 2-2 for second overall. 

Gautier Paulin MXGP of LatviaHusqvarna’s Gautier Paulin went 4-3 to round off the podium. Romain Febvre finished third the first moto but was dead last in the second moto pushing him back to 11th overall on the day. 

Clement DESALLE-SAT-MOTOCROSS-GP-7-LV-2018Belgium’s Clement Dasalle went 5-5 for forth overall here in Latvia. 


Jeffrey HerlingsJeffrey Herlings was on rails here in Latvia. His best lap time was over five seconds faster than anyone else.

Here in Kegums Latvia for the seventh round of the 2018 MXGP World Championship series today for the qualifying race. It was KTM’s Jeffrey Herlings who took the win by over 45 seconds. Herlings is also leading the MXGP point over teammate Tony Cairoli by 23 points. Second place went to last weeks winner in Russia Kawasaki’s Clement Desalle. Third went to multi-time world champ Tony Cairoli. The first day of racing here in Latvia is concluded. Tomorrow the racing will start bright and early.


  1. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM)
  2. Clement Desalle (Kaw)
  3. Tony Cairoli (KTM)
  4. Roman Febvre (Yam)
  5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (Yam)
  6. Glenn Coldenhoff (KTM)
  7. Tim Gajser (Hon)
  8. Jeremy Seewer (Yam)
  9. Gautier Paulin (Hus)
  10. Max Nagl (TM)
  11. Max Anstie (Hus)
  12. Arminas Jasikonis (Hon)
  13. Alessandro Lupino (Kaw)
  14. Benoit Paturel (KTM)
  15. Petar Petrov (Hon)
  16. Maxime Desprey (Kaw)
  17. Jose Butron (KTM)
  18. Evgeny Bobryshev (Suz)
  19. Harri Kullas (Hus)
  20. Ivo Monticelli (Yam)
  21. Filip Bengtsson (Yam)
  22. Tanel Leok (Hus)
  23. Julien Lieber (Kaw)
  24. Kevin Strijbos (KTM)
  25. Erki Kahro (KTM)
  26. Matiss Karro (Kaw)
  27. Michael Doherty (Hus)
  28. Volodymyr Tarasov (KTM)
  29. Klemen Gercar (Hus)
  30. Todd Waters (Hon)
  31. Tomasz Wysocki (KTM)
  32. Nathan Renkens (Hon)


Clement DesalleClement Desalle’s confidence is high from his win in Russia. Desalle finished second in the qualifying race, although he was more than 45 seconds back from Herlings. 

Tony Cairoli_MXGP_2018_R06_RA_4028Tony Cairoli was on the rear wheel of Desalle at the finish and finished third. 


The 2018 MXGP of Latvia is off and running with the Qualifying races of the FIM Motocross World Championship being led from start to finish by Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings and Jorge Prado!

MXGP’s Saturday racing was full of impressive action, mostly from Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings. Setting an unmatched pace in every session today Herlings left many wondering how. In Free Practice Herlings was 3 seconds a lap faster than the rest of the field and almost 2 seconds quicker in Time Practice.

At the start of Qualifying Herlings lined up in the furthest inside gate and charged into the first turn with the Holeshot, behind the “Bullet” was Monster Energy Kawasaki Factory Racing’s Clement Desalle and Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP’s Romain Febvre.

With Herlings in the lead many looked to find out where his title rival and defending MXGP Champion, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Antonio Cairoli was placed. Cairoli came across the first timing sector in 24th position after a first turn crash with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Gautier Paulin, Team Honda Redmoto Assomotor’s Arminas Jasikonis, BOS GP’s Evgeny Bobryshev, and more.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Glenn Coldenhoff was also riding well from the start fighting for 4th position. Team HRC’s Tim Gajser who started outside the top five moved past Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP’s Jeremy Van Horebeek along with Coldenhoff by the end of the 6th lap.

Gajser’s fill-in HRC teammate Todd Waters was running an impressive 8th and closing in on Wilvo Yamaha Official MXGP’s Jeremy Sewer who ran 7th when a crash took Waters out of racing and left the Australian with a fractured collar bone and the unlucky Team HRC again down to 1 MXGP rider.

Herlings gapped Desalle and Febvre as they battled over 2nd and Gajser ending up taking advantage catching the pair before passing Febvre for 3rd. Cairoli meanwhile was making impressive work of the field calmly passing his way up to 7th with 2 laps to go.

On the penultimate lap Gajser crashed dropping him to 7th while Cairoli passed Coldenhoff for 5th and then both Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP riders, Van Horebeek and Febvre on the last lap. Cairoli’s amazing comeback to third place from well outside the top 20 was however overshadowed by the massive Herlings win where he was nearly 4 seconds a lap faster on average then 2nd place, finishing 50 seconds ahead of Desalle in 2nd.

Jeffrey Herlings in the Press Conference said: “It was a walk in the park today but it doesn’t mean anything for tomorrow, it is a gnarly track and a lot of things can happen as you could see in the pile up on the first turn. I feel I am really one with the bike here on this track and my confidence is growing, I definitely had a good start, I had another Holeshot so that was pretty nice and I could just do my own thing.”

You might also like