Press Release: The 2018 MXGP of Europe at the famous Eurocircuit in Valkenswaard has finished in epic fashion. The dark Dutch sand was as unforgiving as it was testing for the top MXGP and MX2 riders in the world. While the conditions were vastly different from the season opener in Patagonia Argentina the result was much the same with Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings and Pauls Jonass taking the overall wins and maintaining their Red Plates.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings came to Valkenswaard with his first ever red plate in MXGP and left it with his first ever points lead in the premier class. At the start of the weekend Herlings struggled when he fell in qualifying then rejoined the race in 35th position. Luckily for the “Bullet” he turned his weekend around on Sunday. Luckily for the “Bullet” he turned his weekend around on Sunday even with 19th gate pick.

When MXGP race 1 started Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli took the Fox Holeshotand led the way for Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP’s Jeremy Van Horebeek along with his Dutch Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Teammates Glenn Coldenhoff and Jeffrey Herlings.

After a quick pass on Coldenhoff, Herlings switched his focus over to the Belgian, Jeremy Van Horebeek. As Herlings chased Van Horebeek, Team HRC’s Tim Gajser was passed for 5th by the other Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP bike of Romain Febvre.

Gajser then threw away his goggles and soon after came under pressure from the pair of Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing riders, Max Anstie and Gautier Paulin. Just after Anstie and Paulin made their way past Gajser, Jeffrey Herlings moved into the second spot.

Cairoli then started to lose time to Herlings as Anstie and Paulin passed Febvre. As Jeffrey inched closer to Cairoli the Italian lost balance in a rut and went down. From there Herlings took the lead and never looked back as Cairoli took second and Van Horebeek third.

Race 2 began with another Fox Holeshot from Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli as Coldenhoff and Herlings chased. Cairoli then sprinted at the start of the race to grow a gap over Coldenhoff and Herlings. Herlings found his way around Coldenhoff on lap 3 and at nearly the same time race one’s 3rd place finisher, Van Horebeek, crashed out of the race but came away uninjured.

Herlings then started his charge to catch the distant Cairoli. Cairoli’s lead was near 13 seconds but dropped lap after lap, at one point Herlings gained 4 seconds in a single lap. As Herlings came closer Cairoli sensed the #84 looking back on several occasions. When the time finally came Herlings made the pass look easy as he out braked Cairoli into the turn just after the finish line. Cairoli tried to retaliate but would cross the checkered flag 3.8 seconds after Herlings.

Team HRC’s Tim Gajser’s return to MXGP was a challenging one as he crashed twice in race 2, even so he managed to finish 9th overall.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings in the press conference said: “We can back strong and we managed to win both races today. It is a little bit of a shame from yesterday that we didn’t have such a good start position but it’s ok. I’m looking forward to Red Sand next weekend, I have been there a lot during the winter so I kind of know the track!”

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli in the race press conference stated: “The weekend was good, we knew that at this race we would struggle a little bit because it has been a long time since I’ve trained in Belgium or Holland. Jeffrey was very fast and we knew that on this track he would be, but we managed to finish on the podium and a second place is good for the championship.”

Finishing on the podium was Gautier Paulin who also took third overall after tying with Coldenhoff in points while Febvre scored his 2nd top 5 of the season.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Gautier Paulin in the press conference admitted: “We managed to have a good setup on the bike and I was really happy with the bike and I put myself in the right position. That’s the first podium of the season, we are working hard but the speed wasn’t there today so we need to continue because I want to battle with those guys.”

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:25.408; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:17.536; 3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:29.712; 4. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:35.842; 5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:39.777; 6. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:41.582; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:41.778; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:00.045; 9. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:07.341; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +1:15.242.

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:46.875; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:03.882; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:06.699; 4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:09.303; 5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +1:15.542; 6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:17.843; 7. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:46.947; 8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +1:54.337; 9. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:56.307; 10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +1:57.072.

MXGP Overall Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 34 p.; 4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 34 p.; 5. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 31 p.; 6. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 30 p.; 7. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 27 p.; 8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 24 p.; 9. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 20 p.; 10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 20 p.

MXGP Championship Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 97 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 91 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 67 p.; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 65 p.; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 64 p.; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 55 p.; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 54 p.; 8. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 45 p.; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, YAM), 39 p.; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 38 p.

MXGP Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 100 points; 2. Yamaha, 72 p.; 3. Husqvarna, 68 p.; 4. Kawasaki, 67 p.; 5. TM, 38 p.; 6. Honda, 35 p.; 7. Suzuki, 19 p.

You might also like