450 Start 2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross-6252


The 2023 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season has officially kicked off and all eyes are on Anaheim 1. Coming into the season opener, defending Champion Eli Tomac is lining up with the red plated number 1 on his Star Racing Yamaha YZ450F and he has an impressive list of high caliber riders right behind him, chomping at the bit. Two-time Champion Cooper Webb is looking for redemption this year after a tough go in ’22, watch our pre-season interview with Webb here. Chase Sexton is coming into the ’23 season with a lot of potential, he won his first 450SX Main Event at San Diego last season and took the 450 Outdoor National Championship down to the wire, ultimately finishing second to Eli Tomac.

Coming into the 2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross, the points are reset to zero and all eyes are on Angel Stadium to see who can come out swinging and score the first win of the season. See below for 450 race results as they are updated throughout the night at Angel stadium.



Eli Tomac 2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross-6003Eli Tomac wins at Anaheim! 

Justin Barcia led early in the 450 Main Event and he was doing a great job of holding off Eli Tomac. However, Justin crashed all by himself at the end of a rhythm lane. He shot off the track, hit a tough block and went down. Eli Tomac assumed the lead and looked like he would easily take the win. Malcolm Stewart passed Ken Roczen for second place and while out front, Eli Tomac slid out on the tabletop that goes over the start straight and he went down. He dropped back a ways, getting up right in front of Cooper Webb. Then, Jason Anderson was pressuring Ken Roczen for third place and he went down, as he was trying to make the pass. With 6-minutes left in the race, Chase Sexton block passed Malcolm Stewart and pushed him off the track. Malcolm assumed second, but he was a few seconds behind Sexton. Then, Eli Tomac passed Roczen and got into third, making a great charge to the front. With three-minutes to go, Eli Tomac came up the inside of Stewart and Malcolm didn’t put up a fight. Then, with 2-minutes left, Sexton made a big mistake and Eli Tomac caught him and passed him a few corners later. Malcolm Stewart was close in third, and then went down hard. Ferrandis had third, but then made a mistake and Webb passed him for the podium spot. Thankfully, Malcolm Stewart got back on the bike and was ok. With just over one lap to go, Cooper Webb made the pass on Chase Sexton to take second place.

1 1 Eli Tomac
2 2 Cooper Webb
3 23 Chase Sexton
4 14 Dylan Ferrandis
5 94 Ken Roczen
6 45 Colt Nichols
7 21 Jason Anderson
8 7 Aaron Plessinger
9 9 Adam Cianciarulo
10 17 Joey Savatgy
11 51 Justin Barcia
12 25 Marvin Musquin
13 28 Christian Craig
14 15 Dean Wilson
15 46 Justin Hill
16 78 Grant Harlan
17 751 Josh Hill
18 60 Justin Starling
19 80 Kevin Moranz
20 47 Fredrik Noren
21 73 John Short
22 27 Malcolm Stewart

KEN ROCZEN COOPER WEBB2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross-6728Ken Roczen and Cooper Webb sharing air space.


Chase sexton 2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross-4370Chase Sexton lead the second 450 heat race from front to back, but he wasn’t too far ahead of Roczen and Webb at the checkers.

Off the start it was HRC Honda rider, Chase Sexton, who grabbed the early lead and the momentum to start the race. Behind him were battles between Roczen, Musquin, Stewart and Webb. Cooper Webb was able to make his way forward, passing his teammate Marvin Musquin and getting close to Ken Roczen at the finish. A mistake on the last lap let Roczen get some extra breathing room, but Webb somehow made up ground on him again and made it close at the finish, however, Roczen was able to hold Webb off and finish second.

1 23 Chase Sexton
2 94 Ken Roczen
3 2 Cooper Webb
4 27 Malcolm Stewart
5 25 Marvin Musquin
6 51 Justin Barcia
7 15 Dean Wilson
8 46 Justin Hill
9 60 Justin Starling
10 12 Shane McElrath
11 47 Fredrik Noren
12 410 Brandon Scharer
13 848 Joan Cros
14 90 Tristan Lane
15 219 Chase Marquier
16 837 Bryson Gardner
17 519 Joshua Cartwright
18 509 Alexander Nagy
19 501 Scotty Wennerstrom
20 44 Benny Bloss

Cooper Webb 2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross-4764Cooper Webb charged hard for third.

Ken Roczen 2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross-4647Ken Roczen held strong to finish second on his Suzuki.


Eli Tomac 2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross-4609Eli Tomac easily wins the first Heat. 

Eli Tomac shot out of the gate quicker than everyone else and easily secured the holeshot in 450 Heat race one. His teammate, Dylan Ferrandis, was second, with Adam Cianciarulo, Joey Savatgy and Jason Anderson behind. Aaron Plessinger passed Christian Craig making his way into seventh on lap two, and Colt Nichols, the HRC Honda 45p0 rookie, was sixth. Plessinger quickly made his way by Nichols and then started to pressure Savatgy who was just passed by Anderson. Long story short, the 450 riders were going fast and lots of passes were made early on.

Wow! Aaron Plessinger rode amazing and was able to pass Jason Anderson to place fourth in 450 Heat 1, while Eli Tomac cruised to an easy heat race win.

1 1 Eli Tomac
2 14 Dylan Ferrandis
3 9 Adam Cianciarulo
4 7 Aaron Plessinger
5 21 Jason Anderson
6 17 Joey Savatgy
7 45 Colt Nichols
8 28 Christian Craig
9 78 Grant Harlan
10 80 Kevin Moranz
11 140 Alex Ray
12 74 Logan Karnow
13 73 John Short
14 129 Lane Shaw
15 68 Cade Clason
16 141 Richard Taylor
17 726 Gared Steinke
18 412 Jared Lesher
19 11 Kyle Chisholm
20 751 Josh Hill



Freddie Noren 2023 Anaheim 1 Supercross-4681Freddie Noren grabs the holeshot and takes the win in the 450 LCQ with Kevin Moranz close behind in second. 

1 47 Fredrik Noren
2 80 Kevin Moranz
3 751 Josh Hill
4 73 John Short
5 140 Alex Ray
6 519 Joshua Cartwright
7 219 Chase Marquier
8 129 Lane Shaw
9 410 Brandon Scharer
10 837 Bryson Gardner
11 90 Tristan Lane
12 412 Jared Lesher
13 74 Logan Karnow
14 726 Gared Steinke
15 509 Alexander Nagy
16 501 Scotty Wennerstrom
17 141 Richard Taylor
18 848 Joan Cros
19 68 Cade Clason
20 12 Shane McElrath
21 11 Kyle Chisholm
22 44 Benny Bloss


The 450 Main Event Results are brought to you by FXR Racing.


You might also like

Comments are closed.