经典越野摩托车:1981本田CR250R

汤姆·怀特(Tom White)

毫无疑问,1981年对本田车队来说是有趣的一年。 制造商全力以赴 《星球大战》 在其化妆品上加上水冷的CR125和CR250,推出了命运不佳的CR450,并揭开了越野摩托车历史上最愚蠢的前车牌。 尽管如此,1981年的CR250仍试图将异国作品技术引入生产线。 这是有史以来第一台水冷250cc量产自行车。 1981年的CR250借用了工程技术,采用了工程自行车的长冲程发动机设计,中央进气口排气装置,半双摇架和Pro-Link单冲击悬挂。 尽管本田并不是第一个在生产型自行车上安装单减震系统的公司,但Pro-Link装置被证明是当今所有联动设计的先驱。

1981年,本田脱离昭和,为CR250配备了Kayaba组件。 本田在1981年还没有准备好使用盘式制动器,但是它确实为CR250配备了双导靴前鼓,效果很好。 不过有问题。 车架有断裂的趋势,离合器打滑,头管悬挂在车架下方,并且变速器不断从三档弹出。 更糟糕的是,1981年的CR250重达一吨,机翼状的前车牌设计成向两个小型散热器提供更多的空气,它是如此的丑陋,以至于没有人竞相竞相。

奇数外推

1981年的本田CR250仅因其历史悠久而具有收藏价值。 凭空想像力,它并不是一款出色的自行车,但其开创性的技术和丑陋的美学令人难忘。 甚至是奇怪的情况,这就是为什么收藏家自行车必须具有原始的机翼式前车牌,双前导蹄前制动器和远程储油箱以及四键可调式减震器的原因。

日本国内版本没有机翼状的前车牌,但是一旦购买者将自行车带回家,所有美国车型都没有。 日本国内模型(如上图所示)具有朝前的外观,但前车牌很小(其下方的丝网与美国模型相同)。

本田的前 MXGP 车队经理罗杰·哈维(Roger Harvey)本人也是一名 GP 赛车手,他对 1981 年 CR250 有一些幕后信息,他告诉 MXA 说:“在 Classic Iron 文章中正确地写道,美国 CR250 车型配备了“越野摩托车历史上最愚蠢的前车牌。 日本车型有一个奇怪但更传统的前板,而欧洲自行车有一个传统风格的前板。 在几年前的一次 MXGP 活动中,一位媒体人随机问我:“你能解释一下为什么本田在 250 年将这些前车牌安装到美国 CR1981 上吗?” 我一点头绪都没有,我告诉他我对找到答案并不抱太大希望,因为那个时代的大多数工程师几乎肯定已经退休了。

“幸运的是,那个周末我们有一位日本工程师和我们在一起,他一年只来参加一次活动,我向他提到了这个故事,以防他可能认识一个在那时的自行车。 他的回答让我吃惊,他说,“我知道他们为什么这样设计它,因为我曾在该模型的开发团队工作。”

“我无法相信我正在寻找为什么'越野摩托车历史上最愚蠢的前车牌'是这样设计的,”罗杰说。

工程师说很明显为什么这个奇怪的车牌被安装在美国车型上,他说,“美国超级越野赛的观众在哪里? 他们从骑手的上方观看,所以我们设计了这个盘子,让观众可以从看台上看到骑手的号码!”

 

1981 CR2501981本田CR250经典越野摩托车经典铁双导靴前刹车本田摩托车越野赛昭和二冲程

CLASSIC MOTOCROSS IRON: 1981 HONDA CR250R

By Tom White

There is little doubt that 1981 was an interesting year for Honda. The manufacturer went all Star Wars on its cosmetics, plus water-cooled the CR125 and CR250, introduced the ill-fated CR450 and unveiled the stupidest front number plate in motocross history. Still, the 1981 CR250 tried to bring exotic works technology to the production line. It was the first-ever, water-cooled, 250cc production bike. Borrowing works technology, the 1981 CR250 shared the works bike’s long-stroke engine design, center port exhaust, semi-double-cradle frame and Pro-Link single-shock suspension. Although Honda wasn’t the first to put a single-shock system on a production bike, the Pro-Link setup proved to be a precursor for all the linkage designs in use today.

In 1981 Honda broke away from Showa to outfit the CR250 with Kayaba components. Honda wasn’t ready to go to disc brakes in 1981, but it did equip the CR250 with a double-leading-shoe front drum that worked very well. There were problems, though. The frames had a tendency to break, the clutch slipped, the head pipe hung below the frame and the transmission popped out of third gear constantly. Even worse, the 1981 CR250 weighed a ton, and the wing-like front number plate, designed to get more air to the two small radiators, was so ugly that nobody ever raced with it.

THE ODDITY EXTRAPOLATION

The 1981 Honda CR250 is collectible only because of its unique place in history. Not a great bike by any stretch of the imagination, it is memorable for its ground-breaking technology and ugly aesthetics. Even oddities can have a following, which is why collector bikes must have the original wing-style front number plate, along with the double-leading-shoe front brake and remote reservoir, four-click adjustable shock.

The Japanese domestic version did not have the wing-like front number plate, but then none of the American models had them once the buyers got the bike home. The domestic Japanese model (shown above) had a forward facing, but very small front number plate (with the same wire screen below it as the American model).

Honda’s former MXGP team manager Roger Harvey, a GP racer himself, had some behind-the-scenes info about the 1981 CR250, he told MXA that, “It was rightly written in the Classic Iron article that the US CR250 model was fitted with the ‘stupidest front number plate in motocross history. The Japanese model had a strange, but more conventional front plate and the European bikes had a conventional-style front plate. At an MXGP event some years ago a press guy asked me quiet randomly, “Can you please explain why Honda fitted those front number plates to the U.S. CR250s back in 1981?” I didn’t have a clue and I told him that I didn’t hold out much hope of finding the answer because most of the engineers from that era would almost certainly have retired.

“As luck would have it, we had a Japanese engineer with us that weekend, who only came to an event a few times a year, and I mentioned the story to him in case he might know one of the old guys that worked on the bikes back then. His reply astounded me, he said, ‘I know why they designed it that way because I worked on the development team for that model.'”

“I couldn’t believe that I was about the find out why the ‘stupidest front number plate in motocross history” was designed that way,” said Roger.

The engineer said it was obvious why this strange number plate was fitted to the American models, he said, “Where are the spectators at an American Supercross event? They are watching from up above the riders, so we designed this plate so the spectators could see the rider’s number from the stands!”

 

1981 CR2501981 honda cr250CLASSIC MOTOCROSS IRONclassicirondouble-leading shoe front brakehondamotocrossshowatwo-stroke