Gary Jones on the attack.

Forty five years is a long time in the world motocross. Few riders have careers that span more than ten years and the vast majority of competitors have never stood on the podium. Bike technology has vastly changed and few tracks have lasted from the genesis from the sport. While motocross has been around longer in both the US and abroad, the USA National series is one of the most premiere events in the sport. Riders come from all over the world to compete in the USA National series. Just in this year, 18 of the riders competing came from another country to compete in US motocross or Supercross. Lets look brief look at the first decade 1972-1982.

1972 is when the first year the National was held. Husqvarna importer Edison Dye had been working to start a professional series in the US by bringing over pros from Europe to race the local talent. Swedish rider and four time World champion Torsten Hallman, was the pioneering pro and dominated over the American talent he raced. What formed was both the Trans-AMA Series and the Inter-Am Series. Wanting to have a series for just the natives the American Motorcycle Association (AMA) decided to start their own series on 1972. A total of 24 races were planned for the first year with eight of the races featuring both a 500 and a 250 class. The rest were either individual 500 or 250 races. Of the 21 tracks in the original series Unadilla is the only one to remain in the circuit. Some of the stops included fairgrounds and major league stadiums.

Brad Lackey.

Nary a Japanese bike earned a podium in the AMA National series for the first race. Barry Higgins won the 500 overall while Sonny DeFeo took the 250 class, both aboard a CZ. Husqvarna riders Gary Semics and Gunnar Lindstrom would take second and CZ racers would take third place. The highest placing Japanese bike rider was Gerald Hastings who took an eighth overall in the 500 class on a Yamaha. The 1972 Nationals were only the start for Yamaha as Gary Jones would take his first championship in the 250 class riding a Yamaha.  Back then it was common for riders to race both classes and Jones also took second overall in the 500 class. Brad Lackey was the championship winner in the 500 class starting his series on a CZ before switching to a KX250 Kawasaki in both classes at Owyhee M/C Clubgrounds. The switch didn’t end his  five race win streak in the 500 class but he was unable to win the next six races on a 250. Back on a 500, Lackey’s streak continued for eight more races before placing second at Saddleback, the last race of the season.


ama nationalsbrad lackeyFASTEST LAP TIMESgary jonesmotocrossmotocross actionmxaOutdooroutdoors