Eli Tomac is closing up Ryan Dungey’s point lead.

A crowd of 49,020 fans filled the Rogers Centre in Toronto, Canada, to watch Eli Tomac become the first four-race winner of 2017 as he got a second place start, dispatched early leader Blake Baggett and went on to win unchallenged. Tomac’s main competitor, Ryan Dungey, got a terrible start and went to work from almost dead last in the first turn to ninth by the end of the first lap. Ryan methodically picked off every rider in the top ten, save for Tomac by the end of the race for second place. Blake Bagget, after such a great start, fell, remounted and managed to come all the way back to third behind Tomac and Broc Tickle as the race progressed. Dungey went by third place Baggett on lap 11 and then closed a big gap to Tickle—only to make a pass that stuck on lap 16. There was no way that Dungey could catch Eli Tomac, who had moved more than 10 seconds ahead of his chasers. In the end, it was Tomac first, Dungey second and Tickle third.

Tomac said, “The track was gnarly. It really broke down, so it was important to be consistent and ride smart. The long start let the Kawasaki open up and put us in a good position out of the gate, which was key. We had a good time  in Toronto and we’ll see what we can do. We have eight rounds left with a lot of good tracks ahead. I’ll just keep hammering.”

Dungey’s only lost 3 points on the night and still leads the 2017 AMA Supercross Championship by 24 points. Eli Tomac moved to second in the standings, as Marvin Musquin had a bad night with the flu and ended up 13th. Musquin is now 39 points behind the points leader (although still in third).

1. Eli Tomac…Kaw
2. Ryan Dungey…KTM
3. Broc Tickle…Suz
4. Chad Reed…Yam
5. Blake Baggett…KTM
6. Cole Seely…Hon
7. Davi Millsaps,…KTM
8. Dean Wilson…Hus
9. Justin Barcia…Suzuki
10. Justin Brayton…Hon
11. Josh Grant…Kaw
12. Justin Bogle…Suz
13. Marvin Musquin…KTM
14. Jake Weimer…Suz
15. Malcolm Stewart…Suz
16. Vince Friese…Hon
17. Mike Alessi..Hon
18. Kyle Chisholm…Hon
19. Jason Anderson…Hus
20. Nick Schmidt…Suz
21. Cody Gilmore…Kaw
22. Adam Enticknap…Hon

(after 10 of 17 events)
1. Ryan Dungey….196
2. Eli Tomac…172
3. Marvin Musquin…157
4. Cole Seely…153
5. Jason Anderson…123
6. Davi Millsaps…112
7. Chad Reed..101
8. Blake Baggett…99
9. Dean Wilson…97
10. Broc Tickle…96


blake baggettbroc tickleELI TOMACMXmxaryan dungeySUPERCROSSsxtoronto supercross