超级越野赛及其未来的一天零一天

一整天后,Kordel Caro处于放松模式努力获得星期六晚上的250 West比赛资格。

乔恩·奥特纳的照片和复制

REM越野摩托车由于一周南加州暴雨造成的泥土铺层而取消,我的周六早晨得到了释放。 海上日出始终是开始我的YZ450F赛车之旅的绝佳途径。 我在维特纳的Wave Front Surf Shop的朋友请我为他们的Fowler“青年之泉”冲浪板拍照。

文图拉的Wave Front Surf Shop的Fowler“青年之泉”冲浪板专为稳定性和性能而设计。 它是为拥有丰富经验(和多年经验)的冲浪者提供的,他们需要更多的浮动和控制权。

到中午时分,拍摄了冲浪板的照片,完成了照片处理,并将图像交付给Wave Front Surf Shop的小伙子们。 从那里,我跳上101号高速公路,将货车对准阿纳海姆(Anaheim),距离我的圣塔芭芭拉(Santa Barbara)艺术工作室三个小时车程。 随着A2 Supercross被安排为2019年Monster Energy AMA Supercross锦标赛的第三轮比赛,我的兴趣被激起了。 我不仅在周六晚上结识了好朋友,观看了世界上最好的Supercross赛车手,而且还签约参加了周日的Supercross Futures赛车比赛。

Alpinestars凭借其新的M10头盔技术将他们的帽子戴上了帽子。

Supercross Futures事件是业余赛车手获得所需积分的先进平台,以获得您的AMA Supercross许可证-并在周六晚上而不是周日参加比赛。 周日的活动期间有26个不同的班级。 从50岁的450cc自行车到250岁的20cc自行车,都有适合的骑手课程。 超快的22SX Futures Pro类赛车非常重要,因为在主赛事开始时,四名XNUMX名车手的比赛被减至XNUMX名。 这些赛车手是迈向AMA Supercross锦标赛的下一站选手,他们将为明年的大型表演赢得宝贵的进步点。

A2的获胜对。 Shane McElrath和Troy Lee。

我没有计划参加周日的业余超级越野赛,但特洛伊·李(Troy Lee)诱使我想到了骑马的想法。 在阿纳海姆体育场(Anaheim Stadium)的比赛给我带来了许多美好的回忆。 有一个报价 supercrosslive.com 《 Supercross Futures赛车》将其描述为“在一项运动中追求并竞争的令人难以置信的职业的开端,随后有成千上万的粉丝参加。 所有骑手都将在未来牢记这一点。”

Roland Sands Designs的3D设计师和REM越野摩托车赛车手Brandon Reid。

那句话对我来说真是太好了! 我的第一个业余超级越野赛是1979年。那是我赛车的第一年,我在125cc中级比赛中获得第六名。 对于众多的优秀骑手来说,这是一个不错的成绩。 实际上,雅马哈工厂的埃里克·基霍(Erik Kehoe)赢得了那场比赛。 在首次赢得阿纳海姆体育场冠军之后,埃里克(Erik)的职业生涯就走了一条惊人的道路,他获得了令人赞叹的工厂比赛,轰动的摩托车越野赛和超级越野赛的成功,然后担任领导角色,管理着一些世界上最强大的赛车队。 今天,他是HRC本田车队经理。

乔伊·萨瓦吉(Joey Savatgy)的工厂川崎(17)在乔伊通过脑震荡协议测试后返回A2。

埃里克·基欧(Erik Kehoe)后来成为工厂的明星,而那首阿纳海姆(Anaheim)Supercross是我对骑摩托车和赛车的热情的开始。 从那天起,我将有机会参加世界各地的专业摩托车越野赛和超级越野赛。 从AMA国民和Supercross,到FIM中美洲和南美锦标赛,再到波多黎各,德国,西班牙,法国,比利时,意大利等地的Supercross和Hardcross比赛。 凭借惊人的巴哈1000支球队的SCORE锦标赛,在本地,区域,国家和国际赛事中赢得了上千场胜利,包括沙漠中的最佳赛事,WORCS以及与AME,CRC,CMC,Golden State和Trans-Cal的俱乐部冠军,我知道佛罗里达州金杯赛,冬季奥运会以及最近几年的REM越野摩托车赛,我知道每个赛车职业都必须从某个地方开始。 对我来说是阿纳海姆体育场。 而且,也许对于今年的某些“超级交叉期货”而言,这是正确的。

Monster Energy / Yamaha工厂赛车队经理Jim Perry向Justin Barcia提供了一些最后的建议。

对我来说,在周日的40多岁专家大赛的第一圈摔倒,获得第二名,这意味着我在第20圈结束时从第XNUMX位回到了第XNUMX位,这是我的一个漫长的冲锋。 并且,另一个越野摩托车传奇人物赢得了我的比赛,前工厂川崎超级越野赛明星杰夫·马蒂亚斯维奇(Jeff Matiasevich)。

Troy Lee设计/ Red Bull / KTM的Sean Cantrell在行动前的最后一站。

回顾我在阿纳海姆体育场(Anaheim Stadium)的40年赛车历程,回想一下当时和现在,这真是令人着迷。 在2019年,注入这项运动的金钱和技术很难缠住你的头。 40年前,我第一次在阿纳海姆(Anaheim)赛车,维修区没有半卡车,甚至没有大名鼎鼎的工厂巨星。 现在,有一些业余骑手,有些是50年代,65年代和85年代,有半卡车要驶出。 他们有机械师,教练,自行车队和赞助商。 轮胎公司和齿轮公司排队签署12岁儿童的长期合同。 我的时代变了。

Husqvarna工厂的车手Michael Mosiman在赛车Rockstar Energy Husqvarna FC250之前进行了最后的准备。

早在1979年,一支由工厂支持的真正精英车队就拥有一辆14英尺长的厢式货车。 我们其余的人都在皮卡车和运货车上。当然,我们对他们工厂的厢式货车中的星星感到敬畏! 我仍然在一辆载货车上,而我的下一辆车将是一辆载货车,距离只有几英里。 而且,我将告诉您一些有关当时比赛和现在比赛的信息。 那些年来,作为一个17岁小孩子在阿纳海姆体育场的灯光下赛车的激动和兴奋是一种无法用语言表达的经历。 前一天晚上我无法入睡。 前往起跑门时,我感到不适和紧张。 即使是AMA Pro,这种感觉也不会消失。 对周围的惊人骑手感到敬畏,并与运动的伟大杰作完全一样的布局永远与您同在。 “超级跨界未来”是赛道前一天晚上的调音版。 以群众健康和安全为名,跳跃和节奏部分已大大减少。

积极,坚韧和准备。Troy Lee设计/ Red Bull / KTM的Shane McElrath。

成为“成熟”运动员的一个惊人的好处就是见证了新一代的Pro赛车手,以及我曾经与之竞争的第二代和第三代车手。 在250SX Futures Pro类中,布拉登·奥尼尔的父亲基思和我是中美洲和南美越野摩托车锦标赛的队友,我们一起参观了欧洲,并在1980年代在西班牙,法国,意大利和比利时参加了超级越野赛。 我和布雷登的祖父吉姆(O'Neal USA的创始人)和我一起参加了SCORE Baja锦标赛的无数胜利。 Max Lee(星期日LCQ 250SX期货的获胜者)是Troy Lee(Troy Lee Designs的创始人)的儿子。 特洛伊和我在鞍背和印度沙丘时代曾参加过职业比赛。 另外,我们在1000年的Baja 2010比赛中携手合作(到目前为止,我很自豪地穿着Troy Lee Designs的装备和头盔)。 前AMA Pro Rich Taylor(X Brand护目镜的成名者)也与他的儿子Richard和Zach一起出奇制胜,Richard则在250SX期货中脱颖而出。 当然,我戴了Rich的X Brand护目镜。.眼见为实!

KTM的马文·穆斯奎因(Marvin Musquin)于星期六晚上驶向起跑线,而机械师弗兰基·拉瑟姆(Frankie Latham)则在后排。 妻子Mathilde在后台。

谈论这些年轻雄鹿的选线,悬挂设置和赛道状况本身就是一种特权。 在这些250SX期货竞争对手的眼中,是在展望未来。 无论这些年轻的车手跻身荣耀,名望和财富的顶级梯队,还是仅仅是敞开大门,探索骑行,赛车和结识摩托车友人的可能性,这些将持续一生……这项运动将对他们的生活产生积极影响。

出厂连接/ Geico Honda的Cameron McAdoo准备就绪。

当Supercross Futures来到您附近的城市时,请务必尽早注册(带一大笔钱),并体验一下生活中几乎没有的东西。 感受一个人满为患的体育场的能量,并在前一天晚上观看英雄,然后在第二天成为足以使您印象深刻并令人振奋的赛道上的英雄。 从注册到签到,到出色的赛道准备,再到方格旗,周日的比赛经历都尽可能地无缝。 比赛程序将近900个条目,很容易搞砸,但周日的程序却像发条一样运转。

前AMA肖恩·利帕诺维奇(现在是SLMX学校的名声)为A2的粉丝们闪烁着微笑。 他在护理受伤的手腕时处于观望状态。

多年来,我从各种Supercross项目,Baja锦标赛,AME和REM越野摩托车锦标赛中保存了一些特殊的奖杯。 我上周日在40岁以上专家级别上获得第五名的牌匾将进入我的收藏。.大约40年前,我在这个体育场赢得的奖杯是一个完美的书挡。

Hans Trunkenpolz从南非飞来享受A2。 汉斯的父亲是KTM的创始人。

Troy Lee Designs总经理Bill Keefe庆祝Shane McElrath的Anaheim 2 AMA 250 West胜利。

MXA广告总监Robb Mesecher从爱达荷州下来,在MXA富丽堂皇的塔楼里度过了一段时间,赶上了A2。

周日的超级期货照片

文森特·韦(Vincent Wey)。 兴奋地在灯光下比赛阿纳海姆体育场。 他赢得了65cc(7-9)主赛冠军。

凯西·科克兰(Casey Cochran)(66)在85cc(9-12)A-Main中获得了骄人的胜利。

海登·迪根(Haiden Deegan)在85cc A Main的前排最后一圈冲刺时,他在擦洗的同时将自己的车架撞到起飞跳高处时,距离很短。 仔细观察,没有脚踩在钉子上,海登的自行车向左急转。 他忍受了。

撞车事故发生后,海登·迪根(Haiden Deegan)坐在他的自行车上被推回维修站。 他握住他的右肩。

Knobby Shop South的Dennis Stapleton Sr.和Nick Wey在孩子们疯狂之前赶上来。

戴蒙·史密斯(Damon Smith)和他的家人在比赛开始前分享了他们的微笑。 达蒙(Damon)在7A以上主赛中获得了第七名。

Shane Smith。 四岁的他已经准备好在他的Knobby Shop South / O'Neal Cobra上摇滚了。

特洛伊和麦克斯·李。 为250SX期货做好准备。

Haiden Deegan。 风暴前的平静。

《越野摩托车行动》杂志的测试车手Brian Medeiros在凤凰城和阿纳海姆250号都参加了2 Pro级别的比赛。

斯拉德·瓦拉拉(Slade Varola)驾驶Simi Valley Cycles / Pro Circuit支持铃木RM85两冲程车,参加了许多比赛。 Angel Stadium的狭窄范围使两冲程成为了完美的自行车。

理查德·泰勒(Richard Taylor)在比赛中全神贯注于他的Simi Valley自行车/ EKS品牌护目镜/ FXR Yamaha。

莱德(Ryder)和布莱恩·星期五(Brian Friday)前往起跑门。

五岁的诺亚·卢克(Noah Luke)不能在午睡时间之前回到自己的维修站。 诺亚睡着了,因为他的父亲在骑摩托车后将坡道推上了坑。

阿玛瑞·阿诺德(Amari Arnold)准备好并在A2等待。

在Cale练习四圈之前,Cale Bainbridge和他的小发现者进行了最后一分钟的步行路程。

团队行动爸爸的Ryan Abler在A2的Supercross Futures比赛中整日表现出灿烂的笑容和出色的游乐设施。

布雷登·奥尼尔(Braden O'Neal)谈摩托。 由于练习从上午7:30开始,比赛于下午9:00结束,因此您的摩托车之间有足够的时间进行交流。

 

2019阿纳海姆2号超级越野赛阿纳海姆超级越野赛乔恩·奥特纳·吉姆·奥尼尔越野摩托车赛段肖恩·利帕诺维奇肖恩·麦克拉斯超级交叉期货特洛伊·李

A NIGHT & A DAY LOOKING AT SUPERCROSS & ITS FUTURE

Kordel Caro in relax mode after a full day’s effort to qualify for Saturday night’s 250 West field.

PHOTOS AND COPY BY JON ORTNER

With REM Motocross canceled due to mud layering the track from the week’s heavy Southern California rain storms, my Saturday morning was freed up. Sunrise at the ocean is always a great way to start an off day from racing my YZ450F. My friends over at Wave Front Surf Shop in Ventura had asked me to photograph their Fowler “Fountain of Youth” surfboard.

The Fowler “Fountain of Youth” surfboard from Ventura’s Wave Front Surf Shop is designed for stability and performance. It is for surfers with lots of experience (and years) who are looking for a little more flotation and control.

By midday, the surfboard photographs were shot, photo processing completed, and the images delivered  to the guys at Wave Front Surf Shop. From there I hopped on the 101 freeway and aimed my van towards Anaheim—a three hour drive from my Santa Barbara art studio. With the A2 Supercross scheduled as the third round of the 2019 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championships, my interest was really piqued. Not only was I meeting good friends to watch the very best Supercross racers in the world on Saturday night, but I was also signed up to compete in Sunday’s Supercross Futures race.

Alpinestars has thrown their hat in the ring with their new M10 helmet technologies.

The Supercross Futures event is the advancement platform for amateur racers to earn the necessary points to get your AMA Supercross license—and race on Saturday night instead of Sunday day. There are 26 different classes during Sunday’s event,. There are classes for rider from four-years old on 50cc bikes, through plus forty-year old riders on 450cc bikes. The ultra-swift 250SX Futures Pro class racing was serious as four heats of 20 riders were whittled done to the top 22 by the time the main event rolled around. These racers are the next in line to make the step up to the AMA Supercross Championships—with valuable advancement points being earned towards next year’s big show.

The winning pair at A2. Shane McElrath and Troy Lee.

I hadn’t planned on racing Sunday’s amateur Supercross, but Troy Lee coaxed me into the idea of riding. Suiting up at Anaheim Stadium  stirred up a lot of amazing memories for me. There is a quote from supercrosslive.com that describes racing Supercross Futures as “the start of an incredible career pursuing and competing in a sport followed by millions of fans. And its something that all riders will remember long into the future.”

Roland Sands Designs’ 3D designer and REM motocross racer Brandon Reid.

That statement is fantastically true to me! My first amateur Supercross was in 1979. It was my very first year of racing and I finished sixth overall in the 125cc Intermediate class. That was a good result against a long list of great riders. In fact,  Factory Yamaha’s Erik Kehoe won that race. Erik’s career followed a spectacular path after that first Anaheim Stadium win, with amazing factory rides, sensational motocross and Supercross success, and then leadership roles with managing some of the world’s most powerful race teams. Today, he is the HRC Honda team manager.

The Factory Kawasaki of Joey Savatgy (17) was back in action for A2 after Joey passed his concussion protocol test.

Erik Kehoe went on to become an factory star and that first Anaheim Supercross was the start of my passion for riding and racing motorcycles. Since that day, I would get the opportunity to race professional motocross and Supercross all over the world. From AMA Nationals and Supercross, to the FIM Central and South American Championships, to Supercross and Hardcross races in Puerto Rico, Germany, Spain, France, Belgium, Italy and more. With SCORE Championships on amazing Baja 1000 teams, to over a thousand wins in local, regional, national and international events— including Best in the Desert, WORCS, and the club championships with AME, CRC, CMC, Golden State and Trans-Cal, Florida Gold Cup, Winter Olympics, and in more recent years, REM Motocross, I know that every racing career has to start somewhere. For me it was Anaheim Stadium. And, perhaps, that will be true for some of this year’s Supercross Futures field.

Monster Energy/Yamaha Factory Racing Team Manager Jim Perry gives Justin Barcia some last moment advice.

For me, falling down during the first lap of Sunday’s Over-40 Expert main event, after moving into second place, meant that I had a long charge from 20th place back to fifth place by the end of my four laps. And, once again another motocross legend won my race, former Factory Kawasaki Supercross star Jeff Matiasevich.

Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Sean Cantrell in his final stretch before action.

Reflecting on my 40-year span of racing in Anaheim Stadium, it is fascinating to reflect on then and now. In 2019, the money and technology infused into the sport is hard to wrap your head around. My first time racing at Anaheim, 40 years ago, there were no semi trucks in the pits, not even for the big name factory stars. Now, there are amateurs riders, some on 50s, 65s and 85s with semi trucks to pit out of. They have mechanics, trainers, a fleet of bikes and sponsors. The tire companies and gear companies line up to sign 12-year-olds to long-term contracts. My how the times have changed.

Husqvarna factory rider Michael Mosiman goes through the final preparations before racing his Rockstar Energy Husqvarna FC250.

Back in 1979, a truly elite factory-backed race team possessed a 14-foot box van. The rest of us were in pickup trucks and cargo vans.. and, of course, we were in awe of the stars in their factory box vans! I am still in a cargo van, and my next vehicle will be a cargo van, just with a few less miles. And, I will tell you something about racing then and racing now. The thrill and excitement of being a 17-year-old kid racing beneath the lights of Anaheim Stadium all those years ago was an experience impossible to put in words. I was unable to sleep the night before. I felt ill and nervous as I headed to the starting gate. That feeling never went away, even as an AMA Pro. Being in awe of the amazing riders around you and riding the very same layout as the greats of the sport is something that lives with you forever. The Supercross Future was a very toned down version of the night before’s track. The jumps and rhythm sections had drastically reduced in the name of sanity and safety for the masses.

Positivity, perseverance, and preparation.. Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath.

An amazing benefit of being a “mature” athlete, is witnessing the new generations of Pro riders, and the second and third generation of riders whose fathers I once raced against.  In the 250SX Futures Pro class Braden O’Neal’s father Keith and I were teammates in the Central & South American Motocross Championships, and we toured Europe together, racing Supercross in Spain, France, Italy and Belgium back in the 1980s. Braden’s grandfather, Jim (founder of O’Neal USA) and I teamed together for numerous wins in the SCORE Baja Championships. Max Lee (winner of Sunday’s LCQ 250SX Futures) is the son of Troy  Lee (founder of Troy Lee Designs). Troy and I battled in the Pro class back in the Saddleback and Indian Dunes days. Plus, we teamed together at the Baja 1000 in 2010 (and to this day I proudly wear Troy Lee Designs’ gear and helmets). Former AMA Pro Rich Taylor (of X Brand goggles fame) also has an amazing presence with his sons, Richard and Zach, with Richard ripping in the 250SX Futures. Of course, I wear Rich’s X Brand goggles.. seeing is believing!

KTM ’s Marvin Musquin heads for the the starting line on Saturday night with mechanic Frankie Latham on the back. Wife Mathilde is in the background.

Talking about line selection, suspension setup and track conditions with these young bucks is a privilege in itself. Looking in the eyes of these 250SX Futures competitors is looking into the eyes of the future. Whether these young riders make it to the top echelon of glory, fame and wealth or simply open doors to the possibilities of riding, racing and making friends in motorcycling that will last a lifetime…the sport will positively impact their lives.

Factory Connection/Geico Honda’s Cameron McAdoo ready to roll.

When Supercross Futures comes to a city near you, be sure to sign-up early (bring a boatload of money) and experience what few in life ever can. Feel the energy of a stadium full of people and watch your heroes the night before, then be your own hero the following day on a track that is tough enough to impress and thrill you. The race experience on Sunday was as seamless as possible, from enrollment to sign-up, to the excellent track preparation, to the checkered flag. With almost 900 entries it is easy for a race program to get messed up, but Sunday’s program ran like clockwork.

Former AMA Sean Lipanovich (now of  SLMX School fame) flashes his smile for the fans of A2. He is on the sidelines while nursing an injured wrist.

I have saved a few special trophies over the years from various Supercross events, Baja Championships, AME and REM Motocross Championships. My plaque on Sunday for fifth in the Over-40 Expert class will find its way onto my collection.. a perfect bookend to the trophy I won in this very stadium, some 40 years ago.

Hans Trunkenpolz flew in from South Africa to enjoy A2. Hans’ father was the founder of KTM.

Troy Lee Designs’ General Manager Bill Keefe celebrates Shane McElrath’s Anaheim 2 AMA 250 West victory.

MXA Advertising Director Robb Mesecher came down from Idaho to spend some time in MXA’s palatial towers and catch A2.

SUNDAY’S SUPERCROSS FUTURES PHOTOS

Vincent Wey. Excited to race Anaheim Stadium under the lights. He won the 65cc (7-9) A Main.

Casey Cochran (66) got an impressive win in the 85cc (9-12) A-Main.

Haiden Deegan’s last lap charge towards the front in the 85cc A Main came up way short when he hit his frame against the top of the take-off jump while scrubbing. Look closely, neither foot is on the pegs and Haiden’s bike is swinging hard left.  He endo’ed.

After the crash Haiden Deegan was pushed back to the pits while sitting on his bike. He was holding his right shoulder.

Knobby Shop South’s Dennis Stapleton Sr. and Nick Wey catching up before the kids go wild.

Damon Smith and his family share their smiles before race time. Damon went on to finish a strong 7th overall in the Over- 40A Main.

Shane Smith. Four years old and ready to rock on his Knobby Shop South/O’Neal Cobra.

Troy and Max Lee. Race ready for the 250SX Futures.

Haiden Deegan. The calm before the storm.

Motocross Action Magazine test rider Brian Medeiros raced the 250 Pro class at both Phoenix and Anaheim 2.

Slade Varola raced numerous classes on his trick Simi Valley Cycles/Pro Circuit backed Suzuki RM85 two-stroke. The tight confines of Angel Stadium made two-strokes the perfect bike.

Richard Taylor in full race focus on his Simi Valley Cycles/EKS Brand Goggle/FXR Yamaha.

Ryder and Brian Friday head to the starting gate.

Five-year-old Noah Luke couldn’t quite make it back to his pit before nap time. Noah fell asleep was his father was pushing up the ramp to the pits after his moto.

Amari Arnold ready and waiting at A2.

Cale Bainbridge and his little spotter do a last minute track walk before Cale got in his four laps of practice.

Team Action Dad’s Ryan Abler had great smiles and great rides all day long at A2’s Supercross Futures race.

Braden O’Neal talks moto. Since practice started at 7:30 a.m. and the race ended at 9:00 p.m. there was plenty of time to talk between your motos.

 

2019 anaheim 2 supercrossanaheim supercrossjon ortner' jim o'nealmxa motocross sctionsean lipanovichsean mcelrathSUPERCROSS FUTUREStroy lee