欢乐之盒中的佼佼者:我最敬佩的人,在相对默默无闻中辛勤工作

在计算机时代之前,乔迪在绘图板上使用他最喜欢的设计工具——电动橡皮擦。

乔迪·韦瑟尔(Jody Weisel)

和大多数人一样,我最重要的发现之前都是我最大的失败。 我知道一两件事关于失败。 我是一个根深蒂固的修补匠。 我建造东西,经常在这个过程中破坏东西。 我的创作手法是在半夜突然出现一个想法时开始的。 我从床上跳起来,急忙做笔记和草图(我早就知道,如果我不马上起床,等到闹钟响起我就会忘记这个想法)。

我必须承认,即使我有一个绝妙的想法来结束世界饥饿、消除贫困或将草屑变成可穿戴的衣服,如果我不写下来,我会在五分钟内忘记它。 可悲的是,我在开车时经常有 Gyro Gearloose 天才的时刻。 在这些情况下,我在进出交通时迅速将这个想法写在进出收据上,但后来发现我无法阅读自己的笔迹。

一旦我写下一个想法,下一步就是构建一个 3D 模型,通常使用纸、回形针或餐厅餐巾纸。 我喜欢使用纸张,因为当这个想法没有成功时,我可以把它揉成一团然后扔掉。 我很自豪地说,我的一些想法已经成为销售数百万的产品,我很谦虚地不告诉你它们是什么。 我只想说世界上最大的公司都在使用我的专利,而且你很可能拥有我的一种经过回形针验证的产品——而且你肯定已经看到了。

我的修修补补使我成为创意人士的狂热爱好者,尤其是在后院车库、小镇经销商和乡村作坊中辛勤工作的摩托车发明家。 越野摩托车一直是创新的培养皿,与许多崇拜当下工厂明星的越野摩托车迷不同,我钦佩那些为普通民众创造更好生活的人。 大多数为我们的运动设定基准的发明者都生活在相对默默无闻的环境中。 很少有专门为发明者欢呼的部分。 我想通过列出我钦佩的人来纠正这一点——至少在这个空间里。

普雷斯顿和乔迪都喜欢机械的所有东西,但并没有超过把它放在相机上

普雷斯顿·佩蒂。 为越野摩托车设计挡泥板没什么大不了的。 这对每个设计师来说都是一件容易的事。 普雷斯顿·佩蒂 (Preston Petty) 可能以他的挡泥板而闻名,但很少有人知道他真正声名鹊起的是设计能够以高效、独特、廉价和实用的方式吐出挡泥板、防滑板、前车牌的机器。 他编写了自己的计算机代码来使他的机器工作。 就像“毕业生”中的达斯汀霍夫曼一样,塑料在越野摩托车中拥有未来,因为普雷斯顿。

艾文德·博伊森(Eyvind Boyesen)。 没有一个摩托车发明家会花这么多时间摆弄摩托车发动机的一个方面。 艾文德专注于空气流动,它对燃料流动的必然影响及其副产品——马力。 从簧片阀到加速​​泵到浮球到传输端口到气缸盖设计再到进气靴,Boyesen 的帝国建立在更多的空气进入和更多的动力输出之上。 在业余时间,他设计了汽车发动机、悬架系统和水泵。

 


在 Ossa BLT 上使用的 Joe Bolger 的连杆悬挂系统是第一个利用上升速率连杆的系统。 

乔·博尔格。 我从未见过这个人,但早在 1974 年,我就很钦佩他。 他的连杆悬挂 Ossa BLT 是当今使用的现代高速连杆自行车的先驱。

鲍勃福克斯。 人们很容易认为 Bob Fox 生活在他的 Fox Racing 兄弟 Geoff 的阴影下——但不是在发明家的世界里。 Bob Fox 最著名的避震设计 Fox Shox 在 70 世纪 XNUMX 年代几乎为每辆工程自行车增光添彩。 今天是福特猛龙队。

吕西安·蒂尔肯斯。 没有什么比对儿子的爱更能激发发明家的力量了。 蒂尔肯斯的儿子盖伊赛车又撞车,又赛车又撞车。 Lucien 相信他可以建造一个后悬架系统,让 Guy 保持在两个轮子上。 结果? 雅马哈 Monoshock 系统——将单震自行车带到了最前沿。

中山义治。 一个人和一个人对过去 25 年的四冲程革命负责。 Yoshiharu Nakayama 以基本预算设计并制造了第一台 Yamaha YZ400F。 更疯狂的是,他在自己的时间在厨房桌子上设计了雅马哈 YZ250F 发动机。 没有中山,今天就没有四冲程赛车。

Mike Goodwin 与 Bob Hannah 一起展示,他以自我为中心且自负。 如果他是一辆车,他会是一个 Clenet。

迈克·古德温。 并非所有发明都是由钢和铝制成的。 有些是思想碰撞的结果。 迈克古德温的爱好是骑摩托车,但他的业务是推广摇滚音乐会。 称之为 kismet,但 Supercross 仅存在于今天,因为 Goodwin 的 Barnum & Bailey 个性以及他将自己的职业和业余爱好结合起来的绝妙想法。 由于迈克·古德温(Mike Goodwin)的晋升,Supercross 变得很大。 我一直很喜欢迈克·古德温——不是因为他讨人喜欢,而是因为他显然是个小贩。 我很难想象我经常打交道的人会因为涉嫌雇佣枪手杀死米奇汤普森而入狱。

唐和德里克·里克曼。 里克曼兄弟发明了工程自行车。 Don 和 Derek 厌倦了 60 年代初可用于比赛的劣质自行车,开始制造自己的镀镍车架套件。 越野摩托车再也不会一样了。

 

霍斯特·莱特纳(Horst Leitner)拥有他在 125 年为 KTM 设计的令人难以置信的独特 1989SX 二冲程。

霍斯特·莱特纳。 霍斯特是一个真正的信徒。 四次 ISDT 金牌得主相信四冲程越野摩托车,而没有人相信。 以至于他使 ATK 在 80 年代成为美国第五大越野摩托车公司。 Horst 非常相信反链条扭矩悬架设计,因此他开发了用于摩托车的 ATK 和 AMP 系统以及他广受赞誉的用于山地自行车的 Horst Link。 霍斯特全心全意地投入到越野摩托车中。

当我们谈到越野摩托车英雄时,通常会想到机器上的人。 事实上,真正的英雄是机器背后的人。

欢乐之盒乔迪·韦瑟尔欢乐盒摩托车越野赛x

BEST OF JODY’S BOX: THE PEOPLE I ADMIRE THE MOST, TOIL IN RELATIVE OBSCURITY

Jody, before the age of computers, at the drawing board working with his favorite design tool — the electric eraser.

By Jody Weisel

As with most people, my most important discoveries have been preceded by my biggest failures. And I know a thing or two about failure. I am an inveterate tinker. I build things, often destroying things in the process. My creative modus operandi starts in the middle of the night when an idea pops into my head. I jump out of bed and hurriedly make notes and sketches (I learned long ago that if I didn’t get up right away, I would forget the idea by the time my alarm clock went off).

I must admit that even if I had a brilliant idea to end world hunger, eliminate poverty or turn grass clippings into wearable clothes, I would forget it in five minutes if I didn’t write it down. Sadly, I often have moments of Gyro Gearloose genius while driving. In these cases, I quickly write the idea down on an In-and-Out receipt while weaving in-and-out of traffic, only to discover later that I can’t read my own handwriting.

Once I have an idea written down, the next step is to build a 3D model, often using paper, paper clips or restaurant napkins. I like working with paper, because when the idea doesn’t pan out, I can just wad it up and throw it away. I’m proud enough to say that some of my ideas have become products that sell in the millions and I’m humble enough not to tell you what they are. Suffice it to say that the biggest corporations in the world use my patents, and you might well own one of my paper clip-proven products—and for sure you’ve see one.

My tinkering has made me an aficionado of creative people, especially motorcycle inventors who toil in backyard garages, small town dealerships and rustic workshops. Motocross has always been a petri dish of innovation, and unlike many motocross fans, who idolize the factory star of the moment, I admire the men who make things better for common folk. Most of the inventors who have set benchmarks for our sport live in relative obscurity. There is rarely a cheering section set aside for inventors. I’d like to rectify that— at least in this space — by listing the men I admire.

Preston and Jody shared a love of all things mechanical, but weren’t above hamming it up for the cameras

Preston Petty. It’s no big deal to design a fender for a motocross bike. It’s an easy task for every designer. Preston Petty may be most famous for his fender, but few know that his real claim to fame is designing the machines that spit out fenders, skid plates, front number plates in an efficient, unique, inexpensive and practical way. And he wrote his own computer code to make his machines work. Just like Dustin Hoffman in “The Graduate,” plastic had a future in motocross because of Preston.

Eyvind Boyesen. No single motorcycle inventor spent so much time fiddling with one single aspect of a motorcycle engine. Eyvind was fixated on air flow, its corollary effects on fuel flow and its byproduct — horsepower. From reed valves to accelerator pumps to float bowls to transfer ports to cylinder head designs to intake boots, Boyesen’s empire is built on getting more air in and more power out. In his spare time, he designed car engines, suspension systems and water pumps.

 


Joe Bolger’s linkage suspension system, as used on the Ossa BLT, was the first to harness rising rate linkage. 

Joe Bolger. I never met the man, but as far back as 1974 I admired him. His linkage-suspended Ossa BLT was a precursor to the modern rising-rate linkage bikes that are in use today.

Bob Fox. It would be easy to think that Bob Fox has lived in the shadow of his Fox Racing brother Geoff — but not in the world of inventors. Bob Fox’s most famous suspension design, the Fox Shox, graced literally every works bike in the ‘70s. And today it’s on Ford Raptors.

Lucien Tilkens. Nothing powers an inventor more than love of his son. Tilkens’ son Guy raced and crashed and raced and crashed. Lucien believed that he could build a rear suspension system that would keep Guy on two wheels. The result? The Yamaha Monoshock system—which brought single-shock bikes to the forefront.

Yoshiharu Nakayama. One man and one man alone is responsible for the four-stroke revolution of the last 25 years. Yoshiharu Nakayama designed and built the first Yamaha YZ400F on a bare bones budget. Even wilder, he designed the Yamaha YZ250F engine on his kitchen table in his own time. Without Nakayama, there would be no four-stroke race bikes today.

Mike Goodwin, shown here with Bob Hannah, was self centered and egotistic. If he were a car, he’d be a Clenet.

Mike Goodwin. Not all inventions are made of steel and aluminum. Some are the result of the collision of ideas. Mike Goodwin’s hobby was riding motorcycles, but his business was promoting rock concerts. Call it kismet, but Supercross only exists today because of Goodwin’s Barnum & Bailey personality and his bright idea to combine his vocation and avocation. Supercross became big because of Mike Goodwin’s promotions. I always liked Mike Goodwin — not because he was likable, but because he was so transparently a huckster. I find it hard to think that someone I dealt with regularly could be in prison for allegedly hiring gunman to kill Mickey Thompson.

Don & Derek Rickman. The Rickman brothers invented the works bike. Tired of the poor quality of bikes available to race in the early ‘60s, Don and Derek began building their own nickel-plated frame kits. Motocross bikes would never be same again.

 

Horst Leitner with the incredibly unique 125SX two-stroke he designed for KTM in 1989.

Horst Leitner. Horst is a true believer. The four-time ISDT Gold medalist believed in four-stroke motocross bikes when no one else did; so much so that he made ATK the fifth largest offroad motorcycle company in the USA in the ‘80s. Horst believed in anti-chain torque suspension designs so much that he developed the ATK and AMP systems for motorcycles and his much-heralded Horst Link for mountain bikes. Horst put his whole heart and soul into motocross.

When we speak of motocross heroes, it is common to think of the man on the machine. In truth, the real hero is the man behind the machine.

BEST OF JODY'S BOXjody weiselJODY’S BOXmotocrossmxa