布兰登·哈斯 (BRANDON HAAS) 让 CLUBMX 培训机构取得成功

Brandon Haas 是 ClubMX 培训设施的所有者和主要培训师。 他还拥有并经营 ClubMX Yamaha 赛车队。

乔什·莫西曼

ClubMX 训练设施位于南卡罗来纳州切斯特菲尔德的山丘上,距离北卡罗来纳州夏洛特东南仅 60 英里。 ClubMX 配备了四个越野摩托车赛道、四个 Supercross 赛道、一个赛马场、俱乐部会所、健身房、两个露营地以及多个房屋和小屋,是一个全年开放的摩托车越野训练设施,旨在帮助业余和专业车手提高他们的技术。 自该设施于 2010 年首次开业以来,它一直在不断扩大。 2018 年,ClubMX Pro Supercross 团队成立,多年来它也在不断发展。 MXA的乔什·莫西曼 (Josh Mosiman) 与 ClubMX 老板布兰登·哈斯 (Brandon Haas) 谈论了他的训练设施的成立以及他令人兴奋的 2022 Supercross 球队名单。 

CLUBMX 是如何开始的? ClubMX 的起源始于明尼苏达州。 我组建了一个有赞助的俱乐部,如果你加入了俱乐部,你可以在我的赛道上打折。 我在比赛时正在上骑术学校,我会在星期四晚上进行公开练习。 最终,这条赛道被县政府关闭。 我跳了一会儿,然后来到南卡罗来纳州,为 Rock Hill 的 Arenacross 车队效力。 Arenacross 完成后,我在 Sandhill 比赛,这实际上是 ClubMX 附近的一条老赛道,我听到一些在附近的沙路上骑坑自行车的孩子说这是 Zach Osborne 的地方。 我一直在寻找新的骑行场所,最终我与 Zach 取得了联系并出来骑行。 那是 2009 年,Zach 在欧洲参加 MXGP 系列比赛。 

培训机构是如何走到一起的? 我最终在 Red Bud 撕裂了我的 ACL 和 MCL,所以我当时知道我需要做点别的事情。 我开始浇混凝土,但我不想那样做,所以我继续进行越野摩托车训练。 我一直与 Zach 保持联系,并告诉他我想在南部寻找一块土地来建立训练设施。 扎克说:“我很乐意这样做,我爸爸也想帮忙。” 向前跳跃,扎克心中有一个地方可以回馈从业余向职业过渡的孩子们。 在扎克的情况下,他在年轻时就因为身材走样、饮食不正确、训练不力而错失了一次机会。 他认识到自己的错误,并想帮助下一个出现的人。 而且,我认为对他来说,这有点像如果他自己的比赛没有成功,那就是他的倒退。 

你是如何在南卡罗来纳州登陆的? 起初,我们在佛罗里达州和乔治亚州购物。 我没有钱。 我只是一个咕噜咕噜的人,但我知道如何努力工作,而且我知道 Zach 会在健身和营养方面提供帮助。 我知道我也必须在我们周围找到合适的人。 我最终与 Zach 达成协议。 他拥有这处房产,并认为这是我们最好的地方。

“CLUBMX 的根源始于明尼苏达州。 我组建了一个有赞助的俱乐部,如果您加入了俱乐部,您将获得折扣 骑在我的轨道上。” 

ZACH OSBORNE 仍然是部分所有者吗? 扎克骑上 Geico Honda 之后,这让他确信赛车现在是他的首要任务。 不是说以前没有,但他不想因为拥有 ClubMX 而分心,所以他卖掉了自己的股份。 对我们来说并没有太大变化。 扎克会在周末帮忙,他的父亲也一样。 但这从一开始就是我的交易。 他们是投资者。 扎克有很好的想法,他和我有同样的愿景。 我们真的很完美,但我们也知道他需要让他的比赛继续进行并回到美国,因为一旦他这样做了,一些车队会接他。 我们支持扎克并与他一起工作了很多年,一段时间后我们也最终购买了他父亲的股份。 如果不是奥斯本,我绝对不会有今天的 ClubMX。 他们看到了愿景,他们知道我愿意全力以赴。

Supercross 训练小组在训练开始前做一个快速的摩托车前简介。

谁现在经营 CLUBMX? 我负责 Supercross 团队和 Supercross 培训组的日常运营。 Ben Graves 是总经理,他负责培训方面的日常运营。 我们一直在努力提升我们正在做的事情,Ben 帮助我腾出了很多时间。 米格尔是我们的赛道建设者,布兰登·沙勒 (Brandon Scharer) 与我们一起担任骑行教练。 他正在控制这一点,并且做得非常出色。 海登是我们在健身房的教练,黛博拉是我们的厨师。 在过去的一年里,迈克·博纳奇一直在为我们跑练习场,实际上我们一直在把他从那里拉出来,并让他在我们的赛车队中担任管理职务。 他为 ClubMX 的发展提供了很多帮助。 对我来说,这就像一支梦之队。 现在我有了好人,这让我们能够扩大我们的影响力,尽可能多地回馈和帮助更多的人。 

建立 CLUBMX 的第一步是什么? ClubMX 最初是在一块 42 英亩的土地上开始的。 我们有一条 Supercross 赛道,我们的主要前赛道,现在是我们的训练赛道,然后我们有 GP 沙赛道,这是 Zach Osborne 的原始赛道。 我们马上建了一个露营地和一个双层小屋。 我学到了关于商业的艰难道路。 例如,我们将推土机推入地下,却没有意识到安装一个新的起落架要花费 24,000 美元。 我们在操作方面是新手,但我一直在加倍努力。 每次我们赚钱时,我都会建造另一栋楼。 我们建造了健身房,然后我们建造了一些小木屋,最后建造了一个用于膳食计划的俱乐部会所。 然后是新的办公室、浴室,我们建造了带车库的商店。 

贾斯汀·布雷顿 (Justin Brayton) 是 ClubMX 培训的众多顶级职业选手之一。

你也有很多独立的车库。 我们觉得人们想要他们的私人空间。 随着贾斯汀·布雷顿(Justin Brayton)和更多高层人士不断来到这里,我们希望满足他们的需求。 我们开始建造更多带有更大隔间的车库,并将其设置得更好。 露营地也是如此; 我们在建造第二个时变得更好。 我们不断建造更多的小屋,并且在此过程中我们有机会开始购买我们周围的房产。 我不会说我是一个伟大的计划者,但我绝对不害怕开始。

现在 CLUBMX 是一个大型的越野摩托车游乐场。 一天结束时,我喜欢退后一步,看着一块财产,想:“如果我还是个小孩,我会怎么做?” 我想要到处都有轨道。 所以,我的愿景是用轨道包裹整个财产。 现在我们占地 200 英亩。 我们有四个越野摩托车赛道,都在完全不同的泥土上。 对于 Supercross 赛道,我们的想法相同,但土壤不同。 它们分散在整个物业中。 该物业的一侧是更多的粘土,而另一侧是更多的沙子,这就是给我们机会的原因。 

一次有多少人在 CLUBMX 接受培训? 我们准备处理 30 名全职培训人员。 对于训练组,我们的需求要高很多,而且在我们繁忙的季节,比如冬天,很多人都想做更多的短期训练,所以我们得到了额外的帮助,我们会再创建一个组。 但是,我们试图专注于在我们可用的 30 个位置上做得非常好。 我们真的不希望这里有更多的人。 Supercross 也是如此。 我们现在有一个完整的小组,我真的无法再处理这些家伙了。 您需要一定数量的人才能使曲目变得粗糙和逼真。 所以,拥有更多的人绝对是一个优势,但你必须找到那个快乐的媒介。 在冬季,我们可以在周末有 100 到 200 名车手来到我们的公共练习场。 我们还在周末举办为期两天的夏令营。 我们有军事鉴赏营、50cc 营和兽医营。 当我们有一个营地时,这些通常是每月一次或两次。 

“如果不是因为奥斯本, 我今天绝对不会有 CLUBMX。 他们看到了愿景,他们知道我愿意 全力以赴。”

CLUBMX PRO RACE 团队是如何开始的? 老实说,这始于 2018 年凯尔·彼得斯和乔什·奥斯比在这里训练时。他们做得非常好,但他们没有任何交易。 Greg Chidgey 经营着我们的 Pro 商店,当时它只是该设施的一家公共自行车商店。 我知道他真的很有价值,我们可以把一些东西放在一起帮助几个有需要的人。 我们知道该做什么以及与哪些公司合作来制造一辆好自行车,因为我们每天都看到它。 我们这里有 30 个速度非常快的人,介于专业人士和业余爱好者之间,我们看看什么是有效的。 我们看到谁的悬架运行良好,哪些发动机正在爆炸,哪些自行车有电气问题。 你真的很快就会发现。 对我们来说,心态是,“让我们制造一些常识性的自行车,帮助 Josh 和 Kyle。” 我真的感觉很糟糕,因为他们很好,他们被吊死了。 凯尔最终得到了 JGR 的搭车,当然,我们说要搭车。 乔伊·克朗填补了他的位置,但他最终受伤了,所以它转向了扎克·威廉姆斯。 

ClubMX 有四个越野摩托车赛道和四个 Supercross 赛道,每个赛道都有不同类型的泥土。

您是从 KTMS 开始的,对吗? 我们购买了四辆 KTM,当地经销商帮助我们解决了这些问题。 Twisted Development 制造了引擎,我们得到了很好的悬挂。 斯科特·杰弗里(Scott Jeffrey)在加拿大以外经营着 Redemption Racing 车队,我们一直在这里训练他们的队员,所以我知道他们的卡车在冬天空无一人。 斯科特和我一直相处得很好,他想回馈那些崭露头角的孩子、勤奋的工作人员和坚强的基督徒。 对于斯科特来说,这是关于在加拿大组队参加比赛并在美国进行超级越野赛这才是真正开始的原因。

第一年过得怎么样? 我认为我们在动力方面有一些不错的自行车,但在底盘方面却没有。 它们是典型的私人自行车,但我们最终获得了两个第六名和一堆前十名。 格雷格和我玩得很开心。 我们学到了很多,然后说:“想象一下,如果我们必须重新做一遍。 我们可以做得更好。” 10 年,我们只参加了东海岸,然后去了加拿大并在那里比赛。 乔什·奥斯比和乔伊·克朗都登上了领奖台。 我们赢得了很多比赛。 Crown 将加拿大锦标赛一路带到了最后一场比赛,Jess Pettis 最终击败了他,但我们参加了比赛。 那时我并没有参与球队的加拿大方面,因为我在设施方面没有太多帮助。 

ClubMX Yamaha 团队规模虽小,但实力雄厚。

那你和TRADERS RACING 合并了,对吧? 交易员在 2018 年与 Luke Renzland 一起登上了领奖台,我们觉得,“伙计,他们会很快将我们提升到一个新的水平。” 至于他们,他们看着我们就像,“这些家伙怎么出来这么快?” 乔什以第六名的成绩引起了一些关注。 我们最终在 2019 年合并,但结果并没有那么好。 我需要按我的方式做事。 我有美好的愿景,我真的需要去追求它们。 这教会了我不要退居二线。 我知道是非,我放手了。 我们最终在 2019 赛季结束后分道扬镳。 2020 年,我们在“ATVs and More”的支持下自行恢复,帮助我们获得更多自行车和零件预算。 这真的提升了我们,因为现在俱乐部并没有为所有事情买单。 

2020 年过得怎么样? 赞助增加了。 我们的目标是每年将预算翻一番。 第一年我们的起步价是 50,000 到 60,000 美元。 然后我们与 Traders 合并,我们的预算增加了。 他们有一些交易,我们也有一些交易。 然后在 2020 年,我们的预算再次翻了一番。 我们带着更好的引擎、更好的悬架和更多的设备参加比赛。 恩佐·洛佩斯那年表现非常好,乔伊·克朗(Joey Crown)一炮而红。 乔什希尔有很大的潜力,但他受伤了。 我想我们展示了一些闪光,对我来说就像,“下一步是什么? 我们如何变得更好?” 赞助资金翻倍  再次,这使我们在 2021 年处于更好的位置。 

您是如何签署 MARCHBANKS 的? Garrett 在他 85 岁和 Supermini 期间在这里训练。 我们花了很多时间一起工作。 在他于 2020 年在盐湖城超级越野赛中受伤后,我们正在谈论他的康复以及他对 2021 赛季的计划。 我开始担心他的回答。 他告诉我他在和谁说话,我说,“你不能在 450 上直接去 MotoConcepts; 这不是一个好的举动。 我知道这些人正在给你机会,但有比仅仅因为你大就直接跳到 450 班更好的事情。” 他才 18 岁,他有一些成长需要做,还有一些人生课程需要学习。 我只是觉得他必须支付他的会费。 我每周都打电话给我,而且情况似乎越来越糟。 人们有点拖他的后腿,不幸的是,这个行业可以这样运作。 如果你让他们的话,他们会把你挂在外面晾干。 如果他们能帮上忙,他们不想输给任何球队,所以他被拐弯抹角了。 

ClubMX 设施最初是 Zach Osborne 的沙地 GP 训练跑道,现已发展成为一个 200 英亩的越野摩托车游乐场。

上赛季 GARRETT MARCHBANKS 的表现如何? 我们与加勒特一起登上了领奖台,我们在户外和超级越野赛中与赛道上最大的孩子竞争。 我们觉得我们已经足够接近,可以真正缩小工厂团队的差距。 不仅如此,我们击败他们的次数和他们击败我们的次数一样多——几乎。 现在,我们觉得我们只需要微调并再次迈出这一步。 进入 2022 年,我们的预算再次翻了一番,增加了更多的员工,并提高了所有方面的标准。 我们有一辆新卡车,我们正在建造一家新的赛车店。 现在这件事变得越来越重要,我很高兴看到俱乐部的人为此感到自豪,甚至是本和所有在俱乐部工作的人。 这对他们来说也是一件值得骄傲的事情,所以这让我感觉很好。 这是我回馈的方式。 

加勒特在专业电路发生了什么? 我置身事外。 我只关心他需要从中学习。 “你为什么会失去这趟旅程? 你太好了,不能失去它,”我告诉他。 当时,我直截了当地说:“我们配不上你,但我有信心为你打造一辆好自行车。” 我说,“如果我能让你签约,我相信我可以筹集资金并召集一个工作人员并提高我们的赌注。” 我知道我们必须减肥。 我知道我们必须更新底盘和悬架,让引擎更好一点。 我知道有很多工作要做,但我想,“伙计,加勒特太棒了。 到底是怎么回事?” 我的一部分只是想帮助他; 我的另一部分想利用他,所以它真的是双向的。

在 ClubMX 可供出租的众多车库之一。

其他团队车手怎么样? 所有团队成员的故事都是相似的。 除了恩佐·洛佩斯之外,他们几乎都在这里工作过。 Phil Nicoletti、Garrett Marchbanks、Alex Martin 和 Jace Owen,他们以前付钱给我。 当俱乐部成长时,他们付钱给我; 他们帮助了俱乐部的成长。 所以,当加勒特有空,或者菲尔没有任何东西甚至亚历克斯马丁时,我觉得我有责任确保我至少能联系到他们。 

亚历克斯·马丁转向 450 级的故事是什么? 亚历克斯在这里已经有几年了。 我看着他在 Eleven10 Mods 私人车队中一无所有,最终在 Rock River 自行车的 Supercross 上获得第二名,并转会到 Star Racing 车队。 我对亚历克斯说,“你明年要做什么? 我们有一个很好的250。” 我知道他去年在自行车问题上遇到了问题,并且没有得到公平的机会。 无论如何,我们真的没有他的位置,但我们想帮助他。 亚历克斯说:“我想参加 450 比赛。” 我想,“嗯,我不知道。 我打电话给你是因为我认为我们有一辆非常好的 250。我认为它与一些工厂自行车一样好,甚至更好。 他就像,“好吧,老实说,如果我必须再次参加 250 场比赛,我想我只是要退休了。 我想和我曾经参加比赛的人和我过去击败过的人比赛。 我赢得了很多比赛。 我在系列赛中获得亚军。 除了赢得总冠军,我一无所有,那什么时候会发生?” 如果我设身处地为他着想,我就会明白。 如果换班给了他动力,我会支持他。 所以,现在我们沿着这条 450 的道路前进。 我们肯定会有一个学习曲线,我愿意这样做。 

Brandon Scharer 是最新的员工培训师之一。 他还为 ClubMX 赛车队进行测试,并在特定回合中加入了车队。

谁帮助团队成长? FXR 一直是我们增长的主要参与者。 第一年,我们开始时只与他们进行了一笔小交易,而且我们每年都继续获得更多支持。 我认为我们合作得很好。 对于一个 B 级私人项目,我们在社交媒体上的表现非常出色,而且我们有点独特,使用白色塑料,只是做不同的事情。 我们想要脱颖而出,FXR 喜欢这样。 如果您看过任何 FXR 装备或头盔,它们的标志都是粗体的。 他们不会隐藏它,所以我认为我们对此有相同的看法。 我们与他们的交易再次翻了一番,他们与我们一起成长。 他们看到了愿景,他们想要总理。

“所有团队成员的故事都是相似的。 除了恩佐·洛佩斯之外,他们几乎都在这里度过了时光。”

您现在得到了 YAMAHA 的支持,加上 MUC-OFF 和赛车运动也加入了 2022 年,对吧? 我们与雅马哈签订了为期两年的协议,这为我们提供了资源。 现在我们有了设备、自行车和零件——无论我们需要什么。 Muc-Off 是我们在 2022 年最后一刻与我们达成的协议。ClubMX 是 FXR 的冠名赞助商,而 Muc-Off 正在寻找新的东西。 一件事导致了下一件事,我说,“好吧,我会把 ClubMX 移回一个位置,没问题。” 它发生得非常快,但老实说,Muc-Off 是一种带有润滑和清洁剂的产品,而且我们的设施每天都在变脏。 它非常适合我们。  我们实际上正在使用该产品,因此它与我们正在做的事情密切相关。 我们有一支赛车队和一个设施来支持它。 除了赛车之外,我们还给赞助商很多回报,就在设施上。

赛车运动喜欢很多视频,我们觉得我们可以在我们的社交媒体上发布它,我们也可以为他们提供内容。 在 IAMACOMEBACK 中,马克是他在心理辅导方面做得最好的人之一,他非常适合我们。 他想帮助这些骑手变成男人。 “ATVs and More”一直在为我们提供自行车,所以当雅马哈解除他们的职责时,查理彭宁顿基本上问,“我们能提供什么帮助?” 他们帮助我们获得了 2022 年的新卡车和拖车。

亚历克斯·马丁全地形车和更多布兰登·哈斯本坟墓布兰登·沙勒查理彭宁顿俱乐部clubmx 训练设施FXR加勒特·马奇班克斯格雷格·奇吉伊玛玛卷土重来杰斯·欧文(Jace Owen)乔伊皇冠乔什·奥斯比凯尔·彼得斯迈克·博纳奇MUC-OFF扎克·奥斯本

BRANDON HAAS ON MAKING THE CLUBMX TRAINING FACILITY A SUCCESS

Brandon Haas is the owner and main trainer at the ClubMX Training Facility. He also owns and operates the ClubMX Yamaha race team.

BY JOSH MOSIMAN

Nestled in the hills of Chesterfield, South Carolina, just 60 miles southeast of Charlotte, North Carolina, is the ClubMX Training Facility. Equipped with four motocross tracks, four Supercross tracks, a race shop, club house, gym, two campgrounds, and multiple houses and cabins, ClubMX is a year-round motocross training facility built to help amateur and Pro riders improve their craft. Since the facility first opened in 2010, it has continued to expand. In 2018, the ClubMX Pro Supercross team was formed, and it, too, has been evolving over the years. MXA’s Josh Mosiman talked with ClubMX owner Brandon Haas about the inception of his training facility and his exciting 2022 Supercross team roster. 

HOW DID CLUBMX GET STARTED? The roots of ClubMX started in Minnesota. I put together a club with sponsorships and, if you joined the club, you got a discount to come ride at my track. I was doing riding schools while I was racing, and I’d have open practice on Thursday nights. Eventually, the track got shut down by the county. I bounced around a little bit and came down to South Carolina to ride for an Arenacross team out of Rock Hill. After Arenacross was done, I was racing at Sandhill, which is actually an old track near ClubMX, and I had heard some kids who were riding pit bikes down the sand road nearby say that it was Zach Osborne’s place. I was always looking for new places to ride, and I ended up getting in contact with Zach and came out to ride. It was 2009, and Zach was in Europe racing the MXGP series. 

HOW DID THE TRAINING FACILITY COME TOGETHER? I ended up tearing my ACL and MCL at Red Bud, so I kind of knew at that point I needed to do something else. I started pouring concrete, but I didn’t want to do that, so I kept going with the motocross training. I kept in contact with Zach and told him I wanted to find some land down South to have a training facility. Zach said, “I would love to do it, and my dad would want to help, too.” Skipping forward, Zach had a spot in his heart to give back to the kids transitioning from amateur to Pro. In Zach’s situation, he had missed an opportunity when he was young by being out of shape, not eating right and not training. He recognized his mistake and wanted to help the next guys coming up. But also, I think for him it was a little bit like if his own racing didn’t work out, that was his fall back. 

HOW DID YOU LAND IN SOUTH CAROLINA? We were shopping around in Florida and Georgia at first. I didn’t have any money. I was just a grunt man, but I knew how to work hard, and I knew Zach was going to help with the fitness and nutrition side. I knew I had to get the right people around us, too. I ended up coming to terms with Zach. He had this property and decided this was the best place for us.

“THE ROOTS OF CLUBMX STARTED IN MINNESOTA. I PUT TOGETHER A CLUB WITH SPONSORSHIPS AND, IF YOU JOINED THE CLUB, YOU GOT A DISCOUNT TO COME RIDE AT MY TRACK.” 

IS ZACH OSBORNE STILL A PART OWNER? Once Zach got his Geico Honda ride, that convinced him that racing was now his top priority. Not to say it wasn’t before, but he didn’t want the distractions of owning ClubMX, so he sold out his share. It didn’t change much for us; Zach would help out on weekends and the same with his dad. But it was kind of my deal from the beginning; they were investors. Zach had good ideas, and he had the same vision I had. We really fell in line perfectly, but we also knew he needed to get his racing going and get back to America, because once he did some team would pick him up. We supported Zach and worked with him for a lot of years, and we ended up buying his dad’s share after a while, too. If it weren’t for the Osbornes, I definitely would not have ClubMX today. They saw the vision, and they knew I was willing to go all in on it.

The Supercross training group doing a quick pre-moto brief before the training begins.

WHO RUNS CLUBMX NOW? I run the day-to-day operations for the Supercross team and the Supercross training group. Ben Graves is the general manager, and he runs the day-to-day operations for the training side of things. We’re constantly trying to elevate what we’re doing, and Ben has helped free up a lot of my time. Miguel is our track builder, and Brandon Scharer has come on with us as a riding coach. He’s taking control of that and has done an awesome job. Hayden is our coach in the gym, and Deborah is our cook. Mike Bonacci has been running the practice track for us this past year, and we’ve actually been pulling him away from that and given him a management role on our race team. He’s been helping a lot with the growth of ClubMX. For me, it’s like a dream team. Now that I’ve got good people, it’s allowing us to expand our reach to give back and help as many people as we can. 

WHAT WERE THE FIRST STEPS FOR BUILDING CLUBMX? ClubMX started originally on a 42-acre piece of property. We had one Supercross track, our main front track, which is now our training track, and then we had the GP sand track, which was Zach Osborne’s original track. We put in a campground and a bunkhouse right away. I learned the hard way about business. For example, we ran our dozers into the ground and didn’t realize that it cost $24,000 to put on a new undercarriage. We were on the novice side of operating, but I just kept doubling down. Every time we made money, I’d build another building. We built the gym, then we built some cabins and ended up building a clubhouse for the meal program. Then came new offices, bathrooms, and we built the shop with garages. 

Justin Brayton is one of the many top Pros training at ClubMX.

YOU HAVE LOTS OF INDIVIDUAL GARAGES, TOO. We felt like people wanted their private space. As Justin Brayton and more high-level guys continued to come here, we wanted to meet their needs. We started building more garages with bigger bays and setting it up nicer. Same thing with the campgrounds; we got better when building the second one. We keep building more cabins, and we’ve had opportunities along the way to start purchasing properties around us. I wouldn’t say I’m a great planner, but I’m definitely not scared to get going.

NOW CLUBMX IS A MASSIVE MOTOCROSS PLAYGROUND. At the end of day, I like to stand back and look at a piece of property and think‚ “If I were a little kid, what would I do?” I’d want tracks everywhere. So, my vision was to wrap the whole property with tracks. Now we’re on 200 acres. We have four motocross tracks, all on completely different dirt. For Supercross tracks, we have the same idea but with different soils. They are kind of scattered across the property. The one side of the property is more clay, and the other side is more sand, so that’s what gives us opportunities. 

HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE TRAINING AT CLUBMX AT A TIME? We’re set up to handle 30 full-time training guys. For training groups, our demand is a lot higher than that, and in our busy seasons, like wintertime, a lot of people want to do more short-term training, so we get extra help, and we’ll create another group. But, we try to focus on being really good with the 30 spots we have available. We really don’t want more people here than that. It’s the same with Supercross. We’ve got a full group now, and I really can’t handle anymore guys. You need a certain number of guys to get the tracks rough and realistic. So, having more guys is definitely an advantage, but you’ve got to find that happy medium. In the wintertime, we can have 100 to 200 riders come through on the weekend to our public practice track. We also do two-day camps on the weekends. We have military appreciation camps, 50cc camps and Vet camps. Those are usually once or twice a month when we have a camp going. 

“IF IT WEREN’T FOR THE OSBORNES, I DEFINITELY WOULD NOT HAVE CLUBMX TODAY. THEY SAW THE VISION, AND THEY KNEW I WAS WILLING TO GO ALL IN ON IT.”

HOW DID THE CLUBMX PRO RACE TEAM START? To be honest, it started when Kyle Peters and Josh Osby were training here in 2018. They were doing really well, but they didn’t have any deals. Greg Chidgey runs our Pro shop, and at that time it was just a public bike shop here at the facility. I knew that he could really be valuable, and we could put something together to help a couple guys in need. We knew what to do and what companies to work with to build a good bike, because we saw it every day. We’ve got 30 pretty fast guys here between professionals and amateurs, and we see what works. We see whose suspension is working well, what engines are blowing up and which bikes have electrical problems. You really find out pretty quick. For us, the mindset was, “Let’s just build some commonsense bikes and help Josh and Kyle.” I really felt bad, because they were good and they got left hanging. Kyle ended up getting a ride from JGR and, of course, we said to take that. Joey Crown filled his spot, but he ended up getting hurt, so it turned to Zach Williams. 

ClubMX has four motocross tracks and four Supercross tracks, each with different types of dirt.

YOU STARTED ON KTMS, RIGHT? We bought four KTMs and a local dealership helped us out with them. Twisted Development built the engines, and we got good suspension. Scott Jeffrey ran the Redemption Racing team out of Canada, and we’re always training their guys here, so I knew that their truck sat empty in the winter. Scott and I always got along really well, and he wanted to give back to the up-and-coming kids, the hard workers and the strong Christians. For Scott, it was about teaming up to race in Canada and do Supercross in the U.S. That’s what really kick-started it.

HOW WAS THE FIRST YEAR? I think we had some decent bikes power-wise but not chassis-wise. They were your typical privateer bikes, but we ended up getting two sixth places and a bunch of top 10s. Greg and I had a blast traveling. We learned a lot and said, “Imagine if we got to do it all over again. We could do a lot of things better.” In 2018, we did East Coast only and went up to Canada and raced up there. Josh Osby and Joey Crown both were on the podium. We won a lot of races. Crown took the Canadian Championship all the way to the last race where Jess Pettis ended up beating him, but we were in it. I wasn’t that involved with the Canada side of the team at that time, because I didn’t have as much help with the facility. 

The ClubMX Yamaha team is small but mighty.

THEN YOU MERGED WITH TRADERS RACING, RIGHT? Traders got a podium in 2018 with Luke Renzland, and we felt like, “Man they would boost us to the next level really quick.” As for them, they were looking at us like, “How did these guys come out and do this so fast?” Josh caught some attention with his sixth-place finishes. We ended up merging for 2019, but it didn’t end up working that well. I needed things to be done my way. I have good visions, and I really need to just pursue them. That taught me not to take a backseat. I knew right from wrong, and I was letting it go. We ended up separating after the 2019 season. In 2020, we went back on our own with support from “ATVs and More” helping us with more bikes and a parts budget. That really elevated us, because now Club wasn’t paying for literally everything. 

HOW WAS 2020? Sponsorships went up. We had a goal to double our budget every year. We started at $50,000 to $60,000 the first year. Then we merged with Traders and our budget went up. They had some deals and we had some deals. Then in 2020, our budget doubled again. We went racing with better engines, better suspension and more equipment. Enzo Lopes did really well that year, and Joey Crown came out swinging right off the bat. Josh Hill had a lot of potential, but he got hurt. I think we showed some flashes, and for me it was like, “What’s next? How do we get better?” Sponsorship funding doubled  again, so that put us in a much better position for 2021. 

HOW DID YOU SIGN MARCHBANKS? Garrett trained here during his 85 and Supermini years. We had spent quite a bit of time working together. After he got hurt at the Salt Lake Supercross in 2020, we were talking about his recovery and his plans for the 2021 season. I started getting concerned over his answers. He was telling me who he was talking to and I said, “You can’t go right to MotoConcepts on a 450; that’s not a good move. I know these guys are giving you the opportunity, but there’s something better than jumping right to the 450 class just because you’re big.” He was 18 years old, and he had some growing up to do and life lessons to learn. I just felt like he had to pay his dues. I kept calling back every week, and it seemed like it was getting worse. People were kind of dragging him on, and unfortunately the industry can work like that. They kind of hang you out to dry if you let them. They don’t want to lose competition to any team if they can help it, and so he was getting beat around the bush. 

The ClubMX facility started as Zach Osborne’s sandy GP training track and has evolved into a 200-acre motocross playground.

HOW WAS IT TO HAVE GARRETT MARCHBANKS LAST SEASON? We got a podium with Garrett, and we were competitive in outdoors and Supercross with the biggest kid on the track. We feel that we are close enough to really close the gap on the factory teams. Not only that, but we beat them just as much as they beat us—almost. Now, we feel like we’ve just got to fine tune and take that step again. Going into 2022, we have doubled our budget again and added more staff and upped the standards on everything. We got a new truck, and we’re building a new race shop. It’s becoming a bigger deal now, and it’s cool for me to see the Club guys take pride in it, even Ben and all the guys that just work at Club. It’s a pride thing for them, too, so it makes me feel good. This is my way of giving back. 

WHAT HAPPENED TO GARRETT AT PRO CIRCUIT? I stayed out of it. I only cared to the point that he needs to learn from it. “Why are you losing this ride? You’re way too good to lose that,” I told him. At that time, I said straight up, “We’re not deserving enough to have you, but I am confident I can build you a good bike.” I said, “If I can get you signed, I believe I can raise funding and get a crew together and up our ante.” I knew we’d have to shave weight. I knew we’d have to update chassis stuff and suspension and make the engines a little bit better. I knew there was a lot of work, but I was like, “Man, Garrett is so good. What is going on?” Part of me just wanted to help him; the other part of me wanted to capitalize on him, so it really went both ways.

One of the many garages available for rent at ClubMX.

HOW ABOUT THE OTHER TEAM RIDERS? The story with all the team guys is similar. They almost all have done time here, with the exception of Enzo Lopes. With Phil Nicoletti, Garrett Marchbanks, Alex Martin and Jace Owen, they paid me before. They paid me when Club was growing; they helped the growth of Club. So, when Garrett was available, or Phil didn’t have anything or even Alex Martin, I feel like it’s my burden to make sure that I at least reach out to them. 

WHAT WAS THE STORY WITH ALEX MARTIN MOVING TO THE 450 CLASS? Alex has been here for a handful of years. I watched him come from nothing on the Eleven10 Mods privateer team to eventually getting second at Supercross on the Rock River bike and moving to the Star Racing team. With Alex I said‚ “What are you doing next year? We’ve got a good 250.” I knew he had problems last year with bike issues and wasn’t given a fair shot. We didn’t really have a spot for him by any means, but we wanted to help him. Alex said, “I want to race a 450.” I’m like, “Well, I don’t know about that. I was calling you because I think we have a really good 250. I think it’s just as good, if not better, than some of the factory bikes.” And he’s like, “Well, to be honest, if I have to race the 250 again, I think I’m just going to retire. I want to race the guys that I used to race and the guys I’ve beaten in the past. I’ve won a lot of races. I’ve gotten runner-up in the series. I’ve got nothing left but to win a championship, and when is that going to happen?” If I put myself in his shoes, I get it. If changing classes gives him motivation, I’ll stand behind that. So, now we’re going down this 450 path. We’re definitely going to have a learning curve, and I’m in for that. 

Brandon Scharer is one of the newest trainers on staff. He also does testing for the ClubMX race team and has filled in on the team at select rounds.

WHO HAS HELPED THE TEAM GROW? FXR has been a major player in our growth. Our first year we started off with just a small deal with them, and we’ve continued to earn more support each year. I think we work together well. For just a B-level privateer program, we deliver strongly on our social media presence, and we are a little bit unique, running the white plastics and just doing things different. We want to stand out, and FXR likes that. If you ever look at any FXR gear or helmets, their logos are bold. They don’t hide it, so I think we kind of have the same vision for that. Our deal has doubled again with them, and they’ve grown with us. They see the vision, and they want the premier guys.

“THE STORY WITH ALL THE TEAM GUYS IS SIMILAR. THEY ALMOST ALL HAVE DONE TIME HERE, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF ENZO LOPES.”

YOU HAVE SUPPORT FROM YAMAHA NOW, PLUS MUC-OFF AND MOTORSPORT HAVE JOINED FOR 2022 AS WELL, RIGHT? We did a two-year deal with Yamaha, and that’s given us resources. Now we have equipment, bikes and parts—whatever we need. Muc-Off was a very last-minute deal with us in 2022. ClubMX was holding the title sponsor with FXR, and Muc-Off was looking for something new. One thing led to the next, and I said, “All right, I’ll move ClubMX back a spot, no problem.” It happened really fast, but honestly, Muc-Off is a product with lubrication and cleaners, and we have a facility that’s getting dirty every day. It was a perfect fit for us.  We’re actually using the product, so it ties in well with what we’re doing. We have a race team and a facility to back it up. Beyond racing, we’re giving our sponsors a lot in return, just with the facility.

Motorsport likes a lot of video, and we felt we could deliver it on our social media and we could give them content, too. With IAMACOMEBACK, Mark is one of the best at what he does with the mental coaching side of things, and he fits us really well. He wants to help these riders turn into men. “ATVs and More” had been providing us with bikes, so when Yamaha relieved them of their duties, Charlie Pennington basically asked, “How can we help?” They helped us get a new truck and trailer for 2022.

alex martinatvs and morebrandon haasben gravesbrandon scharercharlie penningtonclubmxclubmx training facilityFXRgarrett marchbanksgreg chidgeyiamacomebackJace Owenjoey crownjosh osbykyle petersmike bonacciMuc-Offzach osborne