经典越野摩托车:1973年PUGS 125GS

汤姆·怀特

奥地利 Puch 公司由 Johann Puch 于 1903 年创立,当时是一家自行车制造商。 到 1952 年,该公司开始制造小型摩托车,并于 1957 年开始出口 Puch 500 摩托车,并由西尔斯和罗巴克以 Allstate 的名义出售。 1970 年代初,加利福尼亚企业家 Ted Lapadakis 成为专为越野摩托车和耐力赛打造的全新 Puch 125/175cc 机器的进口商。

Puchs 是出色的摩托车,尽管越野摩托车模型从未在这里流行。 有几个原因: (1) Lapadakis 也是 Sachs/DKW 的进口商,Sachs/DKW 的受欢迎程度在摩托车越野赛中盖过了 Puch。 (2) Puch 125/175越野摩托车模型标配了泡菜式消音器,加厚软垫座椅和非常坚固的防滑板。 看起来不太像摩托车。 (3) Puch 的自有品牌 Sears Allstate 摩托车在赛车界并不受欢迎。 (4) 普奇被认为是出色的沙漠和ISDT自行车(普奇赢得了很多赛事,包括1972年捷克斯洛伐克的ISDT)。

1973 年,有 125GS 和 175GS 五速越野摩托车以及五速 125 和 175 Enduro 版本。 Puch 还制造了少量六速 125。 1973 年 Puch 125GS 的建议零售价为 850 美元,而 175GS 为 910 美元,尽管不在古董收藏家的榜首; 他们应该是,因为他们太酷了。 收藏家应该确保他们的 Puch 有巨大的泡菜消音器、棺材式玻璃纤维油箱、naugahyde 空气箱/碳水化合物罩、Betor 前叉和 Girling 后减震器。

AMA 名人堂成员 Lars Larsson 回忆起 1972 年作为美国国际六日队成员访问 Puch 工厂的经历。 “当我从 Puch 工厂得知我将参加 1972 年在捷克斯洛伐克举行的 ISDT 比赛时,Puch 官员要求我参观工厂。 他们向我展示了一排自行车,都是专门为 ISDT 设置的,并指着这一排最好的自行车,让我在 ISDT 上比赛那辆自行车。 这台 175GS 的机器是我骑过的最好的摩托车之一,六天都很完美! 我得了金牌!”

普赫明星包括赫伯特·施密茨、哈里·埃弗茨以及职业生涯后期的乔尔·罗伯特。 1987 年,Puch 摩托车公司被出售给了 Vespa 踏板车的制造商 Piaggio。 在欧洲,产品仍然以“Puch”的名义生产。 事实上,普赫制造了最初的梅赛德斯-奔驰 G-Wagon。

1973年装125gs经典铁经典摩托车越野赛铁杆哈里·埃弗特斯赫伯特·施尼茨乔尔·罗伯特拉尔斯·拉尔森摩托车越野赛x比亚乔买摩托车泰德·拉帕达基斯

CLASSIC MOTOCROSS IRON: 1973 PUCH 125GS

BY TOM WHITE

The Austrian Puch company was founded in 1903 by Johann Puch as a manufacturer of bicycles. By 1952, the company was building motor scooters, and in 1957 started exporting the Puch 500 motorcycle to be sold under the name Allstate by Sears and Roebuck. In the early 1970s, California entrepreneur Ted Lapadakis became the importer for the all-new Puch 125/175cc machines that were purpose-built for motocross and enduro.

The Puchs were excellent motorcycles, even though the motocross models never became popular here. There were a couple of reasons: (1) Lapadakis was also the Sachs/DKW importer and Sachs/DKW’s popularity overshadowed Puch in motocross. (2) The Puch 125/175 motocross model came standard with a pickle-style silencer, heavily padded seat and a very beefy skid plate. It didn’t look very moto. (3) Puch’s private-labeled Sears Allstate motorcycles weren’t well-regarded in the racing world. (4) Puchs were considered to be excellent desert and ISDT bikes (and Puchs won many events, including the 1972 ISDT in Czechoslovakia).

In 1973, there were 125GS and 175GS five-speed motocrossers and five-speed 125 and 175 Enduro versions. Puch also made a small number of six-speed 125s. The suggested retail for the 1973 Puch 125GS was $850 and the 175GS was $910, though not on the top of vintage collector’s lists; they should be, as they are so cool. Collectors should make sure that their Puch has the huge pickle silencer, coffin-style fiberglass gas tank, naugahyde airbox/carb shroud, Betor forks and Girling rear shocks.

AMA Hall of Famer Lars Larsson recalls visiting the Puch factory in 1972 as a member of the United States International Six Days team. “When I got word from the Puch factory that I would be competing in the 1972 ISDT in Czechoslovakia on a Puch, the Puch officials asked me to visit the factory. They showed me a row of bikes, all specially set up for the ISDT, and pointed towards the best bike in the row and asked me to race that bike in the ISDT. This machine, a 175GS, was one of the best motorcycles that I had ever ridden and was perfect for all six days! I got a gold medal!”

Puch stars included Herbert Schmitz, Harry Everts and, late in his career, Joel Robert. In 1987 the Puch motorcycle company was sold to Piaggio, maker of the Vespa scooter. In Europe, products are still produced under the name “Puch.” In fact, Puch manufactured the original Mercedes-Benz G-Wagon.

1973 puch 125gsclassicironclassis motocross ironharry evertsherbert schnitzjoel robertlars larssonmotocrossmxaPiaggiopuch motoryclested lapadakis