杰特·劳伦斯专访:“我一觉醒来就想起他身披红牌”

JETT LAWRENCE 采访:新的 250 分领先者进入 FOX RACEWAY NATIONAL #2

进入 铁人三项,本田的杰特劳伦斯落后 250 积分领先者贾斯汀库珀三分。 在同一场比赛中,劳伦斯现在领先库珀 11 分。在印第安纳州中部潮湿的下午,库珀似乎对劳伦斯一无所知。 只有库珀在 Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha 的队友 Jeremy Martin 似乎占了上风。 然而,就在杰里米看起来准备传球给杰特时,他倒下了。 杰特·劳伦斯 (Jett Lawrence) 全天以 1-1 的比分占据主导地位,并重新夺回了他在今年早些时候持有的红盘。 这位年轻的澳大利亚人让他崇拜的粉丝度过了美好的一天,当他经过时,人们总是很容易在赛道上看到他的欢呼声。 除了出色的比赛之外,杰特·劳伦斯 (Jett Lawrence) 还将他的第一名奖金捐赠给了田纳西州韦弗利市遭受洪水袭击的城市,该市位于洛雷塔·林恩斯业余摩托车越野赛设施附近。 在这里采访结束后,我们遇到了快乐的杰特劳伦斯。 

Jim Kimball的话
本田的照片

2021 全国铁人三项 | 完全覆盖


杰特,真是棒极了的一天。 你必须在世界之巅。 那是非常美好的一天,最终在排位赛中以 1-1 获胜,然后赢得两辆摩托车参加整场比赛显然是一种非常好的感觉。 然后重新获得领先优势真的是一种很棒的感觉。

杰特劳伦斯与贾斯汀库珀和杰里米马丁一起在第一个转弯处转入内线。 

今天太潮湿了。 很明显,你身体素质很好。 您知道,约翰尼·奥玛拉 (Johnny O'Mara) 通过训练让我们度过难关。 很高兴有人在那里真正站起来并确保您完成工作,因为这样的日子真的很重要。 我本可以不做这项工作,今天我可能会受苦,但我投入了工作,很高兴看到在这样的日子里它得到了回报。

你和杰里米·马丁之间的战斗是当天最好的战斗。 太棒了。 我喜欢与 J-Mart 比赛,因为每次你和他一起在赛道上,你都知道他会付出 100% 的努力。 他是那个每天早上激励我出去锻炼我的屁股以确保你对他有优势的人。 他今天不得不出去真是太可惜了。 我真的很沮丧。 我在第一场摩托车比赛中打得很好,所以他倒下很糟糕,但希望能早日康复,明年我们会再见到他。

你在本赛季早些时候获得了红牌,但最近一直在追逐贾斯汀库珀。 成为追逐者或追逐者更好吗? 我不确定。 我觉得过去一周的得分下降并且接近让我早早醒来并去做我的工作。 为了确保我可以把它带到周末,做好,并尝试像我今天一样接近积分。 这已经来了,我有一段时间有这种感觉。 自从我丢了那个红盘子,我就一直醒过来,第一个想到的就是他拿着红盘子,我讨厌它。 我醒来,然后去训练。 这是我想到的第一件事,所有赛车手都知道这一点。 我们醒来,我们生活,呼吸,吃摩托车越野赛和训练。 我一直在醒来并直接去健身房做我的工作并做我的摩托车,因为我知道总有一天会得到回报,我想今天就是那一天。

杰特劳伦斯在铁人三项比赛中以 1-1 领先并获得 250 分的领先优势,表现出冷静、冷静和镇定。 

我可以通过听到粉丝的声音知道你在赛道上的哪个位置。 这很酷,但我不认为我有什么特别的,真的。 我只是表现得像我自己,我对他们表达爱意,因为我知道他们会喜欢和我在一起的那五到十秒钟。 我知道这对我来说似乎并不多,但我在某个时间点处于他们的位置,如果我有几秒钟的职业运动员向我打招呼,我会很兴奋。 所以,我试着总是这么想,并尽量给我的粉丝们尽可能多的时间。 它只是展示了我对他们的支持有多大。 有这些人在你身后是一种很棒的感觉。

就像你说的,杰特,你在做你自己,而许多其他人不是那样。 我想很多人都做不到。 我觉得有些人就是喜欢独处。 我是一个非常外向的人,我只是喜欢玩得开心。 粉丝就是这样。

您将您从今天起的收益捐赠给了田纳西州韦弗利市受洪水影响的人们。  这笔奖金的用途比我好得多。 如果它给了我,它只会进入我的银行账户,我可能会把它花在一些愚蠢的事情上。 至少这笔钱将用于基金会,并会得到很好的利用。 我知道在很多方面我可能无法提供帮助,但如果这是我必须提供的帮助方式,我肯定会尝试提供帮助,因为有很多我们不知道的人在受苦。 我们在这里玩越野车玩得很开心,所以我想确保那些人知道我在想他们并为他们祈祷。

MXA 最近在 Jett Lawrence 的 HRC Honda CRF250 上发布了我们最新的“Inside the Pro's Bikes”视频, 点击这里观看

你以前有过,但红板是否会带来额外的压力? 我身边有很好的人,确保我不担心。 我不在乎我的车牌是红色、黑色还是白色。 我不在乎它们是什么颜色,我要去那里,我会尽我所能,这就是我被抚养长大的事情,也是我的父母,比如我的父亲,达伦和我妈妈,他们抚养的我们要做。 即使是亨特也会说同样的话。 他们把我们培养得很好,当我们去做某事时,我们会百分百地去做。

接下来的两场比赛有什么特别的计划吗? 不,我为什么要尝试修复没有损坏的东西? 我今天过得很愉快,我可能会坚持同样的事情并继续努力工作。 在接下来的两场比赛中,我将尝试做同样的事情。

在这么重要的一天之后,你有什么类型的小庆祝活动吗? 我的庆祝活动可能是和约翰尼一起骑山地自行车。 那是他对我的庆祝,所以对我来说可能不是真正的庆祝——直接回去工作。

在杰里米·马丁 (Jeremy Martin) 在 250 moto 1 中失败后,杰特·劳伦斯 (Jett Lawrence) 能够创造可观的领先优势并顺利驾驶以赢得两场摩托车比赛。 

2021 全国铁人三项 | 完全覆盖

2021铁人三项250冠军250个国家本田访问杰特杰特·劳伦斯x越野摩托车

JETT LAWRENCE INTERVIEW: “I HAVE BEEN WAKING UP THINKING OF HIM WITH THE RED PLATE”

JETT LAWRENCE INTERVIEW: NEW 250 POINTS LEADER HEADING INTO THE FOX RACEWAY NATIONAL #2

Coming into Ironman, Honda’s Jett Lawrence trailed 250 Championship points leader Justin Cooper by three-points. Coming out of the same race, Lawrence now leads Cooper by 11. It appeared that Cooper had nothing for Lawrence on the humid central Indiana afternoon. It was only Cooper’s teammate at Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha, Jeremy Martin that appeared to have the upper hand. However, just as Jeremy looked to be ready to make a pass on Jett, he went down. Jett Lawrence claimed a dominant 1-1 overall day and regained the red plate he held earlier in the year. The young Aussie treated his adoring fans to a great day, and it was always easy to find him on the track by the crowds cheering as he passed. On top of great racing, Jett Lawrence also donated his first place prize money to the flood struck city of Waverly, Tennessee, that resides near the Loretta Lynns Amateur Motocross facility. We caught up with a happy Jett Lawrence after the day ended for this interview here. 

Words by Jim Kimball
Photos by Honda

2021 IRONMAN NATIONAL | FULL COVERAGE


JETT, WHAT AN AWESOME DAY. YOU MUST BE ON TOP OF THE WORLD. It was a very good day and ended up going 1-1 in the qualifying and then winning both motos to take the overall race was a very good feeling obviously. And then to get the point lead back was really a great feeling.

Jett Lawrence rounds the first turn with Justin Cooper and Jeremy Martin to the inside. 

IT WAS SO HUMID TODAY. OBVIOUSLY, YOU HAVE GREAT FITNESS. You know, Johnny O’Mara puts us through the wringer with training. It is good to have someone there to really put their foot up your butt and make sure you do the work because days like this it really counts. I could have not done the work and I could have suffered today, but I put the work in, and it is good to see that it pays off on days like this.

THE BATTLE BETWEEN YOU AND JEREMY MARTIN WAS THE BEST BATTLE OF THE DAY. It was awesome. I love racing J-Mart because every time you are on the track with him, you know he is going to give 100 percent. He is the guy that motivates me every morning to go out and work my butt off to make sure that you have that edge on him. It was a shame how he had to go out today. I was really bummed. I was having a good battle in that first moto, so it sucks that he went down, but hopefully has a speedy recovery and we see him next year.

YOU HAD THE RED PLATE EARLY IN THE SEASON BUT HAVE BEEN CHASING JUSTIN COOPER FOR IT LATELY. IS IT BETTER TO BE THE CHASER OR CHASEE? I am not sure. I feel like this past week being down in points and being close makes me wake up early and go do my work. To make sure that I can take it to the weekend, do good, and try to get closer in points like I did today. This has been coming and I felt like this for a while. Ever since I lost that red plate, I have been waking up and the first thing I think of is him with the red plate and I hate it. I wake up and I go to train. It is the first thing that comes to my mind and all racers know this. We wake up and we live, breathe and eat motocross and training. I have been waking up and going straight to the gym doing my work and doing my motos because I know it will pay off one day, and I guess today was that day.

Jett Lawrence was calm, cool and collected after going 1-1 at Ironman and earning the 250 points lead. 

I COULD TELL WHERE YOU WERE ON THE TRACK JUST BY HEARING THE FANS. It is cool, but I don’t think that I have anything special, really. I just act like myself, and I show affection to them because I know they would love that five or ten seconds they have with me. I know that it does not seem much for me, but I was in their shoes at some point in time and if I had a few seconds of a pro-athlete just saying hello to me, I would be pumped. So, I try to always think that and try to always give as much time as I can to my fans. It just shows off how big my support is from them. It is an awesome feeling having those guys behind you.

IT IS JUST AS YOU SAID, JETT, YOU ARE BEING YOURSELF, WHILE MANY OTHERS ARE NOT THAT WAY. I don’t think many people can do it. I feel like there are some people that just like to keep to themselves. I am a quite an outgoing person and I just love having fun. The fans like that.

YOU DONATED YOUR WINNINGS FROM TODAY TO THE PEOPLE AFFECTED BY THE FLOOD IN WAVERLY, TENNESSEE.  That bonus money is going to a lot better cause than me. If it went to me, it is just going to go into my bank account, and I would probably spend it on something stupid. At least this money is going to the foundation and is going to be put to good use. I know that I probably can’t help in many ways, but if this is the way I must help, I am going for sure try to help because there is a lot of people out there suffering that we do not know. We are out here having a great time racing dirt bike, so I want to make sure that those people know that I am thinking about them and praying for them.

MXA recently posted our latest ‘Inside the Pro’s Bikes’ video on Jett Lawrence’s HRC Honda CRF250, click here to watch it

YOU HAD IT BEFORE BUT DOES THE RED PLATE CARRY ADDED PRESSURE? I have good people around me that make sure that I don’t worry about it. I don’t care if my number plates are red, black or white. I don’t care what color they are, I am going out there and I am going to give my best and that is what I have been brought up to do and what my parents, like my father, Darren and my mom, they raised us to do. Even Hunter would say the same thing. They raised us well, and when we go to do something, we go do it 100 percent.

ANY SPECIAL PLANS FOR THESE NEXT TWO RACES? No, why would I try to fix something that is not broken? I had a good day today and I am going to probably stick with the same thing and keep working hard. I will be trying to do the same thing at these next two races.

DO YOU HAVE ANY TYPE OF LITTLE CELEBRATION AFTER SUCH A BIG DAY? My celebration will probably be going on a mountain bike ride with Johnny. That is his celebration for me, so probably no true celebration for me—straight back to work.

After Jeremy Martin went down in 250 moto 1, Jett Lawrence was able to create a sizable lead and ride on smoothly to win both motos. 

2021 IRONMAN NATIONAL | FULL COVERAGE

2021 Ironman National250 championship250 NATIONALSamahondainterviewJettJett LawrencemxaPointsPro motocross