MXA走向冰上运动:自然母亲,愤怒的渔夫和渴望温暖的愿望

要使后端在冰上变弯,需要技巧和无畏。 如果做得正确,它可能会令人振奋。 但是,当推得太远时,您很快就会发现自己在积雪堆中。

约翰·巴舍(John Basher)

如果您像我一样,每当在机场旅行海报旁走来走去,想一想乘飞机飞往毛伊岛或迈阿密的乐趣时,您都会做白日梦。 当您的实际目的地是明尼阿波利斯或米诺特,或者在我的情况下是密尔沃基时,温带气候和充足的阳光是主要吸引力。 密尔沃基最著名的是酿酒厂,种植在密歇根湖的边缘。 据我所知,密尔沃基在夏天可能很雄伟,但是几个月前,我在那儿,温度计几乎没有汞。 刺骨的风可能不会阻止威斯康星州的5.7万居民,他们希望并祈祷另一个冰碗供包装工参加比赛,但这让我很快知道。

洛杉矶无法理解加拿大边境国家必须忍受的种种艰难险阻,我们为之战栗
超出65分时。

尽管我在SoCal工作了10年使我感到欣慰,但我可以与威斯康星州的人们建立联系。 我在布法罗以南45分钟长大。 对于那些熟悉纽约州北部天气状况的人,我住在“南方雪带”中心的轻拍。 来自加拿大的冰冷空气会吹过伊利湖,吸收水分,使之结晶并在我家门口降雪。 它非常适合滑雪,单板滑雪和摩托雪橇,但是在大多数情况下,这给生活带来了困难。 Los Angelenos无法理解来自加拿大边境的州必须忍受的艰辛—外面65度时我们不寒而栗。

住在SoCal是一把双刃剑。 忘记在衣橱上施加压力-冬季穿牛仔裤和运动衫就足够了; 和短裤,T恤和人字拖在另外10个月内有效。 而且,正如这首歌所说,“南加州从不下雨。” 然而,有了这些天气祝福,诅咒就来了。 我已经转变了。 我的身体变坏了,一年四季都希望天气很好。 我已经成为我布法罗人根源的叛徒。 现在,寒冷的天气使我的四肢感到震惊,以至我的下巴在阴天颤抖。

这就是我故事中的要点,在此我应该方便地提醒您MXA采取积极的方法来扩大我们的视野。 简而言之,我们可以尝试使用两个轮子和一个引擎进行任何操作。 当然,您可能已经知道了。 过去,我们曾参加Supermoto,GNCC,WORCS,荷兰沙滩比赛,European Supercross和Endurocross的比赛。 我们还骑过Speedway,平坦的赛道,雪地车和拉力自行车。 尽管我们的心在摩托车越野赛中,但我们时不时地喜欢先进入陌生的水域。 有时我们会被刮擦而流血,但我们始终对其他两轮发烧友如何在他们选择的激情中找到乐趣感到着迷。

当我们不得不在扫雪机上航行时,在冰上滑行的快感更加强烈。

MXA希望进行冰上赛车,并且在我们达到这个想法时进行仔细检查,我们并没有将足够的点联系起来
实现冰还很冷。

这就解释了为什么达里尔·埃克伦德(Daryl Ecklund)和我在冬天死去的时候在威斯康星州密尔沃基市找到了罢工的原因。 MXA希望参加冰上比赛-也许在我们想到这个想法的时候,我们并没有充分认识到冰也意味着寒冷。 然而,在密尔沃基的五分钟中,“冰”和“竞速”这两个概念成为人们关注的焦点。 天气很冷,知道在格兰海伦(Glen Helen)的温度是85度,这并没有使我的心the。

幸运的是,我有几件事要做。 我带着MXA助理编辑Daryl Ecklund一起兜风。 Daryl是SoCal本地人,在亚冰冻天气方面经验有限。 他从来没有真正,深刻和痛苦的冷漠过。 相反,纽约的冬天使我的手指和脚趾无数次麻木。 即使我十年来都没有经历过冰冻过程,但至少我知道如何抑制由于多年的寒冷天气滑雪和越野跑所造成的不适感。 另一方面,Ecklund是一个笨拙的加利福尼亚人,如果冰箱门打开时间过长,他会穿上外套。

讲述这个故事的最好方法是倒退到开头,跳到结尾,然后用生动的描写我们的冒险故事来填补所有剩余的空缺。 首先,如果没有雅马哈中西部地区经理吉姆·德拉蒙德的大力推动,这个想法就不会浮出水面。 吉姆住在威斯康星州的奥什科什。 他与他的两个男孩Mike和Jake都是活跃的越野摩托车爱好者。 他们也是经验丰富的冰上赛车手。 每年冬天开始下雪以后,Drummond的工作人员就会用knob子换上镶钉轮胎。

几年前,吉姆·德拉蒙德(Jim Drummond)参加了在威斯康星州坎贝尔斯波特(Kampbellsport)的水壶冰a湖上进行的为时三小时的年度耐力冰鞋比赛,并度过了一段愉快的时光。 因此,他认为参加MXA破坏小组的冰上赛车是一个好主意。

达里尔·埃克伦德(Daryl Ecklund)在威斯康星州(Wisconsin)进行的为时15小时的耐力赛中,超越了比赛,跃居第XNUMX位。

以我们的思维方式,我们打了一下严重的尾巴,特别是因为我们的一位骑手从未见过冰
之前的玻璃。

蒂姆·奥尔森(Tim Olson),达里尔·埃克隆德(Daryl Ecklund)和我的赛车资格不高。 埃克伦德(Ecklund)参加了AMA国民赛,奥尔森(Olson)在法国赢得了MX de Reygades比赛,而我本身就是一名扎实的兽医中级专家。 至于成为冰上赛车手? 好吧,在我们班的7中排名第31,在15个团队中排名第72。 在三个小时内,我们完成了18圈比赛,比总冠军少XNUMX圈。 按照我们的思维方式,我们踢了严重的尾巴-尤其是考虑到我们的一位骑手以前从未在玻璃杯外面见过冰。 我们击败了由经验丰富的冰上赛车手和经验丰富的泥土追踪器组成的团队。

结实的轮胎对于在冰上骑行至关重要。 仅我们的后轮胎成本约为350美元。

他打了地面,就像是一袋土豆,然后被塞进了一个雪库。 并且,由于蓬松的雪,他搞砸了。

最相关的问题围绕着在冰上赛车越野摩托车的难度。 要完全回答该问题,需要具备您的技能水平的背景知识,是否愿意崩溃,对寒冷的天气的热爱以及希望花钱购买专门用于赛车的轮胎的愿望。 这是进行冰上比赛所需的明细。

(1)技能: 您可以是任何技能水平。 初学者到专家,都没关系(尽管经验会有所帮助)。

(2)崩溃: 您将要崩溃,但是您应该早已意识到这一点。 碰撞是将肾上腺素释放到血液中的催化剂。

(3)寒冷因素: 赛车很冷。 最好是! 请记住,您是在冰冷的水中驾驶一辆240磅重的摩托车。 值得庆幸的是,当我们看到卡车在湖边行驶时,我们对掉入水中的恐惧得到了缓解。 如果它的厚度足以容纳Bubba的Chevy,那么对我们来说就足够坚固了。

(4)饰钉: 竞速很便宜……只要您投资了带钉轮胎。 我们很幸运地骑上了吉姆·德拉蒙德(Jim Drummond)的个人雅马哈YZ450F,该轮胎配备了由AMA名人堂耐力赛赛车手杰夫·弗雷迪特(Jeff Fredette)制作的手工镶钉轮胎。 tu胎是一门需要技巧和前瞻性的艺术。 当骑手向侧面倾斜自行车时,每个螺柱均设置为特定角度以获得最大牵引力。 我们的后轮胎有大约680个340英寸长的冰螺钉,而前轮胎则装有数百个螺柱。 至于费用,Fredette的后排车收费为230美元,前排车收费为XNUMX美元。 节省的恩惠是轮胎可以使用几个季节。

当达里尔和我到达莫雷恩湖时,我和我都是新手,所以我们决定在耐力赛的前一天通过在星期六的冰上椭圆形练习来减少牙齿。 我们有一个习惯,就是要一头扎进东西,而埃克伦德(Ecklund)则试图在第二个螺柱碰到冰面时将YZ450F推开。 他无所畏惧,很快,就不断提高强度,直到他将后轮胎一直滑到100英尺长的拐角处,或者最终陷入积雪中。

达里尔·埃克伦德(Daryl Ecklund)有很多东西-聪明,有才华,经验丰富,诚实-但他有一个弱点:他不断超越极限,然后不断努力直到灾难来袭。 鉴于达里尔从未在冰上骑过越野摩托车,他开始在灾难中跳舞直到找到舒适的地方。 甚至连无可挑剔的冰上赛车手德拉蒙德氏族,也对埃克伦德的技能感到惊讶。 但是就在我们对他的快速过渡表示怀疑的那一刻,我们看到远处有白雪皑皑的白po,并意识到达里尔已经把极限推得太远了。 他像一袋土豆一样砸在地上,然后被放进了一个雪堆里。 而且,由于蓬松的白色东西,他站起来大笑。

温度计没有说谎。 威斯康星州令人骨寒。 左起约翰·巴歇尔,达里尔·埃克伦德和蒂姆·奥尔森的发电机组。

我们在节流阀上保持顺畅,试图避免转弯时吹动,从不碰离合器,也没有有人干预
为他们提供滑动工作。

至于我对冰冷的椭圆形的攻击,我犹豫要骑在冰上,甚至连靴子的每一步都滑下来,但我很快意识到牵引力足够大。 这种感觉可与乘坐Supermoto媲美,而对高侧板的恐惧则少得多。 拖拉YZ450F发动机被证明是有效的。 否则,后端会折断并变得无法控制。 高齿轮传动装置和宽阔的功率带鼓励节流式节气门控制。 保持平稳一致是在冰上骑行的最佳方式。 否则,后端将像南瓜灯一样亮起。 尽管我没有达里尔那么优雅,但我觉得我可以在比赛当天保持自己的状态。

在整个旅程中,我们最大的障碍是与大自然的战斗。 尽管我们避开了极地涡流(Polar Vortex),该涡流在去年冬天横扫了美国大部分地区,但威斯康星州在我们停留的时候仍然是一个冰柜。 汞在湖中浸入10度。 我们采取了绝望的措施来保暖,这意味着要多层穿衣。 功能胜过形式,但达里尔和我不在乎。 雪不关心我们的样子,也不生气,每当我们的YZ450F撞到转速限制器时,摇头的愤怒的冰渔民。 我们很快意识到,在威斯康星州中部的冰冻湖面上骑车时,保暖至关重要。

至于三小时耐力赛本身,共有72支车队由多名车手组成。 也有几位疯子决定为这三个小时的比赛加油,其中包括著名的平板追踪器JR Schnabel。 还有一个叫克里斯​​蒂娜·兹穆达(Kristina Zmuda)的女人,在比赛当天没有任何维修站支撑就签了名,并独自完成了比赛。 她的团队名字叫美国小姐真有道理。 该路线跨越6.5英里,包含100多个不同程度和速度的转弯,与我们前一天的练习相距甚远。

达里尔(Daryl)是MXA团队起步的明显选择。 他很容易成为我们小组中最快的,并以身作则。 在重量级比赛中,我们将与专业的泥土追踪器和合格的冰上赛车手站在一起。 我们不在乎。 也许是我们越野摩托车的心态,或者是我们忘记了摆在面前的挑战,这些挑战使我们如此自大。 事后看来,我们为从未参加过冰上比赛的骑手提供了完美的比赛。

达里尔(Daryl)开始了中段比赛,并开始突破比赛。 达里尔是个残破的球,在冰上狠狠,没有恐惧。 蒂姆·奥尔森(Tim Olson)和我采取了不同的方法。 我们在节气门上保持平稳,试图避免过弯,从未碰过离合器,并设置了人员,而不是给他们滑动的工作。

每天我都会通过体温过低的发热和恶心的渔夫来。 但是,当母亲受到丑陋的折磨时,我没有为那些不愿意参加比赛的摩托车选手感到兴奋。

但是,蒂姆和我也想赢,这就是为什么我们每次只记录四圈。 埃克伦德(Ecklund)对车队的贡献是进入了10个起泡的圈,包括最后的冲刺。 这项策略加上执行良好的进站,为我们带来了可观的结果。 自然,我们对没有获胜感到失望,但我们是学者湖上的初学者。 在我们班的31支球队中,第七名是来自果蔬之乡的三个家伙的大满贯。 此外,这是“钢铁鞋基金会”的一项慈善活动。 赛车本来是有趣的,而不是残酷的。

冰上竞赛有护堤,但蓬松的东西下面是坚硬的岩石和滑溜的冰。

我们的冰上冒险之旅令人难忘。 我们将永远珍惜一些特别的回忆。 赛马场占据了水壶冰Mor湖的大部分地区。 与在路线附近建立营地的冰钓渔民的情况不尽相同。 在实践中,我们注意到有几位渔民在我们骑行时给了我们一指致敬。 欢迎来到威斯康星州! 另外,在我们比赛时,还有扫雪机清理了赛道。 这就像推土机在摩托车中的摩托车越野赛上工作一样。 这是粗略的。 高速的前端冲刷将把我们带到犁的轮子下。 我们不会很快忘记在试图超越其他赛车手时穿过一系列犁的感觉。

我们在威斯康星州结识了很多朋友,并且结交了一个敌人。 他的名字叫JR施纳贝尔。 埃克伦德(Ecklund)通过与他赛跑来激怒了这条土路冠军。 达里尔(Daryl)的越野摩托车策略给他留下了深刻的印象,他采用了在泥土跑道比赛中学到的一些外带动作。 他们没有在一个精明的越野摩托车赛车手上工作,但施纳贝尔是冰上最快的人,并因其在冰上的技巧而受到尊重。 我们预计明年不会有来自JR Schnabel的圣诞贺卡。

如果设置正确,冰上会产生巨大的牵引力。 比赛获胜者和JR Schnabel展示了泥泞的赛道感觉。


达里尔·埃克伦(Daryl Ecklund)演示了您犯错时会发生的事情。

我是否打算在晴天从本地越野摩托车赛道出发从事冰上比赛? 绝对不。 每天,我都会在晴朗的天气里,穿比基尼的女孩度过体温过低和恶心的渔民。 但是,作为一名经过改革的寒冷天气运动员,我对摩托车赛车手感到钦佩,他们在大自然母亲抬起丑陋的头时不把它收拾起来。 而且,我很想再次捆绑在一起,以便有机会再将一次Yamaha YZ450F在水壶冰a湖上滑行一次-但我希望下次变暖一点,例如20度。

与MIKA KALLIO一起在芬兰进行冰上赛车

 

达里·埃克朗德冰上赛车吉姆·德拉蒙德约翰·巴瑟水壶冰a湖摩托车越野赛xmxa破坏船员钢铁鞋基金蒂姆·奥尔森雅马哈yz450f

MXA GOES ICE RACING: MOTHER NATURE, ANGRY FISHERMEN & THE DESIRE TO BE WARM

It takes technique and fearlessness to get the rear end pitched out on the ice. When done properly it can be exhilarating. However, when pushed too far, you’ll quickly find yourself in a snow bank.

By John Basher

If you’re like me, you daydream whenever you walk by the travel posters at the airport and think about how much fun it would be to hop a flight to Maui or Miami. The temperate climate and abundant sunshine are major draws when your real destination is Minneapolis or Minot—or, in my case, Milwaukee. Best known for breweries, Milwaukee is planted on the edge of Lake Michigan. For all I know, Milwaukee may be majestic in the summer, but a few months ago I was there when the thermometer barely showed any mercury. Biting winds may not dampen the 5.7 million Wisconsin residents who hope and pray for another Ice Bowl for the Packers to play in, but it got to me quick.

LOS ANGELENOS CAN’T UNDERSTAND THE HARDSHIPS THAT THOSE FROM CANADA-BORDERING STATES MUST ENDURE—WE SHIVER
WHEN IT’S 65 DEGREES OUTSIDE.

Although I have been softened up by 10 years of living in SoCal, I can relate to folks from Wisconsin. I grew up 45 minutes south of Buffalo. For those familiar with the weather patterns in upstate New York, I lived smack dab in the center of the “southern-tier snow belt.” Frigid air from Canada would whip across Lake Erie, pick up moisture, crystallize it and dump snow at my doorstep. It was perfect for skiing, snowboarding and snowmobiling, but for the most part, it made life difficult. Los Angelenos can’t understand the hardships that those from Canada-bordering states must endure—we shiver when it’s 65 degrees outside.

Living in SoCal is a double-edged sword. Forget stressing over your wardrobe—jeans and a sweatshirt in winter suffice; and shorts, T-shirt and flip-flops work the other 10 months. And, as the song goes, “It never rains in Southern California.” Yet, with these weather blessings come the curse. I’ve been transformed. My body has morphed into expecting great weather all year around. I have become a traitor to my Buffalo roots. Now, cold weather shocks my extremities to the point that my jaw trembles on a cloudy day.

This is the point in my story where I should conveniently remind you that MXA takes an active approach to expanding our horizons. Simply put, we try anything with two wheels and an engine. Of course, you probably already knew that. In the past we’ve raced Supermoto, GNCC, WORCS, Dutch beach races, European Supercross and Endurocross. We’ve also ridden Speedway, flat track, snowmobiles and rally bikes. Although our hearts are in motocross, we enjoy taking a head-first dive into unfamiliar waters every now and then. Sometimes we come away scraped up and bloodied, but we’re always enchanted by how other two-wheel enthusiasts find enjoyment in their chosen passion.

The thrill of sliding on ice was heightened when we had to navigate around snow plows.

MXA WANTED TO GO ICE RACING­—AND PERHAPS AT THE TIME WE CAME UP WITH THIS IDEA WE DIDN’T CONNECT THE DOTS ENOUGH TO
REALIZE THAT ICE ALSO MEANT COLD.

That explains why Daryl Ecklund and I found ouselves in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in the dead of winter. MXA wanted to go ice racing—and perhaps at the time that we came up with this idea we didn’t connect the dots enough to realize that ice also meant cold. However, five minutes in Milwaukee brought the two concepts of “ice” and “racing” into sharp focus. It was cold, and knowing that it was 85 degrees at Glen Helen didn’t warm the cockles of my heart.

Fortunately, I had several things going for me. I was bringing MXA assistant editor Daryl Ecklund along for the ride. Daryl is a SoCal native with limited experience in subfreezing weather. He has never been truly, profoundly and achingly cold. Conversely, my fingers and toes had been numbed countless times by New York winters. And even though I hadn’t undergone the freezing process in a decade, at least I knew how to curb discomfort caused by the elements from years of cold-weather skiing and trail riding. Ecklund, on the other hand, was a clueless Californian who would put a coat on if the refrigerator door was held open for too long.

The best way to tell this tale is by rewinding to the beginning, skip to the end, and then fill in all the remaining holes with a vivid description of our adventure. For starters, the idea wouldn’t have surfaced without a shove from Yamaha’s  Midwest district manager, Jim Drummond. Jim lives in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. He, along with his two boys, Mike and Jake, are active motocross enthusiasts. They are also experienced ice racers. Once the snow starts flying every winter, the Drummond men trade their knobbies for studded tires.

Jim Drummond had entered the Annual Steel Shoe Fund three-hour endurance ice race on Kettle Moraine Lake in Campbellsport, Wisconsin, a couple years ago and had a great time. So, he thought it would be a great idea to take the MXA wrecking crew ice racing.

Daryl Ecklund slices his way past the competition en route to 15th place in a three-hour endurance race in Wisconsin.

TO OUR WAY OF THINKING, WE KICKED SERIOUS TAIL—ESPECIALLY GIVEN THAT ONE OF OUR RIDERS HAD NEVER SEEN ICE OUTSIDE
OF A GLASS BEFORE.

Tim Olson, Daryl Ecklund and I have modest racing credentials; Ecklund raced the AMA Nationals, Olson won the MX de Reygades race in France, and I’m a solid Vet Intermediate in my own right. As for being ice racers? Well, finished 7th out of 31 in our class and 15th overall out of 72 teams. In three hours we hammered out 18 laps, which was one lap less than the overall winner. To our way of thinking, we kicked serious tail—especially given that one of our riders had never seen ice outside of a glass before. We beat teams that were manned with seasoned ice racers and experienced dirt trackers.

A well-studded tire is a vital necessity for riding on ice. Our rear tire alone cost around $350.

HE HIT THE GROUND LIKE A SACK OF POTATOES AND CAREENED INTO A SNOW BANK. AND, THANKS TO THE FLUFFY SNOW, HE GOT UP LAUGHING.

The most pertinent question centers around the difficulty of racing a motocross bike on ice. To fully answer that requires background knowledge on your skill level, willingness to crash, love of cold weather and desire to spend money on ice-racing-specific tires. Here’s a breakdown of what it takes to go ice racing.

(1) Skill: You can be any skill level. Beginner to Expert, it doesn’t matter (although experience helps).

(2) Crashing: You’re going to crash, but you should have realized that before you got this far. Crashing is the catalyst that releases adrenaline into the bloodstream.

(3) Chill factor: Ice racing is cold. It had better be! Remember that you’re piloting a 240-pound motorcycle on frozen water. Thankfully, our fears of falling into the water were put to rest when we saw trucks driving around the lake. If it’s thick enough for Bubba’s Chevy, then it’s sturdy enough for us.

(4) Studs: Ice racing is cheap…once you invest in studded tires. We were fortunate enough to ride Jim Drummond’s personal Yamaha YZ450F, which was equipped with handmade studded tires done by AMA Hall of Fame enduro racer Jeff Fredette. Studding tires is an art that requires skill and forethought. Every stud is set to a specific angle for maximum traction when the rider is pitching the bike sideways. Our rear tire had around 680 one-inch-long ice screws, while the front held several hundred studs. As for expense, Fredette charges $340 for a rear and $230 for a front. The saving grace is that the tires last several seasons.

Daryl and I were total neophytes when we arrived at Lake Kettle Moraine, so we decided to cut our teeth the day before the endurance race by practicing around an ice oval on Saturday. We have a habit of jumping into things head first, and Ecklund was trying to pitch the YZ450F out the second the studs met the ice. Fearless and fast, he kept raising the intensity level until he would either slide the rear tire all the way around the 100-foot-long corners or end up in a snow bank.

Daryl Ecklund is many things—smart, talented, experienced, honest—but he has one weakness: He pushes the limit, then he keeps on pushing until disaster strikes. Given that Daryl had never ridden a motocross bike on ice, he began to dance with disaster until he found his comfort zone. Even the Drummond clan, impeccable ice racers themselves, were surprised by Ecklund’s skills. But at the exact moment that we expressed our wonderment at his quick transition, we saw a snowy white poof off in the distance and realized that Daryl had pushed the limit just a hair too far. He hit the ground like a sack of potatoes and careened into a snow bank. And, thanks to the fluffy white stuff, he got up laughing.

The thermometer doesn’t lie. It was bone-chilling cold in Wisconsin. The dynamo team of, from left, John Basher, Daryl Ecklund and Tim Olson.

WE WERE SMOOTH ON THE THROTTLE, TRIED TO AVOID BLOWING THROUGH TURNS, NEVER TOUCHED THE CLUTCH, AND SET PEOPLE UP INSTEAD
OF GIVING THEM THE SLIDE JOB.

As for my assault on the icy oval, I was hesitant to be riding on ice that even my boots slipped on with every step, but I quickly realized that the traction was plentiful. The sensation was comparable to riding Supermoto, with a lot less fear of high-siding. Lugging the YZ450F engine proved effective; otherwise, the rear end would snap around and become uncontrollably loose. The tall gearing and broad powerband encouraged metered throttle control. Smooth and consistent were the best ways to ride on ice; otherwise, the back end would light up like a jack-o’-lantern. Although I was far less graceful than Daryl, I felt that I could hold my own on race day.

Our biggest obstacle throughout the whole trip was battling Mother Nature. Although we had avoided the Polar Vortex, which swept across the greater part of the country this past winter, Wisconsin was still an icebox when we were there. The mercury dipped to 10 degrees at the lake. We went to desperate measures to keep warm, which meant dressing in layers. Function trumped form, but Daryl and I didn’t care. The snow didn’t care what we looked like, nor did the angry ice fishermen who shook their heads every time our YZ450F hit the rev limiter. We quickly realized that staying warm was all that mattered when you’re riding on a frozen lake in the middle of Wisconsin.

As for the three-hour endurance race itself, there were 72 teams made up of multiple riders. There were also several lunatics who decided to iron man the three-hour event, including famed flat tracker J.R. Schnabel. There was also a woman by the name of Kristina Zmuda who showed up the day of the race without any pit support, signed up and did it solo. How apropos that her team name was Miss America. The course spanned 6.5 miles and contained over 100 turns of varying degrees and speeds, a far cry from what we had practiced on a day before.

Daryl was the obvious choice to start for Team MXA. He was easily the fastest in our group and begged to lead by example. Racing the heavyweight class, we were going toe to toe with professional dirt trackers and qualified ice racers. We didn’t care. Perhaps it was our motocross mentality or that we were oblivious to the challenges that lay ahead that made us so cocky. In hindsight, we rode the perfect race for riders who had never raced on ice before.

Daryl got a mid-pack start and began cutting through the pack. Daryl was a wrecking ball—ruthless on the ice and devoid of fear. Tim Olson and I took a different approach. We were smooth on the throttle, tried to avoid blowing through turns, never touched the clutch, and set people up instead of giving them the slide job.

I’LL TAKE SUNNY SOCAL OVER HYPOTHERMIA AND MALEVOLENT FISHERMEN ANY DAY. BUT, I HAVE NOTHING BUT ADMIRATION FOR MOTORCYCLE RACERS WHO DON’T PACK IT IN WHEN MOTHER NATURE REARS HER UGLY HEAD.

However, Tim and I also wanted to win, which is why we only logged four laps each. Ecklund’s contribution to the team was to put in 10 blistering laps, including the final sprint to the finish. That strategy, along with well-executed pit stops, led to a respectable result for us. Naturally, we were disappointed that we didn’t win, but we were abecedarians on a lake of scholars. Landing in seventh place out of 31 teams in our class was a grand slam for three guys from the land of fruits and nuts. Besides, it was a charity event for the Steel Shoe Fund. The racing was meant to be fun, not cutthroat.

There are berms in ice racing, but underneath the fluffy stuff is rock hard and slippery ice.

Our ice-racing adventure was unforgettable. There were several particular memories that we’ll cherish forever. The racetrack took up most of Lake Kettle Moraine. That didn’t sit well with the ice fishermen who had set up camp near the course. In practice, we noticed several fishermen giving us the one-finger salute as we rode by. Welcome to Wisconsin! Also, there were snowplows cleaning up the track while we were racing. That’s like a bulldozer working on a motocross track amidst a moto. It was sketchy. A front-end washout at high speed would have sent us under the plow’s wheels. We won’t soon forget what it was like weaving through a series of plows while trying to pass other racers.

We made a lot of friends in Wisconsin and one enemy. His name was J.R. Schnabel. Ecklund had irritated the dirt-track champion by racing with him. J.R. was not impressed by Daryl’s motocross tactics and employed a couple of take-out moves learned in dirt-track racing. They didn’t worked on a savvy motocross racer, but Schnabel was the fastest guy on ice and deserved respect for his skill on ice. We don’t expect a Christmas card from J.R. Schnabel this coming year.

There’s tons of traction on the ice, given the proper setup. Race winner and dirt track sensation J.R. Schnabel demonstrates.


Daryl Ecklund demonstrates what happens when you make a mistake.

Do I intend on departing from sunny day at a local motocross track to pursue an ice-racing career? Absolutely not. I’ll take sunny weather and girls in bikinis over hypothermia and malevolent fishermen any day. But, as a reformed cold-weather athlete, I have nothing but admiration for motorcycle racers who don’t pack it in when Mother Nature rears her ugly head. And, I would love to bundle up again for the opportunity to slide a Yamaha YZ450F around Lake Kettle Moraine one more time—but I’d like it to be a little warmer the next time, say 20 degrees.

ICE RACING IN FINLAND WITH MIKA KALLIO

 

DARYL ECKLUNDice racingJim DrummondJOHN BASHERKettle Moraine Lakemotocrossmxamxa wrecking crewSteel Shoe Fundtim olson.yamaha yz450f