مقابلة MXA: DONNIE HANSEN على مهنة BIT BITTERSWEET

بقلم جيم كيمبال

دوني ، ما هو شعورك بأكبر التغييرات في التراكبات في الثلاثين عامًا الأخيرة؟ التغيير الأكبر في الدراجات - تطوير الدراجة والمسارات التي تتماشى مع الدراجات. إن 450 خط رباعي هي أسرع بكثير مما كنت عليه في عصر 250 ضربة. هناك جانب سلبي من التحسينات المستمرة ، وذلك عندما ينزل هؤلاء الرجال الآن ، فإنهم يسيرون بشكل أسرع ، ويصبح إلقاءهم على الأرض أكثر خطورة.

ذهبت من خاص بك إلى مصنع رايدر سريع حقا ، أليس كذلك؟ حسنًا ، بالنسبة لي ، كان هناك أشخاص جيدون حولي ومعدات جيدة. خلال السنة الأولى في الحلبة ، أو حتى قبل أن أكون في الحلبة ، شعرت أنني أحاط نفسي بأناس طيبين. كنت على بعض المعدات السريعة ، الأمر الذي جعلني أركب المصنع مع هوندا. مع امتلاك هوندا المعدات التي كانت بحوزتها ، والأشخاص الذين أحاطوا بي ، تمكنت من البدء بعمل جيد على الفور. ولكن ، بشكل عام ، كانت مسيرتي في السباق حلوًا ومرًا - كان عام 1980 أول سنة لي ، وكان عام 1982 عامي الأخير. فزت بكل شيء في العام الماضي. كانت سنتي الأولى سنة التعلم. كان علي أن أتعلم كل المسارات. وكان جميع راكبي المصانع الآخرين لهم عدة مرات. عليك أن تتعلم كيفية سباق كل مسار. لذا ، حتى مع قول ذلك ، في سنتي الأولى آذيت نفسي. لقد أنهيت الثامنة من العام الأول في الدرجة الممتازة في Supercross ، لكنني أصبت في كاحلي ولم أتمكن من إنهاء موسمي.

جوني أومارا ودوني هانسن.

الأشياء حسّنت بالتأكيد السنة التالية. في عام 1981 ، عرفت مسارات Supercross الآن ، حيث كانت سنتي الثانية. كنت أعرف مدى سرعة الدراجين ، وحصلت على المركز السادس في الفصل الأول. في الهواء الطلق ، تكيفت بسرعة الآن بعد أن عرفت المسارات مثل ظهر يدي. أيضا ، بعد عامين من السباق مع هؤلاء الرجال ، كنت أعرف مدى براعتهم. أصبحنا جوني أومارا صديقين سريعين. خرجت من منزل والديّ. خرج من منزل والديه ، واشتريت بيتي الأول حيث استأجر غرفة مني. تدربنا معا كثيرا. دفعنا بعضنا البعض ، وحتى في غير موسمها ، واصلنا التدريب بجد. تسابقنا محليًا في جنوب كاليفورنيا للحفاظ على القدرة التنافسية.

"كان أسوأ الكرات الخارقة لدي هو السادس. لقد فزت بأربع مرات وحققت أفضل خمس مرات. "

متى تم البدء في الدفع؟ عندما بدأ موسم سوبر كروس عام 1982 ، كنا أقوياء ذهنياً وبدنياً. كما اتضح ، فزت أناهيم ، وحل جوني في المركز الثالث خلف Wardy. ذهب تعزيز الثقة هذا إلى الأسبوع المقبل في سياتل ، حيث فزت بالسباق التالي. بقيت متسقة ، ركبت بذكاء ، ولم أرمي بطولة Supercross. كان لدي بداية جيدة للمسلسل. كنت لا أزال أفوز بأكبر قدر ممكن ، لكنني بقيت دائمًا بالقرب من المقدمة طوال السلسلة لتحقيق الفوز. كان أسوأ Supercross بلدي السادس. فزت أربع مرات وحصلت على المراكز العشرة الأولى. كما اتضح ، فقد حصلت على لقب Supercross في سباق سابق لأوانه.

الذي أدى إلى AMA 250 مواطنين. لقد ركبت جيدًا في سلسلة National 1982 في الهواء الطلق لعام 250 ولكن كان لدي اثنين من DNFs في دراجتين مختلفتين. كان أحدهم في سانت بيت ، فلوريدا ، حيث حصلت على إطار مسطح ولم أستطع الانتهاء. والآخر كان Saddleback ، حيث كنت أنا و Broc Glover يتسابقان من أجل التقدم. عند المرور عبر قسم الإيقاع ، رأيت العلم الأصفر في نهاية القسم ، مما يشير إلى أن شخصًا ما كان أسفل. كنت على خط واحد وكان بروك على الخط الآخر. حدث أن الرجل الذي تحطم في طابور. هبطت عليه ، وتحطمت وحطمت دراجتي ، لذلك كان لدي DNF هناك. عند الدخول في السباق الأخير من الموسم في كولورادو ، تأخرت عن ريكي جونسون بفارق 20 نقطة. كنت أعلم أنني لن أفوز بالسلسلة ، لكني سأفوز بالحدث الأخير. وكما اتضح ، فزت بأول موتو وكان ريكي ، عامه الأول في دائرة AMA Pro مع فريق Yamaha ، يحاول اللحاق بنا ، وقد تجاوز القفز. انفجرت العجلة وانتهى خارج العشرون نقطة. في خط النهاية ، قالوا لي إنني أقود السلسلة للذهاب إلى آخر موتو لهذا الموسم. كل ما كان علي فعله للفوز بالبطولة الوطنية 20 انتهى في المراكز الثلاثة الأولى.

كيف فعلت في موتو الثاني؟ لقد بدأت ، ولكن سمعت شخصًا خلفي. كان جلوفر. تركته يمر ويسقط خلفه. كنت ألعب بذكاء. لم أكن أرغب في التخلص من البطولة - كل ما أردت فعله هو إنهاء المركز الثالث. أخيرًا ، أمسك بي متسابق آخر ، وقررت السماح له بالمرور ، ولكن عندما توقف بجانبي ، نظرنا إلى بعضنا البعض ، كان ريكي جونسون. لقد تركته يذهب احتل المركز الثاني وحصلت على المركز الثالث ، وكان ذلك كافياً للفوز بالبطولة. كان ينبغي أن يفوز ريكي بهذه البطولة ، لكنه أراد أن يمسك بي وأنا بدلاً من السماح لنا بالذهاب في موتو. لكنها عملت لمصلحتي ، لذلك كانت جيدة. شعرت بالارتياح طوال العام ، طوال الموسم.

دوني 1982 يعمل هوندا.

عندما انتهى موسم AMA لعام 1982 ، توجهت إلى أوروبا لصالح GP السويدية و MXDN. كانت السويد غير واقعية. لقد أذهلتني. فزت بكل من الدراجات النارية ، وكانت عطلة نهاية الأسبوع التي حسم فيها داني لابورت لقب بطولة العالم لنفسه. هزم جورج جوبي. كلاهما منافسان عظيمان ، ولكن لحسن الحظ ، فزت بكل من الدراجات النارية بأكثر من 20 ثانية.

جورج جوبي ودوني هانسن وكييس فان دير فين على منصة التتويج في السويد قبل أربعة أيام من انتهاء مهنته.

الأسبوع التالي الذي توجّهت فيه إلى ألمانيا للاستعداد لـ MXDN. شعرت بسعادة غامرة لتمثيل الولايات المتحدة في Trophee و Motocross des Nations. كنت في أول فريق أمريكي يفوز بها في العام السابق ، لذلك أردت الفوز بها مرة أخرى. الغريب ، كان هناك سباق Supercross نهائي واحد لم يجر بعد. لم يكن من المقرر تحديد موعد حتى نوفمبر في سان دييجو ، لكني كنت قد حصلت بالفعل على لقب Supercross. لذا ، ذهبت إلى أوروبا لسباق آخر 250 جائزة كبرى في السويد والاستعداد لبطولتي الأمم المتحدة وموتوكروس.

دوني (أسفل اليمين) مع داني لابورت وتشاك صن وجوني أومارا على منصة التتويج في موتوكروس ديس نيشنز عام 1981.

كنت تتدرب على مسار رولف ديفينفباخ المتأخر عندما سحقت. نعم. كان لدي ارتجاج في الرأس. كان علي أن أتعلم المشي والحديث من جديد. استغرق مني بعض الوقت. حاولت العودة إلى السباق ، وأردت العودة إلى السباق ، لكنني فقدت توقيتي ، وفقدت إدراك العمق وفقدت توازني. عندما أدركت أنني أضيع وقت الجميع ، بما في ذلك وقتي ، قلت ، "لقد انتهيت من السباق باحتراف".

هل تعتقد أن خوذة حديثة قد أنقذت وظيفتك؟ حسنًا ، لقد ارتديت خوذات بيل ، وكانت أفضل الخوذات المصنوعة في ذلك الوقت ؛ ولكن ، مقارنة بخوذات اليوم ، لم يكونوا شيئًا. مع ما يتوفر الدراجين هذه الأيام ، قد أكون على ما يرام. لا استطيع ان اقول بالتأكيد.

"الطريقة التي أنظر إليها هي أنني خرجت كرقم واحد. لقد اعتبرت أحد الأفضل ، لذا كان بإمكاني ترك الرياضة بشعور من الرضا ".

يجب أن تكون مدمرة. حسنًا ، في الواقع ، لم يكن كذلك. الطريقة التي أنظر إليها هي أنني خرجت في المركز الأول. لقد اعتبرت واحدة من الأفضل ، لذا يمكنني ترك الرياضة بشعور من الارتياح. ربما لو لم أكن قد فزت ببطولة 1981 MXDN و 1982 Supercross Championship و 1982 250 National Championship ، لكان الأمر مختلفًا بعض الشيء. يسعدني أن أنقل المعلومات التي تعلمتها إلى الدراجين الجدد لمساعدتهم في محاولة تحقيق ما حققته في هذه الرياضة.

هل تجد صعوبة في التواصل مع جيل الشباب ما الذي يتعين عليهم القيام به؟ يمكن أن يكون الأمر صعبًا بعض الشيء مع بعضهم لأن لديهم موقف "أعرف ، أعرف" مقابل الرغبة في معرفة ما لا يعرفونه. ولكن بمجرد التعرف عليهم والتحدث معهم على مستواهم ، يمكنك أن ترى الفرق في ركوبهم. القليل من التعليم يقطع شوطا طويلا.

جوش هانسن.

أخبرنا عن ابنك جوش. إنه موهوب بشكل طبيعي. اقترب من الفوز بالبطولة مرتين. في السنة الأولى تعادل مع Grant Langston عندما كانا يركبان Red Bull KTM. لقد تعادل في البطولة ، لكنه خسر لأن جرانت حقق انتصارات أكثر في ذلك العام من جوش. الآخر الذي اقترب منه كان عندما كان يركب ميتش بايتون في Pro Circuit Kawasaki. لقد تحطم في الصياح في الممارسة ، وطرد نفسه وكسر يده. قال المسعفون إنهم لن يسمحوا له بالسباق لأنه ضرب رأسه. بدأ في البكاء وقال ، "لا يمكنني ترك هذه البطولة تذهب." قال المسعف ، "حسنًا ، سأعطيك كلمتين. غادر هنا لمدة 10 دقائق ، وعندما تعود ، أخبرني ما هي الكلمات ". اجتاز جوش هذا الاختبار. ثم قال المسعف ، "سنقوم بإجراء اختبار ضغط على رأسك. سنعود إلى حفر Pro Circuit وركب دراجة ثابتة لمدة 25 دقيقة ونرى كيف يرفع رأسك. " مرر جوش ذلك. ثم قال المسعف ، "حسنًا ، وقع هذه التنازلات بأنك لن تقاضينا ، لأنك إذا نزلت وضربت رأسك مرة أخرى ، فلن تستيقظ." لذلك ، بصفتي ولي الأمر ، وقعت على التنازلات. أعطوه رصاصة في يده ولفوها. كان لديه ساعتين قبل بدء السباق الفعلي. أخبرت جوش بمحاولة الحصول على أفضل 10 ، وبعد ذلك سيحصل على أسبوع إجازة قبل سياتل. بعد سياتل ، كان لديه ما يقرب من شهرين. خلال ذلك الوقت ، كان بإمكانه إصلاح يده ولا يزال لديه الوقت للركوب قبل التقاط السلسلة مرة أخرى.

قال جوش ، "انسَ العشرة الأوائل ؛ سأفوز. " اعتقدت أن رأسه لا يزال ضبابيًا ، لكن بعد ساعتين خرج وخرج بالفوز. لسوء الحظ ، في سياتل تحطمت في الصياح. كان لديه المزيد من الضرر وانخفض بعد ذلك. فازت Tickle بالمسلسل وانتهى Josh بالمركز الرابع. لذلك ، كانت هاتان السنتين أفضل فرصه ، لكنه فشل. وقد فاز بالعديد من الميداليات الذهبية في ألعاب X ، وزوجين من الميداليات البرونزية ، واثنين من الميداليات الفضية. الآن يبلغ من العمر 10 عامًا وقد تباطأ. لديه ابنة ، وهو يفهم مدى أهمية ذلك.

دوني هانسن اليوم.

هل كان جوش عدوه الأسوأ؟ سيقوم جوش بفعل الأشياء بطريقته أو كيف يعتقد أنه يجب أن يفعلها ، ولا يمكنك توجيهه بأي طريقة أخرى. إذا أخبرته ، والذي كان لدي ، بالإضافة إلى العديد من الأشخاص ذوي النوايا الحسنة الأخرى ، أنه كان عليه أن يعمل بجد أكبر ، لقال إنه لا يريد أن يعمل بجد لأنه أراد أن يضخ ويتحمس في يوم السباق . لا ينظر إلى الأشياء كيف نظرت إليها ، كيف نظر إليها ديفيد بيلي أو نظر جوني أومارا إليها. أعتقد أن العمل الشاق خلال الأسبوع يسهل عليك يوم السباق. لم يرها بهذه الطريقة ، وبسبب ذلك ، أعتقد أنه لم يحصل على أي بطولة.

هل ما زلت تذهب إلى السباقات الوطنية والفائقة؟ أنا افعل. أحب المنافسة. أحب مشاهدة أفضل الدراجين في العالم. يمكنك أن تتعلم الكثير بمجرد ملاحظة الأفضل. كنت أحاول تثقيف راكبي الهواة على قدر استطاعتي منذ 34 عامًا ، وأنا أستمتع بذلك حقًا.

 

181 موتوكروس الأممسباق الجائزة الكبرى السويدى 1982جلوك بروكتشاك صندوني هانسنجورج جوبيجوني عمارةكيس فان دير فينموتوكروسموتوكروس الأمممكساMXDNريكي جونسونالأبطال الخارقيندول الأمم

MXA INTERVIEW: DONNIE HANSEN ON HIS BITTERSWEET CAREER

BY JIM KIMBALL

DONNIE, WHAT DO YOU FEEL ARE THE BIGGEST CHANGES IN SUPERCROSS IN THE LAST 30 YEARS? The biggest change is in the bikes—the bike development and the tracks that go with the bikes. The 450 four-strokes are so much faster than during my era of 250 two-strokes. There is a downside of continual improvements, and that is when those guys get off now, they are going faster, and getting thrown on the ground is a little more serious.

YOU WENT FROM FULL PRIVATEER TO FACTORY RIDER REALLY FAST, DIDN’T YOU? Well, for me, it was having good people around me and good equipment. During my first year on the circuit, or even leading up to being on the circuit, I felt that I surrounded myself with good people. I was on some fast equipment, which got me a factory ride with Honda. With Honda having the equipment they had, and the people that surrounded me, I was able to start doing well right away. But, overall, my racing career was bittersweet—1980 was my first year, and 1982 was my last year. I won everything in my last year. My first year was my learning year. I had to learn all the tracks. All of the other factory riders had been to them multiple times. You have to learn how to race each track. So, even with that said, in my first year I hurt myself. I finished eighth my first year in the Premier class in Supercross, but I injured my ankles and was not able to finish out my season.

Johnny O’Mara and Donnie Hansen.

THINGS DEFINITELY IMPROVED THE FOLLOWING YEAR. In 1981, I knew the Supercross tracks now, as it was my second year. I knew how fast the riders were, and I finished sixth in the premier class. In the outdoors, I adapted quickly now that I knew the tracks like the back of my hand. Also, after two years of racing with these guys, I knew how skilled they were. Johnny O’Mara and I became quick friends. I moved out of my parents house. He moved out of his parent’s house, and I bought my first house where he rented a room from me. We trained together a lot. We pushed each other and, even in the off-season, we kept training hard. We raced locally in Southern California to keep competitive.

“MY WORST SUPERCROSS WAS A SIXTH. I WON FOUR TIMES AND
MADE THE TOP FIVE 10 TIMES.”

WHEN DID IT ALL START PAYING OFF? When the 1982 Supercross season started, we were both mentally and physically strong. As it turned out, I won Anaheim, and Johnny finished third behind Wardy. That boost of confidence went into the next week in Seattle, where I won the next race. I stayed consistent, rode smart, and did not throw away the Supercross Championship. I had a good start to the series. I was still winning as much as I could, but I stayed consistently up near the front throughout the series to clinch it. My worst Supercross was a sixth. I won four times and made the top five 10 times. As it turned out, I clinched the Supercross title one race premature.

WHICH LED TO THE AMA 250 NATIONALS. I rode really well in the 1982 250 National outdoor series but had two DNFs in two different motos. One was at St. Pete, Florida, where I got a flat tire and couldn’t finish. The other was Saddleback, where Broc Glover and I were racing for the lead. Coming through a rhythm section, I saw the yellow flag at the end of the section, indicating that someone was down. I was on one line and Broc was on the other line. The guy that crashed happened to be in my line. I landed on him, crashed, and smashed my bike, so I had a DNF there. Going into the last race of the season in Colorado, I was 20 points behind Ricky Johnson. I knew I was not going to win the series, but I was going to win the last event. And as it turned out, I won the first moto and Ricky, his first year in the AMA Pro circuit with Team Yamaha, was trying to catch us, and he over-jumped a jump. His wheel exploded and he finished outside the top 20. At the finish line, they told me I was leading the series going into the last moto of the season. All I had to do to win the 250 National Championship was finish in the top three.

HOW DID YOU DO IN THE SECOND MOTO? I got the start, but I heard someone right behind me. It was Glover. I let him go by and dropped in behind him. I was playing it smart. I didn’t want to throw the championship away—all I wanted to do was finish third. Finally, another rider caught me, and I decided to let him go by, but when he pulled up next to me, we looked over at each other, it was Ricky Johnson. I just let him go. He finished second and I finished third, and that was enough to win the championship. Ricky should have won that championship, but he wanted to catch Broc and me instead of letting us go in moto one. But it worked to my advantage, so it was pretty good. I felt great the whole year, the whole season.

Donnie’s 1982 works Honda.

WHEN THE 1982 AMA SEASON WAS OVER, YOU HEADED TO EUROPE FOR THE SWEDISH GP AND THE MXDN. Sweden was unreal. I was stoked. I won both motos, and that was the weekend that Danny LaPorte clinched the World Championship title for himself. He beat out George Jobe. Both great competitors, but, fortunately for me, I won both motos by over 20 seconds.

Georges Jobe, Donnie Hansen and Kees van der Ven on the podium in Sweden four days before his career ending crash.

THE NEXT WEEK YOU HEADED TO GERMANY TO GET READY FOR THE MXDN. I was thrilled to represent the USA at the Trophee and the Motocross des Nations. I was on the first USA team to ever win it the year before, so I wanted to win it again. Strangely, there was one final Supercross race yet to be held. It wasn’t scheduled until November in San Diego, but I had already clinched the Supercross title. So, I went to Europe to race the last 250 Grand Prix in Sweden and to get ready for the Trophee and Motocross des Nations.

Donnie (lower right) with Danny LaPorte, Chuck Sun and Johnny O’Mara on the podium at the 1981 Motocross des Nations.

YOU WERE PRACTICING ON THE LATE ROLF DIEFFENBACH’S TRACK WHEN YOU CRASHED. Yes. I had a real bad head concussion. I had to learn to walk and talk all over again. It took me some time. I tried coming back to racing, and I wanted to get back to racing, but I had lost my timing, lost my depth perception and lost my balance. When I realized that I was wasting everyone’s time, including my own, I said, “I am done racing professionally.”

DO YOU THINK THAT A MODERN HELMET MIGHT HAVE SAVED YOUR CAREER? Well, I wore Bell helmets, and they were the best helmets made back then; but, compared to the helmets of today, they were nothing. With what the riders have available these days, I may have been all right. I can’t say for sure.

“THE WAY I LOOK AT IT IS THAT I WENT OUT AS NUMBER ONE. I WAS CONSIDERED ONE OF THE BEST, SO I COULD LEAVE THE SPORT
WITH A SENSE OF SATISFACTION.”

THAT MUST HAVE BEEN DEVASTATING. Well, actually, it wasn’t. The way I look at it is that I went out as number one. I was considered one of the best, so I could leave the sport with a sense of satisfaction. Maybe if I had not won the 1981 MXDN, 1982 Supercross Championship and 1982 250 National Championship, it would have been a little different. I’m happy to pass on the information I learned to new riders to help them try to achieve what I achieved in the sport.

DO YOU FIND IT DIFFICULT TO CONVEY TO THE YOUNGER GENERATION WHAT THEY NEED TO DO? It can be a little tough with some of them because they have that “I know, I know” attitude versus wanting to learn what they don’t know. But, once I get to know them and talk to them at their level, you can see the difference in their riding. A little education goes a long way.

Josh Hansen.

TELL US ABOUT YOUR SON JOSH. HE IS SO NATURALLY TALENTED. He came close to winning a championship twice The first year he tied with Grant Langston when they were both riding Red Bull KTM. He tied for the championship, but he lost out because Grant had more wins that year than Josh did. The other one he came close to was when he was riding for Mitch Payton at Pro Circuit Kawasaki. He crashed in the whoops in practice, knocked himself out and broke his hand. The medics said that they were not going to let him race because he hit his head. He started tearing up and said, “I can’t let this championship go.” The medic said, “Okay, I am going to give you two words. Leave here for 10 minutes, and when you come back, you tell me what the words are.” Josh passed that test. Then the medic said, “We are going to take a stress test of your head. We are going to go back to the Pro Circuit pits and get on a stationary bicycle for 25 minutes and see how your head holds up.” Josh passed that. Then the medic said, “Okay, sign these waivers that you are not going to sue us, because, if you go down and hit your head again, you are not going to wake up.” So, as the parent, I signed the waivers. They gave him a shot in his hand and wrapped it up. He had two hours before the actual racing started. I told Josh to try for a top 10, and then he would have a week off before Seattle. After Seattle, he would have almost two months off. During that time, he could get his hand fixed and still have time to get riding before the series picked up again.

Josh said, “Forget the top 10; I’m going to win.” I thought his head was still foggy, but two hours later he went out and came away with the win. Unfortunately, in Seattle he crashed in the whoops. He had more damage and it just went downhill after that. Tickle had won the series and Josh ended up fourth. So, those two years were his best chances, but he came up short. He has won several X Games gold medals, a couple bronzes, and a couple of silvers. Now he is 35 years old and has slowed down a little bit. He has a daughter, and he understands how important that is.

Donnie Hansen today.

WAS JOSH HIS OWN WORST ENEMY? Josh is going to do things his way or how he thinks he should do it, and you can’t steer him any other way. If I were to tell him, which I have, as well as many other well meaning people, that he had to work harder, he would say that he did not want to work too hard because he wanted to be pumped and excited on race day. He does not look at things how I looked at it, how David Bailey looked at it or Johnny O’Mara looked at it. I believe that hard work during the week makes it easier for you on race day. He didn’t see it that way, and because of that, I believe he did not get any championships.

DO YOU STILL GO TO THE NATIONAL AND SUPERCROSS RACES? I do. I love the competition. I love watching the best riders in the world perform. You can learn a lot by just observing the best. I have been trying to educate Amateur riders to the best of my ability for 34 years, and I really enjoy it.

 

181 motocross des nations1982 swedish grand prixbroc gloverCHUCK SUNdonnie hansengeorges jobejohnny o'maraKees van der Venmotocrossmotocross des nationsmxamxdnricky johnsonSUPERCROSStrophee des nations