MXA 采访:FLY'N BRIAN MYERSCOUGH 的挣扎

吉姆·金伯

是什么让您成为越野摩托车赛车手? 我的家人住在卡利梅萨。 这是一个紧靠山脚的乡村小镇。 我们有 10 英亩的土地,我可以骑着本田 MiniTrail 直奔山上。 最初,我开始参加试车活动,有一天他们在马鞍峰进行了试车,那是我第一次见到骑着 MiniTrail 50 的 Jeff Ward。我对 Jeff 感到敬畏。 他天生就有天赋。 我进行了两年的试验,然后有一天在 Dead Man's Point,我看到了一场越野摩托车比赛并决定:“我必须尝试一下。”

而且,就像那样,您正在参加摩托车越野赛? 是的。 我大概11岁。 我得到了 Steen's 100。它有一个 Hodaka 发动机、前连杆前叉和 16 英寸车轮。 我参加了 100 初级班。 很多其他人都有更大的自行车,比如 Hodaka Super Rats。 我的自行车是小型摩托车尺寸。 在最初的几场比赛中,我被推着走,然后我得到了一辆 Rickman Micro-Metisse 100。这是一辆装有 Hodaka 100 发动机的全尺寸摩托车。 我开始赢得比赛。

你一直在进步吗? 当然。 我一开始就表现出色,赢得了比赛,并从那里取得了进步。 有我骑着 100 Rickman 的照片。 在我开始全职骑小型自行车之前,我是一个骑大自行车的小家伙。

你是什​​么时候骑上小型自行车的? 我们有一辆 SL-70,我们曾经在当地比赛。 我爸爸为我做到了。 最初,我的父母说,“你永远不会参加比赛。” 我爸爸不喜欢摩托车,但他看到我很喜欢它,然后说:“我得帮助那个孩子。” Long Beach Honda 的 Bill Bell 制造了我的 SL-70。 他是迈克贝尔的父亲。 他们曾经有 75 辆改装车,而我骑的是 75 辆。我参加的第一场大型小型摩托车比赛是 1973 年在印度沙丘举行的 NMA 世界迷你大奖赛。 我骑了两节课。 对于 12 岁及以上的专家级骑手,有三个主要类别:0-75 库存,0-75 修改,然后 0-110 修改。 飞行迈克布朗是印度沙丘跑得最快的人。 他是要打败的人。 本田 XR-75 刚刚问世,所以我在 Stock 类中使用了它,然后在其他类中使用了经过修改的 SL-70。 我最终赢得了这两个课程。

“很多其他人都有更大的自行车,比如 HODAKA 超级老鼠。 我的自行车是微型自行车尺寸。 我在最初的几场比赛中得到了推动,然后我得到了一个 RICKMAN MICRO-METISSE。”

这是在两冲程小型摩托车之前吗? 最终,雅马哈 YZ80 出来了,这很棒。 我在本田之后骑过它。 在那次世界迷你大奖赛之后,他们在马鞍峰举行了被称为国民队的比赛。 到那时,我在这三个课程中的每一个都使用 XR-75。 我在 1973 年赢得了那场比赛,杰夫·沃德在所有比赛中排名第二。 然后我迷上了 J&B Honda 并开始为他们骑行。 在 YZ 出现后,我们开始参加比赛。 那个时候,哥哥还在骑。 我爸爸在雷德兰兹买了一家雅马哈商店,我做得很好。 他的主要业务是作为建造地块房屋的房屋开发商。 通过 Yamaha 经销商,我们还与 Ted Moorewood 一起开发了 Myerscough Machines。 随着邮购的出现,售后产品越来越多。

您最终赢得了许多小型自行车比赛,不是吗? 我在本田和雅马哈上都做到了。 他们在 1985 年获得了全国冠军。夏季有 12 场比赛横穿美国。 不是每个人都能参加所有比赛,但杰夫·沃德、迈克·布朗、吉米·霍利和我自己都参加了。 那一年,我赢得了全国冠军系列赛的每一堂课。 那时这是一件大事。 在那段时间里,我和其他孩子会去马鞍峰和卡尔斯巴德观看所有职业球员的比赛。

您一直想成为职业越野摩托车手吗? 这就是我想做的。 我关注了所有大牌人物,你们采访过的很多人 MXA. 您必须年满 16 岁才能获得 AMA Pro 许可证。 当我长大成人并开始在当地骑 125 时,我们在 R&D 与 Rudy 和 Dean Dickinson 建立了联系。 早些时候,我骑过他们的一辆迷你自行车,然后说:“天哪,这东西比我的自行车快。”

谈论更多关于研发自行车。 我记得测试过狄金森的自行车并认为这太不可思议了! 在我下车后,我们就和他们建立了联系并开始参加铃木赛车。他们与铃木关系密切,致力于开发并组建他们的小型摩托车赛车队。 那是我开始在当地做得很好的时候。 我赢得了几场金州比赛。 我记得有一次在卡尔斯巴德,铃木赛车的负责人在那里观看。 铃木在那之后签下了我。 狄金森一家在让我签约方面发挥了重要作用。

作为铃木工厂的第一对国民是怎样的? 在我 16 岁的第一年,仍然是 R&D Suzuki RM125 的私人车手,我们有大约三名国民参加,我每个人都被圈了。 40 分钟加两圈的摩托车比赛非常艰难。 我做过杭城、米德兰和基思堡。 在伊利诺伊州的基思堡,我被鲍勃·汉纳(Bob Hannah)圈了两次,但他几乎圈了所有人。 这是我这辈子走过的最崎岖的赛道。 这就是鲍勃杀死所有人的原因。 马克·巴内特、史蒂夫·怀斯和吉米·韦纳特都在场。 我在 125 名国民队的前几名中被杀,但仍然与铃木签约。

专业的越野摩托车是一种粗鲁的觉醒。 这是不真实的。 那是炎热、潮湿和粗糙的。 四十分钟加上两个摩托车教你很多。 我必须学习好人是如何做到的。 起初,我只是想进入前 10 名。我意识到你必须调整自己的节奏。 显然你必须保持体形,但如果你领先 30 分钟也没关系,因为好人会不断地向你靠近。 他们的状态非常好,以至于他们可以在比赛结束时通过并到达前列。 我从来都不是天生强壮的,必须依靠我的能力。 我必须学习如何训练。

但很快您就赢得了 125 级比赛。 我赢得了一对夫妇 125 国民。 1978 年,我在第一年获得总成绩第三名。然后在 1979 年,我在杭城赢得了全国冠军,再次获得总成绩第三名。 1980 年,我在马鞍峰获胜,那是该系列赛的第二场比赛。 那年晚些时候,我生病了,错过了两个国民。 我仍然获得第四名。 然后我休息了一段时间。

“他们在 1985 年获得了全国冠军。在夏季的 12 场比赛中,他们跨越了美国。 不是每个人都能参加所有比赛,但杰夫·沃德、迈克·布朗、吉米·霍利和我自己都在场。”

您患有低血糖症,对吗? 是的。 那对我来说是一段非常艰难的时期。 我搬到德克萨斯州的圣安东尼奥接受培训。 我训练过度,筋疲力尽。 我想赢,给自己施加了太大的压力。 那是一段非常艰难的时期。 我离开了一段时间试图重新组合。 我去找了很多营养师,试图调节我的血糖,让它在我有稳定能量的地方。 我只是把自己烧坏了。

它是否也在精神上打败了你? 当时没有人知道低血糖是什么。 每个人都在问:“你怎么了?” 我不知道我是否可以回到铃木车队,但我最终与本田签约。 我试着做好准备,但我还没到。 所以,基本上,我回到了地位较低的本田 B 队。 1982 年我参加了几场比赛,但都达不到标准。 我在 1983 年以 40,000 美元的价格签下了一份本田的工程合同,但因为我还没有准备好,所以退出了合同。

1983 年,您几乎赢得了 1983 年 UNADILLA 250 USGP。 我有一个机械师,生产自行车,还有一辆货车和拖车。 我决心参加那一年的每一场比赛。 我想成为 Supercross 的前 10 名和 Nationals 的前 125 名,我做到了。 最终,本田让我骑了一辆工程自行车,部分是为了测试,因为它与约翰尼奥玛拉和大卫贝利所骑的不同。 所以,他们支持我在那一年骑了一辆工程自行车。 在 Unadilla 之前,我已经骑过工程车,但我没有计划参加 Unadilla USGP。 约翰尼奥玛拉是。 但是,因为他在 XNUMX 全国锦标赛中领先,所以他跳过了 USGP,我代替了他。 我参加了一场精彩的比赛。 我本来可以赢的。 但是,正如许多人所知,我碰壁了。

Jeff Ward(左),Brian(中)在俄亥俄州中部 1981 年美国大奖赛上。


让我们更多地了解那一天。
在周六的排位赛中,贝利是第一名,我是第二名。 但是我们没有骑全科医生,也不习惯周六的所有骑行。 我骑得太多了,应该节省更多的能量。 星期天早上,我们又迎来了一场预选赛。 贝利是最快的,我是第二快的。

我觉得我能赢。 我在第一场比赛中获得了第二名。 我和获胜的贝利很接近,我们远远领先于其他人。 在第二场比赛中,我与 Danny LaPorte、Georges Jobe 和其他人作战。 我们五个人来回走动,然后我带头。 在 30 分钟的时候,我正在拉开距离——然后撞到了墙上。 我在两圈内从第一名升至第五名。

1983 年剩下的时间怎么样? 进展顺利。 我从生产自行车开始,骑得很好。 我在 Supercross 中获得第八名,但我经常是前五名。 在国民赛中,我做得很好,但在我前面的人——Lechien、O'Mara、Barnett 和 Ward——跑得更快。 我在几场比赛中获得第三名,并在该系列赛中获得第五名。 那是生产自行车的一半,工程自行车的一半。

听起来不错的一年? 是的,但我在生病期间失去了一些速度。 在职业赛车环境中成长对任何人来说都是具有挑战性的。 这些天比赛的人有更好的指导。 我只是随手拍而已。 我希望在 1984 年获得完整的工厂骑行,本田说他们要签下我。

“我觉得我能赢。 我在第一场摩托车比赛中获得了第二名。 我离贝利很近,谁赢了,我们远远领先于其他人。 在第二场比赛中,我正在与 DANNY LAPORTE、GEORGES JOBE 和其他人作战。”

但那没有发生。 确切地。 在淡季,我去澳大利亚参加 Supercross 比赛。 瑞奇约翰逊也去了。 发生的事情是,Ron Lechien 正在为 Yamaha 骑车,他们打算改用量产自行车,而 Ron 不想骑量产的 Yamahas 来对抗本田、铃木和川崎的作品。 他当时比我好,所以罗恩解除了他的雅马哈合同,转投本田。 他们给了他他们承诺给我的旅程。 当我从澳大利亚回来时,本田说:“我们现在不会签你。”

就像那样,对不起,但不对不起? 我没有经纪人,也不是一个好说话的人。 加入另一个工厂团队为时已晚,但本田决定支持 Tamm 团队,并说我可以在那里骑车。 我开始这样做,但对本田取消我的工厂合同感到非常不满,所以我退出了本田并买了一辆雅马哈,因为他们的生产自行车很不错(瑞奇约翰逊在这方面做得很好)。 我参加了几场比赛,但后来我又放弃了。 所以,当南非川崎进口商打电话让我搭车时,我正坐在家里无所事事。 我在 1984 年剩下的时间里在南非比赛。

Fly'N Brian 在鞍背公园。

南非的赛车情况如何? 甚至去那里都令人难以置信。 我得到了一点报酬,但当时美元和南非兰特之间的汇率从我签合同时开始下降。 我没有赚到钱,但很有趣。

回顾过去,你认为自己是自己最大的敌人吗? 作为一个参加大压力小型摩托车比赛的小孩,我轻松获胜。 随着年龄的增长,我正在应对抑郁症。 我不得不在我的一生中处理这个问题,而且随着年龄的增长,情况变得更糟。 我现在服用抗抑郁药并接受了很多治疗。 许多事情影响了我,我不明白。 如果我有一个代理人为我工作,并得到更多了解情况的人的指导,那就更好了。

您需要有人帮助您签订合同。 是的,本田的交易只是其中之一。 我明白。 这不是 Lechien 的错,但我得到了一份合同。 Lechien 与 Yamaha 的合同又签了一年,但他在 16 岁时表现出色,以至于他赢得了 Supercross 主赛跑三位数号码。 我必须承认,Lechien 是不可思议的。 基本上,他想摆脱他的雅马哈合同并且做到了。 我只是一个试图骑车的愚蠢孩子。

你从南非回来后发生了什么? 我又开始参加国民队了。 我父亲能够支持我在 1985 年参加川崎比赛。 最终,我回到铃木,与另一名铃木车手一起乘坐厢式货车前往国民队。 我参加了 250 名国民赛,总成绩排名第五,并且是顶级私人车手。

Brian Myerscough 于 1986 年在雅马哈上。

这是否让您回到了 1986 年的工厂骑行雷达? 不,在那之后我没有任何报价。 我得到了雅马哈的支持。 我参加了一些超级越野赛和国民赛。 有时我做得很好,在国民赛中,我在雅马哈生产中获得了第二次,但这最终成为我赛车生涯的终结。

你说你很沮丧和喝酒。 你戒掉了冷火鸡吗? 我为本田做了一些测试,可能迟到了 1989 年和 1990 年。他们每天支付 100 美元。 我会去本田乐园做耐力测试,每天三辆 30 分钟的摩托车。 他们甚至有一条 Supercross 赛道,我在那里进行了测试。 我在 CR500 上骑得很好,每天要进行 30 次 1989 分钟的摩托车比赛。 我的状态很好,所以我带着一辆 CTI 的 Jim Castillo 制造的自行车参加了 XNUMX 年在 Hollister 的 USGP。 在第二场比赛中,我排在第五位。 Lechien 赢了,Staten 在上面,而 Eric Geboers 就在我前面。 Kurt Nicoll 在我身后,但我的燃油泵线短路了,我没有完成。 之后,吉姆·卡斯蒂略问我是否想在比利时参加比赛。

你去了? 是的,但那段时间我喝了很多酒,我没有做好准备,也没有集中注意力。 我在练习中撞到一棵树上,肘部骨折了。 那是我最后的比赛之一。 我在医院住了一个星期。 我的职业生涯结束了,我喝得更多了。

当你说喝了很多,你是什么意思? 我很难接受一切。 事实是,我是一个正在康复的酗酒者和吸毒者。 我每天都在工作。 我去过几个治疗中心,但上帝保佑我。 这是我能告诉你的最好的。 这只是一场漫长的战斗。 我一直在做的 12 步会议很有帮助。

现在你已经康复了,你骑吗? 我有一辆 Sherco 450。我去加利福尼亚看望我的儿子和女儿。 我儿子一生都在骑马,所以当我去那里时,我可以和他一起骑一下。 我已经很多年没有骑过马了,当我回到密歇根时,我买了 Sherco。 我真的很想骑。 这是一种很棒的感觉。 我很兴奋并决心克服我的背部问题,并尽我所能恢复我的身体。 就在我在密歇根上半岛的地方,有很多合法的政府小径。 我告诉我的儿子,我想让他体验一下密歇根单曲。 我希望他来 Red Bud 参加国际摩托车越野赛,然后向他展示路线。

“我又开始做国家队了。 我父亲能够支持我在 1985 年参加川崎赛车比赛。 最终,我回到铃木并与另一名铃木车手一起乘坐厢式货车前往国民队。 我参加了 250 次全国比赛,总成绩排名第五,并且是最佳私人选手。”

Brian 登上 1978 年 XNUMX 月号 MXA 的封面。

布莱恩,你职业生涯中最好的比赛是什么?
我现在不一定会考虑。 也许在 1980 年的马鞍峰; 那可能是我最好的职业比赛。 Unadilla 带回了回忆。 我还记得 1979 年我在杭城赢得的第一个全国冠军; 这对我来说很重要。 我一直很喜欢越野摩托车,但是在我的比赛日结束后,我非常沮丧。 不过,我现在真的很喜欢看比赛。

你会做什么不同的事情? 没有! 我相信这一切都是有原因的; 斗争和一切。 这一切都是为了上帝的旨意。 我必须达到一个点,即我明白上帝是试图戒酒和吸毒的答案。 这是一次相当大的冒险和大量的工作。 我现在感到非常幸福。

您是否意识到您是赛车迷仍在谈论的特别人物? 这让我难以置信。 我觉得自己是一个巨大的失败。 不管我在比赛中取得了什么成就,这并不意味着什么。 我对自己感觉不好。 我现在对自己感觉好多了,但这种奉承让我大吃一惊。 即使 越野摩托车行动 现在想采访我真是不可思议。

1983 年 UNADILLA 250 美国大奖赛布莱恩·迈尔斯咳迪金森飞翔的布莱恩·迈尔斯考霍达克本田 sl70低血糖摩托车越野赛迈尔斯克机器NMA世界迷你大奖赛研发铃木鞍背铃木队泰德·摩尔伍德

MXA INTERVIEW: THE STRUGGLES OF FLY’N BRIAN MYERSCOUGH

BY JIM KIMBALL

WHAT CONVINCED YOU TO BECOME A MOTOCROSS RACER? My family lived in Calimesa. It was a small rural town right against the foothills. We had 10 acres, and I could ride my Honda MiniTrail right to the hills. Originally, I started doing trials events, and one day they had a trials at Saddleback, and that is when I first saw Jeff Ward, who was riding a MiniTrail 50. I was in awe of Jeff. He was so naturally talented. I did trials for two years, and then one day at Dead Man’s Point I saw a motocross race and decided, “I gotta try that.”

AND, JUST LIKE THAT, YOU WERE RACING MOTOCROSS? Yes. I was maybe 11 years old. I got a Steen’s 100. It had a Hodaka engine, leading-link forks and 16-inch wheels. I raced it in the 100 Junior class. A lot of the other guys had bigger bikes, like Hodaka Super Rats. My bike was a minicycle size. I got pushed around in the first few races, and then I got a Rickman Micro-Metisse 100. It was a full-size motorcycle with a Hodaka 100 engine in it. I began winning races.

YOU KEPT PROGRESSING? For sure. I did well right at the beginning with winning races and progressed from there. There are pictures of me riding the 100 Rickman. I was a small guy who rode big bikes before I got into riding the minicycles full-time.

WHEN DID YOU GET ON A MINICYCLE? We had an SL-70 that we used to race locally. My dad made it happen for me. Initially, my parents said, “You will never race.” My dad wasn’t into motorcycles, but he saw how I enjoyed it and said, “I gotta help that kid.” Bill Bell at Long Beach Honda built my SL-70. He was Mike Bell’s dad. They used to have a 75 Modified class, and I rode a stock 75. The first big minicycle race I went to was the 1973 NMA World Mini Grand Prix at Indian Dunes. I rode two classes. For a 12-and-over Expert rider, there were three main classes: 0-75 stock, 0-75 Modified and then 0-110 Modified. Flying Mike Brown was the fastest guy at Indian Dunes. He was the guy to beat. The Honda XR-75 had just come out, so I rode that in the Stock class, and then the SL-70, which was modified, in the other classes. I ended up winning both those classes.

“A LOT OF THE OTHER GUYS HAD BIGGER BIKES, LIKE HODAKA SUPER RATS. MY BIKE WAS A MINICYCLE SIZE. I GOT PUSHED AROUND IN THE FIRST FEW RACES, AND THEN I GOT A RICKMAN MICRO-METISSE.”

WAS THIS BEFORE TWO-STROKE MINICYCLES? Eventually, the Yamaha YZ80 came out, which was great. I rode that after the Honda. After that World Mini Grand Prix, they had what was called the Nationals at Saddleback. By that time, I was on XR-75s for each of those three classes. I won that event in 1973, and Jeff Ward was second in all of them. Then I got hooked up with J&B Honda and started riding for them. After the YZs came into existence we started racing those. At that time, my brother still rode. My dad bought a Yamaha shop in Redlands, and I was doing well. His main business was as a housing developer who built tract homes. With the Yamaha dealership, we also developed Myerscough Machines with Ted Moorewood. The aftermarket product was coming into existence more, along with mail order.

YOU EVENTUALLY WON MANY MINICYCLE RACES, DIDN’T YOU? I did, on both Honda and Yamaha. They had the Grand National Championship in 1985. It was 12 races during the summertime that crossed the United States. Not everybody was going to be able to follow all the races, but Jeff Ward, Mike Brown, Jimmy Holley and myself were there. That year, I won every class in the Grand National Championship series. It was a big deal back then. During that time Jeff Ward, the other kids and I would go to Saddleback and Carlsbad to watch all the pro guys.

DID YOU ALWAYS WANT TO BE A PRO MOTOCROSS RIDER? That is what I wanted to do. I followed all the big-name guys, many that you guys have interviewed in MXA. You had to be 16 to get an AMA Pro license. Once I got older and bigger and started riding 125s locally, we got hooked up with Rudy and Dean Dickinson at R&D. Earlier, I had ridden one of their minicycles and went, “Holy smokes, this thing is faster than my bike.”

TALK MORE ABOUT THE R&D BIKE. I remember testing the Dickinson’s bike and thinking it was incredible! After I got off minicycles, we got hooked up with them and started racing Suzukis.They were tight with Suzuki, working on development and doing their minibike racing team. That is when I started doing well locally. I won a couple of Golden State races. I remember one time at Carlsbad, the head of Suzuki racing was there watching. Suzuki signed me after that. The Dickinsons were instrumental in getting me signed.

HOW WERE THOSE FIRST COUPLE NATIONALS AS A FACTORY SUZUKI GUY? The first year when I turned 16, and was still a privateer on the R&D Suzuki RM125, we got about three Nationals in, and I got lapped at every one. The 40-minutes-plus-two-laps motos were tough. I did Hangtown, Midland and Keithsburg. In Keithsburg, Illinois, I got lapped twice by Bob Hannah, but he almost lapped everybody. It was the roughest track I have ever been on in my life. That is why Bob killed everybody. Mark Barnett, Steve Wise and Jimmy Weinert were all there. I got killed at the first couple of 125 Nationals but still got signed with Suzuki.

PROFESSIONAL MOTOCROSS WAS A RUDE AWAKENING. It was unreal. It was hot, humid and rough. Forty minutes plus two motos teaches you a lot. I had to learn how the good guys did it. At first, I just wanted to break into the top 10. I realized you must pace yourself. You obviously have to be in shape, but it didn’t matter if you led for 30 minutes, because the good guys were steadily creeping up on you. They were in such good shape that they could just motor by and get to the front by the end of the race. I was never naturally strong and had to rely on my ability. I had to learn how to train.

BUT SOON YOU WERE WINNING THE 125 CLASS. I won a couple 125 Nationals. I was third overall in my first year in 1978. Then in 1979, I won a National at Hangtown and was third overall again. In 1980, I won at Saddleback, and that was the second race of the series. Later that year I got sick and missed two Nationals. I still got fourth overall. Then I took some time off.

“THEY HAD THE GRAND NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP IN 1985. IT WAS 12 RACES DURING THE SUMMERTIME THAT CROSSED THE UNITED STATES. NOT EVERYBODY WAS GOING TO BE ABLE TO FOLLOW ALL THE RACES, BUT JEFF WARD, MIKE BROWN, JIMMY HOLLEY AND MYSELF WERE THERE.”

YOU SUFFERED FROM HYPOGLYCEMIA, RIGHT? Yes. That was a very hard time for me. I moved to San Antonio, Texas, for training. I over-trained and wore myself out. I wanted to win and put too much pressure on myself. It was a very difficult time. I was off for a while trying to regroup. I went to a lot of nutritionists to try to regulate my blood sugar and make it where I had steady energy. I just burned myself out.

DID IT BEAT YOU DOWN MENTALLY, TOO? Nobody knew what hypoglycemia was at the time. Everyone was asking, “What is the matter with you?” I don’t know if I could have gone back to Team Suzuki or not, but I ended up signing with Honda. I tried to get ready, but I wasn’t there yet. So, basically, I came back on a lower-status Honda B-team. I did a couple of races in 1982 but was not up to snuff. I signed a works Honda contract for 1983 for $40,000 but got out of it because I was still not ready.

IN 1983 YOU ALMOST WON THE 1983 UNADILLA 250 USGP. I had a mechanic, production bikes, and a van and trailer. I was determined to make it to every race that year. I wanted to be top 10 in Supercross and top five in the Nationals, which I did. Eventually, Honda let me ride a works bike, partially for testing, as it was different from what Johnny O’Mara and David Bailey were riding. So, they supported me with riding a works bike for half that year. Prior to Unadilla, I had already been riding the works bike, but I was not slated to race the Unadilla USGP; Johnny O’Mara was. But, because he was leading the 125 National Championships, he skipped the USGP, and I rode in his place. I had a great race. I could have won. But, as many know, I hit the wall.

Jeff Ward (left), Brian (center) at Mid-Ohio 1981 U.S. Grand Prix.


LET’S HEAR MORE ABOUT THAT DAY.
On Saturday qualifying, Bailey was first and I was second. But we didn’t ride GPs and weren’t used to all the Saturday riding. I rode too much and should have conserved more energy. Sunday morning, we had another qualifier. Bailey was the fastest, and I was second fastest.

I felt I could win. I got a second in the first moto. I was close to Bailey, who won, and we were far ahead of everybody else. In the second moto, I was battling Danny LaPorte, Georges Jobe, and others. Five of us were going back and forth, and then I took the lead. At the 30-minute mark, I was pulling away—and then hit the wall. I went from first to fifth in two laps.

HOW WAS THE REST OF 1983? It went well. I started out on a production bike, and I was riding well. I finished eighth in Supercross, but often I was top five. In the Nationals, I did pretty well, but the guys ahead of me—Lechien, O’Mara, Barnett and Ward—were faster. I finished third in a couple of races and got fifth overall for the series. That was half on a production bike and half on a works bike.

SOUNDS LIKE A PRETTY POSITIVE YEAR? Yes, but I lost some speed during the time that I was ill. Growing up in the pro racing environment can be challenging for anyone. The guys racing these days have better guidance. I was just winging it. I was hoping to get a full factory ride for 1984, and Honda said they were going to sign me.

“I FELT I COULD WIN. I GOT A SECOND IN THE FIRST MOTO. I WAS CLOSE TO BAILEY, WHO WON, AND WE WERE FAR AHEAD OF EVERYBODY ELSE. IN THE SECOND MOTO, I WAS BATTLING DANNY LAPORTE, GEORGES JOBE, AND OTHERS.”

BUT THAT DIDN’T HAPPEN. Exactly. During the off-season, I went to Australia to race Supercross. Ricky Johnson went, too. What happened is, Ron Lechien was riding for Yamaha, and they were going to switch to production bikes and Ron didn’t want to ride production Yamahas against works Hondas, Suzukis and Kawasakis. He was better than me at the time, so Ron got out of his Yamaha contract and moved to Honda; they gave him the ride they had promised to me. When I got back from Australia, Honda said, “We’re not going to sign you now.”

JUST LIKE THAT, SORRY BUT NOT SORRY? I didn’t have an agent and was not a good talker. It was too late to get on another factory team, but Honda decided to support Team Tamm and said I could ride there. I started out to do it, but was so disgruntled about Honda taking my factory contract away that I quit Honda and bought a Yamaha, because their production bike was decent (Ricky Johnson was doing well on it). I did a few races, but then I gave up again. So, I was sitting at home doing nothing when the South African Kawasaki importer called and offered me a ride. I raced the rest of 1984 in South Africa.

Fly’N Brian at Saddleback Park.

HOW WAS RACING IN SOUTH AFRICA? It was unbelievable to even go over there. I got paid a little bit, but at the time, the exchange rate between the U.S. dollar and South African rand had gone down from when I signed the contract. I did not make any money, but it was fun.

LOOKING BACK, DO YOU THINK YOU WERE YOUR OWN WORST ENEMY? As a young kid racing in the big-pressure minicycle races, I won easily. As I got older, I was dealing with depression. I had to deal with that over my lifetime, and it got worse as I got older. I now take antidepressants and have had a lot of therapy. Many things were affecting me that I did not understand. It would have been better if I had had an agent working for me and more guidance from people who knew the ropes.

YOU NEEDED SOMEONE TO HELP YOU WITH CONTRACTS. Yes, the Honda deal was just one of those things. I understand. It was not Lechien’s fault, but I was promised a contract. Lechien was under contract with Yamaha for another year, but he was so good at 16 years old that he won a Supercross main running a three-digit number. I must admit, Lechien was incredible. Basically, he wanted to get out of his Yamaha contract and did. I was just a stupid kid trying to ride.

WHAT HAPPENED WHEN YOU CAME BACK FROM SOUTH AFRICA? I started to do the Nationals again. My dad was able to support me to race in 1985 on a Kawasaki. Eventually, I got back on a Suzuki and drove to the Nationals in a box van with another Suzuki rider. I did the 250 Nationals and got fifth overall and was top privateer.

Brian Myerscough in 1986 on a Yamaha.

DID THAT PUT YOU BACK ON THE FACTORY RIDE RADAR FOR 1986? No, I didn’t have any offers after that. I got a Yamaha support ride. I did some of the Supercrosses and the Nationals. There were times when I did okay, and in the Nationals, I finished second a couple times on a production Yamaha, but that ended up being the end of my racing career.

YOU SAID YOU WERE DEPRESSED AND DRINKING. DID YOU QUIT COLD TURKEY? I did some testing for Honda, maybe as late as 1989 and 1990. They would pay $100 a day. I would go to Honda Land and do endurance testing, three 30-minute motos a day. They even had a Supercross track, and I did testing there. I was riding well on the CR500 and was doing three 30-minute motos a day. I was in good shape, so I entered the 1989 USGP at Hollister with a bike that CTI’s Jim Castillo had built. In the second moto, I was running fifth. Lechien was winning, Staten was up there, and Eric Geboers was just ahead of me. Kurt Nicoll was behind me, but my fuel pump wire shorted out and I did not finish. After that, Jim Castillo asked me if I wanted to do a race in Belgium.

AND YOU WENT? Yes, but I was drinking a lot during that time, and I was not prepared, nor focused. I crashed into a tree in practice, and I busted my elbow. That was one of my last races. I was in the hospital for a week. My career was over, and I was drinking even more.

WHEN YOU SAY DRINKING A LOT, WHAT DO YOU MEAN? I was having a hard time accepting everything. The facts are that I am a recovering alcoholic and drug addict. I work at it every day. I have been to several treatment centers, but God has blessed me. That is the best I can tell you. It was just a long battle. The 12-step meetings that I do all the time help.

NOW THAT YOU ARE RECOVERED, DO YOU RIDE? I have a Sherco 450. I had gone to California to visit my son and daughter. My son has ridden his whole life, so when I went there, I was able to ride a bit with him. I had not ridden in years, and when I came back to Michigan, I bought the Sherco. I am really stoked to ride. It is a great feeling. I am psyched and determined to get over my back issues and try to rehab my body the best that I can. Right by my place in the Michigan Upper Peninsula there are a lot of legal, government trails. I told my son that I want him to experience going through the Michigan single track. I want him to come to Red Bud for the Motocross of Nations, then show him the trails.

“I STARTED TO DO THE NATIONALS AGAIN. MY DAD WAS ABLE TO SUPPORT ME TO RACE IN 1985 ON A KAWASAKI. EVENTUALLY, I GOT BACK ON A SUZUKI AND DROVE TO THE NATIONALS IN A BOX VAN WITH ANOTHER SUZUKI RIDER. I DID THE 250 NATIONALS AND GOT FIFTH OVERALL AND WAS TOP PRIVATEER.”

Brian on the cover of the October 1978 issue of MXA.

BRIAN, WHAT WAS THE BEST RACE OF YOUR CAREER?
I don’t necessarily think about that now. Maybe at Saddleback in 1980; that was probably my best professional race. Unadilla brings back memories. And I remember the first National I won at Hangtown in 1979; that was a big deal to me. I always loved motocross, but after my racing days ended, I was very depressed. I really enjoy watching the racing now, though.

WHAT WOULD YOU HAVE DONE DIFFERENTLY? Nothing! I believe all of it happened for a reason; the struggles and everything. It is all for God’s purpose. I had to get to a point where I understood that God was the answer as far as trying to quit drinking and drugging. It has been quite an adventure and much work. I feel very blessed now.

DO YOU REALIZE THAT YOU WERE SOMEONE SPECIAL THAT RACE FANS STILL TALK ABOUT? That is mind-boggling to me. I felt like a huge failure. Regardless of what I accomplished in racing, that did not mean anything. I did not feel good about myself. I am feeling better about myself now, but the adulation boggles my mind. Even that Motocross Action wants to interview me now is incredible.

1983 UNADILLA 250 USGPbrian myerscoughdean dickinsonflyin' brian myerscoughhodakhonda sl70hypoglycemiamotocrossMyerscough MachinesNMA World Mini Grand Prixr&d suzukisaddlebackteam suzuzkited moorewood