MXA 比赛测试:2022 HUSQVARNA TC125 的真正测试

装备:球衣:Fly Racing Kinetic,裤子:Fly Racing Kinetic,头盔:Fly Racing F2,护目镜:100% Accuri 2,靴子:Gaerne SG12。

问:首先,2022 HUSQVARNA TC125 是否比 2021 型号更好?

A: 是的,但只有 2022 年的离合器更新可以被视为性能助推器。

对于今年等待 2022 年自行车出现在展厅中的每个人来说,都应该清楚,在 COVID 时代生产摩托车是一项艰巨的任务。 制造带有升级的车架、发动机、电子设备和装备的全新 2022 摩托车是不可能的——不是因为它无法完成,而是因为它会进一步延迟生产过程的每一步。 由于经销商的地板空荡荡,制造商担心如果他们不能找到一种解决方案,尽早将自行车交到消费者手中,他们将失去大部分经销商网络以破产。 

那是什么解决方案? 将 2021 型号作为 2022 型号发布,无需更新。 这将加速生产,减少供应延迟并填补管道。 不相信这个理论? 想想 2022 年的新自行车产品。 (1) 川崎没有对 KX250 和 KX450 进行任何更改,除了图形。 (2) 雅马哈没有对其 YZ250F 和 YZ450F 进行任何更改,只是更换了新的后轮总成。 雅马哈确实对 YZ125 和 YZ250 进行了两次更新,但很明显,这些更新早就应该进行了,而且很可能在大流行爆发之前就已经在进行中。 (3) 铃木对 2022 RM-Z250 和 RM-Z450 进行了零改动。 (4) KTM 更改为更大胆的图形,将框架涂成橙色,并在 250SXF 和 350SXF 平衡轴上从滚针轴承切换到衬套,而 450SXF 则配备了空气/油分离器系统以减少窜气。 (5) GasGas 在 2021 年是全新的,因此不会有任何重大变化。 (6) Husqvarna 进行了三项更改。 首先,更新了图形。 后分叉车牌的丑陋深灰色下半部分是白色的,前叉护板现在是蓝色而不是黄色。 其次,赫斯基 FC250 采用与 KTM 等滑动轴承相同的平衡滚针轴承。 第三,之前的 Magura 液压离合器被更换为 Brembo 液压系统。 (7) 本田没有对 CRF450 进行任何更改,只是将其赛季中期的 ECU 更新永久化,并为前叉和减震器增加了更多的压缩阻尼; 但是,本田在 250 年重新设计和制造全新的 CRF2022 值得称赞。它是唯一可以真正声称是新的 2022 年自行车。

令人遗憾的是,当两冲程在摩托车世界中被降级为二等公民时,Husqvarna 却取得了如此出色的 125 成绩。 幸运的是,它在游戏骑手和迷你自行车移植者中拥有强大的追随者。

问:2022 TC125 如何运行?

A: 这是原型一二五。 现在说起来很容易,奥地利人在市场上的 125 次二冲程中取得了 125 次,让雅马哈和 TM 制定自己的道路。 奥地利风格的 2022 二冲程动力是关于高端的力量。 但是,在 125 Husky TC125 上,即使是低端供电也是可以接受的。 可以接受,我们并不是说你会把树桩从角落里拉出来,但是通过适当的档位选择和油门控制,TC125 会迅速跳到管道上。 唱出 125 次二冲程是成功的关键,这已不是什么秘密。 当您换档时以及您对油门的激进程度将使 TCXNUMX 歌唱。

然而,KTM 125SX 从低到中响应更灵敏,这也不是什么秘密,这要归功于其呼吸更自由的空气箱。 Husqvarna 的模制塑料/碳纤维空气箱对油门响应施加了阻尼,直到转速爬升到功率带的核心。 有助于推动 TC125 前进的是 2022 年的新 Brembo 主缸和从属单元。与去年的 Magura 离合器组件相比,我们认为它们具有不同的感觉。 赫斯基略微静音的低端动力并不是一个交易破坏者,因为您不会购买 125cc 二冲程以 6000 转/分的速度在拐角处突突。 它在 9000 rpm 到 11,500 rpm 的最佳转速下工作得最好。 要在 125 上获胜,您必须在最高转速范围内全力以赴。

问:2022 HUSQVARNA TC125与2022 KTM 125SX有何不同?

A: 说 TC125 和 KTM 125SX 完全相同是不准确的,但没有人会因为这样想而让你大吃一惊,因为它们都是基于 KTM 的平台共享理念。 实际上有9个不同。

(1)刹车。 赫斯基(Husky)和KTM都使用Brembo主缸和卡钳,但赫斯基瓦尔纳(Husqvarna)使用外部来源的赫斯基瓦尔纳(Husqvarna)品牌的转子(很可能是GSK),而KTM 125SX则装有加尔弗转子。

(2)轮辋。 Husqvarna 配备了 DID DirtStar 轮辋,而 KTM 配备了未标记的 Takasago Excel 轮辋。

(3)座位。 TC125 的座椅高度稍高,这很可能是塑料空气箱/副车架的副产品。 此外,赫斯基座套过去采用砂岩质地制成,大多数测试骑手都讨厌这种质地。 现在,赫斯基类似于具有光滑外壳的 KTM。

(4)车把。 赫斯基(Husky)规格为Pro Taper酒吧,而KTM使用Neken酒吧。

(5)离合器盖。 Husqvarna的青铜色离合器盖上带有凸起的Husqvarna瞄准镜徽标,而KTM则具有铝的原始外观和带有小KTM徽标的凹陷纹理。

(6)消音器。 赫斯基TC125消音器为黑色阳极氧化处理,而KTM消音器为生铝。

(7)护叉。 Husky TC125 配备蓝色前叉护罩,而 KTM 配备带有蓝色图形的白色塑料前叉护罩。

(8)框架颜色。 赫斯基框架是深蓝色的。 KTM 框架为橙色。

(9)塑料。 Husqvarna 和 KTM 不共享任何塑料部件,这包括油箱。 甚至黑色塑料点火盖也有不同的压花。

从 Magura 转向 Brembo 液压离合器组件是一种更好的变化。 MXA 测试骑手更喜欢 Brembo 的“流行”感觉。

问:让 2022 HUSQVARNA TC125 变得更好的最简单方法是什么?

A: 小小的变化可以带来很大的不同。

(1)电动阀调节器。 Husqvarna 不喜欢骑手触摸机箱左侧的动力阀调节器,但我们不确定原因。 如果他们不想让我们碰它,为什么要在上面放一个调节器? 我们使用 Robertson 扳手(或 Kreft Powerdial 或一字螺丝刀)顺时针或逆时针转动方孔调节器刻度盘,具体取决于骑手想要改变功率的方式。 您应该以哪种方式转动 Powerdial 以获得更多功率? 逆时针转动 Powerdial 以获得更积极的打击。 相反,顺时针转动调节器以平滑动力输出。 以 1/4 圈到 1/2 圈为增量进行调整。 

(2)管道。 我们在 Husky TC125 上的售后市场 FMF、Pro Circuit 和 Scalvini 排气管上非常幸运。 他们全面激活了功率带。

(3)齿轮传动。 库存 2022 的传动比为 14/49,提供 3.500 的传动比。 我们认为这是一个很好的全方位传动组合,适合各种骑手人才——尽管新手和老手似乎更喜欢较低的 14/50 设置,即 3.571 的比率。 

问:TC125 是否使用与 HUSQVARNA 四冲程相同的悬架?

A: 不可以。尽管 WP 负责所有 KTM、Husqvarna 和 GasGas 自行车的悬架组件和设置,但 WP 并没有一刀切的设置。 目标是从每个品牌的基本设置开始,然后定制弹簧刚度、推荐气压和阀门,以专门适合每辆自行车的目标人群。  

与 Husqvarna FC250 四冲程相比,Husqvarna TC125 的马力更小,重量减轻了 20 多磅,不受旋转发动机质量的陀螺力的影响,也没有阀门和凸轮发动机的过度发动机制动。 因此,它可以使用更轻的前叉和减震弹簧。 由于其独特的惯性要求,TC125 的悬架设置比 FC250 四冲程要好得多。  

Husqvarna 将 TC125 发动机的更改限制在 Brembo 离合器和新的平衡器衬套上。

问:HUSQVARNA 悬架有何独特之处?

A: 在整体手感和性能方面,Husqvarna 在 2021 年的 XACT 前叉性能方面取得了巨大突破。WP 的气叉现在值得吹嘘。 最重要的是,它们仍处于开发的初级阶段,尤其是与螺旋弹簧叉的使用时间相比。

2021 年,Husqvarna 的悬架设置因降低悬架而获得好评如潮,这降低了底盘,改善了操控性并允许短骑手接触地面。 48 毫米前叉缩短了 10 毫米(弹药筒杆和前叉支柱都被截断了)。 这似乎不是一个重大变化,但是,当结合前叉高度可调节性和全新的更长拉臂的完全修改的减震连杆,钟形曲柄上更渐进的上升率以及高 6 毫米的密封头时,后底盘降低 1 英寸。 MXA 测试骑手喜欢降低的悬架,并且不觉得他们在悬架行程上受到限制。 请注意,降低悬架高度不会改变骑手三角形的尺寸。 脚踏板、车把和鞍座之间的关系保持不变。

同样独特的是使 WP 的二冲程前叉运行良好的秘诀。 您可能会惊讶地发现,Husqvarna 的二冲程前叉在 2021 年车型系列之前没有用于前叉阻尼的中气门垫片组。 所有阻尼仅在基阀处进行。 为什么? 在 2021 年之前,WP 技术人员在他们的二冲程和越野车型上遇到了中间气门垫片断裂的问题。 为什么? 二冲程和越野车型需要更软的阀门,这意味着使用更轻的垫片来缓冲前叉腿在压缩时的运动。 较薄的垫片使机油更容易通过,而较厚的四冲程垫片可阻止机油流动并产生更硬的悬架。 不幸的是,WP 想要在二冲程中阀组中使用的薄垫片会因为太脆弱而弯曲或断裂。 最简单的解决方案是重新设计前叉阻尼,而不需要中气门垫片组。 是的,它停止了垫片疲劳,但它损害了前叉的性能。

当 WP 完全重新设计了 XACT AER 气叉时,突破就出现了,其中包括四冲程和二冲程前叉的四个主要改装: (1) WP 增加了油旁路槽口,以使积聚的油压逸出。 (2) WP 将交叉排气槽的长度加倍,以允许空气更快、更大体积地进入扩大的负气室。 (3) 在气封处增加了四个旁通孔,以减少气腿中的气压峰值。 (4) WP 用缓冲橡胶代替了之前的底锥,从而为无需工具的回弹调节器腾出了空间,该调节器可以手动转动。

但是,新货叉的阻力是创造性的“蹦床阀”。 与传统的中阀垫片组不同,WP 添加了一个蹦床垫片,之所以如此命名,是因为与其他垫片紧紧地靠在活塞上的普通垫片不同,蹦床垫片通过位于一个小垫片上方而具有弯曲空间空腔允许在中气门中进行更多阻尼,而不会在冲程结束时使阻尼变硬。

WP 悬架组件比市场上大多数弹簧叉更好。 我们喜欢缩短的前叉和降低的后端。

问:蹦床阀是两冲程前叉阀的缺失环节吗?

A: 是和不是。 WP 蹦床阀在四冲程上工作得很好,但无法容纳足够薄的垫片以在二冲程上工作。 WP 在开发过程中迈出了合乎逻辑的下一步; 他们分析了这个问题,并想出了一个简单的解决方案来解决二冲程垫片的困境。 WP 将四冲程的蹦床阀变成了“浮动设置”组件。 浮动设置的工作原理与四冲程前叉上的蹦床垫片非常相似,但浮动设置不是将垫片弯曲到其下方的腔中,而是使用腔内的轻型螺旋弹簧将垫片固定到位。 有了这个小弹簧,WP 能够满足其耐用性标准,并为前叉创造了一个豪华的二冲程设置,而不会破坏或弯曲垫片。

Husqvarna 的发动机可以使用更多通过空气箱盖进入的空气。 塑料副车架/空气箱设计限制了调整选项。

问:我们讨厌什么?

A: 仇恨清单:

(1)预紧环。 如果您有多余的面团,请购买 Xtrig 减震预载调节器。 如果你改变下垂很多,它会改变游戏规则。 在此之前,使用长螺丝刀撬开预紧环,同时使用框架作为支点。 

(2)电动阀调节器。 Robertson 扳手(方形)电动阀调节器很有用,但为什么赫斯基不能使用更常见的内六角扳手或适合其他 Husqvarna 螺栓的相同 #45 Torx 扳手?

(3)侧板。 我们不喜欢两片式侧板。 它们没有实际目的,需要两片式车牌背景,同时留下大峡谷大小的间隙。 

(4)叉子放气螺钉。 前叉右侧的排气螺钉是 #15 Torx。 Husqvarna 应该回到他们几年前使用的十字头螺钉。

(5)前叉调节器。 轻而短的压缩答题器在点击几下后开始伤害您的手指,但我们喜欢您可以手动调整回弹阻尼的事实。  

(6)航空箱。 空气箱盖又长又灵活,很难取下。 我们在后端插入一个 8 毫米的 T 形手柄,然后将橡胶叉从索环中弹出。 我们也很肯定,如果空气箱呼吸得更好,我们可以获得更好的油门响应和更大的马力。 Husqvarna 的通风式空气箱盖版本与科学背道而驰,因此我们钻孔以使一些空气进入发动机。

(7)辐条。 辐条仍然松动。 如果轮辋锁的辐条松动(并且定期松动),则其余部分也很可能松动。

(8) 观察名单。 越野摩托车的严酷有一种松开螺栓的方法。 在 2022 Husqvarna TC125 上,我们关注了头枕螺栓、下副车架螺栓、变速杆螺栓、前电机安装螺栓和后减震连杆螺母。 此外,最好卸下框架护罩并偶尔检查摇臂螺栓。

(9) 塑料副车架。 我们在崩溃中破坏了 Husqvarna 子帧,有时是灾难性的; 但更令人担忧的是,我们已经破坏了塑料副车架,右侧螺栓将其安装到车架上而不会发生碰撞。

(10)前制动软管。 将系紧装置挂在车把上时要非常小心,以免它们卷曲从前制动总泵出来的金属管。 始终使用软带。

问:我们喜欢什么

A: 像清单:

(1)重量。 这辆自行车很轻,只有 194 磅,在赛道上你能感觉到。  

(2)刹车。 2022 Husqvarna TC125 上的 Brembo 制动器与更强大、更重的 FC450 上的制动器完全相同。 如果他们可以权威地阻止大型自行车,想象一下他们在轻 30 磅的 125 上的能力。 

(3)液压离合器。 MXA 与 Magura 离合器的超线性释放相比,测试骑手更喜欢 Brembo 液压离合器的“砰砰”感觉。 从 Magura 到 Brembo 的转变是一大优势。

(4)空气过滤器。 Husqvarna 的插入式空气过滤器笼使更换空气过滤器变得如此简单,您实际上可能会这样做。

(5)引擎。 TC125 的功率重量比使其能够与某些 250F 底部进料器竞争。 

(6)暂停。 WP 悬架组件比市场上大多数弹簧叉更好。 我们喜欢缩短的前叉和较低的后端; 他们让自行车像梦一样转弯。

(7)钢丝编织制动软管。 Husqvarnas 备有 64 股编织钢制动软管,在压力下膨胀最小。

(8)车把。 与KTM的Neken酒吧相比,我们更喜欢沙哑的Pro Taper酒吧。 专业锥度更具弹性。

(9)抓地力。 与某些制造商仍在使用的硫化把手相比,锁定式 ODI 把手舒适且易于更换。 如果您想要更柔软的握把,胶粘式握把的橡胶量是锁定式握把的两倍。

(10)塑料护框。 它们可以防止您的靴子擦掉框架侧面的油漆。 

(11) 贡纳尔·加瑟。 我们喜欢更紧凑、设计更好的 Gunnar Gasser 式节气门组件。

问:我们真的有什么想法?

A: Husqvarna 从上到下都是一辆很棒的自行车。 我们喜欢骑这辆自行车。 不幸的是,现代种族结构使 TC125 成为一辆没有家的自行车。 如果您当地的赛道举办了 125 节新手课程,那么请认为自己很幸运。 TC125 蓬勃发展的地方是年轻骑手退出 85 级,因为它比典型的 20 四冲程轻 250 磅。 它在不参加比赛但重视有趣、轻便和强大的 125 次二冲程的铁杆骑手中也有很强的追随者。

可以通过转动黄铜动力阀调节器来微调功率,以找到您最喜欢的设置。


MXA的2022年HUSQVARNA TC125设置规格

这就是我们设置2022 Husqvarna TC125进行比赛的方式。 我们提供它作为指导,以帮助您找到自己的最佳去处。

WP XACT叉子设置
首先,通过调整前叉中的空气,专注于平衡自行车的重量。 如果货叉正潜入角落,请增加几 psi。 如果它们倾向于僵硬并在拐角入口处推出,请将 psi 降低几个点。 前叉具有良好的抗触底性,因此更柔软以进行更舒适的骑行不是问题。 对于铁杆赛车,我们建议为 2022 Husky TC125 使用此前叉设置(括号中为库存设置)。
空气压力: 120psi
压缩: 12次点击
篮板 18次点击
前叉高度: 股票
笔记: 每次骑行时,请务必检查您的气压并排空前叉顶部的两个空气螺钉。 不要沉迷于气压。 根据您的体重、速度和轨迹将它放在球场上,然后使用压缩答题器来处理其余部分。 TC125 对货叉高度敏感。 对于大多数轨道,前叉上的第二条线很好,但如果你想让它变得更锐利,请将它们向上滑动到靠近第三条线。

WP冲击设置
在我们将下垂设置为 106 毫米后,大多数骑手并没有改变任何事情。 对于铁杆赛车,我们建议为 2022 Husqvarna TC125 使用这种减震设置(括号中为库存规格):
回弹率: 39 N / mm
种族下陷: 106mm
高压缩: 2出
低压缩: 12出
篮板 15出
笔记: 库存冲击设置在球场上。

MIKUNI TMX 38毫米JETTING SPEC
这是我们在 38 毫米 Mikuni TMX 碳水化合物中运行的内容。
主喷气机: 500
飞行员: 35
针: 6BFY43-71
夹: 2
空气螺丝: 2.5出
笔记: 早在 2017 年,Husqvarna 就将久经考验的 Keihin carb 换成了未经测试的 38mm Mikuni TMX carb。 我们知道它未经测试,因为他们希望 KTM 车主从他们最喜欢的预混比例切换到更精简的 60:1 混合物。 2018 年,Husqvarna 和 KTM 回应了车主的投诉,并取消了奇怪的 60:1 燃油/油比。 2019 年,KTM 和赫斯基转向更大的主喷气式飞机和不同的针头。 这些喷射变化是一个很大的优势,并且在库存引擎上运行良好。

2022年Husqvarna TC1252022 年 MXA 自行车测试世华摩托车越野赛MXA赛车测试二冲程哈士奇 125

MXA RACE TEST: THE REAL TEST OF THE 2022 HUSQVARNA TC125

THE GEAR: Jersey: Fly Racing Kinetic, Pants: Fly Racing Kinetic, Helmet: Fly Racing F2, Goggles: 100% Accuri 2, Boots: Gaerne SG12.

Q: FIRST AND FOREMOST, IS THE 2022 HUSQVARNA TC125 BETTER THAN THE 2021 MODEL?

A: Yes, but only the 2022 clutch update could be considered a performance booster.

It should be obvious to everyone who waited for 2022 bikes to show up in the showroom this year that the production of motorcycles during the age of COVID was a difficult task. Making all-new 2022 motorcycles with upgraded frames, engines, electronics and accoutrements was out of the question—not because it couldn’t be done, but because it would delay every step of the production process even further. With dealer’s floors bare, the manufacturers worried that they would lose a large portion of their dealer network to bankruptcy if they didn’t find a solution that would put bikes in consumers hands sooner rather than later. 

What was that solution? Release the 2021 models as 2022 models with nary an update. That would speed production, lessen supply delays and fill the pipeline. Don’t believe this theory? Think about the 2022 new bike offerings. (1) Kawasaki made no changes to the KX250 and KX450, save for graphics. (2) Yamaha made no changes to its YZ250F and YZ450F, save for a new rear-wheel assembly. Yamaha did update the YZ125 and YZ250 two-strokes, but it was obvious that those updates were long overdue and most likely in the works way before the pandemic hit. (3) Suzuki made zero changes to the 2022 RM-Z250 and RM-Z450. (4) KTM changed to bolder graphics, painted the frame orange and switched from a needle bearing to a bushing on the 250SXF and 350SXF counterbalancer shafts, while the 450SXF got an air/oil separator system to lessen blow-by. (5) The GasGas was totally new in 2021 and, as such, is not scheduled to get any major changes. (6) Husqvarna made three changes. First, the graphics were updated. The ugly, dark grey bottom half of the rear split side number plates were made white, and the fork guards are now blue instead yellow. Second, Husky FC250 got the same counterbalancer needle bearing to a plain bearing like KTM. Third, the previous Magura hydraulic clutch was switched out for Brembo hydraulics. (7) Honda made no changes to the CRF450, save for making its mid-season ECU update permanent and adding more compression damping to the fork and shock; however, Honda deserves major kudos for redesigning and building a totally new CRF250 for 2022. It is the only 2022 bike that can actually claim to be new.

It’s a shame that the Husqvarna makes such a great 125 at a time when two-strokes are relegated to second-class citizenship in the moto world. Luckily, it has a strong following among play riders and mini-bike transplants.

Q: HOW DOES THE 2022 TC125 RUN?

A: This is the archetype one-two-five. That is easy to say now that the Austrians make three of the five 125 two-strokes on the market‚ leaving Yamaha and TM to chart their own paths. The Austrian-style of 125 two-stroke power is about strength in the top-end. But, on the 2022 Husky TC125, even the bottom-end power delivery is acceptable. By acceptable, we don’t mean that you’ll be pulling stumps out of corners, but with proper gear selection and throttle control, the TC125 jumps up on the pipe quickly. It’s no secret that making a 125 two-stroke sing is the key to success. When you shift and how aggressive you are with the throttle will make the TC125 sing in tune.

It is also no secret, however, that the KTM 125SX is more responsive from low to mid, thanks to its freer-breathing airbox. Husqvarna’s molded plastic/carbon airbox puts a damper on throttle response until the rpm climb into the meat of the powerband. Helping urge the TC125 along are a new Brembo master cylinder and slave unit for 2022. They have a different, we think better, feel than last year’s Magura clutch components. The Husky’s slightly muted low-end power isn’t a deal-breaker, because you don’t buy a 125cc two-stroke to chug around corners at 6000 rpm. It works best in its sweet spot, which is from 9000 rpm to 11,500 rpm. To win on a 125, you have to go flat out in the upper-rpm range.

Q: HOW DOES A 2022 HUSQVARNA TC125 DIFFER FROM A 2022 KTM 125SX?

A: It would be inaccurate to say that the TC125 and KTM 125SX are identical, but no one will slap you upside the head for thinking it, because they both are based on KTM’s platform-sharing philosophy. There are actually 9 differences.

(1) Brakes. Both the Husky and KTM use Brembo master cylinders and calipers, but Husqvarna uses Husqvarna-branded rotors from an outside source (most likely GSK), while the KTM 125SX has Galfer rotors.

(2) Rims. The Husqvarna is spec’ed with D.I.D DirtStar rims, while the KTM has unlabeled Takasago Excel rims.

(3) Seat. The TC125 comes with a slightly taller seat height, which is most likely a byproduct of the plastic airbox/subframe. Additionally, the Husky seat cover used to be made with a sandstone texture which was hated by most test riders. Now, Husky is similar to the KTM with a smooth cover.

(4) Handlebars. Husky specs Pro Taper bars, while KTM uses Neken bars.

(5) Clutch cover. Husqvarna gets a bronze-colored clutch cover with the Husqvarna gun-sight logo in raised lettering, while the KTM has a raw aluminum look and a dimpled texture with a small KTM logo.

(6) Silencer. The Husky TC125 silencer is black anodized, while the KTM muffler is raw aluminum.

(7) Fork guards. The Husky TC125 has blue fork guards, while the KTM features white plastic fork guards with blue graphics.

(8) Frame color. The Husky frame is dark blue. The KTM frame is orange.

(9) Plastic. Husqvarna and KTM don’t share any plastic parts‚ and this includes the gas tank. Even the black plastic ignition covers have different embossing.

The switch from Magura to Brembo hydraulic clutch components is a change for the better. MXA test riders prefer the “pop” feel of the Brembo.

Q: WHAT ARE THE EASIEST WAYS TO MAKE THE 2022 HUSQVARNA TC125 BETTER?

A: Small changes can make a big difference.

(1) Power-valve adjuster. Husqvarna doesn’t like riders touching the power-valve adjuster on the left side of the cases, but we aren’t sure why. If they don’t want us touching it, why did they put an adjuster on it? We turn the square hole adjuster dial with a Robertson wrench (or a Kreft Powerdial or a flat-bladed screwdriver) either clockwise or counterclockwise depending on how the rider wants to change the power. Which way should you turn the Powerdial for more power? Turn the Powerdial counterclockwise for a more aggressive hit. Conversely, turn the adjuster clockwise to smooth out the power delivery. Adjust it in 1/4-turn to 1/2-turn increments. 

(2) Pipe. We had great luck with aftermarket FMF, Pro Circuit and Scalvini exhaust pipes on the Husky TC125. They livened up the powerband across the board.

(3) Gearing. The stock 2022 gearing is 14/49, which delivers a 3.500 gear ratio. We think that this is a good all-around gearing combo for a wide range of rider talent—although, Novice and Vet riders seemed to prefer a lower 14/50 setup, which is a 3.571 ratio. 

Q: DOES THE TC125 USE THE SAME SUSPENSION AS THE HUSQVARNA FOUR-STROKES?

A: No. Although WP is in charge of the suspension components and settings for all KTM, Husqvarna and GasGas bikes, WP does not have a one-size-fits-all setting. The goal is to start with a base setting for each brand and then tailor the spring rates, recommended air pressures and valving to specifically suit each bike’s target demographic.  

In contrast to a Husqvarna FC250 four-stroke, the Husqvarna TC125 makes less horsepower, weighs over 20 pounds less, isn’t burdened by the gyroscopic forces of rotating engine mass and lacks the excessive engine braking of a valve-and-cam engine. Thus, it can get away with much lighter fork and shock springs. Thanks to its unique inertia demands, the TC125 has much plusher suspension settings than an FC250 four-stroke.  

Husqvarna limited changes to the TC125 engine to the Brembo clutch and a new counterbalancer bushing.

Q: WHAT’S SO UNIQUE ABOUT HUSQVARNA SUSPENSION?

A: In terms of overall feel and performance, Husqvarna had a huge breakthrough in XACT fork performance in 2021. WP’s air forks are now something to brag about. Best of all, they are still in the infancy stages of development, especially when compared to how long coil spring forks have been around.

In 2021, Husqvarna’s suspension setup got rave reviews for lowering the suspension, which brought the chassis down, improved the handling and allowed short riders to touch the ground. The 48mm fork was shortened 10mm (both the cartridge rods and fork stanchion were truncated). This may not seem like a major change, but, when combined with fork height adjustability and a totally revised shock linkage with new longer pull arms, a more progressive rising-rate ratio on the bell crank, and a 6mm taller seal head, the rear of the chassis is lowered 1 inch. MXA test riders love the lowered suspension and didn’t feel like they were limited on suspension travel. Please note that lowering the suspension height does not change the dimensions of the rider triangle. The relationship between the footpegs, handlebars and saddle remains unchanged.

Equally unique is the secret sauce that makes WP’s two-stroke forks work so well. You might be surprised to learn that Husqvarna’s two-stroke forks did not have a mid-valve shim stack for damping in the front forks prior to the 2021 model line. All of the damping was conducted at the base valve only. Why? Prior to 2021, WP technicians had issues with breaking shims at the mid-valve on their two-strokes and cross-country models. Why? The two-strokes and off-road models needed softer valving, and that meant using lighter shims to damp the movement of the fork leg as it compressed. The thinner shims allowed the oil to pass by easier, whereas the thicker four-stroke shims resisted oil flow and created stiffer suspension. Unfortunately, the thin shims that WP wanted to use in the two-stroke mid-valve stack would bend or break because they were too flimsy. The simplest solution was to redesign the fork damping without requiring a mid-valve shim stack. Yes, it stopped the shim fatigue, but it hurt fork performance.

The breakthrough came when WP totally redesigned the XACT AER air forks with four major mods to both the four-stroke and two-stroke forks: (1) WP added oil-bypass notches to allow built-up oil pressure to escape. (2) WP doubled the length of the crossover bleed slot to allow air to enter an enlarged negative air chamber quicker and in greater volume. (3) Four bypass holes were added at the air seal to lessen air pressure spikes in the air leg. (4) WP replaced the previous bottoming cone with a bump-stop rubber, which in turn made room for a no-tools rebound adjuster that could be turned by hand.

But, the piece de resistance for the new forks was the creative “trampoline valve.” Unlike with a traditional mid-valve shim stack, WP added a trampoline shim, so called because, unlike a normal shim that is tightly packed in by other shims against the piston, the trampoline shim is given room to bend by being located above a small cavity that allows more damping in the mid-valve without making the damping stiffer at the end of the stroke.

The WP suspension components are better than most spring forks on the market. We love the shortened forks and lowered rear end.

Q: IS THE TRAMPOLINE VALVE THE MISSING LINK OF THE TWO-STROKE FORK’S VALVING?

A: Yes and no. The WP trampoline valve worked great on the four-strokes but could not accommodate shims thin enough to work on a two-stroke. WP took the next logical step in the development process; they analyzed the problem and came up with a simple solution to the two-stroke shim dilemma. WP turned the four-stroke’s trampoline valve into a “float setting” component. The float setting works a lot like the trampoline shim on the four-stroke forks, but instead of the shim bending into the cavity below it, the float setting uses a light coil spring inside the cavity that holds the shim in place. With this little spring, WP is able to meet its durability standards and create a plush two-stroke setting for the forks without breaking or bending shims.

Husqvarna’s engine could use more air coming through the airbox cover. The plastic subframe/airbox design limits tuning options.

Q: WHAT DID WE HATE?

A: The hate list:

(1) Preload ring. If you have the extra dough, buy the Xtrig shock preload adjuster. It is a game-changer if you change sag a lot. Until then, pry on the preload rings with a long screwdriver while using the frame as a fulcrum. 

(2) Power-valve adjuster. The Robertson wrench (square) power-valve adjuster is useful, but why can’t Husky use a more common Allen wrench or the same #45 Torx wrench that fits other Husqvarna bolts?

(3) Side plates. We don’t like the two-piece side plates. They serve no real purpose and require two-piece number plate backgrounds while leaving a Grand Canyon-size gap. 

(4) Fork-bleed screw. The fork’s right-side air-bleed screw is a #15 Torx. Husqvarna should go back to the Phillips-head screw that they used a few years back.

(5) Fork adjuster. The thin and short compression clicker starts to hurt your fingers after a few clicks, but we like the fact that you can adjust the rebound damping by hand.  

(6) Airbox. The airbox cover is so long and flexy that it is hard to remove. We stick an 8mm T-handle in the back end and pop the rubber prong out of the grommet. We are also positive that we could get better throttle response and more horsepower if the airbox breathed better. Husqvarna’s version of a vented airbox cover flies in the face of science, so we drilled holes to get some air into the engine.

(7) Spokes. The spokes still come loose. If the spoke by the rim lock is loose (and it comes loose at regular intervals), there is a good chance the rest of them are loose as well.

(8) Watch list. The rigors of motocross have a way of loosening bolts. On the 2022 Husqvarna TC125, we paid attention to the head-stay bolts, lower subframe bolts, shift lever bolt, front motor mount bolt and rear shock linkage nut. Also, it’s a good idea to remove the frame guards and check the swingarm bolt occasionally.

(9) Plastic subframe. We have broken Husqvarna subframes, sometimes catastrophically, in crashes; but more concerning is that we have cracked the plastic subframe where the right-side bolt mounts it to the frame without crashing.

(10) Front brake hose. Be very careful when hooking tie-downs onto your handlebars so that they don’t crimp the metal tube coming out of the front brake master cylinder. Always use soft straps.

Q: WHAT DID WE LIKE

A: The like list:

(1) Weight. This bike is light at 194 pounds, and you feel it on the track.  

(2) Brakes. The Brembo brakes on the 2022 Husqvarna TC125 are the exact same brakes as on the more powerful and heavier FC450. If they can stop the big bike with authority, imagine what they are capable of on a 30-pound-lighter 125. 

(3) Hydraulic clutch. MXA test riders prefer the “pop” feel of the Brembo hydraulic clutch over the ultra-linear release of the Magura clutch. The switch from Magura to Brembo was a big plus.

(4) Air filter. Husqvarna’s plug-in air-filter cage makes changing an air filter such a simple task that you might actually do it.

(5) Engine. The power-to-weight ratio of the TC125 allows it to compete with some of the 250F bottom feeders. 

(6) Suspension. The WP suspension components are better than most spring forks on the market. We love the shortened forks and lower rear end; they allow the bike to corner like a dream.

(7) Braided-steel brake hose. Husqvarnas come stock with 64-strand, braided-steel brake hoses that have minimal expansion under pressure.

(8) Handlebars. We prefer the Husky’s Pro Taper bars to KTM’s Neken bars. The Pro Tapers are more resilient.

(9) Grips. The lock-on ODI grips are comfortable and are much easier to change than the vulcanized grips some manufacturers still use. If you want plusher grips, glue-on grips have twice as much rubber as a lock-on grip.

(10) Plastic frame guards. They keep your boots from rubbing the paint off the side of the frame. 

(11) Gunnar Gasser. We liked the more compact and better designed Gunnar Gasser-style throttle assembly.

Q: WHAT DO WE REALLY THINK?

A: The Husqvarna is a great bike from top to bottom. We love riding this bike. Unfortunately, the modern race class structure makes the TC125 a bike without a home. If your local track hosts 125 Novice classes, consider yourself lucky. Where the TC125 flourishes is with young riders moving out of the 85 class, because it is 20 pounds lighter than the typical 250 four-stroke. It also has a strong following among hardcore play riders who don’t race but put a premium on fun, light and powerful 125 two-strokes.

Power can be fine-tuned by turning the brass power-valve adjuster to find your favorite setting.


MXA’S 2022 HUSQVARNA TC125 SETUP SPECS

This is how we set up our 2022 Husqvarna TC125 for racing. We offer it as a guide to help you find your own sweet spot.

WP XACT FORK SETTINGS
First, focus on balancing out the bike for your weight by adjusting the air in the forks. If the forks are diving into corners, go up a few psi. If they tend to be rigid and pushing out on the entrance of corners, drop the psi down a few points. The forks have good bottoming resistance, so going softer for a plusher ride is not an issue. For hardcore racing, we recommend this fork setup for the 2022 Husky TC125 (stock settings in parentheses).
Air pressure: 120 psi
Compression: 12 clicks out
Rebound: 18 clicks out
Fork-leg height: Stock
Notes: Make sure to check your air pressure and bleed both of the air screws on the top of the forks each ride. Don’t obsess over air pressure. Get it in the ballpark for your weight, speed and track, and use the compression clicker to handle the rest. The TC125 is sensitive to fork height. For most tracks, the second line on the forks is fine, but if you want it to turn sharper, slide them up closer to the third line.

WP SHOCK SETTINGS
After we set sag at 106mm, most riders didn’t change a thing. For hardcore racing, we recommend this shock setup for the 2022 Husqvarna TC125 (stock specs are in parentheses):
Spring rate: 39 N/mm
Race sag: 106mm
Hi-compression: 2 turns out
Lo-compression: 12 turns out
Rebound: 15 turns out
Notes: The stock shock settings are in the ballpark.

MIKUNI TMX 38MM JETTING SPEC
Here’s what we ran in our 38mm Mikuni TMX carb.
Main jet: 500
Pilot: 35
Needle: 6BFY43-71
Clip: 2nd
Air screw: 2.5 turns out
Notes: Back in 2017, Husqvarna swapped the tried-and-true Keihin carb for an untested 38mm Mikuni TMX carb. We knew it was untested, because they wanted KTM owners to switch from their favorite pre-mix ratio to a leaner 60:1 mixture. In 2018, Husqvarna and KTM responded to owners’ complaints and did away with the weird 60:1 fuel/oil ratio. In 2019, KTM and Husky went to a bigger main jet and different needle. These jetting changes were a big plus and work well on a stock engine.

2022 Husqvarna TC1252022 MXA Bike testHusqvarnamotocrossMXA RACE TESTtwo-stroke husky 125