MXA赛车测试:2022年雅马哈YZ250F的真实测试

装备:球衣:FXR Helium,裤子:FXR Helium,头盔:Arai VX-Pro4,护目镜:FXR Combat MX,靴子:Gaerne SG12。

问:首先,2022年的YAMAHA YZ250F是否比2021年的YZ250F好?

A: 雅马哈在 250 年对 YZ2021F 动力装置进行了许多更新,因此我们预计 2022 年不会有任何重大变化。雅马哈显然同意,但他们确实对后轮和悬架进行了一些改进,以改善自行车的平衡性并增加后轮-车轮牵引力。

2022 YZ250F 是一款激发信心的自行车。

问:YAMAHA 对 2022 YZ250F 进行了哪些更新?

A: 2022 年,雅马哈将注意力集中在后轮上,并对悬架部门的阀门进行了一些适度的更新。 这就是他们所做的。

(1) 集线器。 雅马哈将后轮毂的重量减轻了 28 克,以减轻簧下重量,并且还能够通过改变其形状来加强轮毂上的链轮法兰。 需要注意的是,28 克等于 1 盎司。

(2)辐条。 辐条系带样式从 cross-2 样式更改为 cross-3 样式。 交叉 3 辐条图案得名于辐条从轮毂到轮辋交叉的其他辐条数量。 它还以更倾斜的角度系带,使其能够吸收更高的负载并产生更坚固的车轮。 这反过来会影响后轮跟踪地面的方式。 Cross-3 辐条会带来重量损失,因为它们更长——而 36 根更长的钢辐条将消除雅马哈的一些减重计算。

(3)链轮。 50 齿后链轮减轻了 42 克。

(4)链条。 DID 链​​更新为更坚固,同时也减少了 73 克。

(5) 后轮辋。 之前的 1.85 后轮辋已加宽,与 YZ2.15F 上的 450 后轮辋相同。

(6)轮胎。 普利司通 X20 轮胎更换为邓禄普 MX33 轮胎。 后轮胎从较窄的 110/90-19 变为 100/90-19。

(7)叉子。 雅马哈在已经很出色的 Kayaba SSS 前叉上增加了低速阻尼。

问:DYNO 上的 2022 YZ250F 动力装置有多快?

A: 在其六个竞争对手中,2022 Yamaha YZ250F 的扭矩排名倒数第二,峰值马力排名第四。 在纸面上,这将 YZ250F 置于图表的下半部分。 由于雅马哈以其中低功率风格而闻名,因此很难在纸面上证明,当以高端功率而闻名的 KTM 和 Husqvarna 击败 YZ250F 从油门裂缝中脱颖而出时6000转。 然后他们从 6200 转至 6800 转并驾齐驱。 在那之后,奥地利兄弟将转速拉到 10,800 rpm,并在短时间内重新连接。 与 YZ250F 相比,奥地利三人组(KTM、赫斯基、GasGas)的扭矩数也是一、二和三,后者仅次于过时的铃木 RM-Z250。

我们是否试图让 YZ250F 看起来很糟糕? 不,这些是事实; 然而,事实是所有的自行车,除了 RM-Z250,都在纸面上。 从长远来看,2022 CRF250 在测功机上提供的扭矩和马力比其前身 2021 CRF250 更小,但在污垢测功机上的发动机套件要好得多。

问:YZ250F 在赛道上的感觉有多快?

A: 在 2021 年,YZ250F 是最令人兴奋的自行车。 在 2022 年,CRF250 的更新引擎包提供了类似的感觉。 我们所说的“刺激”,就是当你转动油门时,你会立即感受到动力。 它通过中频有力而果断地拉入低端的上半部分。 这是对延髓的一剂多巴胺。

MXA 测试骑手喜欢这种力量,因为他们感觉到了,但是在 YZ250F 上使用一段时间后,骑手往往想要消除这种力量。 在缓慢的弯道,尤其是车辙,大胆的力量是难以控制的。 您必须非常精确地使用油门,否则您会感到生涩。 试车手不喜欢这样。 有人说,生涩的感觉是由于 YZ250F 在低位时过于强大,但我们认为这是在油门开裂时的犹豫导致的感觉。 如果油门裂口的动力更紧密或更线性,那感觉就不会存在了。 我们通过改变映射来消除这种感觉,但测试人员仍然能感觉到。

一旦您走出角落并开始使用电源,您就会遇到 YZ250F 电源浪涌。 这种激增速度很快,因此您需要确保在发动机耗尽蒸汽之前您的左脚已准备好移动。 

如果发动机有负载,例如上山,您会感觉到发动机的动力开始变平。 对于 1000 rpm,从 8700 到 9700,YZ250F 功率曲线低于其所有竞争对手,黄色机器除外。 当在大山丘或深沙中通电时,这种下降会使动力感觉乏善可陈。

这是一个非常好的引擎; 但是,感觉比现在好多了。 当赛车手跳上去时,由于兴奋感可能会感觉更好,但是一旦 KTM 250SXF、KX250F、FC250 和 CRF250 在快速直道上超越您,这种兴奋就会消失。

YZ250F 的爆炸性打击让您的脸上露出笑容。

问:为什么学习使用 YAMAHA 绘图工具如此重要?

A: 如果您不学习如何使用 Yamaha 的 Power Tuner 应用程序,您将永远无法使用条形左侧的双模式地图开关。 YZ250F地图开关在库存设置(关灯)和蓝光设置中具有相同的地图。 我们不一定喜欢这样。 我们希望雅马哈在蓝光设置中放入库存地图(熄灯)和他们最好的 Power Tuner 地图。 所有其他带有地图开关的自行车都带有两个或三个预编程的地图,只需按一下按钮即可访问 - 雅马哈带有两个相同的地图,但它们都是库存的。 我们了解雅马哈对这种愚蠢的地图设置的看法。 他们在 Power Tuner 应用程序的开发上花费了大量时间和金钱,并且他们想强迫 YZ250F 车主使用该应用程序,无论他们是否愿意。 问题是,为什么买家不想使用该应用程序?

MXA 真的很喜欢 Power Tuner Wi-Fi 应用程序,但人们正在接近计算机应用程序的倦怠。 他们不想通过另一个学习曲线来获得雅马哈应该首先给他们的东西。 数量惊人的 Power Tuner 应用程序用户只是有一个精通计算机的朋友为他们绘制地图。 我们的建议是花时间自己学习如何使用它,因为地图会有所不同,尤其是我们在此测试中包含的地图。

请注意,下载该应用程序后,您需要将其连接到智能手机的 Wi-Fi,因为 YZ250F 有自己的信号。 一旦你按下“连接”,它就会要求输入密码。 您可以通过移除左侧面板并拉出 Wi-Fi 框来查看您的 YZ250Fs 密码,以查看 S/N 号下方的密码。 一旦你这样做了,你的自行车应该会在应用程序中弹出。 从这里,选择您想尝试的地图。 放在 MXA的地图,进入地图列表页面,选择右上角的加号。 然后,您将选择新地图并添加燃料和点火编号序列,如图所示。 完成此步骤后,按右上角的向上箭头将地图发送到您的自行车。 现在我们阅读了说明,这似乎比必要的要难。

问:YZ250F手柄如何?

A: 您可能会争辩说 2022 YZ250F 是市场上操控性最好的自行车,但我们认为它是适合懒惰或低水平骑手的最佳操控性自行车。 为什么? 因为注册您给它的输入很慢,这使得它非常可预测并有助于最大程度地减少错误。 在运动中,YZ250F 不会转动最快或机动最快,这以一种奇怪的方式是它的优势之一。 KTM 250SXF 对骑手的输入非常敏感,需要敏锐的反应和全神贯注才能保持在上面。 骑 YZ250F 比 KTM 250SXF 更省力; 但是,奥地利骏马可以做 YZ250F 做不到的事情。 问题是,哪种处理方式最适合您?

YZ250F 的后部有时比我们想要的更坚固。 我们喜欢 2020 YZ250F 底盘增加柔韧性的舒适性; 然而,这是一个让步的场景。 新一代 YZ250F 是更好的赛车机器。 大多数快速的越野摩托车赛车手都想要一个快速、精确和灵活的底盘——这需要更硬的车架,尤其是在后摇臂枢轴区域。 如果您速度不快,不要一直站立,或者忘记给外部挂钩加重,雅马哈 YZ250F 的后端就会变得对震动敏感。 由于 Kayaba 减震器能够吸收其路径上的任何东西,2022 YZ250F 的操控性非常好。 后端像胶水一样粘在地上。

能够从手机更改地图很酷。

问:我们如何看待人体工程学?

A: “奇怪”、“奇怪”、“奇怪”和“尴尬”是描述它们的几种方式。 当然,如果您只骑过雅马哈,而远离本田、KTM、赫斯基和 GasGas,那么您就不会知道更好了。 我们并不是说人机工程学不好,只是需要时间来适应一切。

问:KAYABA 悬架仍然很棒吗?

A: Kayaba SSS 前叉和减震器在很多方面都做得很好,很少有平庸的事情,但总的来说,YZ250F 很容易保持平衡,只需点击几下,几乎任何骑手都可以使用悬架。 该设置是防伪的,使 YZ250F 成为习惯人体工学后更容易上车和感觉舒适的自行车之一。

我们在下面开发了这些燃料和点火图,使其更平滑和更广泛。

我们在下面开发了这些燃料和点火图,以使 2022 YZ250 感觉更像 2022 TZ250F。

问:我们讨厌什么?

A: 仇恨清单:

(1)后挡泥板。 要么自行车太重,要么后挡泥板需要加强,因为当你抬起挡泥板将自行车放在支架上时,感觉好像要折断了。

(2)重量。 YZ250F 比同类中最轻的自行车 GasGas MC 10F 重 250 磅。

(3)宽度。 这辆自行车又大又宽。 测试人员在选择另一个品牌之前并不介意。

(4)顶端。 YZ250F 的中频呼噜声很棒,但绿色、白色和橙色的自行车在直道上从它身边吹过。

(5)离合器。 许多骑手仍然喜欢拉线离合器的感觉,但似乎忘记了及时调整拉线间隙以节省离合器。 雅马哈应该与时俱进,并指定液压离合器。 为什么他们还没有这样做? 它会增加重量,而且他们承受不起更重的负担。

(6)压缩答题器。 几乎不可能在不拆下调节螺钉的情况下转动压缩咔哒声。 横杆和前叉盖之间没有空间。

(7)地图。 雅马哈提供了两个预编程地图,但它们都是同一张地图。

(8)航空箱。 雅马哈将以 149.95 美元的价格向您出售比普通空气过滤器设计更好的 GYTR Air Flow 套件。 如果他们知道如何修理储料器,为什么这个套件没有现货?

问:我们喜欢什么?

A:喜欢的清单:

(1)暂停。 Kayaba 悬架提供了出色的平衡性和舒适性。

(2)刹车。 更刚性和更强大的前制动器具有更少的褪色,并且在杠杆上提供比以前更好的感觉。

(3)Wi-Fi。 使用 Yamaha Power Tuner 应用程序调整功率曲线非常棒,即使是学习曲线也是如此。 

(4)轮胎。 雅马哈于 2022 年从普利司通转向邓禄普。

(5)牵引力。 前轮和后轮在您需要时粘在地面上。

(6)耐久性。 雅马哈在 2021 年加强了变速箱以处理增加的动力。

问:我们真的有什么想法?

A: YZ250F 是一辆奇怪的自行车,自 2014 年以来一直如此。在硬币的另一面,有几年它是一辆非常好的自行车并赢得了胜利 MXA 250次枪战。 大多数测试骑手都喜欢骑这辆自行车,但是当被问及他们喜欢什么时,他们只提到了强大的中低功率带和出色的 Kayaba 悬架。 毫无疑问,这两个功能是 2022 YZ250F 的亮点——如果您喜欢自行车的动力和悬架,那么您对赛车充满信心。 信心是快速前进的一大步。

MXA 2022雅马哈YZ250F设置规格

这就是我们为赛道设置2022 Yamaha YZ250F的方式。 我们提供这些设置以帮助您朝正确的方向发展。
KAYABA SSS叉子设置
2022 Kayaba SSS 前叉更适合赛车手。 他们不潜水,但也吸收重击而不触底。 对于我们的大多数测试人员来说,库存压缩设置太硬了。 随着前叉更好地跟随行程,我们进行了六次或更多点击以提高整体乘坐舒适性。 较快的骑手保持较硬的设置,因为前后运动较少。 对于铁杆赛车,我们建议为 2022 Yamaha YZ250F 使用此前叉设置(括号中为库存规格):

回弹率: 4.7 N / mm
压缩: 点击17次(点击10次)
反弹:点击11次(点击7次)
前叉高度: 7毫米以上
笔记: 对于不使用大部分行程的较轻的骑手,请尝试使用较轻的4.6 N / mm弹簧。

KAYABA SSS冲击设置
这款 Kayaba 减震器是业内最好的。 对于大多数测试人员来说,库存设置是大致的。 测试人员在 100 毫米和 105 毫米的下垂范围内分开。 对于铁杆赛车,我们建议为 2022 Yamaha YZ250F 使用这种减震设置(括号中为库存规格):

回弹率: 56 N / mm
种族下陷: 104mm
高压缩: 7/8 出局
低压缩: 8次点击
篮板 10次点击
笔记: 这是一个比两年前更硬的春天。 如果您的自由下垂小于 30 毫米,请考虑使用更软的 55 N/mm 弹簧刚度。

2022 年 MXA 自行车测试2022雅马哈YZ250F普利司通 X20 轮胎GYTR 气流套件独木舟sss悬挂x雅马哈越野摩托车雅马哈电源调谐器

MXA RACE TEST: THE REAL TEST OF THE 2022 YAMAHA YZ250F

THE GEAR: Jersey: FXR Helium, Pants: FXR Helium, Helmet: Arai VX-Pro4, Goggles: FXR Combat MX, Boots: Gaerne SG12.

Q: FIRST AND FOREMOST, IS THE 2022 YAMAHA YZ250F BETTER THAN THE 2021 YZ250F?

A: Yamaha made many updates to the YZ250F powerplant in 2021, so we weren’t expecting any big changes for 2022. Yamaha obviously agreed, but they did make some refinements to the rear wheel and suspension to improve the balance of the bike and increase rear-wheel traction.

The 2022 YZ250F is a bike that inspires confidence.

Q: WHAT DID YAMAHA UPDATE ON THE 2022 YZ250F?

A: For 2022, Yamaha focused its attention on the rear wheel and some modest updates to valving in the suspension department. Here is what they did.

(1) Hub. Yamaha lightened up the rear hub by 28 grams to reduce unsprung weight and was also able to strengthen the sprocket flanges on the hub by changing its shape. It should be noted that 28 grams equals 1 ounce.

(2) Spokes. The spoke lacing pattern was changed from a cross-2 pattern to a cross-3 pattern. A cross-3 spoke pattern gets its name from how many other spokes a spoke crosses from the hub to the rim. It is also laced at a more laid-down angle, which allows it to absorb higher loads and produce a much stronger wheel. This in turn affects the way the rear wheel tracks to the ground. Cross-3 spokes come with a weight penalty because they are longer—and 36 longer steel spokes will erase some of Yamaha’s weight savings calculations.

(3) Sprocket. The 50-tooth rear sprocket was lightened up by 42 grams.

(4) Chain. The D.I.D chain was updated to be stronger while also losing 73 grams.

(5) Rear rim. The previous 1.85 rear rim has been widened to be the same as the 2.15 rear rim on the YZ450F.

(6) Tires. Bridgestone X20 tires were swapped out for Dunlop MX33 tires. The rear tire went to 110/90-19 from a narrower 100/90-19.

(7) Forks. Yamaha increased low-speed damping on the already stellar Kayaba SSS forks.

Q: HOW FAST IS THE 2022 YZ250F POWERPLANT ON THE DYNO?

A: Out of its six competitors, the 2022 Yamaha YZ250F ranks second to last in torque and fourth in peak horsepower. On paper, this slots the YZ250F into the lower half of the charts. With Yamaha being known for its low-to-mid style of power, it is hard to prove that on paper when the KTM and Husqvarna, which are known for their top-end power, beat out the YZ250F off the crack of the throttle to 6000 rpm. They then go neck and neck from 6200 to 6800 rpm. After that, the Austrian brothers pull away to 10,800 rpm, where they reconnect for a short time. The Austrian trio (KTM, Husky, GasGas) are also one, two and three in torque numbers in comparison to the YZ250F, which comes in next to last to the dated Suzuki RM-Z250.

Are we trying to make the YZ250F look bad? No. These are the facts; however, the fact is all the bikes, save for the RM-Z250, are close on paper. To put it into perspective, the 2022 CRF250 offers less torque and horsepower on the dyno than its 2021 CRF250 predecessor but is a much better engine package when on the dirt dyno.

Q: HOW FAST DOES THE YZ250F FEEL ON THE TRACK?

A: In 2021, the YZ250F was the most exciting bike to ride. In 2022, the CRF250 offers a similar feeling with its updated engine package. What we mean by “exciting” is that you feel the power instantly when you turn the throttle. It pulls hard and assertively into the upper half of the low end on through the midrange. It is a dose of dopamine to your medulla oblongata.

MXA test riders love this power because they feel it, but after some time on the YZ250F, riders tend to want to smooth out the power. In slow corners, especially ruts, the bold power is hard to control. You have to be very precise with the throttle or you get a herky-jerky sensation. Test riders don’t like this. Some say that the herky-jerky sensation is due to the YZ250F being too powerful down low, but we think it is a hesitation at the crack of the throttle causing the feeling. If the power off the crack of the throttle were more connected or more linear, that feeling wouldn’t exist. We have smoothed out this sensation by altering the mapping, but testers still feel it.

Once you are out of a corner and you start to roll on the power, you will be met by the YZ250F power surge. This surge is fast, so you need to make sure your left foot is ready to shift before the engine runs out of steam. 

If there is a load on the engine, such as going up a hill, you will feel the power of the engine start to flatten out. For 1000 rpm, from 8700 to 9700, the YZ250F power curve dips below all of its competition, save for the yellow machine. This dip leaves the power feeling lackluster when powering up big hills or in deep sand.

It is a really good engine; however, it feels better than it is. When racers jump on, it may feel better due to the sense of excitement, but that excitement goes away once the KTM 250SXF, KX250F, FC250 and CRF250 pass you on fast straights.

The YZ250F’s explosive hit puts a smile on your face.

Q: WHY IS IT SO IMPORTANT TO LEARN TO USE THE YAMAHA MAPPING TOOL?

A: If you don’t learn how to use the Yamaha’s Power Tuner app, you will never get any use out of the dual-mode map switch on the left side of the bars. The YZ250F map switch has the same map in both the stock setting (light off) and the blue light setting. We don’t necessarily like this. We want Yamaha to put in the stock map (light off) and their best Power Tuner map in the blue light setting. All the other bikes with map switches come with two or three preprogrammed maps that can be accessed by the push of a button—the Yamaha comes with two identical maps, but they are both stock. We understand Yamaha’s side of this stupid map setup. They spent a lot of time and money on the development of their Power Tuner app, and they want to force YZ250F owners to use the app, whether they want to or not. The question is, why don’t buyers want to use the app?

MXA really likes the Power Tuner Wi-Fi app, but people are approaching computer app burnout. They don’t want to go through another learning curve to access something that Yamaha should have given them in the first place. An amazing number of Power Tuner app users just have a computer savvy friend map it for them. Our advice is to take the time to learn how to use it yourself, because the maps make a difference, especially the one we include in this test.

Be forewarned that once you download the app, you will need to connect it to your smartphone’s Wi-Fi, as the YZ250F has its own signal. Once you press “connect,” it will ask for a password. You will find your YZ250Fs password by removing the left side panel and pulling out the Wi-Fi box to see the password under the S/N number. Once you do that, your bike should pop up in the app. From here, select the map you want to try. To put MXA’s map in, go to the Map List page and select the plus sign in the upper right-hand corner. You will then select the new map and add in the fuel and ignition number sequence as shown. After you complete this step, press the up arrow in the upper right-hand corner to send the map to your bike. Now that we read the instructions, it does seem harder than necessary.

Q: HOW DOES THE YZ250F HANDLE?

A: You could argue that the 2022 YZ250F is the best-handling bike on the market, but we think is it the best handling bike for lazy or lower-level riders. Why? Because it is slow to register the inputs you give it, which makes it very predictable and helps minimize mistakes. In motion, the YZ250F doesn’t turn the sharpest or maneuver the quickest, which in a weird way is one of its strengths. A KTM 250SXF is very sensitive to input from the rider and requires sharp reflexes and total concentration to stay on top of it. It takes less effort to ride the YZ250F than the KTM 250SXF; however, the Austrian steed can do things that the YZ250F can’t. The question is, which kind of handling suits you the best?

The rear of the YZ250F is sometimes more rigid than we want. We liked the comfort of the increased flex on the 2020 YZ250F chassis; however, it was a give-and-take scenario. The new generation YZ250Fs are better race machines. Most fast motocross racers want a quick, precise and agile chassis—and that requires a stiffer frame, especially in the swingarm pivot area. If you aren’t fast, don’t stand all the time, or forget to weight the outside peg, the rear end of the Yamaha YZ250F becomes shock sensitive. And thanks to the Kayaba shock’s ability to absorb anything in its path, the 2022 YZ250F handles amazingly well. The rear end sticks to the ground like glue.

Having the ability to change maps from your phone is cool.

Q: WHAT DO WE THINK OF THE ERGONOMICS?

A: “Odd,” “weird,” “strange” and “awkward” are a few ways to describe them. Of course, if you have only ever ridden Yamahas and stay off of Hondas, KTMs, Huskys and GasGas, you won’t know any better. We aren’t saying the ergos are bad, just that it takes time to get used to where everything is.

Q: IS THE KAYABA SUSPENSION STILL GREAT?

A: The Kayaba SSS forks and shock do many things very well and very few things mediocre, but across the board, the YZ250F is easy to get balanced and the suspension will be in the ballpark for just about any rider with only a few clicks. The setup is dummy-proof, making the YZ250F one of the easier bikes to get on and feel comfortable after you get used to the ergos.

We developed these fuel and ignition maps below to be smoother and broader.

We developed these fuel and ignition maps below to make the 2022 YZ250 feel more like the 2022 TZ250F.

Q: WHAT DID WE HATE?

A: The hate list:

(1) Rear fender. Either the bike is too heavy or the rear fender needs to be beefed-up, because when you lift the fender to put the bike on the stand, it feels as if it is going to break off.

(2) Weight. The YZ250F is 10 pounds heavier than the lightest bike in the class, the GasGas MC 250F.

(3) Width. The bike is bulky and wide. Testers don’t mind it until they jump on another brand.

(4) Top end. The midrange grunt of the YZ250F is great, but the green, white and orange bikes blow right past it down the straightaways.

(5) Clutch. A lot of riders still like the feel of the cable clutch but seem to forget about adjusting the cable play in time to save the clutch. Yamaha should get with the times and spec a hydraulic clutch. Why haven’t they done it already? It would add weight, and they can’t afford to get any heavier.

(6) Compression clickers. It is almost impossible to turn the compression clickers without stripping the adjustment screw. There is no room between the bars and the fork cap.

(7) Maps. Yamaha offers two preprogrammed maps, but they are both the same map.

(8) Airbox. Yamaha will sell you a GYTR Air Flow kit that breathes better than the stock air filter design for $149.95. If they know how to fix the stocker, why doesn’t this kit come stock?

Q: WHAT DID WE LIKE?

A: The like list:

(1) Suspension. The Kayaba suspension offers great balance and comfort.

(2) Brakes. The more rigid and more powerful front brake has less fade and offers a better feel at the lever than before.

(3) Wi-Fi. Tuning the power curve with the Yamaha Power Tuner app is awesome, even with the learning curve. 

(4) Tires. Yamaha switched from Bridgestone to Dunlop in 2022.

(5) Traction. The front and rear wheels stick to the ground when you want them to.

(6) Durability. Yamaha beefed up the transmission in 2021 to handle the added power.

Q: WHAT DO WE REALLY THINK?

A: The YZ250F is a strange bike, and it has been since 2014. On the other side of the coin, there have been years when it was a really good bike and won MXA 250 shootouts. Most test riders love riding this bike, but when quizzed about what they like, they only mention the potent low-to-mid powerband and the excellent Kayaba suspension. There is no doubt that those two features are the highlights of the 2022 YZ250F—and if you like the power and the suspension on a bike, you are more than halfway home to feeling confident about racing it. And confidence is such a huge step to going fast.

MXA’S 2022 YAMAHA YZ250F SETUP SPECS

This is how we set up our 2022 Yamaha YZ250F for the track. We offer these settings to help steer you in the right direction.
KAYABA SSS FORK SETTINGS
The 2022 Kayaba SSS forks are more tailored towards racers. They don’t dive, but also absorb hard hits without bottoming. The stock compression setting was too stiff for most of our testers. We went six or more clicks out to increase the overall ride comfort as the forks followed through the stroke better. Faster riders kept the stiffer setting, as there was less fore and aft movement. For hardcore racing, we recommend this fork setup for the 2022 Yamaha YZ250F (stock specs are in parentheses):

Spring rate: 4.7 N/mm
Compression: 17 clicks out (10 clicks out)
Rebound: 11 clicks out (7 clicks out)
Fork-leg height: 7mm up
Notes: For lighter riders who aren’t using most of the travel, try going to the lighter 4.6 N/mm springs.

KAYABA SSS SHOCK SETTINGS
This Kayaba shock is the best in the business. The stock settings are in the ballpark for the majority of testers. Testers split between 100mm and 105mm of sag. For hardcore racing, we recommend this shock setup for the 2022 Yamaha YZ250F (stock specs are in parentheses):

Spring rate: 56 N/mm
Race sag: 104mm
Hi-compression: 7/8 of a turn out
Lo-compression: 8 clicks out
Rebound: 10 clicks out
Notes: This is a stiffer spring than two years ago. If you have less than 30mm of free sag, think about going to a softer 55 N/mm spring rate.

2022 MXA Bike test2022 Yamaha YZ250FBridgestone X20 tiresGYTR Air Flow kitkayaba sss suspensionmxayamaha motocross bikesyamaha power tuner