In front of a highly-charged crowd at the Olympic Stadium, veteran American Yamaha rider Nick Wey from Michigan won the 33rd running of the 450cc Supermotocross Monster Energy presented by Coors Light and Parts Canada/Thor held Saturday night in Montr‚al.


The featured class of the show, the 450 category, started the evening off with two qualifying heat races. In the first heat race, American rider Nick Wey led his Kawasaki first to the finish line ahead of fellow countryman Jason Thomas and Josh Demuth. Simon Homans of Sherbrooke, Quebec, also qualified his Honda for the main event finale finishing ninth. Matt Goerke (Yamaha) of Florida won the second qualifying heat ahead of 16-year-old Florida sensation Justin Starling and Philip Nicoletti (KTM). Tim Tremblay from Lac Saint-Jean, QC finished fourth to move on to the evening finale.

The 450 last chance qualifying heat race enabled Quebec rider Kaven Benoit (KTM) to shine as he led from the start to win with a seven-second lead. Marc-Antoine Genereux finished fourth. He also qualified his Kawasaki for the evening grand finale.

The highlight of the 33rd running of the Supermotocross Monster Energy featured the 450 class, and the crowd enjoyed a three-way fight for first place between American riders Jason Thomas, Nick Wey and Josh Demuth (who led several laps before falling back to sixth place at the finish). Wey eventually held off the late race assaults of Teddy Maier, who charged to the forefront from his sixth place at the beginning of the race, to win his second career Montreal Supermotocross. Troy Adams of Florida went by Thomas on the last lap of the race to finish third. Best Quebec rider in the evening finale was Kaven Benoit (winner in MX2) who came in a distant 19th in MX1.

The final results were Nick Wey, Teddy Maier, Troy Adams, Jason Thomas, Phil Nicoletti, Josh Demuth, Michael Willard, Jeff Gibson, Dustry Klatt and Mike Brown.


The 12-lap 250 race for Canadian riders was won by Kaven BenoŒt of Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Conseil, QC, who outclassed the field to win by a five-second margin over of Ontario rider Tyler Medaglia (Yamaha). Tim Tremblay, who ran second for a while, brought his Kawasaki home in third place.


The spectacular Endurocross finale was won by 38-year old American veteran Mike Brown who continued his domination on the rest of the field. The Midwest rider crossed the finish line with a lead of 17 seconds ahead of Nemeth and Oblucki. Best Quebec rider in EX was Guy Giroux who finished 10th.


Following the 450 last chance race, the ATV Quads took to the track for their two qualifying races with the first one going to Pennsylvania Can-Am rider John Natalie, while the second heat race was won by Quebec rider Jasmin Plante who crossed the finish line ahead of his long-time rival Richard Pelchat of Levis, Qu‚bec.

Later that night in the ATV feature race, Natalie prevailed ahead of Pelchat and American Cody Miller. First out of the blocks, Plante fell of his ride in the first corner of the race, but continued at the rear of the field. Bobby Desjardins (KTM) of Ferme-Neuve, QC finished fourth.


At nine p.m., the Freestylers put on their circus act as the crowd cheered on their acrobatics. Charlie PagŠs of France delighted the fans and won the 2010 contest ahead of local favorite Ben Milot of Yamachiche. Fans were also treated to the Double Back Flips performed by American Scott Murray.