صورة واحدة وقصة واحدة: 66 حصان هوندا CRF450

بقلم جون بشير

كيف يمكنك تعديل دراجتك إذا لم يكن هناك أي شيء من المال؟ هل أنت من النوع المتواضع الذي يفجر القليل على ماسورة العادم ، وتعديلات التعليق ، وربما مجموعة من المشابك الثلاثية؟ أم أنك من النوع الذي لن يواجه مشكلة في إسقاط 50 شخصًا كبيرًا على تعديلات كافية لجعل أي فريق من المستوى B يشعر بالغيرة؟ شخصيا ، إذا كان لدي مخبأ للربح ينافس Scrooge McDuck's ، فربما أهدره على ما يكفي من التيتانيوم وألياف الكربون وأجزاء من عيار المصنع وتعديلات عالية التقنية لمنافسة أي فريق مصنع. والفرق الوحيد هو أنني لن أبدأ بالفعل فريق السباق الخاص بي ، لأنني رجل أعمال أذكى من ذلك.

قامت MXA ببناء محرك هوندا CRF66 2015 بقوة 450 حصانًا منذ بعض الوقت. نعم ، لقد قرأت هذا الحق. تم إخراج 66 حصانًا مذهلاً من محرك Unicam - 13 حصانًا أكثر من المخزون.  كان كل ذلك بفضل كمية وفيرة من الملا. كم الثمن؟ وكان إجمالي الفاتورة ، بما في ذلك تكلفة الدراجة النارية ، 14,600 دولار. لتحليل السعر ، قمنا بإسقاط 6500 دولارًا في تعديلات المحرك وأكسدة الأسود. تم عمل الإطار والإطار الفرعي والتأرجح باللون الأسود (دراجات سباق كاواساكي القديمة في la Chad Reed). لقد فجرنا 8100 دولارًا على أجزاء ما بعد البيع ، بما في ذلك مشابك X-Trig ROCS ، وتعديلات تعليق MB1 ، وعجلات Dubya ، ونظام عادم FMF ، وأكثر من ذلك بكثير.

انفجر لدينا CRF450 HONDA حاجز 66 حصانًا. لنقتبس ما كتبناه في مقال المجلة ، "مثل هذا التعثر عبر وحش صغير ولطيف في لعب وحش ضد الجني والفتاة الزرقاء."

Supertech Performance هي شركة مصنعة للصمامات ومكونات مجموعة الصمامات. قاموا بتزويد صمامات تيتانيوم من قطعة واحدة لـ CRF450 (التي تتميز بطلاء نيتريد الكروم لتحقيق أقصى قدر من الموثوقية والأداء). قام لوك “Frenchie” Caouette ، صاحب C4MX ، بعمل سحره على powerplant. تضمنت مجموعة محركاته من المستوى 3 مكبس عالي الضغط ، وحشية رأس ، وزنبركات صمام عمود الحدبات ، ونقل الرأس ، ووظيفة مقعد الصمام (باستخدام رأس السهم) ، واشتعال Vortex ، ومكدس سرعة Moto Tassinari Air4orce. نتيجة لذلك ، اخترقت سيارة هوندا CRF450 حاجز 66 حصاناً. على حد تعبير ما كتبناه في مقال في المجلة (عدد أبريل 2015) ، "هذا مثل التعثر عبر وحش Nessie و Nessie the Loch Ness يلعب دور الأشرار ضد الجني و Babe the Blue Ox."

قبل أن تفكر في الاستفحال والحصول على إطارك بأكسيد ، انتبه لهذا الحذر. بالنسبة للمبتدئين ، سيستغرق الأمر يومًا كاملاً للحصول على إطار دراجتك مُعدًا للأكسدة. يجب إزالة أي فولاذ ، مثل سباقات ساق التوجيه وسدادات الإطار ومحامل التأرجح. وإلا سوف يذوب الفولاذ في المحلول الحمضي. استغرق الأمر ثلاثة معالجات لإكمال إطار CRF450 ، والذراع البديل والإطار الفرعي. الشيء الجيد هو أن الإطار المؤكسد يجب أن يبدو جيدًا لفترة طويلة. من المحتمل أن تحصل على موسم سباق كامل قبل أن يبدأ العلاج في إظهار تآكل خطير. سوف تمر تشاد ريد بأربع إطارات سباق بأكسيد في السنة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن زيادة الوزن من الأنودة ضئيلة للغاية - تحت رطل مع الإطار والذراع المتأرجح - وأقل بكثير من وجود إطار مغطى بمسحوق (الذي يضيف خمسة أرطال). يكلف 600 دولار للحصول على إطار CRF450 ، و swingarm و subframed بأكسيد. إذا كنت على وشك الانتهاء من تأكسد الإطار الخاص بك ، فكر في ذلك: قام فريق Chad Reed في البداية بتدمير العديد من الإطارات أثناء عملية الأنودة من خلال التجربة والخطأ. وجه الفتاة.

كيف يبدو الأمر لركوب هوندا CRF66 بقوة 450 حصانًا؟ كنت خائفة من نصف الموت ، معظمه لأن لدينا ترس خاطئ. كان مزيج 13/51 عبارة عن مكالمة سيئة ، لذلك قمنا بتجهيزها بالانتقال إلى 13/49. ما فعله هو أخذ بعض اللدغة من النمر. أنا واحد من هؤلاء الدراجين الذين يعتقدون أنه لا يوجد شيء مثل امتلاك دراجة تنتج الكثير من القوة ؛ ومع ذلك ، وضع CRF450 تلك الذكورية تحت السيطرة. كان المختبرون المحترفون سعداء مثل الخنازير المغطاة بالزلق عند استخدام قوة هوندا ذات 66 حصانًا. هذا جيد بالنسبة لي. سألتزم بحلم في الرغبة في الحصول على أفضل الأشياء التي يمكن أن يشتريها المال ... طالما أن ذلك لا يتضمن محركًا رباعي الأشواط بقوة 450cc. 

C4MX.هوندا CRF450جون بشيرصورة واحدة وقصة واحدةOPOSSUPERTECH

ONE PHOTO & ONE STORY: 66-HORSEPOWER HONDA CRF450

By John Basher

How would you modify your bike if money were no object? Are you the modest type who would blow a few grand on an exhaust pipe, suspension mods and maybe a set of triple clamps? Or are you the kind of person who would have no problem dropping 50 large on enough modifications to make any B-level Pro team jealous? Personally, if I had a stash of lucre that rivaled Scrooge McDuck’s, I’d probably squander it on enough titanium, carbon fiber, factory-caliber parts and high-tech modifications to rival any factory team. The only difference is that I wouldn’t actually start my own race team, because I’m a smarter businessman than that.

MXA built a 66-horsepower 2015 Honda CRF450 some time ago. Yes, you read that right. An astonishing 66 ponies were squeezed out of the Unicam engine – 13 more horsepower than stock.  It was all thanks to a copious amount of moolah. How much? The total bill, not including the cost of the motorcycle, was $14,600. For a price breakdown, we dropped $6500 in engine modifications and black anodizing. The frame, subframe and swingarm were done up in black (a la Chad Reed’s old Kawasaki race bikes). We blew $8100 on aftermarket parts, including X-Trig ROCS clamps, MB1 suspension mods, Dubya wheels, FMF exhaust system, and much more.

OUR HONDA CRF450 BLEW PAST THE 66-HORSEPOWER BARRIER. TO QUOTE WHAT WE WROTE IN THE MAGAZINE ARTICLE, “THAT’S LIKE STUMBLING ACROSS A UNICORN AND NESSIE THE LOCH NESS MONSTER PLAYING EUCHRE AGAINST A LEPRECHAUN AND BABE THE BLUE OX.”

Supertech Performance is a manufacturer of valves and valve-train components. They supplied one-piece titanium valves for the CRF450 (which feature a chrome-nitride coating for maximum reliability and performance). Luc “Frenchie” Caouette, owner of C4MX, worked his magic on the powerplant. His Level-3 engine package included a high-compression piston, head gasket, camshaft valve springs, head porting, valve seat job (using the stock head), Vortex ignition and Moto Tassinari Air4orce velocity stack. As a result, our Honda CRF450 blew past the 66-horsepower barrier. To quote what we wrote in the magazine article (April 2015 issue), “That’s like stumbling across a unicorn and Nessie the Loch Ness monster playing euchre against a leprechaun and Babe the Blue Ox.”

Before you think about ponying up and getting your frame anodized, heed this caution. For starters, it will take a whole day to get your bike’s frame prepped for anodizing. Anything steel, such as the steering-stem races, frame plugs and swingarm bearings, must be removed. Otherwise the steel will melt in the acid solution. It took three treatments for our CRF450 frame, swingarm and subframe to be completed. The good thing is that an anodized frame should look good for quite a while. You could probably get a full race season before the treatment starts showing serious wear. Chad Reed would go through four anodized race frames per year. Additionally, the weight increase from anodizing is very minimal–under a pound with the frame and swingarm–and far less than having the frame powder-coated (which adds five pounds). It cost $600 to get the CRF450 frame, swingarm and subframe anodized. If you’re dead set on getting your frame anodized, then consider this: Chad Reed’s team initially ruined several frames during the anodizing process through trial and error. Oops.

What’s it like to ride a 66-horsepower Honda CRF450? I was scared half to death, mostly because we had the wrong gearing. A 13/51 combo was a bad call, so we geared it up by going to a 13/49. What that did was take some bite out of the tiger. I’m one of those riders who believes there’s no such thing as having a bike make too much power; however, the CRF450 put that machoism in check. Pro testers were as happy as pigs covered in slop when wielding the power of a 66-pony Honda. That’s fine with me. I’ll stick to my dream of wanting the best things that money can buy…just as long as that doesn’t include a high-strung 450cc four-stroke engine. 

C4MXhonda crf450JOHN BASHERone photo and one storyopossupertech