The 2019 Indy Supercross is here and we’re back indoors this weekend. The Lucas Oil Stadium has a retractable roof and today it for press day. With the temperature forecasted to be a high 40 degrees for race day, lets hope they keep it closed. Watch video of  Chad Reed, Justin Hill, Chase Sexton, Mike Alessi and Alex Martin get comfortable on the Indy track during press day in this raw video.


 450SX Class: Indianapolis Facts 

The first 450SX Class race held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992 and Jeff Stanton won on a Honda. The series has not missed the city since and 2019 will mark the 28th time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in Indianapolis. 

The Indianapolis Supercross was held in the RCA Dome 17 times from 1992-2008 before it was demolished. Lucas Oil Stadium took over hosting the Indy Supercross in 2009 and has not missed a season since, meaning 2019 will be the 11th Supercross in Lucas Oil Stadium. Chad Reed won the last RCA Dome race in 2008 and the first Lucas Oil Stadium race in 2009. 

Indianapolis hosted the 300th round of Supercross in 1997 and the 600th round of Supercross in 2015. 2019 Indy will be the 667th round of 450SX Class Supercross racing. 

Before failing to win the 450SX Class title the previous two seasons, the winner of Indy had won the title in 19 of 24 seasons including 14 of 17 times in the RCA Dome. 

KTM or Kawasaki has won every 450SX Class race in Lucas Oil Stadium except for Reed’s 2009 win on a Suzuki. 

Indiana’s own Mike LaRocco won his last 450SX Class race in Indy on March 20, 2004. There were 14 seasons between his first 450SX Class victory and his last. LaRocco had been Supercross’ all-time starts leader until Reed usurped him last season. 

By winning Indy last season, Marvin Musquin joined Ezra Lusk, Jeremy McGrath, Ryan Dungey, and Reed as riders to win Indy in both classes. Zach Osborne is the only rider with the possibility 

250SX Class: Indianapolis Facts 

The first 250SX Class race held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992 and Jimmy Button won on a Yamaha. 2019 will mark the 28th time the gate will drop for a 250SX Class race in Indianapolis, having the same venue history as the 450SX Class. 

Last season Indianapolis joined Houston, Irving, Oklahoma City, Minneapolis, St. Louis, and Las Vegas as cities to host a points-paying East/West Showdown. Eastern Regional rider Jeremy Martin took the victory for Honda’s first 250SX Class win in Indy since Trey Canard won the last RCA Dome 250SX Class race in 2008. 

The winner of the 250SX Class Indianapolis Supercross has gone onto win their 250SX Class Regional Championship in 14 of 27 seasons. 

Six different brands have won the 250SX Class Indianapolis Supercross in the previous seven years, KTM being the only brand with multiple wins in that time. 

2019 indianapolis supercross2019 monster energy supercrosschad reedindianaindianapolisIndianapolis press day videoindyindy supercrossindy sxSUPERCROSS