MXA周末新闻汇总:黛比前往意大利

点击图片放大

有关便当的个人说明

年仅83岁的老人。

MXA破坏小组的工作人员为能够认识Chuck“ Feets” Minert而感到自豪,他在上周末过世,享年85岁。对于赛道上的大多数小孩子(Feets认为60岁以下的人都是孩子),他只是在赛道上骑着牛仔裤的老货。 但是,他远不止于此。

菲茨(Feets)是1950年代和1960年代美国最好的摩托车赛车手之一,这一职业在1956年赢得卡塔琳娜大奖赛时就得到了彰显。穿着牛仔裤的那个家伙是BSA的工厂车手,他是唯一拥有越野摩托车的人BSA以他的名字命名的摩托车模型。 他是一个遗传现象。 Feets在他500多岁的时候就在Saddleback公园,印度沙丘和Escape Country参加了50 Pro比赛,并一直保持到83岁(直到肩关节手术结束了2500场比赛)。

青年时代的脚步-还剩几千场比赛。

他是如此热爱摩托车比赛,以至于不想停下来。 几十年前,当他所有的同时代人都垂头丧气时,Feets一直坚持赛车。 他参加了1947年的第一场比赛,之后的66年又参加了最后一场比赛。 他是一个知识渊博的人,他比任何人都更了解四冲程发动机的内部工作原理,因为他比任何人都参加了更长的比赛。 他在70年代赢得了两次世界职业锦标赛冠军。 对于MXA破坏小组来说,他只是团伙之一-机智敏捷,对过失诚实,谦虚得令人难以置信。 Feets对他遇到的每个人都非常友善和友善,但他从不希望对他大惊小怪,多年来拒绝了荣誉和奖项,因为他喜欢他在职业生涯中所取得的成就,但并不认为这很重要。 即使死亡快到他家,他还是发誓乔迪·韦瑟尔(Jody Weisel)对身体衰竭的情况保密。 他是一个私人人物,不想让别人讨好他。

每个摩托车越野赛车手都应该记住Feets Minert,不仅因为他是一位著名的工厂赛车手,其照片出现在BSA广告中,还因为他是一个热爱摩托车越野赛的人,因此他不会退出比赛。 赛车是他的生活,即使是“骑着牛仔裤的老混帐员”,他也爱骑自行车的每一分钟。 要了解有关Chuck“脚”矿工的更多信息 点击此处详细了解。.

西班牙为2016年世界冠军锦标赛拔得头筹

哈维·加西亚·维科(Javier Garcia Vico)将在迈克·阿莱西(Mike Alessi)的支持下参加40岁以上职业比赛。

距离2016年杜比亚美国世界职业锦标赛仅5周的路程,进入前的队伍已经爆满,外国车手将于5月6日至3日前往格伦海伦(此外,4月40-50日还将举行练习赛,以帮助外国人州外赛车手则学习Glen Helen的大山丘。 西班牙新闻界最新的新闻是,多次夺得西班牙国家冠军和前大奖赛赛车手哈维尔·加西亚·维科计划与科特·尼科尔和道格·杜巴赫争夺Over-XNUMX Pro冠军。 加西亚·维科(Garcia Vico)将参加由Joaquim Sunol博士和音乐皇后Xavi Costa带领的一群西班牙赛车手,参加XNUMX岁以上的比赛。 有关世界兽医锦标赛的更多信息或要预先进入,请访问 www.glenhelen.com.

我们的方式:在本田大卖之前

本田并不总是有一支花哨的赛车队,一支由18轮车组成的车队和一支庞大的球场。 回顾过去,本田在店面外面经营,卡车停在前面。

 

黛比·塔米埃蒂(DEBBI TAMIETTI)独辟—径-在MAGGIORA MXDN人群中

沃尔多在哪里? 呼吸室? 是。 客厅吗 没有。

黛比·塔米蒂(Debbie Tamietti)之前曾拍摄过AMA国民赛和大奖赛,但是当她去意大利马焦拉(Maggiora)的MXDN时,发现自己身处另一个星球。 令人惊讶的是,她恰好适合。无论遇到什么国家的球迷,黛比都受到她遇到的每一个粉丝的热烈欢迎。 这是她不得不说的经历和拍摄的照片。

“意大利是一个充满乐趣,疯狂,有趣,充满故事的时间。 我决定从旁观者的角度拍摄。 这是一个挑战,因为您几乎无法走到任何地方。 有无数人墙。 我确实有一张VIP通行证和一张新闻通行证,所以除了赛道外,我可以到任何地方。 因此,我挤过人,拉开篱笆中的链接,将镜头塞入。 而且我比以往任何时候都更有乐趣。 所以,这是我周末最喜欢的照片。”

黛比和她的新爱尔兰朋友。

“在比赛的第一天,我遇到的第一个人是爱尔兰人。 他说MXA是他最喜欢的杂志,并且他比业内任何人都更尊重Jody Weisel。 他说他每周都会认真阅读REM报告。 然后他说:“等等! 您是Debbi Tamietti吗?” 他想要和我合影。 挺滑稽的。”

显然,黛比(Debbi)与爱尔兰越野摩托车迷有亲密关系……至少这个家伙说他来自爱尔兰,但是她怎么能确定呢?

它需要一个专用的风扇才能在十英尺高的杆子上carry旗,持续八个小时。 请注意,拿着黄色轨迹标记的人就像是亚瑟王的剑。

烟雾弹在欧洲赛车迷中很流行,有时烟雾从视线中消失。 颜色代表国家的国旗。 这是浓烟中的意大利国旗。

这个家伙穿着滑稽的服装出现。

至少在每次法国骑手过来时,他们都将链锯上的锯齿像疯子一样进行了修整。

在今年的MXDN中,假发很大。

邮箱并不是最受欢迎的服装,但是这四个英国人会在下午2:00之前接受邮件

30年,约翰尼·奥玛拉(Johnny O'Mara)(左),大卫·贝利(David Bailey)(中)和里奇·约翰逊(Ricky Johnson)(右)在他们的Maggiora胜利1985周年纪念日上被嘉奖。

如果您喜欢鲱鱼,则瑞典人会在维修区举行最佳派对。 不是鲱鱼。 鲱鱼。

这些森林精灵来自法国。 我们还不确定为什么他们的彪马皮衣服会向后穿。

每个人群中总会有一个人不想对任何国家表示偏爱。 因此,他脱下衣服,戴上帽子,但又有礼貌地将腰包搬到了前面。

基于颜色,这些是度假中失控的MXA测试车手或荷兰球迷。

您总是可以指望那些稳重而保守的英国球迷表现出最大的礼节。

洋基队到达了。

我们知道您在想什么-黛比是否拍过种族?

当然可以。 这是亚历克斯·马丁(Alex Martin)在2班比赛中得到3-250的得分(而9分中的总得分为9-450)。

Romain Febvre(1)和Tony Cairoli(40)在第一场比赛中获得1-2。 他们很近。

库珀·韦伯(Cooper Webb)(4)必须从2015年国民赛与克里斯托弗·普塞尔(Christophe Pourcel)的比赛中学到一些东西。 他学到了什么? 在炎热的天气中将风扇带到起跑线。

如果您分别给每个班级打分,那么法国人则以2-3-4的成绩排名第二,而2级中的Febvre排名第二,公开级的Paulin排名第三,而450级的Benoit Paturel(3)排名第四。

2016赛车日历的剩余内容

2016越野摩托车越野赛
1月XNUMX日…………………………..Glen Helen,加利福尼亚
8月XNUMX日………………………….Glen Helen,加利福尼亚
15月24日…………………………………………………………………………………………无比赛(格伦海伦XNUMX小时耐力赛)
22月XNUMX日……加利福尼亚州格伦海伦
29月XNUMX日…..…………... Glen Helen,加利福尼亚(世界兽医热身赛)

2016德州专业挑战赛
1月2-XNUMX日………………………………。德克萨斯州泰勒

2016 GEICO耐力锦标赛
1月XNUMX日…………………………..丹佛,科罗拉多州
22月XNUMX日……华盛顿州埃弗里特
5月XNUMX日…………………………..博伊西ID
19月XNUMX日…………………………..加拿大安大略省

2016西班牙国家锦标赛
2月XNUMX日…………………………..萨拉戈萨,加拉塔亚(决赛)

2016 MONSTER SMX骑手杯
8月XNUMX日…………………………..德国,盖尔森基兴

2016怪物杯
15月XNUMX日………………………………内华达州拉斯维加斯

2016 AMA超级锦标赛
22月XNUMX日…..…………....亚利桑那州图森

2016十月越野快车
29月XNUMX日……加利福尼亚州格伦海伦

2016年迪拜世界职业锦标赛冠军
5月6日至XNUMX日……加利福尼亚州格伦海伦

生日男孩:戴夫·索普现年54岁

29月1962日…戴夫·索普XNUMX年
29月1987日…Ricky Dietrich XNUMX年
1月1985日…Bobby Kiniry XNUMX
1月1961日…乔恩·奥特纳XNUMX年
1月XNUMX日…Dana Wiggins
2月XNUMX日…Victor Sheldon
2月XNUMX日…Jim Neese
3月1971日…格里森·古德曼XNUMX年
3月XNUMX日…金妮·琼斯(Kinney Jones)
4月XNUMX日…杰里米·加吉斯(Jeremy Garges)
4月1995日…内森·沃森(Nathan Watson)XNUMX
4月1984日…Ryan Sipes XNUMX年
5月1959日…丹尼·钱德勒XNUMX年
5月1942日…阿克·琼森XNUMX年
5月XNUMX日…约翰尼·马利
5月XNUMX日…兰迪·瓦拉德(Randy Valade)

 

 

本周的MXA照片:来自ADAM DUCKWORTH

英国机动记者亚当·达克沃思(Adam Duckworth)小时候曾多次参观鞍形公园(Saddleback Park),并观看了Feets Minert的比赛。35年后回来,拍摄了这张给Feets赠送Fea一件BSA Catalina Scrambler T恤的球迷的照片。

亚当对Feets的装货坡道可追溯到1970年印象深刻,因此他拍摄了这张照片。 MXA的家伙总是开玩笑说它是用挪亚方舟的一块木头制成的。

MXA产品聚焦:REM GLEN HELEN T恤

你在REM比赛吗? 你想参加REM比赛吗? 您想看起来像REM赛车手吗? 您是否周六到达格伦·海伦(Glen Helen)太远了? SoCal在格伦海伦(Glen Helen)受欢迎的REM比赛实际上是在每年的每个星期六举行,当地人可以在注册时获得REM T恤,但是如果您想自己穿一件,可以分为小号,中号,大号和特大号特大号则可以通过邮件获得。 这件衬衫的零售价为20美元,需要订购 点击此处详细了解。.

使用过的,滥用过的,经过测试的:GAERNE SG12靴子

颇受欢迎的Gaerne SG12已更新,其鞋头经过了重新塑形,顶部和侧面的耐磨贴片更持久,价格也创下了历史新高。 由于其难以置信的耐用性和长期持久的声誉,SG12也许能够证明其高昂的价格。

VERDICT:这不是廉价的引导,而是高质量的引导。 内部是豪华和诱人的。 接触框架的面板具有出色的抓地力,并且橡胶防止四冲程管道烧伤我们的腿。 一些测试人员抱怨脚跟过高,但这并不是共识。 $ 619.99 — www.gaerne.com 或(800)426-0213。

每周MXA广告:1979年AMA国民的官方饮料

已使用,已滥用,已测试:SKF分叉密封/除尘器


有了我们测试车队生产的每辆越野摩托车,MXA的测试人员就会厌倦了前叉密封件的损坏。 这就是为什么我们用SKF密封件替换备件密封件的原因(它们是KTM的备件,我们很少吹KTM叉形密封件)。 SKF密封套件包括一个新的油封和一个新的除尘器。 SKF的自润滑橡胶混合物不仅使它们能够保持机油,而且可以大大减少静摩擦(静摩擦)。 此外,我们吹制的Kayaba PSF气叉密封件数量是螺旋弹簧叉形密封件的两倍。

预测: 没有什么比低头看着你的前叉腿和看到油渗入前制动盘更令人沮丧的了。 现代的倒置叉需要完全拆卸才能更换叉密封件。 MXA认为,现代叉式密封件比几年前的密封件好几年,而SKF则比其他任何现代密封件都要好。 如果不引入污垢,2013年时代的前叉密封件很可能永远不会泄漏或磨损。 保持油和灰尘一样多,而不是灰尘的问题。 35.99美元(一个密封垫和刮水器)— www.innteck-USA.com 或(866)252-8772。

吉米·麦克(Jimmy Mac's)的脚MINTRI TRIBUTE

您可以在以下位置阅读有关摩托车和山地自行车的更多信息 www.jimmymacontwowheels.com.

直到超级越野赛开始98天


2017 AMA超级交叉锦标赛时间表
7月XNUMX日………………………………加利福尼亚阿纳海姆
14月XNUMX日…………………………加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥
21月XNUMX日…………………………加利福尼亚州阿纳海姆
28月XNUMX日………………………………亚利桑那州格伦代尔
4月XNUMX日…………………………。加利福尼亚州奥克兰
11月XNUMX日……德克萨斯州阿灵顿
18月XNUMX日……,美国明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯
25月XNUMX日……乔治亚州亚特兰大
4月XNUMX日…………………………多伦多,安大略省
11月XNUMX日……佛罗里达州代托纳
18月XNUMX日…………………………印第安纳州印第安纳波利斯
25月XNUMX日…………………………密歇根州底特律
1月XNUMX日……………………………… 密苏里州路易斯
8月XNUMX日…..华盛顿州西雅图
22月XNUMX日…………………………。犹他州盐湖城

$ 25,000 TEXAS PRO挑战本周末,天鹅

有关更多信息,请访问 www.swanmx.com.

5月世界职业越野摩托车锦标赛。 6-XNUMX

现在已经确定了年轻人的冠军,现在所有的目光都将转向2016年杜比亚赞助的世界职业冠军赛的老者。 有面向30岁以上,40岁以上和50岁以上赛车手的Pro类。 期望比赛会很激烈。 有关更多信息,请访问 www.glenhelen.com

GRAN FONDO SANTA CLARITA:20月有60、100和22英里的循环。 XNUMX

很多骑行明星,甚至还有更多的摩托车手。 有关更多信息,请访问 www.granfondosantaclarita.com

REM GLEN HELEN迎接9年的最后八场比赛

REM的9个赛点支付时间表中还有40场比赛。 他们是1月8日,22月29日,12月19日,3月10日,17月24日,15月16日,5月6日,26月27日和XNUMX月XNUMX日。 (XNUMX月XNUMX日至XNUMX日),世界职业锦标赛(XNUMX月XNUMX日至XNUMX日)和泥泞之日(XNUMX月XNUMX日至XNUMX日)。 有关更多信息,请访问 www.remsatmx.com or www.facebook.com/remsatmx/?fref=tsv

ROY ROGERS牧场的ROUTE 66老式碎渣机于20月开出。 XNUMX

欲了解更多信息 点击此处详细了解。.

如何免费订阅和获取MXA:不正确,您实际上会赚钱

有兴趣今年买一辆新自行车吗? MXA将于2016年2017月发行,并将测试您可以拥有的150辆自行车,包括2017 KTM 250SX,2017 Suzuki RM-Z450、2017 Yamaha YZ450F,2017 Husqvarna FC250和25 KTM XNUMXSXF。 另外,如果您现在订阅,则可以从落基山ATV / MC处获得XNUMX美元的礼券,该礼券的价格不菲。

您订阅MXA吗? 你应该。 我们知道您认为印刷杂志已经死了,互联网将填补这一空白,但是当前MXA中的大多数内容即使有几个月也不会出现在网络上。 幸运的是,您可以前往Apple Store,Amazon或Google Play,在iPhone,iPad,Kindle或Android上获得所有MXA。 更好的得到 的数字桌面版本 https://hi-torque.com/product/motocross-action-digital-edition/ 提供 $9.99 一年。 MXA测试车手更喜欢印刷版,这不仅是因为它是由美国政府的一名穿制服的雇员提供的,而且还因为 $19.99 您会从Rocky Mountain ATV / MC获得12期和免费的25美元礼品卡。 这意味着这笔交易将为您带来利润。 为了 打印杂志 去: http://hi-torque.com/product/subscribe-to-motocross-action-magazine/

 

v

相片: 斯科特·马洛内(Scott Mallonee),布莱恩·匡威(Brian Converse),马西莫·赞扎尼(Massimo Zanzani),约翰·巴歇尔(John Basher),焦·贝克尔(Kyoshi Becker),黛比·塔米蒂(Debbi Tamietti),丹·阿拉曼戈斯(Dan Alamangos),约翰·巴歇尔(John Basher),雅马哈,MXGP,MXA,本田

亚历克斯·马丁美洲国民安东尼奥·凯罗利(Antonio Cairoli)商业成功促进者查克·迈纳特库珀·韦伯戴夫·索普德比·塔米埃蒂英尺矿工格伦·海伦本田杰弗里·赫林斯川崎KTM运动型摩托车越野赛越野摩托车行动越野摩托车越野摩托车x域名MXGP雷姆越野摩托车超级交叉

MXA WEEKEND NEWS ROUND-UP: DEBBI GOES TO ITALY

Click on images to enlarge

A PERSONAL NOTE ABOUT FEETS MINERT

Feets at the young old age of 83.

The MXA wrecking crew was proud to have known Chuck “Feets” Minert, who passed away this past weekend at the age of 85. To most of the young kids at the track (and Feets considered anyone under 60 to be a kid), he was just an old codger in jeans riding around the racetrack. But, he was so much more than that.

Feets was one of the best motorcycle racers in America in the 1950s and 1960s—a career that was highlighted by winning the Catalina Grand Prix in 1956. That guy in the jeans was a factory rider for BSA and he is the only American motocrosser to have a motorcycle model named after him—when BSA produced the “Catalina Scrambler” in his honor. He was a genetic phenomenon. Feets raced the 500 Pro class at Saddleback Park, Indian Dunes and Escape Country into his 50s and kept right on racing up to the age of 83 (before shoulder surgery ended a race career that spanned 2500 races).

Feets as a young man—with a couple thousand races left to go.

He loved motorcycle racing so much that he didn’t want to stop. When all of his contemporaries had hung up their leathers decades earlier, Feets kept right on racing. He raced his first race in 1947 and his last one 66 years later. He was a wealth of knowledge, who understood the inner workings of a four-stroke engine better than almost anyone—because he had raced them longer than anyone. He won two World Vet Championships in his 70s. To the MXA wrecking crew he was just one of the gang—he was quick witted, honest to a fault and incredibly humble. Feets was incredibly gracious and nice to everyone he met, but he never wanted any fuss made over him, and turned down honors and awards in the droves over the years because he enjoyed what he had achieved during his Pro career, but didn’t think it was a big deal. Even as death came to his door, he swore Jody Weisel to secrecy about his failing physical condition. He was a private man and didn’t want people fawning over him.

Every motocross racer should remember Feets Minert, not just because he was a famous factory racer whose picture appeared in BSA advertisements, but because he was a man who so loved motocross that he wouldn’t quit. Racing was his life—and even as an “old codger in jeans riding around the track” he loved every minute on his bike. To learn a little more about Chuck “Feets” Minerts click here.

SPAIN PULLS OUT THE BIG GUN FOR THE 2016 WORLD VET CHAMPIONSHIP

Javier Garcia Vico will ride the Over-40 Pro class with support from Mike Alessi.

The 2016 Dubya USA World Vet Championship is only 5 weeks away and already the pre-entry ranks have been bursting with foreign riders heading to Glen Helen on November 5-6 (plus there will also be practice sessions on November 3-4 to help foreign and out-of-state racers learn the big hills of Glen Helen). The latest news to break in the Spanish press is that multi-time Spanish National Champion and former Grand Prix racer Javier Garcia Vico plans to contest for the Over-40 Pro title against Kurt Nicoll and Doug Dubach. Garcia Vico will be joined by a contingent of Spanish racers led by Dr. Joaquim Sunol and music empressario Xavi Costa in the Over-50 class. For more info about the World Vet Championship or to pre-enter, go to www.glenhelen.com.

THE WAY WE WERE: BEFORE HONDA WAS BIG

Honda didn’t always have a fancy race team, fleet of 18-wheelers and a giant compound. Back in the day, Honda operated out of a store front with a pickup truck parked in front.

 

DEBBI TAMIETTI GOES NATIVE — INSIDE THE MAGGIORA MXDN CROWD

Where’s Waldo? Breathing room? Yes. Walking room? No.

Debbie Tamietti has shot AMA Nationals and Grands Prixs before, but when she went to the MXDN at Maggiora, Italy, she found herself on another planet. Amazingly, she fit right in. Debbi was welcomed warmly by every group of fans she met—no matter what country they were rooting for. Here is what she had to say about the experience and the photos she shot.

“Italy was such a fun, crazy, interesting, story-filled time. I decided to shoot from the perspective of a spectator. It was a challenge since you could hardly walk anywhere. There were walls and walls of people. I did have a VIP pass and a Press Pass, so I could get anywhere except the track. So, I squeezed through people and pulled open links in the fence and stuck my lens through.  And I had more fun than ever. So, here are my favorites photos from the weekend.”

Debbi with her new Irish friend.

“The first guy I came upon at the track on day one was from Ireland. He said MXA is his favorite magazine and that he respected Jody Weisel more than anyone in the industry. He said that he read the REM Report every week religiously. Then he said, “Wait! Are you Debbi Tamietti?” And he wanted a pic with me. Pretty funny.”

Obviously, Debbi has an affinity for Irish motocross fans… at least this guy said he was from Ireland, but how could she be sure?

It takes a dedicated fan to carry around a ten-foot pole with a flag on it for eight hours. Note the guy holding the yellow track marker like it’s King Arthur’s sword.

Smoke bombs are popular with Euro race fans, sometimes the smoke obliterates the track from view. The colors signify the nation’s flag. This is the Italian flag in smoke.

This guy showed up in a funny costume.

At least they removed the saw teeth from the chain saws before revving them like maniacs every time a French rider came by.

Wigs were big at this year’s MXDN.

Mailboxes weren’t the most popular costumes to wear, but these four Brits would accept mail up until 2:00 p.m.

Johnny O’Mara (left), David Bailey (center) and Ricky Johnson (right) were honored guests on the 30th Anniversary of their win at Maggiora back in 1985.

The Swedes threw the best party in the pits—if you like herring. Not Herlings. Herring.

These forest pixies are from France. We aren’t quite sure why they have their Puma skin suits on backwards though.

There is always one guy in every crowd who doesn’t want to show favoritism to any nation. So, he stripped down to his skivvies and wore his shirt as a hat, but had the decency to move his fanny pack to the front.

Based on the color, these are either runaway MXA test riders on holiday or Dutch fans.

You can always count on the staid and conservative British fans to show the most decorum.

The Yanks have arrived.

WE KNOW WHAT YOU ARE THINKING — DID DEBBI SHOOT THE RACES?

Sure she did. Here is Alex Martin on his way to 2-3 score in the 250 class (which were 9-9 overall scores against the 450s).

Romain Febvre (1) and Tony Cairoli (40) went 1-2 in the first moto. They were close.

Cooper Webb (4) must have learned something from racing against Christophe Pourcel in the 2015 Nationals. What did he learn? To take a fan to the starting line on a hot day.

If you score each class individually the French went 2-3-4 with Febvre 2nd in the 450 class, Paulin 3rd in the Open class and Benoit Paturel (2) 4th in the 250 class.

WHAT’S LEFT OF THE 2016 RACE CALENDAR

2016 REM MOTOCROSS
Oct. 1…………………………..Glen Helen, CA
Oct. 8………………………….Glen Helen, CA
Oct. 15…………………………No race (24 Hours of Glen Helen)
Oct. 22………………………..Glen Helen, CA
Oct. 29………………………..Glen Helen, CA (World Vet warm-up)

2016 TEXAS PRO CHALLENGE
Oct. 1-2……………………….Tyler, TX

2016 GEICO ENDUROCROSS CHAMPIONSHIP
Oct. 1…………………………..Denver, CO
Oct. 22………………………..Everett, WA
Nov. 5………………………….Boise, ID
Nov. 19………………………..Ontario, CA

2016 SPANISH NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP
Oct. 2………………………….Calataya, Zaragoza (Final)

2016 MONSTER SMX RIDERS’ CUP
Oct. 8…………………………..Gelsenkirchen, Germany

2016 MONSTER CUP
Oct. 15…………………………Las Vegas, NV

2016 AMA SUPERMOTO CHAMPIONSHIP
Oct. 22………………………..Tucson, AZ

2016 REM OCTOBERCROSS
Oct. 29…………………………Glen Helen, CA

2016 DUBYA WORLD VET CHAMPIONSHIP
Nov. 5-6………………………Glen Helen, CA

BIRTHDAY BOYS: DAVE THORPE IS 54

Sept. 29…Dave Thorpe 1962
Sept. 29…Ricky Dietrich 1987
Oct. 1…Bobby Kiniry 1985
Oct. 1…Jon Ortner 1961
Oct. 1…Dana Wiggins
Oct. 2…Victor Sheldon
Oct. 2…Jim Neese
Oct. 3…Grayson Goodman 1971
Oct. 3…Kinney Jones
Oct. 4…Jeremy Garges
Oct. 4…Nathan Watson 1995
Oct. 4…Ryan Sipes 1984
Oct. 5…Danny Chandler 1959
Oct. 5…Ake Jonsson 1942
Oct. 5…Johnny Marley
Oct. 5…Randy Valade

 

 

MXA PHOTOS OF THE WEEK: FROM ADAM DUCKWORTH

British moto-journalist Adam Duckworth, who visited Saddleback Park many times as a kid, and saw Feets Minert race, came back 35 years later and shot this photo of a fan giving Feets a BSA Catalina Scrambler T-shirt as a present.

Adam was impressed that Feets’ loading ramp dated back to 1970, so he shot a photo of it. The MXA guys always joked that it was made with a piece of wood from Noah’s Ark.

MXA PRODUCT SPOTLIGHT: REM GLEN HELEN T-SHIRTS

Do you race at REM? Do do you want to race at REM? Do you want to look like an REM racer? Are you too far away to make it to Glen Helen on Saturday? SoCal’s popular REM races at Glen Helen happen virtually every Saturday of the year and the locals can get REM T-shirts at sign-up, but if you’d like to have one of your own—in small, medium, large, extra large and extra-extra large you can get them in the mail. The shirts retail for $20 and to place an order click here.

USED IT, ABUSED IT, TESTED IT: GAERNE SG12 BOOTS

The popular Gaerne SG12 has been updated with a reshaped toebox, more durable wear patches on the top and sides and a record breaking price tag. Thanks to its incredible durability and reputation for long lasting performances, the SG12 may be able to justify its high price.

VERDICT: This is not a cheap boot, but is is a high-quality boot. The interior is plush and inviting. The panels that contact the frame offer exceptional grip and the rubber prevents four-stroke pipes from cooking our legs. Some testers complained about the heel being tall, but this wasn’t a consensus. $619.99  — www.gaerne.com or (800) 426-0213.

MXA AD OF THE WEEK: OFFICIAL DRINK OF THE 1979 AMA NATIONALS

USED IT, ABUSED IT, TESTED IT: SKF FORKS SEALS/DUST WIPERS


With one of every motocross bike made in our test fleet, the MXA test crew gets tired of blown forks seals. Which is why we replace the stock seals with SKF seals (they come stock on KTM’s and we rarely blow a KTM fork seal). SKF seal kits consist of a new oil seal and a new dust wiper. SKF’s self-lubricating rubber compound not only enables them to keep the oil in, but to reduce static friction (stiction) by a significant amount. Plus, we blow twice as manyKayaba PSF air fork seals as we do coil spring fork seals.

VERDICT: Nothing is more frustrating than looking down at your fork leg and seeing oil oozing towards your front brake rotor. A modern upside-down fork requires complete disassembly to replace a fork seal. In MXA’s opinion, modern fork seals are lightyears better than seals from a few years ago and SKF is better than any other modern seal. It is highly likely that a 2013-era fork seal would never leak or wear out if dirt wasn’t introduced into the equation. It’s not a matter of keeping the oil in, as much as the dirt out — thus the dust wiper. $35.99 (one seal and wiper)— www.innteck-USA.com or (866) 252-8772.

JIMMY MAC’S FEETS MINERT TRIBUTE

You can read more about motorcycles and mountain bikes at www.jimmymacontwowheels.com.

98 DAYS UNTIL SUPERCROSS STARTS


2017 AMA SUPERCROSS CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE
Jan. 7…………………………Anaheim, CA
Jan. 14………………………San Diego, CA
Jan. 21………………………Anaheim, CA
Jan. 28………………………Glendale, AZ
Feb. 4……………………….Oakland, CA
Feb. 11………………………Arlington, TX
Feb. 18………………………Minneapolis, MN
Feb. 25………………………Atlanta, GA
Mar. 4………………………Toronto, ON
Mar. 11………………………Daytona, FL
Mar. 18………………………Indianapolis, IN
Mar. 25………………………Detroit, MI
Apr. 1…………………………St. Louis, MO
Apr. 8………………………..Seattle, WA
Apr 22……………………….Salt Lake City, UT

$25,000 TEXAS PRO CHALLENGE THIS WEEKEND AT SWAN

For more info go to www.swanmx.com.

WORLD VET MOTOCROSS CHAMPIONSHIP ON NOV. 5-6

Now that the young guy’s Championships are decided, all eyes will turn to the older set at the 2016 Dubya-sponsored World Vet Championships. There are Pro class for the Over-30, Over-40 and Over-50 racers. Expect the competition to be intense. For more info go to www.glenhelen.com

GRAN FONDO SANTA CLARITA: 20, 60 & 100 MILE LOOPS ON OCT. 22

Lots of cycling stars and even more motorcycle guys. For more info go to www.granfondosantaclarita.com

REM GLEN HELEN GEARS UP FOR THE LAST 9 RACES OF 2016

There are 9 races left in REM’s 40-race points paying schedule. They are Oct. 1, Oct. 8, Oct. 22, Oct. 29, Nov. 12, Nov. 19, Dec. 3, Dec. 10 and Dec. 17. The missing weekends are filled by the 24 Hours of Glen Helen (October 15-16), World Vet Championship (Nov. 5-6) and Day In The Dirt (November 26-27). For more info go to www.remsatmx.com or www.facebook.com/remsatmx/?fref=tsv

ROUTE 66 VINTAGE SCRAMBLES AT ROY ROGERS RANCH ON NOV. 20

For more info click here.

HOW TO SUBSCRIBE & GET MXA FOR FREE: NOT TRUE, YOU WILL ACTUALLY MAKE MONEY

Interested in getting a new bike this year? The November 2016 issue of MXA will be on the news stands soon and has test of seven bikes that you could own—including the 2017 KTM 150SX, 2017 Suzuki RM-Z250, 2017 Yamaha YZ450F, 2017 Husqvarna FC450 and 2017 KTM 250SXF. Plus, if you subscribe now you get a $25 gift certificate from Rocky Mountain ATV/MC which more than pays for your subscription.

Do you subscribe to MXA? You should. We know that you think that print magazines are dead and that the internet will fill the void, but most of the stuff in the current issue of MXA won’t appear on the web for several months, if at all. Luckily, you can get all of MXA on your iPhone, iPad, Kindle or Android by going to the Apple Store, Amazon or Google Play. Better yet get the Digital desktop version at https://hi-torque.com/product/motocross-action-digital-edition/ for $9.99 a year. The MXA test riders prefer the print version and not just because it is delivered by a uniformed employee of the U.S. Government, but because for only $19.99 you get 12 issues and a free $25 Gift Card from Rocky Mountain ATV/MC. That means that there is a profit to be made in this deal for you. For the Print magazine go to: http://hi-torque.com/product/subscribe-to-motocross-action-magazine/

 

v

Photos: Scott Mallonee, Brian Converse, Massimo Zanzani, John Basher, Kyoshi Becker, Debbi Tamietti, Dan Alamangos, John Basher, Yamaha, MXGP, MXA, Honda

alex martinama nationalsAntonio CairoliBSAchuck minertcooper webbdave thorpedebbi tamiettifeets minertglen helenhondajeffrey herlingsKAWASAKIktmmotcorossmotocrossmotocross actionmotocross des nationsMOTOCROSS OF NATIONSmxamxdnMXGPrem motocrossSUPERCROSS