Click on images to enlarge

Photos by Massimo Zanzani

Ryan Dungey went 2-3-2 to be the most consistent rider at the SMX Rider’s and Manufacturer’s Cup. He earned $55,819 and led the KTM team to a one-two-three sweep of the brand title (with Musquin and Herlings as teammates). Promoted endlessly and with the full support of the major manufacturers, no fans showed up in Veltins Stadium to watch the race.

Tim Gajser won the first moto in front of Dungey, Zach Osborne, Romain Febvre, Jeffrey Herlings, Marvin Musquin, Gautier Paulin, Jordi Tixier, Tommy Searle and Christophe Charlier. Tim Gajser went 1-19-5 for seventh overall. Yes, the stands were empty.

France’s Romain Febvre won the second moto in front of Marvin Musquin, Ryan Dungey, Jordi Tixier, Jeffrey Herlings, Zach Osborne, Evgeny Bobryshev, Tommy Searle, Gautier Paulin and Christophe Charlier. The SMX Cup track was a combination of a sand track, mellow fairground Supercross design and rolling obstacles. Febvre went 4-1-7 for fourth overall.

Jeffrey Herlings won the third moto in front of Ryan Dungey, Marvin Musquin, Jordi Tixier, Tim Gajser, Gautier Paulin, Romian Febvre, Evgeny Bobryshev, Jake Weimer and Christophe Charlier. Virtually every rider fell at least once in the sand corners during the three motos. Herlings went 5-5-1 for second overall and earned $33,485 (which is probably the first time Giuseppe Luongo ever paid the three-time 250 Champion purse money).

Marvin Musquin tied for third with Jeffrey Herlings at 11 points. Marvin’s 6-2-3 score got third because Herlings had the higher finish in the three motos (his win in the third moto). Marvin’s pay day was $22,322.

Jordi Tixier was fifth overall with 8-4-4 scores.

Gautier Paulin raced the 2017 Honda CRF450 at the SMX Cup. His 7-9-6 scores weren’t spectacular, but were good enough for sixth behind Dungey, Herlings, Musquin, Febvre and Tixier.

Of the non-AMA riders in Germany, Tommy Searle has the most Supercross experience among the GP regulars, but his 9-8-11 finishes hint that he doesn’t remember much from his time in America. Although the SMX track didn’t really demand any of the high-tech skills required by an AMA Supercross track.

Jake Weimer finished tenth overall and was the highest finisher on the erstwhile Suzuki team. Weimer’s 11-12-9 was better than Jeremy Seewer’s 17-11-12 and Arminas Jasikonis’ 12-13-15.

Evgeny Bobryshev (777) was the worst of the Honda team. He finished 11th overall, but only Honda’s Tim Gajser showed any verve. Gajser’s night was ruined by a second moto crash which left him 19th. He soldiered on with a shoulder injury to race the third moto, but will now have to miss the Las Vegas Monster Energy Cup this weekend.

Jeremy Seewer may have finished out of the top ten, but as the first 250 rider he earned an $11,160 bonus for his 17-11-12 night.

Zach Osborne looked good in the first two motos—finishing 3-5, but a DNF in the third moto dropped him out of the standings.

Romain Febvre (461), Ryan Dungey (5) and Tim Gajser were the fastest riders for their respective brands. With only six manufacturer’s team competing for the brand championship there wasn’t any place worth finishing except first. KTM won by such a big margin that they could have doubled their points and still won by 7 points.

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)…2-3-2
2. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM)…5-5-1
3. Marvin Musquin (KTM)…6-2-3
4. Romain Febvre (Yam)…4-1-7
5. Jordi Tixier (Kaw)…8-4-4
6. Gautier Paulin (Hon)…7-9-6
7. Tim Gajser (Hon)…1-19-5
8. Tommy Searle (Kaw)…9-8-11
9. Christophe Charlier (Hus)…10-10-10
10. Jake Weimer (Suz)…11-12-9

1. KTM…18 points
2. Honda…43 points
3. Kawasaki…61 points
4. Husqvarna…71 points
5. Yamaha…77 points
6. Suzuki…80 points


gautier paulinhondaHusqvarnajeffrey herlingsKAWASAKIktmmarvin musquinmotocrossromain febvreryan dungeySUPERCORSSSUZUKItim gajserTOMMY SEARLEyamahazach osborner