二冲程星期二 | MAICO 终结的开始

MAICO 摩托车终结的开始

1981 年,Maico 490 被认为是赛道上最好的自行车,随后几年成为有史以来最伟大的越野摩托车之一,但到 1983 年,Maico 公司濒临倒闭。 一家拥有 40 年历史的家族企业正在分崩离析。 最大的问题是家庭成员之间的内讧。 激烈的争斗为一场壮观的撞车事件埋下了伏笔。 Maicos 多年来一直享有良好的声誉,并且是极具竞争力的自行车。 但是车轮已经脱离了 Maico 生产线。 从 1981 年 Mega-2 的双避震到 1982 年保持竞争力所需的单避震,廉价的意大利制造的 Corte Cossa 单避震出现了前所未有的避震轴断裂数量。 忠实的 Maico 车手争先恐后地寻找替代后避震器,大多数人都改用了带有更结实避震器轴的 Ohlins,但真正的问题在于 Maico 衍生的上升率。 因此,1982 年对 Maico 来说是灾难性的一年——他们在一个车型年中从最好的自行车变成了机械噩梦。

1981 年的 Maico 490 Mega 2 和 Jody 在 Saddleback Raceway 赛车。 Macio 490 风冷发动机。

1983年,Maico发行了490越野摩托车版,沙漠版和Enduro版的三种型号。 越野摩托车版本称为Spider,具有四速变速器和全新发动机。 随着全新Maico车型的问世,人们并没有蜂拥到经销商那里来亲身体验。 问题是,该品牌失去了魔力。 艰苦的梅施家族之战无济于事,自行车开始遭受更多的机械故障。 Maico总是有车轮问题,但是Maico赛车手只是将车轮发送给Wheelsmith Maico以获得六交叉鞋带。 1983年,后轮毂爆炸,变速器分开。 当他们昂贵的Maicos失败时,人们感到非常愤怒。

这是 1983 年的 Maico 490 Spider。 传输和集线器可能会损坏。 

虽然 Maico 试图对零件进行保修,但损坏已经造成。 他们的名声在窗外。 1983 年,自 Otto 和 Wilhelm Maisch 在第二次世界大战后开始制造摩托车以来,Maico 首次面临破产。 后减震器保修和不良传动装置动摇了美国市场,自行车销量下降。 这些困难迫使 Maico 品牌被德国政府接管(德国政府拒绝让他们缩小规模,这意味着即使销售额下降,他们仍保留相同的劳动力)。 当家人为公司的混乱而斗争时,美国经销商试图通过与 Maico 创始人 Wilhelm Maisch、Peter 和 Hans 的儿子联手,将自行车重新贴上 M-Stars 标签(以避免法律上的复杂性)来挽救他的生意家族已将品牌名称放入)。 为时已晚,因为摩托车越野赛的快速变化使日本制造商能够快速进入并占据 Maico 的所有市场份额。 曾经伟大的品牌已经消亡。

Lance Moorwood 在 Jody 的 1981 Maico 490 Mega 2 上。 

M-Star一直奋斗到1986年,但梅科(Maico)玫瑰盛开了。 自从最初的公司倒闭以来,该品牌从德国反弹到荷兰再到英国,但这些打捞业务始终资金不足且开发不足。

著名的 Danny “Magoo” Chandler 在 Maico 上。 

二冲程越野车 | 完整存档

博伊森麦科摩托车越野赛越野摩托车行动x周二两次中风二冲程

TWO-STROKE TUESDAY | THE BEGINNING OF THE END OF MAICO

THE BEGINNING OF THE END OF MAICO MOTORCYCLES

In 1981 the Maico 490 was considered the best bike on the track, and in subsequent years one of the greatest motocross bike of all-time, but by 1983 the Maico firm was on verge of collapse. A family company with 40 years under their belt was coming apart at the seams. The biggest problem was infighting between the family members. The bitter feuding set the stage for a spectacular crash. Maicos had a good reputation throughout their years and were highly competitive bikes. But the wheels were coming off the Maico line. The switch from the twin-shocks of the 1981 Mega-2 to the single shock required to stay competitive in 1982, saw an unprecedented number of shock shaft breakages on the cheap Italian-made Corte Cossa single shocks. Loyal Maico riders scrambled to find a replacement shock, most switching to an Ohlins with a stouter shock shaft, but the real problem lay in the Maico-derived rising rate.  Thus, 1982 was a disastrous year for Maico—they went from the best bike made to a mechanical nightmare in a single model year.

The 1981 Maico 490 Mega 2 with Jody racing it at Saddleback Raceway. The Macio 490 air cooled engine.

In 1983, Maico released three models of the 490–a motocross, desert and Enduro version. The motocross version, which was called the Spider, had a four-speed transmission and an all-new engine. With the all-new Maico models unveiled, people didn’t swarm to the dealerships to get their hands on them. The problem was, the brand had lost its mojo. The bitter Maisch family battles were no help and the bikes began to suffer even more mechanical failures. Maico always had wheel problems, but Maico racers simply sent their wheels to Wheelsmith Maico to get cross-six lacing. In 1983, the rear hubs were exploding and transmissions were coming apart. People were furious when their expensive Maicos failed.

This is a 1983 Maico 490 Spider. The transmission and hubs were likely to break. 

While Maico tried to warranty the parts, the damage had been done. Their reputation was out the window. In 1983, Maico faced bankruptcy for the first time since Otto and Wilhelm Maisch started building motorcycles after the Second World War. Rear shock warranties and bad transmissions had shaken the American market and bike sales fell. These hardships forced the Maico brand into receivership by the German government (who refused to allow them to down-size, which meant they kept the same workforce even though sales had fallen off the cliff). As the family fought over the shambles of the firm, the American distributor tried to save his business by joining forces with the sons of the Maico founder Wilhelm Maisch, Peter and Hans, by relabeling the bikes as M-Stars (to avoid the legal complications that the family had put the brand’s name in). It was too little too late, as the fast changing pace of motocross allowed the Japanese manufactures to moved in fast and take all of Maico’s marketshare. The once great brand was dead in the water.

Lance Moorwood on Jody’s 1981 Maico 490 Mega 2. 

M-Star struggled on through 1986, but the bloom was off of the Maico rose. Since the demise of the original firm, the brand has bounced around from Germany to Holland to England, but these a salvage operation have always been underfunded and under-developed.

The famous Danny “Magoo” Chandler on a Maico. 

2-STROKE DIRT BIKE | COMPLETE ARCHIVE

boyesenMaicomotocrossmotocross actionmxaTwo Stroke Tuesdaytwo-stroke