年轻的日本骑手本田(Shiaru Honda)跟随他父亲的脚步

年轻的Shiaru Honda(70岁)在加利福尼亚州为未来的GP生涯做准备,他参加了Glen Helen比赛,并看到了资深职业选手的速度,例如Sean Collier(207),Justin Jones,Ford Heit,Brian Medeiros等第一手。 图片:Debbi Tamietti

乔恩·奥特纳(Jon Ortner)

按照最初的计划,年仅16岁的Shiaru Honda将会在英格兰的Dave Thorpe Honda越野中心接受训练,目的是进行一天的MXGP系列赛车。 但是,在英格兰受到严格的大流行限制的情况下,Shiaru却在约翰尼·坎贝尔(Johnny Campbell)的密切指导下来到加利福尼亚工作。 约翰尼·坎贝尔(Johnny Campbell)是未知的人,他是巴哈11大奖赛(Baja 1000)的600胜者,并且在本田越野自行车(包括XR650,XR450,CRF450X和CRF450RX)的开发中发挥了重要作用。 他曾在HGA(日本本田)开发CRFXNUMX拉力赛车,并经营自己的JCR / Honda越野车队。 本田完全有信心,他的小儿子本田希鲁(Shiaru Honda)受到约翰尼(Johnny)的良好照顾和辅导。

Shiaru和Johnny Campbell。 照片:乔恩·奥特纳

Shiaru Honda是Taichi Honda的儿子(与Soichiro Honda无关),这个名字与MXA息息相关,因为早在2010年MXA采访了Taichi Honda时,当时他是一名年轻的工程师/赛车手,从事本田汽车的研发工作。越野摩托车。 那时我们了解到,太极本田曾经是越野摩托车赛车手,曾以私人身份参加了全日本全国锦标赛的比赛。 太极拳从未在日本以外的地方比赛。 在1995年,他不得不选择尝试认真比赛还是成为本田的试车手。 他选择了本田研发。

本田赛车公司(HRC)负责人太极本田(上)送儿子去日本以外的地方参加赛车比赛。

在本田,Taichi参与了钢结构二冲程本田的开发,他的最大任务是设计2009本田CRF450。 在确保的11年中,Taichi Honda提升了企业形象,成为本田赛车公司(HRC)的负责人,负责MXGP,AMA Pro越野摩托车,AMA Supercross和达喀尔拉力赛车项目。 当然,太极本田多年来与约翰尼·坎贝尔(Johnny Campbell)合作,并且完全相信他的小儿子Shiaru掌握得很好。

格兰·海伦(Glen Helen)的土垢归功于清晨的阵雨。 图片:Debbi Tamietti

上个星期六,约翰尼·坎贝尔(Johnny Campbell)带着什雅鲁·本田(Shiaru Honda)参加了格伦·海伦(Glen Helen)每周的REM越野摩托车赛,以首次体验美国越野摩托车。 早晨有微雨,但是随着骑手的练习,赛道设法绕开了。 Shiaru Honda进入了250中级班,但是与日本不同,REM比赛以波浪式开始—较快的类在第一局的下降处离开,而较慢的类在30秒后离开。

Shiaru(70)在第二波比赛中获得不错的成绩,领先于450名中级选手Hayden Robinson(他的左边)和Tyler Nichol(更远),而Adam Taki(232),最终250名中级冠军Connor Styers(62)爱尔兰骑手大卫·奥康纳(30岁)追逐。 图片:Dan Alamangos

Shiaru在第二波浪潮中,这意味着将250个中间体与450个中间体,Vet中间体和40多个中间体混合在一起。 波浪起步系统对年轻的骑手非常有用,因为他们最终会与速度更快的骑手混为一谈(并努力跟上步伐)。

毫无疑问,Shiaru Honda具有HRC可以制造的最好的CRF250。 图片:Dan Alamangos

Shiaru班上最快的250个中级是名叫Connor Styers的骑手,他以1-1晋级。 Shiaru取得2-2,但与其他250个中级车和450个中级车比赛,当然,还有机会看到Sean Collier,Ford Heit,JCP Racing赞助的车手Justin Jones和450 Pro等250个职业选手的速度冠军布莱恩·梅代罗斯(Brian Medeiros)。 这是参加格伦·海伦(Glen Helen)比赛并避免在英格兰锁定比赛的绝佳机会。 现在,他将体验所有其他SoCal轨道,例如Pala,Cahuilla Creek,Elsinore,Perris,State Fair等。 欢迎来到美国。

格伦·海伦本田约翰尼·坎贝尔贾斯汀·琼斯摩托车越野赛x雷姆越野摩托车肖恩·科利尔本田夏鲁本田太一

YOUNG JAPANESE RIDER SHIARU HONDA FOLLOWS IN HIS FATHER’S FOOTSTEP

Young Shiaru Honda (70), who is in California to prepare for a future GP career, got to race at Glen Helen and see the speed of veteran Pros, like Sean Collier (207), Justin Jones, Ford Heit, Brian Medeiros and others first-hand. Photo: Debbi Tamietti

By Jon Ortner

As originally planned, 16-year-old Shiaru Honda would have been training at the Dave Thorpe Honda Off-Road Centre in England with the intent of one day racing MXGP series. But, with England under strict pandemic restrictions, Shiaru instead came to California to work under the close guidance of Johnny Campbell. Johnny Campbell, for those who don’t know, he is an 11-time Baja 1000 winner and has played a large role in the development of Honda’s off-road bikes, including the XR600, XR650, CRF450X and CRF450RX. He has worked for HGA (Honda Japan) in the development of the CRF450 Rally machine and runs his own JCR/Honda off-road team. Honda has every confidence that his young son Shiaru Honda is under excellent care and tutelage with Johnny.

Shiaru and Johnny Campbell. Photo: Jon Ortner

Shiaru Honda is the son of Taichi Honda (not related to Soichiro Honda), and that name rang a bell with MXA because back in 2010 MXA ran an interview with Taichi Honda, when he was a young engineer/racer involved in the development of Honda’s motocross bikes. We learned then that Taichi Honda had been a motocross racer, who raced in the All-Japan National Championship series as privateer. Taichi never got to race outside Japan. In 1995 he had to choose between trying to race seriously or becoming a test rider for Honda. He chose Honda R&D.

Honda Racing Corporation (HRC) head Taichi Honda (above) sent his son off to get some racing experiences outside of Japan.

At Honda, Taichi was involved in developing the steel-framed two-stroke Hondas and his biggest task was in designing the 2009 Honda CRF450. In the ensuring 11 years, Taichi Honda has risen up the corporate ladder to become the head of Honda Racing Corporation (HRC) for MXGP, AMA Pro Motocross, AMA Supercross and the Dakar Rally race programs. Of course, Taichi Honda has worked with Johnny Campbell over the years and has every confidence that his young son Shiaru is in good hands.

Glen Helen’s dirt was prime thanks to an early morning showers. Photo: Debbi Tamietti

Johnny Campbell brought Shiaru Honda to the weekly REM motocross at Glen Helen this past Saturday to get his first taste of American motocross. A light mist of rain fell in the morning, but the track managed to come around as the rider rode practice. Shiaru Honda was entered in the 250 Intermediate class, but unlike in Japan, the REM races start in waves—with the faster classes leaving at the drop of the first gate and the slower classes leaving 30 seconds later.

Shiaru (70) got a good jump on the second wave and is ahead of the 450 Intermediates Hayden Robinson (to his left) and Tyler Nichol (farther over), while Adam Taki (232), eventual 250 Intermediate winner Connor Styers (62) and Irish rider David O’Connor (30) give chase. Photo: Dan Alamangos

Shiaru was in the second wave, which meant that the 250 Intermediates were mixed in with the 450 Intermediates, Vet Intermediates and Over-40 Intermediates. The wave start system is good for young riders because they end up being mixed in with the faster riders (and have try to keep pace).

No doubt that Shiaru Honda has the very best CRF250 that HRC can build. Photo: Dan Alamangos

The fastest 250 Intermediate in Shiaru’s class was a rider named Connor Styers, who went 1-1. Shiaru went 2-2, but got to race with the other 250 Intermediates and 450 Intermediates, and of course, get a chance to see the speed of 450 Pros like Sean Collier, Ford Heit, JCP Racing-sponsored rider Justin Jones and 250 Pro winner Brian Medeiros. It was a nice opportunity to get to race at Glen Helen and avoid the lock-down in England. He will now get to experience all the other SoCal tracks, like Pala, Cahuilla Creek, Elsinore, Perris, State Fair and others. Welcome to America.

glen helenhondaJOHNNY CAMPBELLjustin jonesmotocrossmxarem motocrossSean Colliershiaru hondataichi honda