被遗忘的越野摩托车技术:1980 GILERA B 125 BICILINDRICA

1980 年的 Gilera Bicilindrica 是出色的工程设计,但从性能的角度来看,它缺乏扭矩和可靠性。 如果他们能够使用传闻中的 1981 年双头配置,骑起来可能会更容易。

摩托车越野赛的历史充满了被誉为开创性创意的例子,但由于发展的快速变化,陷入了被遗忘的技术沼泽。 尽管最好放弃一些想法,但其他想法确实具有创新性(如果最终没有成功的话)。 MXA 喜欢揭示越野摩托车的技术琐事。 你还记得这个想法吗? Gilera B 125 Bicilindrica 二冲程。

从远处看,吉列拉B 125 Bicilindrica看起来很像单缸吉列拉,但近距离拍摄时却会打扰您的眼睛。

荷兰设计师 Jan Witteveen 和他设计的 1980 年 Gilera B 125 双缸越野摩托车。

1978 年 1980 月,Jan Witteveen 接管了 Gilera Racing 部门的技术指导。 Jan Witteveen 是一位天才,最著名的是双缸 125 Gilera B 50 二冲程发动机。 Witteveen 的发动机有两个相互平行但向前倾斜 105 度的气缸。 箱体最低的气缸有一个前排气口,而上面的气缸有一个后排气口。 头部有一个半球形燃烧室和挤压冠。 转子发动机的两个旋转钢盘直径为 8 毫米。 发动机的水泵具有镁制机身、塑料叶轮和铝制轴。 两个铝制消音器由 Motomeccanica Rino di Vigasio (VR) 制造,长度不同,而且管道具有不同直径的膨胀锥。 发动机使用了两个 Motoplat 点火装置。 这对双胞胎仅比 Gilera 的单缸版本重 XNUMX 磅。


将一种碳水化合物安装在旋转阀发动机上已经够难的了,但 Witteveen 设法让两种碳水化合物都与曲轴对齐。 不要将此设计与双碳水化合物 Puch MC250 混淆。 Puch 是一款单缸自行车,带有一个旋转阀碳水化合物和一个活塞端口碳水化合物,为同一个气缸供油。

125cc、二冲程、双缸、二碳、旋转气门发动机是一个惊天动地的设计,但它很脆弱。 Gilera 机械师遭遇曲轴和车架故障,以及其他出牙问题。 自行车很少完成。 意大利 GP 赛车手 Franco Perfini 领跑南斯拉夫 125 GP,当时车架在第二辆摩托车的最后一圈断裂。 B 125 的最好成绩是 1980 年德国 125 GP 的第四名。 Jan Witteveen 计划将 1981 赛季的点火顺序改为“twingle”,即两个活塞同时上下运动。 Gilera B 125 Bicilindrica 再也没有参加比赛,因为 FIM 在 1981 年禁止了它。

如果您想了解更多关于 1980 Gilera B 125 的信息  了解方案.

 

 

 

198

你可能还喜欢

FORGOTTEN MOTOCROSS TECH: 1980 GILERA B 125 BICILINDRICA

The 1980 Gilera Bicilindrica was brilliant engineering, but from a performance point of view it lacked both torque and reliability. If they had been able to use the rumored 1981 twingle configuration, it might have been easier to ride.

Motocross history is filled with examples of creative ideas that were heralded as groundbreaking, but, because of the rapid rate of change in development, sank into the swamp of forgotten technology. Although some ideas are best left abandoned, others were truly innovative (if not ultimately successful). MXA loves to reveal motocross’ tech trivia. Do you remember this idea? The Gilera B 125 Bicilindrica two-stroke.

From a distance the Gilera B 125 Bicilindrica looks very much like the single-cylinder Gilera, but up close it assaults your eyes.

Dutch designer Jan Witteveen and the 1980 Gilera B 125 twin-cylinder motocross bike he engineered.

In January 1978, Jan Witteveen took over the technical direction of the Gilera Racing Department. Jan Witteveen was a genius and is most famous for the twin-cylinder 1980 Gilera B 125 two-stroke. Witteveen’s engine had two cylinders parallel to each other but inclined forward at 50 degrees. The cylinder lowest on the cases had a front exhaust port, while the upper one had a rear exhaust port. The heads had a hemispherical combustion chamber and squish crown. The rotary engine’s two rotating steel discs were 105mm in diameter. The engine’s water pump had a magnesium body, plastic impeller and aluminum shaft. The two aluminum silencers were built by Motomeccanica Rino di Vigasio (VR) and had different lengths, plus the pipes had different-diameter expansion cones. The engine used two Motoplat ignitions. The twin only weighed 8 pounds more than Gilera’s single-cylinder version.


It is hard enough to get one carb mounted on a rotary valve engine, but Witteveen manage to get both carbs to align with the crankshafts. Don’t confuse this design with the twin-carb Puch MC250. The Puch was a single-cylinder bikes with one rotary valve carb and one piston port carb feeding the same cylinder.

The 125cc, two-stroke, twin-cylinder, two-carb, rotary-valve engine was an earth-shattering design, but it was fragile. The Gilera mechanics suffered crankshaft and frame failures, along with other teething issues. The bike rarely finished. Italian GP racer Franco Perfini was leading the Yugoslavian 125 GP when the frame broke on the last lap of the second moto. The B 125’s best finish was a fourth place in the 1980 German 125 GP. Jan Witteveen planned to change the firing order for the 1981 season to a “twingle,” where both pistons go up and down in unison. The Gilera B 125 Bicilindrica never raced again because the FIM banned it for 1981.

If you’d like to know more about the 1980 Gilera B 125  Click Here.

 

 

 

198

You might also like