20160703151242_RedBudRaces-2Shane McElrath (30) and Martin Davalos (49) battled for the holeshot at Red Bud.

By Kyoshi Becker
Photos by Scott Mallonee


The series is 50% over and Ken Roczen hasn’t shown any mid-season slump. In fact, his riding has been quite the opposite. At Red Bud, Roczen would go 1-1 once again and made a spectacular pass on Eli Tomac by jumping the well feared triple known as LaRocco’s Leap in the second moto. It was the first moto where Tomac had his biggest troubles, stalling the bike late in the race. Justin Barcia started to show some of his old speed, running with the top three. Even though he finished 3-4, he lost the final podium spot to Broc Tickle who finished 4-3. While Tickle isn’t at the speed or level of the top two (Roczen and Tomac) he really has shown improvement. Expect to see him on the podium again this season. There were quite a few riders who stood out at Red Bud in the 450 class. Phil Nicoletti has had quite a few good first half of motos, frequently running in the top 10. At Red Bud he was in the top five. While he had a mechanical in the first moto, he struggled in the second moto. Unfortunately he has DNF’ed a handful of motos, so he isn’t very high up in the points rankings. Kyle Peters is another outstanding rider. His Supercross team (365 Honda) was only able to support him in the first three races of the season. What was his setup for Red Bud? He raced a stock Husky FC450 (save for an exhaust pipe) and placed 13th in the second moto (17th overall due to a DNF in the first moto).

The 250 class was interesting in the Supercross, and that excitement continues in the AMA Nationals. Cooper Webb is the fourth rider to have earned the red plate this season and is the third Star Racing Yamaha team member to have it this season, following Jeremy Martin and Alex Martin. Joey Savatgy did not have such a good race at Red Bud. He crashed twice in the second moto, for the second week in a row, to earn his worst overall of seventh position the second time this season. It was more than mere seconds he lost on Cooper Webb, but a whole minute in the 11th lap. Rockstar Energy riders would sweep the podium in Red Bud, but it was Zach Osborne who kept it from being a Star Racing Yamaha sweep. Oddly enough, it was Cooper Webb, Zach Osborne and Jeremy Martin who had the 2015 podium at Red Bud. Where was J-Mart? He ended in fourth position this year and still hasn’t won a single race in the 2016 Nationals. Fifth overall was the Troy Lee Designs KTM rider Shane McElrath.


  1. The season is 58.3% over. The sun is nearing the horizon on the 2016 season.
  2. Southwick is among one of the older tracks on the circuit, having been added in 1976. The track closed in late 2013. It was reopened was added back this year.
  3. While Southwick was added in 1976 to the National circuit, it was opened in 1972.
  4. Southwick has consistently been the only true sand track on the AMA Lucas Oil National circuit.

20160702165642_RedBudRacesKen Roczen (right) is holding the red plate once again. His teammate Broc Tickle sneaks in for a photo.


  1. Pierre Karsmakers won his last AMA National at Southwick in 1976.  Southwick was also the site of Bob Hannah’s last 250 National (May 21, 1989).
  2. Local multi-Champion Doug Henry did not give up his #19 plate easily. He raced Southwick every year from 2001 to 2006 to keep it (excluding 2004).
  3. KTM first qualified for an AMA National at Southwick in 1979. Frank Stacy got them their first brand podium in the 450 class that year. KTM would not have a win in the 450 class at Southwick until 2012 with Ryan Dungey at the helm.
  4. Ricky Carmichael won every year from 2000 to 2007 at Southwick in the 450 class. He also won in 1997 and 1999 in the 250 class. The only year he didn’t win there was 1998. Local hero John Dowd won the race, going 1-1.
  5. Matt Goerke, John Dowd, and Doug Henry all raced their first AMA National main event in the 450 class for points at Southwick.


  • Hangtown Moto 1 – Ryan Dungey – 2:00.475
  • Hangtown Moto 2 – Ken Roczen – 2:02.776
  • Glen Helen Moto 1 – Ken Roczen – 2:26.867
  • Glen Helen Moto 2 – Ken Roczen – 2:29.60
  • Thunder Valley Moto 1 – Ken Roczen – 2:10.649
  • Thunder Valley Moto 2 – Eli Tomac – 2:11.230
  • High Point Moto 1 – Eli Tomac – 2:01.932
  • High Point Moto 2 – Justin Barcia – 2:00.304
  • Muddy Creek Moto 1 – Eli Tomac – 1:53.115
  • Muddy Creek Moto 2 – Ken Roczen – 1:52.555
  • Red Bud Moto 1 – Ken Roczen – 1:56.678
  • Red Bud Moto 2 – Ken Roczen – 1:56.555


  • Ken Roczen…293 Points
  • Eli Tomac…240 Points
  • Marvin Musquin…167 Points
  • Cole Seely…151 Points (out with an injury)
  • Broc Tickle…147 Points

20160703133408_RedBudRacesCooper Webb had a dominant day at Red Bud last weekend, going 1-1, and stealing the points lead away from Joey Savatgy.


  1. Doug Henry also won in the 250 class two years in a row. Steve Lamson, Travis Pastrana and Tyla Rattray are the only other riders to do so.
  2. Honda has the most wins in the 250 class, with 11. Kawasaki has 10, Yamaha has five, and Suzuki has four. No European brand has ever won the 250 class at Southwick.
  3. Only four riders have won back-to-back races at Southwich in the 250 class: Doug Henry (1993-’94), Steve Lamson (1995-’96), Travis Pastrana (2000-’01), and Tyla Rattray (2010-’11).


  • Hangtown Moto 1 – Cooper Webb – 2:01.669
  • Hangtown Moto 2 – Zach Osborne – 2:02.473
  • Glen Helen Moto 1 – Cooper Webb – 2:30.635
  • Glen Helen Moto 2 – Austin Forkner – 2:32.143
  • Thunder Valley Moto 1 – Joey Savatgy – 2:12.506
  • Thunder Valley Moto 2 – Joey Savatgy – 2:12.099
  • High Point Moto 1 -Zach Osborne – 2:03.830
  • High Point Moto 2 – Aaron Plessinger – 2:03.182
  • Muddy Creek Moto 1 – Cooper Webb – 1:55.155
  • Muddy Creek  Moto 2 – Jordan Smith – 1:56.088
  • Red Bud Moto 1 – Cooper Webb – 2:00.882
  • Red Bud Moto 2 – Cooper Webb – 2:01.676


  • Cooper Webb…243 Points
  • Joey Savatgy…232 Points
  • Jeremy Martin… 209 Points
  • Alex Martin…198 Points
  • Zach Osborne…190 Points

_DSC0652_Kyoshi_Trey Canard_THunder Valley_National_Colorado_060420165Three of the four riders in this photo are out with injury. While Trey Canard (41) may return in the next few races, Cole Seely (14) and Josh Grant (33) are out.


450 Class

Ryan Dungey – Dungey’s crash at Thunder Valley looked like no big deal. He got up and finished the moto. After the fact, doctors discovered a crack in the C6 vertebrae.
Cole Seely – Out with a broken finger.
Jason Anderson – Out with a broken collarbone.
Trey Canard – Trey is suffering from a bulged disc in his back.
Josh Grant  – Ankle surgery cut his season short.
James Stewart – James most likely will return at Southwick (at least according to him).
Dean Wilson – Dean Wilson has been out since he tore his ACL during the Supercross season. He will make his return at Millville.

250 Class

Jessy Nelson – Injured his knee at Thunder Valley.
Alex Frye – Troy Lee Designs’ Alex Frye sustained a torn ACL and additional torn ligaments in his knee. He will be out for the rest of the 2016 National season.
Justin Hill –Hill, another Troy Lee Designs KTM rider, hurt his back. He is on the bike, but there’s no word on when he will return.
Tristan Charboneau – Tristan broke his collarbone at Glen Helen. He also is back on the bike, but there is no confirmation as to what race he will return at.
Chris Alldredge – Still recovering from a pelvis injury he suffered in Las Vegas.
Christian Craig – Craig collided with teammate Jordon Smith at Glen Helen. In the crash, Craig broke his tib/fib. He is out for the season.

You might also like