Ryan Dungey, of Minnesota, won the 450 class at his home track in Millville, Minnesota with the help of Chad Reed’s sky-shot. Reed, who had won the first moto, hit a kicker on the face of the track’s largest jump at the start of moto two and spun wildly up the face. Reed was separated from his bike and flew over the jump and off to the side of the track. Without a parachute, Reed flailed his arms to stay upright and eventually hit the ground with a thud. He lay motionless for a long time, but bravely remounted and continued on.Reed was lapped by Dungey and Villopoto, but he managed to secure 14th place (and enough points to maintain his 450 motocross championship points lead).

After Reed’s sub-orbital flight, Villopoto ran up front for most of the moto, but Dungey caught up to him on lap 13 and made a swift pass. Villopoto was out of position when Dungey got under him and stuffed the front end of his Kawasaki into the soft dirt on the outside of the rut that Dungey was in. Villopoto went down, but with a 50-second lead over third place Trey Canard, he remounted for second in the moto.

Dungey said, “I love coming back here. It’s my home track. As I went through the second moto, Ryan opened a gap. I knew it was hot, so I didn’t want to push it, but my laps were good. Then I saw my laps were getting better and better, and I was gaining on him. That’s when I knew I had to push, even if it hurt. I was able to get up there, make the pass, and grab the overall.”

Villopoto’s runner-up effort in the final moto landed him second on the overall podium (3-2), while Canard rounded things out in his 450 Class motocross debut in third (5-3).

Villopoto said, “Ryan got beside me, and I squared up a right hander. He had more momentum and got inside. I tried letting off, but got into the powder and just fell over. Lappers were an issue, but Ryan was riding good; the guy to beat in that second moto.”

Reed said, “I hit some bumps and the front wheel just went out from under me. The next thing I know, I’m flying through the air. I’m just happy to still be here. It’s all about the championship. I wasn’t about to lay down and let these guys gain 25 points, so I just went out there and rode my best and took my 14th. It’s always going to be a fight, and now it’s definitely going to be that way. I’m excited for the rest of the races.”


Dean Wilson and Tyla Rattray dueled for the first moto win. Wilson led, while Rattray followed with a slightly quicker pace. But, Rattray had to settle for second as Wilson held on for the victory in moto one. Blake Baggett rounded out the Pro Circuit sweep by finishing third in front of Kyle Cunningham.

In Moto two, someone other than a Pro Circuit rider got to lead…if only for one lap…when Kyle Cunningham got to the front. Tyla Rattray, however, dispatched Cunningham on lap two. Then Wilson passed Cunningham. Then Blake Baggett passed Cunningham. Kyle Cunningham went 4-4 to be the first non-Pro Circuit rider in the race. Local hero, his dad owns the racetrack, Alex Martin got fifth overall behind Rattray (2-1), Wilson (1-2), Baggett (3-3) and Cunningham (4-4).

Dean Wilson leads the 250 National Championship points standings by 16 points over Rattray. Baggett is third overall in the points. Kyle Cunningham is fourth in the points, but is 85 points behind third place Baggett and 106 points behind Wilson. You can rightly assume that a Pro Circuit rider is going to win the 2011 AMA 250 National Championship.

1. Ryan Dungey (Suz)… 2-1
2. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)… 3-2
3. Trey Canard (Hon)… 5-3
4. Mike Alessi (KTM)… 4-4
5. Chad Reed (Hon)… 1-14
6. Brett Metcalfe (Suz)… 6-5
7. Jake Weimer (Kaw)… 8-6
8. Andrew Short (KTM)… 7-9
9. Justin Brayton (Yam)… 12-7
10. Kevin Windham (Hon)… 11-10
11. Jimmy Albertson (Hon)…10-11
12. Tye Simmonds (KTM)… 9-12
13. Michael Byrne (Suz)… 13-13
14. Tommy Hahn (Yam)…33-8
15. Fredrik Noren (Hon)…14-17
16. Travis Sewell (Yam)…16-16
17. Nick Wey (Yam)…29-15
18. Ricky Dietrich (Yam)…15-24
19. Vince Friese (Yam)…20-18
20. Ben Lamay (Yam)…17-32

1. Tyla Rattray … 2-1
2. Dean Wilson … 1-2
3. Blake Baggett (Kaw)… 3-3
4. Kyle Cunningham (Yam)… 4-4
5. Alex Martin (Hon)… 7-5
6. Broc Tickle (Kaw)… (6-9
7. Wil Hahn (Hon)… 9-8
8. Gareth Swanepoel (Yam)… 5-12
9. Gannon Audette (Yam)… 15-10
10. Jason Anderson (Suz)… 14-1
11. Martin Davalos (Suz)…10-15
12. Justin Barcia (Hon)…36-6
13. Eli Tomac (Hon)…29-7
14. Darryn Durham (Hon)…8-33
15. Malcolm Syewart (Suz)…11-31
16. Matt Lemoine (Kaw)…12-36
17. Travis Baker (Hon)…22-13
18. Nick Paluzzi (Suz)…18-16
19. Ryan Sipes (Yam)…13-35
20. Cole Seely (Hon)…23-14

1. Chad Reed…300
2. Ryan Villopoto…294
3. Ryan Dungey…293
4. Brett Metcalfe…209
5. Kevin Windham…193
6. Davi Millsaps…173
7. Andrew Short…156
8. Mike Alessi…151
9. Jake Weimer…140
10. Christian Craig…119

1. Dean Wilson…305
2. Tyla Rattray…289
3. Blake Baggett…284
4. Kyle Cunningham…199
5. Eli Tomac…190
6. Broc Tickle…170
7. Justin Barcia…152
8. Gareth Swanepoel…145
9. Martin Davalos…128
10. Darryn Durham..122

You might also like