مقابلة MXA: جنوب أفريقيا CALVIN VLAANDEREN

قد لا يكون Calvin Vlaanderen اسم موتوكروس منزلي في أمريكا. ومع ذلك ، فهو خليفة لجريج ألبرتين من جنوب إفريقيا ، وجرانت لانجستون ، وتيلا راتراي. ومثل أسلافه ، يركز كالفن أولاً على بطولة العالم. هل سينجح؟ لا نعلم ، ولكن في سباق بطولة العالم المختصر الخاص به حتى الآن ، كان أداؤه جيدًا. 

بواسطة Jim Kimball

CALVIN ، دعنا نبدأ بأول أيام ركوبك في جنوب إفريقيا قبل أن تنتقل إلى سلسلة MX2 العالمية. اشترى والدي أنا وأخي PW50 عندما كنا في الرابعة من العمر. بدأنا الركوب في حديقة على الطريق من منزلنا ، ثم انتقلنا إلى سباقات موتوكروس نادي صغير في كيب تاون. في وقت لاحق ، عندما كنا على 125cc دراجات قال والدي ، "إذا كنت ترغب في الحصول على مهنة من هذا ، فسوف نحتاج إلى الانتقال إلى أوروبا وإعطائها حقًا." عندما كان الأطفال يكبرون ، كان أخي دائمًا "الذكي" ، بينما كنت دائمًا "الرياضي". ثم اختار أخي الاستمرار في المدرسة ، والذهاب إلى الكلية ، بينما اخترت الانتقال إلى أوروبا والاستمرار في ملاحقة حلمي في أن أصبح بطلاً للعالم في موتوكروس.

أتذكر منح لانغستون حديثًا مؤكدًا أن مشهد موتوكروس في جنوب إفريقيا لم يكن جيدًا عندما كان يتسابق؟ الآن موتوكروس جنوب أفريقيا ليست كبيرة. لم يعد هناك الكثير من المسارات حولها. المسارات التي لديهم متوفرة بالتأكيد ليست في نفس الدوري كما هو الحال في أوروبا أو أمريكا. من الصعب جدًا على متسابق موتوكروس الجنوب أفريقي أن يصنع مهنة حقيقية. ولكن مع ذلك ، أعتقد أن هناك بعض الدراجين العظماء الموهوبين هناك! وهذا يمكن أن يستمر ويجعل مهنة الخروج من السباق!

ما هي المرة الأولى التي دخلت فيها بطولة MX2 العالمية؟ في عام 2014 ، عندما كنت محظوظًا بما يكفي للحصول على فرصة لتجربة سلسلة MX2 Motocross. لقد شاركت في سباقين جي بي وتعلمت الكثير في هذين السباقين. كان لدي على الأقل لمسة من الخبرة في سلسلة 2015!

كيف كان أول موسم كامل يخوض سباق الجائزة الكبرى؟ حسنًا ، كان من المفترض أن يكون عام 2015 هو أول موسم لي في أوروبا ، لكنني تعرضت لإصابة خطيرة في البداية. لقد تسابقت ثلاث مرات فقط في نهاية العام. منذ ذلك الحين لم يكن لدي موسم كامل دون أن أخسر بعض الجولات. في عام 2016 فاتني خمس جولات ، وفي عام 2017 فاتني ست جولات. لقد كان من الصعب قول أقل شيء ، لكنني تعلمت الكثير في كل موسم ، وأنا أتطلع إلى عام 2018!

التجديد لمدة دقيقة. عندما غادرت جنوب إفريقيا من أجل أوروبا في مثل هذا العمر الشاب يجب أن تكون تعديلًا كبيرًا. انتقلت من جنوب أفريقيا إلى ألمانيا في عام 2012. كانت هذه الخطوة سهلة للغاية بالنسبة لي. أنا شخص سهل يتعايش مع الجميع ، وقد ساعد ذلك الترانزستورات كثيرًا. جاءت أمي معي في البداية لمساعدتي على الاستقرار ، لكنها غادرت بعد حوالي ثلاثة أسابيع. من الواضح أنه كان من الصعب جداً الابتعاد عن عائلتي. اشتقت إليهم بشكل رهيب في الأشهر القليلة الأولى ، ولكن بعد ذلك اعتدت على ذلك. قال العديد من راكبي موتوكروس الجنوب أفريقيين السابقين إن أمريكا تشبه جنوب إفريقيا أكثر من أوروبا. لكنني ذهبت إلى أمريكا فقط لفترة قصيرة جدًا عندما ذهبت إلى فلوريدا من أجل USGP. كانت رحلة قصيرة ، لدرجة أنني لم أستطع مقارنتها.

عندما ذهبت لأول مرة لسباق الممارس العام كان ذلك عندما بدأت مع فريق اللوجستيات HSF؟ نعم ، لقد بدأت معهم في عام 2015. بدأ الفريق لأول مرة في عام 2013 بسباق بطولات موتوكروس الأوروبية ، ثم بدأ سلسلة بطولة MX2 العالمية في عام 2015. كان الفريق جديدًا للغاية وكان بحاجة إلى تعلم الكثير ، وهو ما فعلوه . حقق الفريق أداءً جيدًا للغاية في مثل هذه الفترة الزمنية القصيرة! كل عام معهم ، كبر الفريق وأنا. أنا محظوظ حقًا لأنني شاركت معهم ، وقادرة على تمثيلهم خلال السنوات الماضية. بالتأكيد لن أكون حيث أنا اليوم بدون فريق HSF Motorsport!

أذكر أنني شاهدت اسمك لأول مرة في النتائج المجمعة في عام 2016 حيث كان لديك بعض النتائج الجيدة جدًا المختلطة مع بعض DNF'S. أشعر أنني نمت كثيرًا كمتسابق في عام 2016. بشكل عام ، كان لدي موسم قوي جدًا. في بداية العام ، قمت بلف كاحلي ، ومزقت بعض الأربطة بشكل سيء للغاية. بدأت الأمور ببطء بعد ذلك ، وكنت ألتقطها مرة أخرى عندما كسرت شفرة الكتف. بعد العودة للدراجة أخيرًا ، حصلت على بعض النتائج الخمسة الأولى في فئة مكدسة للغاية ، لذلك كان ذلك رائعًا! ولكن بعد ذلك في الجولة الأخيرة من سلسلة GP ، تحطمت مع متسابق آخر ومزقت ACL. كما يعلم الجميع ، هذه إصابة خطيرة وتستغرق وقتًا طويلاً للتعافي منها. لقد أعادني ذلك حقًا فيما يتعلق بالاستعداد لعام 2017.

هذا صحيح ، في عام 2017 ، سجلت بعض التشطيبات الانطباعية للغاية ، على الرغم من نهاية عام 2016 بإصابة كبيرة. نعم ، بدأ عام 2017 ببطء شديد. في أول حفنة من السباقات ، كنت بطيئًا جدًا من عدم الركوب كثيرًا ، والاستعداد. ولكن عندما عدنا من سباقات فلاي أواي إلى أوروبا ، بدأت بعمل أفضل وأفضل في كل جولة. تمكنت من الانتهاء على منصة التتويج في لاتفيا ، وقد تأثر الفريق حقًا بهذا الأمر. بعد أسبوع واحد فقط تحطمت وأصبت بإبهامى ، مما أخرجنى لستة أسابيع أخرى. في USGP ، تحطمت ولم أستطع السباق ، ولكن في السباق التالي في هولندا ، أخطأت الشعير في التتويج ، واحتل المركز الرابع. لقد كنت أحد أسرع الدراجين في MX2 هذا العام ، لكني كافحت لتجميعها معًا وإبقائها هناك.

كان هناك الكثير من المحادثات حول فريق HSF MOTORSPORT لعام 2018. إذا فهمت بشكل صحيح ، فإنهم يوقفون فريقهم من السباق ، ولكنهم يتحولون إلى فريق HONDA HRC. هذا صحيح ، سيتوقف فريق HSF ويتفكك. كما سمعتم ، سيصبحون الراعي الأساسي أو الراعي الرئيسي لمجلس حقوق الإنسان. لا أعرف حقًا أين يتركني هذا ، لكنني آمل أن أتمكن من تقديم بعض الأخبار في وقت ما في المستقبل القريب. بطريقة أو بأخرى ، سأقوم بالسباق!

كيف تتسابق في أمريكا ، هل هذا يهمك؟ تتحدى؛ أنا مهتم بالتأكيد بالقدوم إلى أمريكا! لكنني أخطط للبقاء في أوروبا لمدة عامين آخرين ، في هذا الوقت. ولكن إذا أتيحت الفرصة ، وكان كل شيء مناسبًا ، فقد تراني أتسابق AMA Supercross ، وموتوكروس!

قد يعجبك ايضا

MXA INTERVIEW: SOUTH AFRICA’S CALVIN VLAANDEREN

Calvin Vlaanderen may not be a household motocross name in America. Yet, he is a successor to South Africa’s Greg Albertyn, Grant Langston, and Tyla Rattray. And like his predecessors, Calvin is first focusing on a World Championship. Will he succeed? We don’t know, but in his abbreviated World Championship racing to date, he has done pretty well. 

By Jim Kimball

CALVIN, LETS BEGIN WITH YOUR FIRST DAYS OF RIDING IN SOUTH AFRICA BEFORE YOU MOVED TO THE WORLD MX2 SERIES. My dad bought my brother and myself a PW50 when we were four years old. We started riding at a park down the road from our house, and then moved on to small club motocross races in Cape Town. Later, when we were on 125cc bikes my dad said, “if you want to make a career out of this, we will need to move to Europe and truly give it a go.” As kids growing up, my brother was always the “smart one”, while I was always the “sporty” one. My brother then chose to continue on with school, and going to college, while I chose to move to Europe and continue to chase my dream of becoming a world champion in Motocross.

I RECALL GRANT LANGSTON RECENTLY SAYING THAT THE MOTOCROSS SCENE IN SOUTH AFRICA WAS NOT AS GOOD WHEN HE WAS RACING? Right now South African motocross is not that great. There are not so many tracks around anymore. The tracks they do have available are definitely not in the same league as in Europe, or America. It is very difficult for a South African motocross rider to really make a career out of it. But still, I believe there are some great riders there who are very talented! And that could go on and make a career out of racing!

WHAT WAS THE FIRST TIME YOU ENTERED THE WORLD MX2 CHAMPIONSHIPS? In 2014 was when I was lucky enough to get a chance to try the MX2 Motocross series. I raced two GP’s and I learned so much in those two races. I at least had a touch of experience going into the 2015 series!

HOW WAS THAT FIRST FULL SEASON RACING THE GP’S? Well, 2015 was supposed to be my first full season in Europe, but I got seriously injured right at the start. I only raced three GP’s towards the end of the year. Since then I haven’t really had a full season without missing some rounds. In 2016 I missed five rounds, and in 2017 I missed six. It’s been tough to say the least, but every season I have learned so much more, and I am really looking forward to 2018!

REWINDING FOR A MINUTE. WHEN YOU LEFT SOUTH AFRICA FOR EUROPE AT SUCH A YOUNG AGE IT MUST HAVE BEEN A BIG ADJUSTMENT. I moved from South Africa to Germany in 2012. The move was actually pretty easy for me. I am an easy-going person who gets along with about everyone, and that helped the transistion a lot. My mom came over with me at first to help me get settled, but then she left after about three weeks. Obviously it was pretty tough to be away from my family. I missed them terribly the first few months, but then I got more used to it. Many previous South African motocross riders have said America is more similar to South Africa than Europe. But I have only been to America for a very short time when I went to Florida for the USGP. It was such a short trip, that I could not really compare it.

WHEN YOU FIRST WENT TO RACE THE GP’S IS THAT WHEN YOU STARTED WITH THE HSF LOGISTICS TEAM? Yes, I started with them in 2015. The team first started back in 2013 with racing the European motocross championships, and then started the World Championship MX2 series in 2015. The team was very new, and needed to learn a lot, which they did. The team did very well in such a short time period! Every year with them, both the team and myself grew. I am truly blessed to have been involved with them, and able to represent them for these past years. I definitely would not be where I am today without the HSF Motorsport Team!

I RECALL FIRST SEEING YOUR NAME IN THE RESULTS COLUMN BACK IN 2016 WHERE YOU HAD SOME VERY GOOD RESULTS MIXED IN WITH SOME DNF’S. I feel that I really grew a lot as a racer in 2016. Overall, I had a pretty solid season. In the beginning of the year I twisted my ankle, and tore some ligaments pretty badly. Things started off slow after that, and I was picking it back up when I broke a shoulder blade. After finally getting back on the bike I had a few top five results in a class that was very stacked, so that was great! But then in the very last round of the GP series I crashed with another rider and tore my ACL. As everyone knows, that is a serious injury, and takes a long time to recover from. That really set me back as far as getting ready for 2017.

THAT’S RIGHT, IN 2017 YOU SCORED SOME VERY IMPRESSIVE FINISHES, IN SPITE OF ENDING 2016 WITH A HUGE INJURY. Yes, 2017 started off very slowly. Coming into the first handful of races, I was just too slow from not riding very much, and being ready. But later when we returned from the Flyaway races to Europe I began doing better and better at every round. I managed to finish on the podium in Latvia, and the team was really pumped about it. Just one week later I crashed and injured my thumb, which put me out for another six weeks. At the USGP I crashed and could not race, but then at the next race in The Netherlands I barley missed the podium, and finished fourth. I was one of the fastest riders in MX2 this year, but I struggled to put it all together, and keep it there.

THERE HAS BEEN A LOT OF TALK ABOUT THE HSF MOTORSPORT TEAM FOR 2018. IF I UNDERSTAND CORRECTLY, THEY ARE STOPPING THEIR RACE TEAM, BUT SHIFTING SPONSORSHIP TO THE HONDA HRC TEAM. That is true, the HSF Team will stop, and disband. As you heard, they will become the primary, or title sponsor for HRC. I don’t really know where that leaves me, but I hope to be able to give some news sometime in the soon future. One way or another, I will be racing!

HOW ABOUT RACING IN AMERICA, DOES THAT INTEREST YOU? You bet; I am definitely interested in coming to America! But I am planning on being in Europe for another two years, at this time. But if the opportunity arises, and everything fits well, you may see me racing AMA Supercross, and motocross!

You might also like