اختبار MXA RETRO: نحن نركب آخر سيارة صغيرة لجيمس ستيوارت

نشعر بالضباب أحيانًا عندما نفكر في الدراجات السابقة التي أحببناها وتلك التي يجب أن تظل منسية. نأخذك في رحلة إلى ممر الذاكرة مع اختبارات الدراجة التي تم حفظها وتجاهلها في أرشيفات MXA. نحن نتذكر قطعة من تاريخ الدراجات النارية التي تم إحياؤها. إليكم اختبارنا الأصلي في فبراير 2001 لآخر نسخة مصغرة لجيمس ستيوارت. 

إذا لم تكن قد سمعت عن جيمس ستيوارت ، فأنت بحاجة إلى الزحف من الصخرة التي كنت تعيش تحتها. جيمس ستيوارت هو ريكي كارمايكل القادم. إنه ليس جيريمي ماكغراث التالي ، لأن جيمس لا يتبع خطى جيريمي بقدر ما يتتبع حياة آر سي إلى T. لقد فاز بنفس ألقاب الهواة مثل ريكي (فقط أكثر). إنه من نفس الولاية. بدأ في نفس العمر تقريبًا. يركب نفس الماركة. إنه استنساخ ريكي كارمايكل ، مع استثناء واحد كبير - نواياه أن يكبر ويطرد ريكي من قاعدته.

في نهاية الموسم الماضي ، تخرج جيمس ستيوارت إلى 125 رتبة (قد نضيف بطريقة كبيرة). لقد كان متورطًا في أول منعطف في أول نزهة له وتعرض لإصابة في الكتف). لم يعد متسابقًا صغيرًا (مما يعني أن والده لم يعد أبًا صغيرًا).

ولكن ، قبل أن ينسى الجميع نجاح Stewart للدراجات الصغيرة ، حصلنا على SplitFire KX85 مباشرة من تحته (بعد أن انسحب من مسار Loretta Lynn ببطولة الهواة التي يبلغ عددها 10 مليارات) وأخذها إلى المنزل إلى SoCal لذا MXA يمكن للطاقم المدمر معرفة ما إذا كان لديه ميزة غير عادلة.

إذا كان بإمكانك البدء باستخدام موديل KX2001 موديل 85 ، فأنت محظوظ (بخلاف ذلك ، عليك تحمل KX80). بدأ Stewart مع BOX STOCK 2000 KX80 وقم بإسقاطه إلى الإطار كيف تجعل دراجتك تبدو مثل STEWART'S KX85؟

إذا كان بإمكانك البدء بـ KX2001 85 ، فأنت محظوظ (وإلا فسيتعين عليك تحمل KX80). بدأ Stewart بمخزون صندوق 2000 KX80 وقام بتمزيقه إلى الإطار (والذي تم إرساله بعد ذلك إلى Olympic Powder Coating للحصول على معالجة الإطار الأخضر الفلوريسنت). بمجرد أن يصبح الإطار أخضرًا ، تم وضعه مرة أخرى مع بلاستيك UFO نسخة طبق الأصل من SplitFire ، ولوحة أرقام أمامية ذات فتحات تهوية من Cycra ، ورسومات N-Style وحافات Excel سوداء


ما يجعل دراجة ستيوارت جيدة جدًا هو أن القوة تتحسن من الأعلى إلى الأسفل. المحرك لا يضحك بأي جزء من القوة.

كان من المقرر إجراء عملية تجديد كبيرة في Kawasaki's 2000 KX80. عرفت Pro Circuit ذلك ، ولكي تقول الحقيقة ، عرفت Kawasaki الحقيقة. بينما كانت الدراجة على الإطار ، اخترقت Pro Circuit المحرك. أولاً ، تم تقسيم العلب ، ثم مطابقتها ، وإزالة أي أخطاء في الصب وتنعيم بعض الحواف الخشنة.

كان التالي على جدول الأعمال هو حمل المحرك إلى 85 سم مكعب ، وهو الحد الأقصى الذي تسمح به AMA في فئة 80cc. لا تقلق ، نحن نعرف ما تفكر فيه. القاعدة لا معنى لها. نحن نتفق ، ولكن هذه هي القواعد ولم يكن ستيوارت على وشك أن يُضعف من القوة فقط حتى يمكنه القول إنه ركب 80 دراجة فعلية. بالطبع ، لا تعد دراجة SplitFire دراجة سباق حتى يتم تجهيزها بدائرة Pro Circuit " أنبوب وكاتم صوت قصير من الفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ.

ما يجعل دراجة Stewart جيدة جدًا هو تحسين القوة من أعلى إلى أسفل. المحرك لا يضحي بأي جزء من powerband. كما هو الحال مع معظم الصور المصغرة ، ستحقق المزيد من النجاح إذا لم تحاول سحبها. يجب أن تدع المحرك يضرب في المدى المتوسط ​​ويدور إلى القمر.

سنقوم بتفكيكها على النحو التالي: إذا كان طفلك كبيرًا ويشكو من التعليق - ابدأ من هناك. إذا اعتقد أن دراجته بطيئة ، فابدأ بالمحرك. كيف تتعامل مع مقبض ستيوارت KX80؟

فوركس: تم تفريغ نوابض الشوكة .28 كجم / مم من أجل نوابض أكثر صلابة .31 كجم / مم ، في حين تم أخذ الضغط من 7 نقرات إلى 10. تخلصت Bones Bacon من Pro Circuit تمامًا من أداة ضبط ضغط المخزون واستبدلت بالوحدة خارج YZ80 من Yamaha (أعيدت صياغته باستخدام الصمامات الخاصة به). إذا كنت تتساءل عن الارتداد ، فإن شوكات Kayaba لا تحتوي على أي تعديل ارتداد خارجي. كانت اللمسات الأخيرة للشوكات عبارة عن مجموعة Pro Circuit Works KYB وتبطنها بالتدفق مع المشبك الثلاثي العلوي.

صدمة: كانت الصدمة أصعب قليلاً على الامتداد. قام Bones Bacon بإطالة الصدمة واستبدال قضبان سحب المخزون بأخرى أقصر (أدى ذلك إلى رفع الجزء الخلفي من الدراجة). تم تخفيض مخزون الزنبرك 4.8 كجم / مم من أجل زنبرك أكثر صلابة 5.0 كجم / مم. ظل الضغط على صدمة ستيوارت كما هو الحال في المخزون (عند نقرتين للخارج) ، ولكن الارتداد انتقل من 2 نقرات إلى 9. لن تكتمل أي صدمة أعمال بدون القليل من الأكسيد الصلب ، ومصد أكبر وغطاء أكبر للمثانة.

ماذا عن أجزاء الأعمال؟

لقد ذكرنا بالفعل التعليق الأطول ، لكن Pro Circuit لا تتوقف أبدًا في محاولتها جعل Stewart يشعر بالراحة قدر الإمكان. يتميز Stewart's KX بمجموعة من المشابك الثلاثية Pro Circuit التي تكون أعلى من المشابك.

لن تكون أي دراجة أعمال مصنعًا كاملاً بدون دعامات أقدام أكبر ، وقابض قابض سريع الضبط ، وبرميل خنق من الألومنيوم ، وقضبان رنتال ، ومقبض رينتال. أما بالنسبة للحماية ، فكل دراجة عمل تحتاج إلى واقيات إطار من وصلة العمل ولوحة انزلاق. أخيرًا وليس آخرًا ، لن يكتمل أي محرك بقوة حصان عالية بدون سلة القابض Hinson للتأكد من عدم انزلاق القابض.

هل يحتاج طفلك إلى نسخة طبق الأصل من جيمس ستيوارت؟

بالطبع يفعل! لا ينبغي أن يُسمح لك بتسمية نفسك بأب صغير إلا إذا كنت قد عصفت بمستقبل العائلة لمنح جونيور فرصة للنجومية ؛ ومع ذلك ، فإن الحقيقة هي أن Junior ربما لا يحتاج إلى جميع تعديلات ستيوارت. سنقوم بتفصيلها على النحو التالي: إذا كان طفلك كبيرًا ويشكو من التعليق - ابدأ من هناك. إذا كان يعتقد أن دراجته بطيئة - ابدأ بالمحرك. بالنسبة إلى جميع الأشياء المهمة - تحقق مع محللك المالي.

بغض النظر عن اختيارك ، سيكون طفلك سعيدًا ، وهذا من شأنه أن يجعل أي أب صغير يحترم نفسه سعيدًا.


ما هي التكلفة: محرك جيمس ستيوارت SPLITFIRE KAWASAKI KX85

تعديل الاسطوانة والرأس: $290.00
حالات المطابقة: $80.00
الحالات المقسمة: $295.00
سلة القابض Hinson: $225.00
28 ملم كارب: $188.95
غطاء الإشعال: $89.00
تعديل Airbox: $100.00
أنبوب أعمال الكمبيوتر: $191.00

قد يعجبك ايضا

MXA RETRO TEST: WE RIDE JAMES STEWART’S LAST MINI

We get misty-eyed sometimes thinking about past bikes we loved and those that should remain forgotten. We take you on a trip down memory lane with bike tests that got filed away and disregarded in the MXA archives. We reminisce on a piece of moto history that has been resurrected. Here is our original February 2001 test of James Stewart’s last mini. 

If you haven’t heard of James Stewart, you need to crawl out from the rock you’ve been living under. James Stewart is the next Ricky Carmichael. He’s not the next Jeremy McGrath, because James isn’t following in Jeremy’s footsteps as much as he is tracing RC’s life to a T. He’s won the same amateur titles as Ricky (only more). He’s from the same state. He started at about the same age. He rides the same brand. He’s Ricky Carmichael’s clone, with one big exception—his intentions are to grow up and knock Ricky off his pedestal.

At the end of this last season, James Stewart graduated into the 125 ranks (in a big way we might add). He was involved in a first turn pileup in his first outing and suffered a shoulder injury). He’s no longer a mini rider (which means his dad is no longer a mini dad).

But, before everyone forgets Stewart’s minicycle success, we grabbed his SplitFire KX85 right out from underneath him (after he pulled off the Loretta Lynn track with his 10 billionth amateur championship) and took it home to SoCal so the MXA wrecking crew could see if he had an unfair advantage.

IF YOU CAN START OFF WITH A 2001 KX85, YOU’RE LUCKY (OTHERWISE YOU HAVE TO BORE OUT YOUR KX80). STEWART STARTED OUT WITH A BOX STOCK 2000 KX80 AND TORE IT DOWN TO THE FRAME HOW DO YOU MAKE YOUR BIKE LOOK LIKE STEWART’S  KX85?

If you can start off with a 2001 KX85, you’re lucky (otherwise you have to bore out your KX80). Stewart started out with a box stock 2000 KX80 and tore it down to the frame (which was then sent off to Olympic Powder Coating to get the fluorescent green frame treatment). Once the frame was flo-greened, it was put back together with SplitFire-replica UFO plastic, a Cycra vented front number plate, N-Style graphics and black Excel rims


WHAT MAKES STEWART’S BIKE SO GOOD IS THAT THE POWER IS IMPROVED FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. THE ENGINE DOESN’T SACRIFICE ANY PART OF THE POWERBAND.

Kawasaki’s 2000 KX80 was due for a major renovation. Pro Circuit knew it and, to tell the truth, so did Kawasaki. While the bike was down to the frame, Pro Circuit tore into the engine. First the cases were split, then matched, removing any casting errors and smoothing out certain rough edges.

Next on the agenda was to bore the engine out to 85cc, which is the max the AMA allows in the 80cc class. Don’t worry, we know what you are thinking. The rule doesn’t make any sense. We agree, but those are the rules and Stewart wasn’t about to be underpowered just so he could say he rode an actual 80. Of course, a SplitFire bike isn’t a race bike until it is equipped with a Pro Circuit “works” pipe and Shorty stainless silencer.

What makes Stewart’s bike so good is that the power is improved from top to bottom. The engine doesn’t sacrifice any part of the powerband. As with most minis, you’ll have more success if you don’t try to lug it. You should let the engine hit in the midrange and rev to the moon.

WE’D BREAK IT DOWN LIKE THIS: IF YOUR KID IS BIG AND COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SUSPENSION—START THERE. IF HE THINKS HIS BIKE IS SLOW—START WITH THE ENGINE. HOW DOES STEWART’S KX80 HANDLE?

Forks: The stock .28 kg/mm fork springs were dumped for stiffer .31 kg/mm springs, while the compression was taken from 7 clicks out to 10. Pro Circuit’s Bones Bacon completely threw away the stock compression adjuster and replaced it with the unit off of Yamaha’s YZ80 (reworked with his own valving). If you are wondering about rebound, the Kayaba forks don’t have any external rebound adjustment. The finishing touches to the forks were a Pro Circuit Works KYB kit and lining them up flush with the top triple clamp.

Shock: The shock was a little tougher to stretch. Bones Bacon lengthened the shock and replaced the stock pull rods with shorter ones (this raised the rear of the bike). The stock 4.8 kg/mm spring rate was dropped for a stiffer 5.0 kg/mm spring. The compression on Stewart’s shock stayed the same as stock (at 2 clicks out), but the rebound went from 9 clicks out to 8. No works shock would be complete without a little hard anodizing, a bigger bumper and a slightly larger bladder cap.

WHAT ABOUT THE WORKS PARTS?

We’ve already mentioned the taller suspension, but Pro Circuit never stops in its attempt to make Stewart feel as comfortable as possible. Stewart’s KX features a set of Pro Circuit triple clamps that are higher than the stockers.

No works bike would be full factory without bigger footpegs, a quick-adjust clutch perch, aluminum throttle barrel, Renthal bars and Renthal grips. As for protection, every works bike needs Works Connection frame guards and a skid plate. Last, but not least, no high-horsepower engine would be complete without a Hinson clutch basket to make sure the clutch doesn’t slip.

DOES YOUR KID NEED A JAMES STEWART REPLICA?

Of course he does! You shouldn’t be allowed to call yourself a mini dad unless you’ve hocked the family’s future to give Junior a shot at stardom; however, the truth is Junior probably doesn’t need all of Stewart’s modifications. We’d break it down like this: if your kid is big and complaining about the suspension—start there. If he thinks his bike is slow—start with the engine. As for all the bolt-on stuff—check with your financial analyst.

No matter what your choice, your kid will be happy, and that should make any self-respecting mini dad happy.


WHAT IT COSTS: JAMES STEWART’S SPLITFIRE KAWASAKI KX85 ENGINE

Cylinder & head modification: $290.00
Match cases: $80.00
Split cases: $295.00
Hinson clutch basket: $225.00
28mm carb: $188.95
Ignition cover: $89.00
Airbox modification: $100.00
PC works pipe: $191.00

You might also like