Click on images to enlarge

Photos by Massimo Zanzani


MXGPstart_MXGP_11_LOM_2017It may look like Arminas Jasikonis (27) has the holeshot, but its a rare day when Tony Cairoli (222) doesn’t grab the lead off the start…and this day was no different.

Cairoli_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Cairoli swept both motos, as was expected in Italy, but his young opponents all faltered in their pursuit. Tony has a 67-point lead over Gautier Paulin.

Herlings_MXGP_11_LOM_2017The Ottobiano track was sandy, but Jeffrey Herlings (84) was not the sand master here—Tony Cairoli was. Herlings went 2-2, but is still 96 points behind Cairoli.

Anstie_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Brit Max Anstie, who isn’t even in the top ten in 450 GP points, finally made his mark with a third overall. Max is 12th overall, but missed two GPs with injuries.

Febvre_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Roman Febvre (461) went 4-6 for fourth overall. Here, Romain is chased by Spaniard Jose Butron who was 14th.

Nagl_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Max Nagl (12) was fifth in Italy. A couple years ago Nagl looked like he was the fastest man in the 450 class (and then got hurt). In 2017 he is already three full races out of the points lead.

Coldenhoff_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Glenn Coldenhoff, with a “Day at the Hoffice” on his butt patch, went 6-13 at Ottobiano.

Gajser_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Current 450 World Champion Tim Gajser is back from injury. He went 10-11. Gajser had to sit out France and Russia after concussion.

Jasikonis_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Arminas Jasikonis is a big boy. Jasonikos has been the sole Suzuki RM-Z450 rider since teammate Kevin Strijbos was injured at round 6. Jasikonis is racing the prototype 2018 Suzuki RM-Z450. Jasikonis wasn’t allowed to race in Qatar because of visa issues.

MXGPpodium_MXGP_11_LOM_2017The 450 podium: Dirk Geukens (getting the manufacturer award), Tony Cairoli (Center) and Max Anstie.

1. Antonio Cairoli…1-1
2. Jeffrey Herlings…2-2
3. Max Anstie…5-3
4. Romain Febvre…4-6
5. Max Nagl…7-4
6. Gautier Paulin…3-10
7. Clement Desalle…8-7
8. Arnaud Tonus…9-8
9. Glenn Coldenhoff…6-13
10. Tim Gajser…10-11

(After 11 of 19 Rounds)
1. Tony Cairoli…431
2. Gautier Paulin…364
3. Clement Desalle…361
4. Jeffrey Herlings…335
5. Tim Gajser…282
6. Romain Febvre…275
7. Jeremy Van Horebeek…261
8. Max Nagl…255
9. Evgeny Bobryshev…245
10. Arnaud Tonus…227


Seewer_MXGP_11_LOM_2017When the 250 GP season started, with Jeffrey Herlings finally moving to the 450 class, no one knew who the 250 Champion would be. Jeremy Seewer was a favorite and has held onto second in 250 GP points with rides like he had in Italy. His 1-2 took the gold.

Jonass_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Pauls Jonass has held the points lead for the majority of the season. His 5-1 in Italy cost him some points to Seewer, but he still has a 38-point lead.

Covington_MXGP_11_LOM_2017American Thomas Covington had a 4-3 day in Italy for third overall, but is a distant seventh in 250 GP points.

Paturel_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Benoit Paturel has the speed to win a GP. His 2-7 was good enough for fourth overall. Paturel is fifth in 250 GP points, but only 9 points out of fourth.

Vaessen_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Dutch riders always rise to the occasion when sand is involved. Bas Vaessen was fifth in Italy.

MX2start_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Luka Cmkovic (131) and Anthony Rodriquez (127), who is filling in at Team HRC Honda for two races, may have misjudged the drop of the gate. Cmkovic finished 31st, while Rodriquez went 16-16.

Olsen_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Thomac Kjer Olsen won the EMX250 Championship last year and has surprised a lot of 250 GP regulars this year. Olsen was ninth in Italy, but is still third in 250 Grand Prix points. Fourth in points, Julien Lieber went went 3-10 at Ottobiano and closed to gap to Olsen to only 4 points.

Watson_MXGP_11_LOM_2017Ben Watson (919) was the first British rider in 13th overall. He was also the only British rider in the 250 class at Ottobiano.

MX2podium_MXGP_11_LOM_2017The 250 podium: Pauls Jonass (left), Jeremy Seewer (center) and Thomas Covington (right).

1. Jeremy Seewer…1-2
2. Pauls Jonass…6-1
3. Thomas Covington…4-3
4. Benoit Paturel…2-7
5. Bas Vaessen…7-4
6. Julien Lieber 3-10
7. Alvin Ostlund…8-5
8. Brian Bogers…5-9
9. Thomas Kjer Olsen…10-6
10. Brent Van doninck…9-12

(After 11 of 19 Rounds)
1. Pauls Jonass…454
2. Jeremy Seewer…416
3. Thomas Kjer Olsen…343
4. Julien Lieber…339
5. Benoit Paturel…330
7. Thomas Covington…263
6. Jorge Prado…233
8. Brian Bogers…212
9. Hunter Lawrence…199
10. Brent Van doninck…195



You might also like