一摄一故事:数字摄影繁荣

订阅内部点击图片放大

OPOS 12.10.15约翰·巴舍(John Basher)

摩托车越野赛是一项艰巨的摄影活动。 当然,主题材料与世界上任何其他事物都不相同,但是要捕捉独特的事物是一项挑战。 很高兴看到这么多有抱负的年轻摄影师购买数码相机并前往全国各地练习赛道。 许多人有为自己的名字努力的动力和奉献精神。 由于数字技术的出现,拍摄出色照片的过程从未如此简单。 尽管可以轻松拍摄照片,但很难获得出色的越野摩托车照片听起来有多奇怪。 我想这和骑摩托车差不多。 绝大多数可以使节流阀转动,但很少能快速转动。

在过去,也就是说在数码照片革命之前,摄影师不得不了解相机的内部原理。 我仍然记得我的高中摄影老师雷妮·韦伯·沃特尼亚克夫人学过相机的复杂之处。 我在暗室中冲洗胶片,并按照以下步骤制作了黑白照片。 想象一下现在必须这样做。 注意跨度越来越短。 在经历“停止沐浴”过程之前,孩子们失去理智的印象贯穿了我的脑海。 对不起,孩子们,但是您手机屏幕上的光线会破坏您的图像。

当我在Motocross Action上演出时,我把暗室放在了我身后。 吸入臭鸡蛋味的Fixer溶液所花费的时间已经一去不复返了。 取而代之的是,我花时间去了MXA富丽堂皇的塔楼的前面,手里拿着供应清单,买了几十卷Fujichrome Velvia 50彩色幻灯片。 那部电影是2004年的大猫。我不知道那些日子MXA花了几千美元的电影处理费。 通常,一卷胶卷的周转时间为两天,具体取决于我是将胶卷下车到冲洗设备,还是懒散地等待胶卷冲洗机在办公室取卷。 很难相信电影摄影是十年前的王者。 认为花了几天的时间才能看到照片的拍摄结果令人莫名其妙。 之后,我不得不在幻灯机上查看每张照片以检查清晰度。 放大镜是我最好的朋友。

“'祈祷与祈祷'的想法在财务上是不可行的。 您有36个机会在重新加载胶片盒之前进行拍摄。 因此,是的,要知道您在镜头后所做的事情,这是可以说的。 但是,胶片摄影的辉煌时代已经过去了。”

我确实想念电影摄影的某些方面。 这个过程虽然绝不算快,但从科学上讲是如此酷。 还需要一位经验丰富且学识渊博的摄影师才能拍摄出好照片。 “喷雾和祈祷”的想法(摄影师用来按住快门按钮并进行连拍以希望获得好的照片的惯用术语)在财务上不可行。 在必须重新装入胶片盒之前,您有36个机会获得机会。 所以,是的,要说清楚您在镜头后面所做的事情,可以说些什么。 但是,电影摄影的辉煌时代已经一去不复返了。

令人高兴的是,随着数码相机的出现,摄影已经越来越流行。 就像我说的,年轻的越野摩托车爱好者如何拿起相机并拍摄好友的照片真是太好了。 不同的世代对什么是好照片带来了独特的见解。 这些孩子是数码摄影的“擦洗一代”。 他们在你面前,不怕失败。 也许他们唯一的失败是试图成为“ InstaFamous”,一个在Instagram上流行的术语。

我喜欢数码摄影。 新技术和新趋势教会我一次又一次地重塑自己。 这也让我破产了! 照相设备并不便宜,而且出售照片的收益也不再是过去。 幸运的是,激情依然存在。 拍摄这张2011年的Mat Rebeaud的照片。我们在加利福尼亚州Piru外的Wyvern Ranch拍摄了日落照片。 这位瑞士自由式骑手经历了他惯常使用的出色技巧,而我使用Hensel Porty频闪包在30英尺高处照亮了他。 这张照片创造了我四年后正在分享的记忆。 那就是摄影对我的全部意义。 帮自己一个忙,拿起相机(如果走电影路线,要拿大道具)。 它将为您带来新的机遇。  

订阅内部

你可能还喜欢

ONE PHOTO & ONE STORY: THE DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHY BOOM

SUBSCRIBEINTERNALClick on image to enlarge

OPOS 12.10.15By John Basher

Motocross is a tough activity to photograph. Sure, the subject material is unlike anything else in the world, but to capture something unique is challenging. It’s great to see so many young aspiring photographers buying digital cameras and heading out to practice tracks around the country. Many have the drive and dedication to make a name for themselves. Thanks to the advent of digital technology the act of shooting a good photo has never been easier. How strange it sounds that getting a great motocross photo is hard, despite the ease of taking a photo. I suppose it’s comparable to riding a motorcycle. The vast majority can twist the throttle, but very few can go fast.

In the old days–that is to say before the digital photo revolution–a photographer had to understand the inner workings of a camera. I still remember learning the intricacies of the camera from my high school photography teacher, Mrs. Renee Weber Wrotniak. I processed film in the darkroom and produced black-and-white prints by following a series of steps. Imagine having to do that now. Attention spans are getting shorter and shorter. An image of kids losing their minds before getting through the Stop Bath process runs through my mind. Sorry kids, but the light from your cell phone screens will ruin your images.

When I landed a gig at Motocross Action I put the darkroom behind me. Gone were the hours spent inhaling rotten-egg smelling Fixer solution. Instead my time was spent walking up to the front of MXA’s palatial towers with supply list in hand to get dozens of rolls of Fujichrome Velvia 50 color slide films. That film was the cat’s meow in 2004. I don’t know how many thousands of dollars MXA spent on film processing fees in those days. Typically the turnaround time on a roll of film was two days, depending on whether I drove the film down to the processing facility or lazily waited for the film processor to pick the rolls up at the office. It’s hard to believe film photography was king a decade ago. It’s more baffling to think that it took several days to see the results of a photo shoot. After that I had to look at every single photo on a slide projector to check sharpness. A slide loupe was my best friend.

“THE IDEA OF ‘SPRAY AND PRAY’ WASN’T FINANCIALLY FEASIBLE. YOU HAD 36 OPPORTUNITIES TO GET THE SHOT BEFORE HAVING TO RELOAD THE FILM CARTRIDGE. SO, YES, THERE’S SOMETHING TO BE SAID FOR KNOWING WHAT YOU’RE DOING BEHIND THE LENS. HOWEVER, THE GLORY DAYS OF FILM PHOTOGRAPHY ARE LONG GONE.”

I do miss certain aspects of film photography. The process, while not fast by any means, was scientifically so cool. It also took an experienced and learned photographer to get a good shot. The idea of “Spray and Pray” (an unendearing term photographers use for holding down the shutter button and shooting bursts in the hope of getting a good photo) wasn’t financially feasible. You had 36 opportunities to get the shot before having to reload a film cartridge. So, yes, there’s something to be said for knowing what you’re doing behind the lens. However, the glory days of film photography are long gone.

It’s nice to see that photography has grown in popularity with the advent of digital cameras. Like I said, it’s great how young motocross enthusiasts are picking up a camera and shooting photos of their buddies. Different generations bring a unique perspective on what makes a good photo. These kids are the “Scrubbing Generation” of digital photography. They’re in your face and unafraid of failure. Maybe their only downfall is in trying to become “InstaFamous,” a term for being popular on Instagram.

I like digital photography. New technology and trends have taught me to reinvent myself as a photographer again and again. It has also made me broke! Camera equipment isn’t cheap, and the payoff for selling photos isn’t what it once was. Fortunately the passion is still there. Take this photo of Mat Rebeaud from 2011. We had a sunset photo shoot set up at Wyvern Ranch outside of Piru, California. The Swiss freestyle rider ran through his usual bag of outstanding tricks while I used a Hensel Porty strobe pack to illuminate him at 30 feet up. The photo created a memory that I’m now sharing four years later. That’s what photography is all about for me. Do yourself a favor and pick up a camera (big props if you go the film route). It will open your mind to new opportunities.  

SUBSCRIBEINTERNAL

You might also like