乔迪断臂的流氓故事以及他如何爱“ ADAM 12”

乔迪(下中间)花了一些时间来思考山的陡峭程度。 圣海伦是。 他的自行车藏在顶部的尘埃云中。 它只跌了一小段距离,但乔迪(Jody)的下坡跌幅翻了三倍。

乔迪·韦瑟尔(Jody Weisel)

像大多数古老的越野摩托车赛车手一样,我的辉煌岁月早已褪去。 我知道我永远不会被掩盖 周期新闻 再次。 我很满足在达弗课上度过暮年的感觉。 因此,当我的微薄天赋与荣耀相伴数十年后,我的赛车能力使我成为Instagram,Facebook和聊天室的轰动者,您可以想像我的惊讶。 我如何在Facebook上流行并成为媒体宠儿和一夜之间的轰动? 我坠毁了 没什么大不了的。 我在没有 洛杉矶时报 曾经不愿意去核实事件。 但是,与所有新闻报道一样,最重要的新闻不是具有最大社会意义的事件。 他们是照片最好的人。 Debbi Tamietti,Jon Ortner和Mark Chilson从各个角度拍摄了我的坠机事故。

沿着22层高的小山走了很长一段路,这意味着将他的自行车放在顶部。 乔迪知道自己的身体已经坏了,但他认为这只是一个裂缝,两个月后会好起来的。 男孩,他错了。

我在1960年代或1970年代的摩托车上所做的任何事情都没有产生如此大的影响,主要是因为没有互联网能够使一小群人面前无意义的撞车事故(除了我们当中的那些人之外)变成大问题。 我的崩溃有一些有趣的功能,但是绝对没有新闻价值。 我跌落在格伦·海伦(Glen Helen)山顶。 圣海伦因为季节,一天中的时间,山坡,太阳的位置和错误的决策而并列。

坠机事故另一侧的这张照片显示了背光的阳光,车手散布在整个山丘上。 种族被标记为黑色,以防止更多车手进入比赛

事实证明,在某些月份(3月和00月)的正好22:15 pm,阳光直射所有攀登Glen Helen超陡峭的220层山丘的赛车手的眼睛。 我应该知道这一点,因为我设计了Glen Helen轨道。 我看不到我要去的地方,也看不到XNUMX个人追我上山。 圣海伦。 瞎了,我换成了XNUMX英尺山顶看不见的喇叭声, 太阳马戏团 在山上后空翻,然后撞倒了我身后的15个人。 好吧,事实上,我从未碰过他们中的任何一个,但是我被阳光遮住了,他们不知道他们上方发生了什么。 当他们驶过他们看不见的挥舞着的黄旗时,摄像机发出咔嗒声,直到山上堆满了16个骑手。

乔迪的手臂被后空翻所咬住了,以至于他不得不等两个星期才能让外科医生同意进行切割以安装该板。 好笑,但他们不想削减任何开支。

幸运的是,他们没有使用Torx。

没有一个无辜者受伤,但是有罪的一方-我-在两个地方把他的左臂打断了。 手臂中间的断裂处必须镀上一层金属,而腕部的断裂却要永远治愈,令人惊讶的是,这是我50年赛车生涯中第一次摔伤摩托车的骨头(尽管我摔断了)然后在高中那只手臂撑杆跳上使肘部脱臼(必须将其重新固定在一起)。 正如安迪·沃霍尔(Andy Warhol)曾经说过的那样:“将来,每个人都会在15分钟内成名。” 现在,我非常愿意再次消失。

每个赛车手都知道去赛车场是什么感觉,却无法骑车。

我已经七个月没动了。 我很伤心,但不是因为我的手臂骨折,而是因为我连续的117场连续比赛而被打断了。 此后,我重返赛车场,但现在可以声称在演员阵容中坐在沙发上看过《亚当12》的每一集

你可能还喜欢

THE LURID TALE OF JODY’S BROKEN ARM & HOW HE LEARNED TO LOVE “ADAM 12”

Jody (lower center) takes a moment to comtemplate how steep Mt. Saint Helen is. His bike is hidden in the dust cloud at the top. It only fell a short distance, but Jody quadrupled its downhill tumble.

By Jody Weisel

Like most old motocross racers, my glory days have long since faded. I knew that I would never be on the cover of Cycle News again. I was content to race out my twilight years in the duffer class. So, you can imagine my surprise when my racing prowess made me into an Instagram, Facebook and chat-room sensation decades after any glory had been attached to my meager talent. What did I do to trend on Facebook and become a media darling and an instant overnight sensation? I crashed. No big deal. I’ve crashed many times before without the L.A. Times ever bothering to fact-check the incident. But, as with all news stories, the most important ones aren’t the events with the most social significance; they are the ones with the best photos. And my crash was photographed from every angle by Debbi Tamietti, Jon Ortner and Mark Chilson.

The long walk down the 22-story hill meant leaving his bike at the top. Jody knew his am was broken, but thought it was just a crack and would be better in two months. Boy, was he wrong.

Nothing I ever did on a motorcycle in the 1960s or 1970s had such impact, largely because there was no internet to turn a meaningless crash (except to those of us in it) in front of a small crowd into a big deal. My crash had some interesting features, but it was definitely not newsworthy. I fell at the top of Glen Helen’s Mt. Saint Helen because of the juxtaposition of the season, time of day, steepness of the hill, the positioning of the sun and bad decision making.

This photo from the other side of the crash shows the backlit sun and the riders spread out across the hill. The race was black flagged to keep more riders from driving into the pile

It turns out that during certain months (October and November), at exactly 3:00 p.m., the sun shines directly into the eyes of any racers climbing Glen Helen’s ultra-steep 22-story hill. I ought to know that, because I designed the Glen Helen track. I couldn’t see where I was going, nor could the 15 guys chasing me up Mt. Saint Helen. Blinded, I swapped into unseen whoops at the top of the 220-foot mountain, did Cirque du Soleil backflips down the hill and in the process knocked down the 15 guys behind me. Well, in truth, I never touched a single one of them, but blinded by the sun, they didn’t know what was happening above them. As they raced past the waving yellow flags, which they couldn’t see, the cameras clicked until there were 16 riders piled up on the hill.

jody’s arm was so chewed up by the backflips, that he had to wait two weeks before the surgeon would agree to makes the cuts to install the plate. Funny, but they don’t want to cut through cuts.

Luckily they didn’t use Torx.

None of the innocent were injured, but the guilty party—me—broke his left arm in two places. The break in the middle of the arm had to be plated, while the one by the wrist took forever to heal, Amazingly, it was the first bone I had ever broken racing a motorcycle over my 50-year racing career (although I had broken and dislocated the elbow on that arm pole vaulting in high school. It had to be pinned back to together). As Andy Warhol once said, “In the future, everyone will be famous for 15 minutes.” Now, I’m more than ready to fade away again.

Every racer knows what it is like to go to the racetrack and not be able to ride.

I was out of action for seven months. I was bummed, but not about my broken arm, but that my string of 117 straight races without missing one was broken. I have since returned to racing, but can now claim to have seen every episode of “Adam 12” while sitting on the couch in a cast

You might also like