最好的乔迪盒子:我永远不会忘记的那一刻

乔迪·韦瑟尔(Jody Weisel)

我是那些不记得上周比赛的人之一。 更糟糕的是,一旦我离开赛道,我对摩托车上发生的事情几乎没有记忆。 人类的记忆是古怪的、复杂的和不可靠的。 即使是那些以准确地记住所有事情而自豪的人,也可能会用过去的经历为事件着色。 我没有这个问题,如果我有,我不记得有过。 不要问我高中朋友的名字,我大学教授的名字,甚至我家人居住的街道的名字。 我没有线索。

心理学家说,大脑会记录重大事件,事件越重要,记忆持续的时间就越长。 我只是在这里猜测,但我认为重要的阈值必须高于普通人。 因此,我不会存储我认为平凡的东西。 由于我一生中参加了 2000 多场比赛,我认为任何特定比赛的情况与之前的数百场比赛都没有什么不同。

我更善于回忆导致大崩溃的事件。 我认为发生这种情况是因为我可以将事件可视化并将它们存储起来,就像我从远程摄像机而不是从鞍座上看到它们一样。 在很多方面,这种远程摄像头记忆方法比许多人使用的结痂、瘀伤和骨折系统更好。

我真的没有任何关于我早期赛车的回忆。 我在美国和欧洲都参加过比赛,但是当人们问我在芬兰的 Ruskeasanta 赛道比赛感觉如何时,我不得不承认我不记得了,但我确实记得他们卖过腌炸鲱鱼在特许摊位。 我可能是唯一一个去过欧洲的美国越野摩托车赛车手,对酒店房间和餐厅的记忆比对赛道的印象还多。

可爱的卢埃拉记得这一天,但乔迪不记得。

有一次我去瑞典 Husqvarna 工厂旅行回来,Lovely Louella 要我给她看我在国外时拍的照片。

“让我看看你去瑞典旅行的照片,”她说。 我递给她一包 4×5 的柯达照片。

“这是什么照片?” 她一边翻着照片一边问道。

“哦,”我说,“那是我旅馆房间的门锁。 我拍了一张它的照片,因为它把门从地上的一个槽里抬起来。”

“和这个?” 她问。

“那些是电梯按钮。 我从未见过以这种方式排列的按钮,”我说。

“你有斯德哥尔摩的风景照片吗?” 她问。

“这是我在维默比的酒店的一个坐浴盆,”我说。

“不,”露埃拉说。 “你没有拍过瑞典乡村的照片吗?”

“是的,我做到了,”我说。 “看到我从林雪平到乌普萨拉的火车窗外拍摄的农民剪羊毛的照片吗? 那是背景中的乡村。 这有点模糊,因为我们的时速为 100 公里。”

“那你在赛道上比赛的照片呢? 你有这些吗?” 她问。

“不,”我说。

“为什么不?” 她问。 “那不是你去瑞典做的吗?”

“如果你看过一条赛道,那你就已经看过了,”我说。

“你不是想要一些旅行的回忆吗?” 她问。

“我有很多回忆,”我说。 “你没看到门锁的照片吗?”

“好吧,我再问你一个问题,你最好仔细想想答案,”Louella 说。 “我们的周年纪念日是什么时候?”

我可以告诉你这一点,我永远不会忘记那一刻。

欢乐之盒乔迪·韦瑟尔欢乐盒可爱的路易摩托车越野赛x

BEST OF JODY’S BOX: THE MOMENT I’LL NEVER FORGET

By Jody Weisel

I’m one of those people who doesn’t remember last week’s race. Even worse, I have very little memory of what happened in a moto once I pull off the track. Human memory is quirky, complicated and unreliable. Even people who pride themselves on remembering everything accurately are probably coloring the events with past experiences. I don’t have this problem, and if I do, I don’t remember having it. Don’t ask me the names of my high school friends, the name of my college professor or even the name of the street my family lived on. I have no clue.

Psychologists say that the brain records significant events, and the more significant the event, the longer the memory lasts. I’m only guessing here, but my threshold for what I consider to be significant must be higher than the average person’s. Thus, I don’t store what I consider to be mundane. Since I have raced over 2000 events in my life, I don’t find the circumstances of any given race to be all that different from the hundreds that came before.

I am a little better at recalling the events leading up to a big crash. I think this happens because I can visualize the events and store them as though I saw them from a remote camera—instead of from the saddle. In lots of ways this remote-camera approach to memory is better than the scab, bruise and broken bone system that many people use.

I really don’t have any recollections of my early days of racing. I’ve raced all across the USA and in Europe, but when people ask me what it was like to race at Finland’s Ruskeasanta track, I am forced to admit that I don’t remember, but I do recall that they sold pickled fried herring at the concession stand. I’m probably the only American motocross racer who ever went to Europe and remembers more about the hotel rooms and restaurants than the racetracks.

Lovely Louella remembers this day, but Jody doesn’t.

One time when I came back from a trip to the Husqvarna factory in Sweden, Lovely Louella asked me to show her the snapshots I took while I was abroad.

“Let me see the photos of your trip to Sweden,” she said. I handed her a pack of 4×5 Kodak prints.

“What’s this a photo of?” she asked while thumbing through the photos.

“Oh,” I said, “that’s the door lock on my hotel room. I shot a photo of it because it lifted the door out of a slot in the ground.”

“And this one?” she asked.

“Those are the elevator buttons. I’d never seen buttons arranged in that manner,” I said.

“Do you have any scenic photos of Stockholm?” she asked.

“Here’s one of the bidet in my hotel in Vimmerby,” I said.

“No,” said Louella. “Didn’t you shoot any photos of the Swedish countryside?”

“Yes, I did,” I said. “See this photo of the farmer shearing a sheep that I shot out the window of the train I was taking from Linkoping to Uppsala? That’s the countryside in the background. It’s a little blurry because we were doing 100 kilometers per hour.”

“What about photos of the track you raced at? Do you have any of those?” she asked.

“No,” I said.

“Why not?” she asked. “Isn’t that what you went to Sweden to do?”

“If you’ve seen one racetrack, you’ve seen them all,” I said.

“Didn’t you want some memories of your trip?” she asked.

“I have lots of memories,” I said. “Didn’t you see the photo of the door lock?”

“Okay, I’m going to ask you one more question, and you better think hard about the answer,” said Louella. “When is our anniversary?”

I can tell you this, I’ll never forget that moment.

BEST OF JODY'S BOXjody weiselJODY'S BOXlovely louellamotocrossmxa