询问MXPERTS:钛螺栓的时间,地点,方式和原因

z钛螺栓减轻了自行车和钱包的重量。

各种合金的螺栓套件

尊敬的MXA:

我想将2018川崎KX450F上的所有螺栓替换为钛合金替代品,包括车轴,油箱螺栓,座椅螺栓,挡泥板螺栓,杆座和副车架螺栓。 我有兴趣减轻重量。 我需要知道些什么?

钛具有高强度重量比。 在越野摩托车中,钛的应用是为了减轻重量,而不是为了强度。 每个工厂团队都在一定程度上利用钛改性。 钛价格昂贵,虽然材料成本更高,但钛部件相对于铬或铝部件价格上涨的大部分原因是制造过程。 钛紧固件不仅仅是用较轻材料制成的普通螺栓的复制品。 这些设计比储料器更复杂,并且需要额外的加工。 明智地使用钛意味着要考虑的不仅仅是减轻整体重量。 所需重量减轻的位置决定了某种程度的性能。 使用钛部件(如车轴)减轻簧下重量可以提高悬架性能。 使用 Ti 消声器或副车架螺栓套件等减轻自行车重心的重量可以稍微提高操控性能(尽管并不总是与成本相称)。 使用钛阀和活塞销等部件减少发动机中的往复运动质量可以提高发动机性能。 在任何减轻重量的情况下,都应特别考虑钛叉和减震弹簧。 钛的轻质和高弹性模量允许更少的线圈和更活跃的感觉。 此外,弹簧重量的一半可以算作簧下重量。 最后,由于材料的物理特性,钛弹簧感觉更有弹性、更有活力并且性能更好。 测试任何钛弹簧的实际弹簧刚度是明智之举,因为它并不总是与钢弹簧相同。

根据经验,钛制紧固件的重量约为钢的一半,铝制紧固件的重量约为钛的一半。 铝制紧固件的价格也与钢制大约相同。 缺点是强度。 在选择螺栓之前,请考虑每个紧固件的特定用途。 正常运行期间是否承受压力? 它容易遭受崩溃的影响吗? 您能卸下或拧断螺栓,然后仍然骑自行车吗? 对于大多数上装螺栓,铝是比钛更好的选择。 如果您可以用铝制螺栓节省两倍的重量,那么在Ti车身螺栓上节省的重量是微不足道的。

本田的冲压钛油箱很酷,但它的重量与它所取代的塑料油箱差不多。


使用钛可以减轻重量,同时降低成本。 如果您用钛合金替换原车轴,后摇臂枢轴螺栓,减震连杆螺栓和大型紧固件,则自行车可能会损失约3磅。 售后市场的Ti排气系统比铝制/不锈钢兄弟轻1磅,比OEM单位轻2或3磅。 Ti减震弹簧可节省多达1-1 / 2磅。 至于价格,包括车轴,连杆螺栓和后摇臂枢轴螺栓的套件的价格将超过1000美元。 完整的Ti排气管的价格比售后不锈钢/铝排气管的价格高300到500美元。 Ti避震弹簧约为420美元。

Ti螺栓有一些注意事项。 钛螺栓的强度接近钢,其重量减轻了47%。 使用钛螺栓,可以更轻松地堵塞和破坏螺纹。 如果不加改动,钛螺栓会卡住。 当两种不同的金属在电解质存在下相互接触时,会导致这种情况。 电流作用迫使一种金属腐蚀的速度比正常情况快得多。 钛和铝尤其如此。 对于工厂用自行车,这不是问题,因为机械师每周都会将所有东西拆散。 但是,这可能是休闲赛车手的问题。 有些技师使用防水油脂,防粘剂,乐泰或两者的混合物(小心,有些不可混用)。 如果钛螺栓确实断裂,则较硬的材料很难钻出。

如果是我们,我们将放弃您大部分的钛梦,而将重点放在排气系统,后轴(350美元),后摇臂枢轴螺栓(450美元)和减震连杆螺栓(400美元)上。 然后,获得用于车身的铝制螺栓套件(60美元)。

 

铝螺栓询问mxperts高弹性模量摩托车越野赛xti螺栓钛螺栓钛越野摩托车螺栓

ASK THE MXPERTS: THE WHEN, WHERE, HOW & WHY OF TITANIUM BOLTS

zTitanium bolts save weight on your bike and in your wallet.

BOLT KITS IN VARIOUS ALLOYS

Dear MXA,

I want to exchange all the bolts on my 2018 Kawasaki KX450F for titanium replacements, including the axles, tank bolts, seat bolts, fender bolts, bar mounts and subframe bolts. I’m interested in saving as much weight as possible. What do I need to know?

Titanium has a high strength-to-weight ratio. In motocross, titanium applications are used to save weight and not for strength. Every factory team utilizes titanium modifications in some capacity. Ti is expensive, and while the material costs are greater, it is the manufacturing process that accounts for most of the increased price of a titanium part over a chromoly or aluminum one. Ti fasteners aren’t just copies of stock bolts made with lighter material; the designs are more complex than the stockers, and they require additional machining. Using titanium wisely means considering more than overall weight savings. The location of the desired weight savings determines some degree of performance. Reducing unsprung weight with Ti parts, like axles can improve suspension performance. Reducing weight away from the center of gravity of the bike with things like a Ti muffler or subframe bolt kit can help the handling performance slightly (although not always commensurate with the cost). Reducing reciprocating mass in the engine with parts like titanium valves and piston pins can increase engine performance. Titanium fork and shock springs should be given special consideration in any weight-saving situation. Titanium’s light weight and high modulus of elasticity allow for fewer coils and a more active feel. Additionally, half the weight of the springs can be counted as unsprung weight. Finally, due to the physical properties of the material, Ti springs feel springier, livelier and perform better. It is smart to have any Ti spring’s actual spring rate tested, since it isn’t always the same rate as a steel spring.

As a rule of thumb, titanium fasteners are about half the weight of steel, and aluminum fasteners are about half the weight of titanium. Aluminum fasteners are also approximately the same price as steel. The drawback is strength. Before choosing a bolt, consider each fastener’s specific duty. Is it under stress during normal operation? Is it vulnerable to sheer in a crash? Could you remove or break the bolt and still ride the bike? In the case of most bodywork bolts, aluminum is a better choice than Ti. The amount of weight saved on Ti bodywork bolts is insignificant when you can save double with aluminum bolts.

Honda’s stamped titanium gas tank is cool, but it weighs about the same as the plastic tank it replaces.


The weight savings using titanium can be impressive—and so can the cost. A bike can lose about 3 pounds if you replace the stock axles, swingarm pivot bolt, shock linkage bolts and big fasteners with titanium. Aftermarket Ti exhaust systems are 1 pound lighter than their aluminum/stainless brothers and 2 or 3 pounds lighter than the OEM unit. A Ti shock spring can save as much as 1-1/2 pounds. As for the prices, a kit that includes axles, linkage bolts and a swingarm pivot bolt will cost over $1000. A full Ti exhaust runs anywhere from $300 to $500 over the cost of an aftermarket stainless/aluminum exhaust. A Ti shock spring is around $420.

There are a few things to watch for with Ti bolts. Titanium bolts are close to steel in terms of strength, with the benefit of being 47 percent lighter. With a Ti bolt, it is much easier to gall and bugger up threads. If left untouched, Ti bolts can seize. This is caused when two dissimilar metals contact each other in the presence of an electrolyte. The galvanic action forces one metal to corrode at a much faster rate than normal; this is especially true of titanium and aluminum. This is not a problem on a factory bike, because the mechanic takes everything apart on a weekly basis. But, it could be an issue for the casual racer. Some mechanics use waterproof grease, anti-seize compound, Loctite or a mixture of the two (careful, some may not mix). If a titanium bolt does break, the harder material is much more difficult to drill out.

If it were us, we’d forgo most of your titanium dream and focus on the exhaust system, rear axle ($350), swingarm pivot bolt ($450) and shock linkage bolts ($400). Then, get an aluminum bolt kit for the bodywork ($60).

 

aluminum boltsask the mxpertshigh modulus of elasticitymotocrossmxati boltstitanium boltstitanium motocross bolts