أفضل صندوق جودي: الحب والكره في الحفر

بقلم جودي ويسيل

أنا مدين بمعظم سرعاتي لصديقتي Lovely Louella. بدونها ، كنت سأظل مجرد رجل آخر بلا موهبة ولا أمل وثغرة كبيرة في حسابي المصرفي. لكن لحسن حظي ، وجدتني وأجبرتني على الصيام أربع مرات. نعم ، أربع مرات!

كانت المرة الأولى عندما التقينا لأول مرة. أعطتني الإرادة للفوز. يجب أن أعترف أن كوني صديقة أحد المتسابقين هي حياة صعبة ، لكن مجرد مقابلة لويلا جعلني أسرع. كيف ذلك؟ كان علي أن أذهب سريعًا لأعيش مع كل التفاخر الذي فعلته بها خلال أيام الأسبوع. منذ اليوم الذي قررت فيه إقناعها ، تحسن حظي في السباقات وبدأت في التعجيل. حسنًا ، لم أكن أسرع كثيرًا ، لكنني لم أكن أبدًا بهذه السرعة عبر منطقة الإشارة من قبل. أينما وقفت لويلا الفاتنة ، كنت أشعل النيران بسرعة. وبما أنني كنت بنفس سرعة منافستي ، فإن هذه الزيادة الطفيفة في السرعة التي تزيد عن 100 قدم من المضمار أدت إلى انتصارات. ادعى خصومي أنه كان مجرد سباق حظ ، لكنني علمت أنها لويلا.

أرادت أن تكون "مشاركة". لم يمض وقت طويل قبل أن تصبح على دراية متزايدة بالرياضة وبدأت تضايقني لأنها سمحت لبعض "بلصقها تحت الأرض".

عندما قابلت Lovely Louella لأول مرة ، زادت سرعي لأن لدي قوة طاقة جديدة تساعدني على الاستفادة من فترات الراحة. ولكن ، يجب أن تنتهي كل الأشياء الجيدة ، ولم يستغرق الأمر وقتًا طويلاً حتى تتعب لويلا من التسكع طوال اليوم في السباقات التي تشاهدني وأنا أتسابق. لم تعد راضية عن مجرد الوقوف بجانب المسار. أرادت أن تكون "مشاركة". لم يمض وقت طويل قبل أن تصبح على دراية متزايدة بالرياضة وبدأت في توبيخي لأنني سمحت لبعض "Spode بلصقها تحتك في ذلك الجدار الرملي". بدلاً من مجرد كتابة معلومات اللفة على لوحة التدريب ، كانت تكتب الآن أشياء مثل "Haste Makes Waste" أو "Are You Awake".

هكذا جعلتني أصوم للمرة الثانية. لقد جعلني تفكك علاقتنا السعيدة في السابق أستعيد السرعة لأظهر لها أنني لست بحاجة إليها للفوز. كنت أسرع من ذي قبل في منطقة لوحة الحفرة ، الآن فقط كنت آمل أن أرسل إليها مجثمًا عشوائيًا. حتى في هذا الدور ، كانت لا تزال مصدر طاقتي. لقد قامت بدور محامي الشيطان وكانت تهين مهارتي في السباق أمام أصدقائي. بدأت أكرهها. الآن ، قد تسأل نفسك ، "إذا كان هذا الرجل يكره صديقته ، فلماذا لم يتركها؟" الجواب بسيط. كنت أسرع كل أسبوع. يجب على كل متسابق مكافح أن يجد شخصًا يكرهه. إذا كان يجب أن تكون صديقتك ، فليكن ، لكن من الأفضل أن تكون شخصًا تتسابق ضده.

كيف مررت أنا ولويلا بتلك الفترة الزمنية لن أعرف أبدًا ، لكن مع مرور الوقت عادت علاقتنا إلى مسارها الصحيح. عند هذه النقطة جعلتني أصوم للمرة الثالثة. كيف؟ بمجرد أن بدأت في قطع بعض الركود (سواء داخل المضمار أو خارجه) شعرت بالذنب لأنها كانت تعمل بجد لتجعلني متسابقًا أفضل. إذا كان بإمكانها أن تكون بلا كلل في مشاهدة مجموعة من الدراجات النارية تتجول مرتين في الأسبوع ، فيمكنني أن أكون بلا كلل في سباقاتها. لقد أبليت بلاءً حسنًا لأنني أردت أن أعمل بجد كما فعلت. عندما يضع الآخرون إيمانهم بك ، عليك أن تقدم أفضل ما لديك. ربما يكون والدك يدفع الفواتير ، أو تقوم والدتك بتعبئة غداء لك ، أو قيام صديقك بتزييت سلسلتك أو ، مثل Louella ، صديقتك الموجودة بجانبك والتي تساعدك (بغض النظر عن مدى مللها). فكر في الأشخاص الذين يساعدونك. يجب أن يكون الذنب وحده يستحق أربعة أماكن.

أرادت أن تذهب للرقص في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع. قالت إنها كانت على وشك البدء في تحديد موعد مع جامع الطوابع أو الكمبيوتر الذي يذاكر كثيرا. ولكن معظمهم كانوا متعبين من سماع كيف شعرت بالحزن على بعض الرجال في المنعطف الأول ... وكان بإمكاني إرضاء الأمر.

لذلك اليوم ، بعد السباقات ، كنت أخبر لويلا للمرة العاشرة كيف حشرت هذا الرجل في الزاوية الأولى وابتعدت عن الفوز. وقد كانت طبيعتها الطبيعية اللطيفة ، وبعد ذلك ، فقط عندما بدأت أخبرها بالأجزاء الجيدة مرة أخرى ، قالت ، "سأتركك."

وهي تعني ذلك. قالت إنها سئمت من قضاء ليالي السبت في المرآب. أرادت أن تذهب للرقص في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع. لقد سئمت من القلق بشأن إصابتي. قالت إنها ستبدأ في مواعدة جامع الطوابع أو الطالب الذي يذاكر كثيرا على الكمبيوتر. كانت متعبة من وجود بقع زيت على ملابسها. لقد سئمت من القيادة الطويلة ، والحركات القصيرة والحديث اللامتناهي عن التروس. ولكن الأهم من ذلك كله أنها سئمت من سماع كيف حشوت رجلاً في أول منعطف ... وأنه يمكنني حشوها.

يجب أن أعترف أنني كنت محطمة. لقد كانت سببي في القيام بعمل جيد. كانت سبب عيشي. والآن كانت قد خرجت علي. لقد كنت مكسور القلب. لم أهتم إذا عشت أو مت. ثم جاء لي! كان لدي شيء هنا يمكنني العمل معه. كنت دائمًا منغلقًا لأنني كنت خائفًا من الموت - الآن لم أكترث إذا ماتت. لم يكن لدي شيء أعيش من أجله. فقط انتظر حتى نهاية الأسبوع المقبل. سأعطي معنى جديدًا لمصطلح "الفوز أو المحاولات". ولدي جميلة لويلا لأشكرها على ذلك!

 

أفضل ما في صندوق JODYجودي ويسيلصندوق JODYموتوكروسمكسا

BEST OF JODY’S BOX: LOVE & HATE IN THE PITS

By Jody Weisel

I owe most of my speed to my girlfriend Lovely Louella. Without her, I’d still be just another guy with no talent, no hope and a big hole in my bank account. But luckily for me, she found me and made me fast four times over. Yes, four times over!

The first time was when we first met. She gave me the will to win. I have to admit that being a racer’s girlfriend is a hard life, but just meeting Louella made me faster. How so? I had to go fast to live up to all the bragging that I did to her during the weekdays. From the day I decided to impress her, my racing luck got better and I started getting faster. Okay, I wasn’t a whole lot faster, but I’d never been so fast through the signal area before. Wherever Luscious Louella stood I was blazing fast. And since I was about the same speed as my competition, this slight increase in speed over 100 feet of track resulted in victories. My opponents claimed that it was just racing luck, but I knew that it was Louella.

SHE WANTED TO BE “INVOLVED.” IT WASN’T LONG BEFORE SHE BECAME INCREASINGLY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE SPORT AND STARTED BERATING ME FOR LETTING SOME “SPODE STICK IT UNDERNEATH YOU IN THAT BERM.”

When I first met Lovely Louella my speed increased because I had a new energy force helping me to take advantage of the breaks. But, all good things must come to an end, and it didn’t take long for Louella to tire of hanging around all day at the races watching me race. She was no longer satisfied to just stand by the side of the track. She wanted to be “involved.” It wasn’t long before she became increasingly knowledgeable about the sport and started berating me for letting some “Spode stick it underneath you in that berm.” Instead of just writing lap info on the pit board, she was now writing things like “Haste Makes Waste” or “Are You Awake.”

That is how she made me fast for the second time. The disintegration of our previously blissful relationship made me pick up the pace to show her that I didn’t need her to win. I was even faster than before by the pit board area, only now I was hoping to send a random roost at her. Even in this role, she was still my energy source. She had taken on the devil’s advocate role and was demeaning my racing skill in front of my friends. I started to hate her. Now, you might ask yourself, “If this guy hated his girlfriend, why didn’t he leave her?” The answer is simple. I was getting faster every week. Every struggling racer should find somebody to hate. If It has to be your girlfriend, so be it, but it’s better if it is somebody you are racing against.

How Louella and I got through that period of time I’ll never know, but in time our relationship got back on track. At this point she made me fast for the third time. How? Once she started to cut me some slack (both on and off the track) I felt guilty because she was working so hard to make me a better racer. If she could be so tireless in watching a bunch of motorcycles go around twice a week, then I could be just as tireless in racing them. I did well because I wanted to work as hard at It as she did. When other people put their faith in you, you have to give it your best. Maybe it’s your dad paying the bills, your mom packing you a lunch, your friend oiling your chain or, like Louella, your girlfriend right there by your side helping you (regardless of how boring she thinks it is). Think about the people who are helping you. The guilt alone ought to be worth four places.

SHE WANTED TO GO DANCING ON WEEKENDS. SHE SAID SHE WAS GOING TO START DATING A STAMP COLLECTOR OR COMPUTER NERD. BUT MOST OF ALL SHE WAS TIRED OF HEARING HOW I HAD STUFFED SOME GUY IN THE FIRST TURN…AND THAT I COULD STUFF IT.

So today, after the races, I was telling Louella for the tenth time how I stuffed this guy in the first corner and wheelied away with the win. And she was her normal, sweet self, and then, just when I started to tell her the good parts over again she said, “I’m leaving you.”

And she meant it. She said she was tired of spending Saturday nights in the garage. She wanted to go dancing on weekends. She was tired of worrying about me getting injured. She said she was going to start dating a stamp collector or computer nerd. She was tired to having oil stains on her clothes. She was tired of long drives, short motos and endless talk about gearing. But most of all she was tired of hearing how I had stuffed some guy in the first turn…and that I could stuff it.

I must admit that I was devastated. She had been my reason for doing well. She was my reason for living. And now she had walked out on me. I was broken hearted. I didn’t care if I lived or died. Then it came to me! I had something here that I could work with. I was always shutting off because I was afraid of dying — now I didn’t care if I died. I had nothing to live for. Just wait until next weekend. I’m gonna give new meaning to the term “Win or die trying.” And I have Lovely Louella to thank for it!

 

BEST OF JODY'S BOXjody weiselJODY'S BOXmotocrossmxa